View Full Version : Then who's the worst
Further to my well received post, who do you think were the worst players we've had?
I've seen some duds, but Judd Lalich was right up there with the worst of them.
LLHPLW (looked like Hird, played like Walsh - that's Kevin Walsh)
Another I just couldn't stand was Michael Symons .
For his size he was amongst the best marks in the league.
For his decision making, kicking, handpassing and awareness I rate him marginally below most of the Little League kids.
And I mean the ones in light blue jumpers, not the older kids in the team jumpers.
(dis) Honorable mentions to:
Andrew Underwood
Mark Eustice
Paul Hamilton
Willie D1ck
Keiran (Kerry Anne) Sporn
Ryan O'Connor
Brad Fox
Raskolnikov
6 Feb 2004, 21:22
Daniel McAllister
windyhill
7 Feb 2004, 09:00
Trevor Spencer
Ryan O`Connor
Matthew Banks
Judd Lalich
O'connor wasn't THAT bad, he did play that good game on plugger once.
McHackLister (FFS!)
Lallich
I cringed every Time Symons even Got the Ball
Others to get on my Goat were
Lalich
McAllister
Spencer
and Lord Knows why we ever Got Wheildon or Fidge
Richard Ambrose
Ed Considine
My best friend's Dad used to LOVE Michael Symons and would award him our little best on ground award week in week out......
even if the guy wasn't playing!
He might not have been the greatewst but surely he is not the worst.....
Runknisse
9 Feb 2004, 11:04
1) Werner, Michael: no brains, no talent.
2) Hamilton, Paul: I cannot get why he ever won a spot?
3) Eustice, Mark: Nicknamed Mark Useless for a reason.
4) Hills, Paul: Spent more time at The Catcus Club than on the footy ground
5) Fidge, John: What the?
6) Watson, Tim: KIDDING!!! he he he
Originally posted by Runknisse
4) Hills, Paul: Spent more time at The Catcus Club than on the footy ground
If I had saved all the money I spent on grog at the Cactus Club I reckon I would OWN the Cactus Club (or whatever it's called these days.....)
Runknisse
9 Feb 2004, 12:10
It's called ONE now but appreantly is just the Cactus with a paint job. Hills & Symons used to haunt the place. Now Hills is engaged to/married to a girl I used to go to school with. I'm pretty sure they met there too. (shudder)
Originally posted by dodgey
I cringed every Time Symons even Got the Ball
He was the only player I have ever seen that has knocked himself out.
Capable of the most amazing feats, he was good for a laugh.
Runknisse
9 Feb 2004, 12:51
HA HA HA!:) He was a knob wasn't he?
No mention of Somerville?
Never criticised him for it, but where did Symons learn to take set shots like that?
We have had players too that have lacked heart when given an opportunity (Davies as an example)
bacon buster
9 Feb 2004, 14:24
grgic?
he played at least 1 game, maybe 2.
what a waste
somerville wasn't too bad.
Pevers-Legend
9 Feb 2004, 17:08
Originally posted by bacon buster
grgic?
he played at least 1 game, maybe 2.
what a waste
somerville wasn't too bad.
He did help win the Magoos a Flag in 99. That was about his only use.
windyhill
9 Feb 2004, 17:29
Didn`t Mind Somer, had a big heart, was very good 1993 Grand Final day , if you doubt me have another look. Loved the day he put monkhurst on his arse after monkhurst did the big point to the chin act, poetry as Somer obliged him.
Somer was very handy.
I'll go so far to say we would have not won the flag in 1993 had he not played - certainly made Fish's job easier that year.
Originally posted by pazza
I'll go so far to say we would have not won the flag in 1993 had he not played - certainly made Fish's job easier that year.
C'mon pazza. A tree stump would have done a better job than somerville on grandfinal day. Madden had about 6 million hitouts it was just our planning to rove to his hitouts worked brilliantly. Sommerville spent most of the daybeing maddens stepladder. Sommerville had a good year in 95 where he was one of the best ruckman around. The rest of the time he was useless.
Originally posted by marcuz
C'mon pazza. A tree stump would have done a better job than somerville on grandfinal day. Madden had about 6 million hitouts it was just our planning to rove to his hitouts worked brilliantly. Sommerville spent most of the daybeing maddens stepladder. Sommerville had a good year in 95 where he was one of the best ruckman around. The rest of the time he was useless.
Because he was in the centre, he allowed Salmon to play up forward and stretch the Blues backline, which they generally failed to manage.
Runknisse
10 Feb 2004, 09:07
The big goofball always jumped way too early, only touching the ball on the way down, therefore never getting an effective hit out. He was crap. Just watch the 93 final and you'll see what I mean.
Jesus.
Why knock everyone.
Some of the players here played in a premiership sides including Sommerville and Hills and Sommerville's father did as well.
And he was knocked, too weak,not tough enough,frightened but he did things important to the team at the time.
Just like most of the others.
Remember most of this is media driven but of those mentioned poor old McAlister is my nomination.
dannyboy
11 Feb 2004, 16:20
My nomination-Robert Stevenson, he was a dead set shocker....got poleaxed by Paul Roos in one game...guess that wasnt his fault tho :D
mikeula
18 Feb 2004, 13:58
How about Ben Doolan for a complete waste of money!
Even caused all sorts of salary cap woes.
Another waste of time was Laughlan Ross. Will only be remembered for his Mickey Mouse stunt on channel 7 towards Brett Heady.
Russell Williams? Although he was handy in us getting one Matty Lloyd
I don't know about Russell Williams having much to do with Lloydy.
Delaney went for the draft pick that got us Lucas (trade), and Ridley went for the draft pick that got us Lloyd (uncontracted player selection). Dale Kickett went for pick 39 (Stephen Carter - who never played for us) (Trade)
Lachlan Ross and Russell Williams both went home to WA and trained preseason with the Dockers, but neither made their original list of 50.