View Full Version : Andrew Bichel Gone for Good?
The Scarecrow
7 Feb 2004, 15:00
From what was being said by Ian Healy, and Richie Beneud during yesterdays game thatt Bichel could be out of the Aussie team for good. And that Kasprowicz would be the likely replacement, they were saying that the Australian Selectors were looking for a player to be in the side for long term. Which I was thinking, if they are looking for someone in the side for long term, how about one of these young bowlers that is coming through? Like say, ShaunTait, or even Damien Wright. Because they would have a few years in them, where as Michael Kasprowicz wouldn't be in the side that long.
Black Thunder
7 Feb 2004, 15:33
Kasprowicz is only 31, and is in peak form atm. got 2-3 years left in him so while he's not a long term, it's not exactly short term either.
Shaun Tait is far from ready (He done nothing that great at FC level), and Wright must produce seasons like this more than once in a blue moon.
The main guys coming through are Inness and Rofe, but with Inness injured all year made it tough on him, and i think the selectors would want to opt for someone with about tough, ruggedness and experience about them for the subcontinent tours, hence Kasper.
I said from the start they'd take McGrath (if fit), Warne, Gillespie and MacGill, along with one of Williams or Bracken (looking to be Williams) and one of Kasprowicz or Bichel (now looking likely to be Kasprowicz). The other bowling spot will go to Lee if he got himself into form which it looks like he has done, otherwise one of Rofe or Inness will get their first Australian tour spot.
Black Thunder
7 Feb 2004, 15:34
and to answer the thread title, i'd say Bichel's future is in great doubt now.
goaldrush
7 Feb 2004, 16:50
Hope not. It would be very sad and very harsh for him to be dumped like that and not allowed to return.
Adelaide Hawk
7 Feb 2004, 17:53
I think ijuries aside, we may have seen the last of Andy Bichel at International level. I'm more worried we may have seen the last of Glenn McGrath as well.
goaldrush
7 Feb 2004, 18:59
Originally posted by Adelaide Hawk
I think ijuries aside, we may have seen the last of Andy Bichel at International level. I'm more worried we may have seen the last of Glenn McGrath as well. I hope that Glenn will make a comeback after his ankle injury. If not it will mean that he has played his last game of cricket......... forever.
I'll miss him if he's not there.
Minkus_Swan
7 Feb 2004, 20:12
You just never know with Bichel. If a few bowlers go down with injuries, i reckon he'll still be in with a chance to tour Sri Lanka or India.
Bics won't go without a fight though.
Great news for the bulls. What better way to end the season with one A Bichel in the team with a point to prove.
Be scared Bushrangers , be very very scared.
Crooked Rain
7 Feb 2004, 20:44
Bic has defininitely been stuffed around during his international career and it would be a shame not to see him go around again for the Aussies.
For me, watching cricket again just won't be the same. He has been my favourite cricketer/sportsman of all time. He might not have been playing all the time, but just to know he was in the squad and not far from a start was a thrill.
In saying that he now has a chance to put his head down and go hard for QLD. Maybe even try and beat Kasper's record for most QLD wickets (a lot of this will depend on Kasper's availability), if not overtake Mocca into second spot. Bic has another 5 years of first class cricket left in him - super fit and rarely get's injured.
Can't wait for the QLD v NSW game at the SCG in early March. Bic and co. will be striving to sneak the Bulls into the finals and it will be Waugh's final game for NSW. Don't normally get to Pura Cup games, but this one will be special.
Long live Bic and may he find a way back into the Aussie team one day in front of the 30+ first class averaging Williams' and Bracken.
cr.
dan warna
7 Feb 2004, 21:09
bix certainly deserves another crack if his first class form is good, for the test series, but there are now too many ahead of him in ODIs...
william and mcgrath definately in pidgeon can prove himselft fit, and the last paceman will from kaspers, brocken or bing.
seriously i think rofe and inness should be high on consideration for years of quality work and young enough for 5/6 year careers.
young mcdonald, tait, etc as the the next generation should be groomed now for the test side.
if Mcgrath is not available the best attack should go, and bix is not in it any more.
should have been in the side sooner, and been given more opps.
best bowlers aside from mcgrath and warne
rofe, bix, inness, mcdonald, williams...
best spinners in first class cricket right now is white and mcgill performing leaps and bounds ahead of hauritz, doherty or anyone else really.
additionally white can identify a bat 9 times out 10, and can run to chase a ball, without a latte cup in hand.
I reckon everyone should stop even mentioning Bracken.
Go_Doggies
8 Feb 2004, 18:48
Yeah... i think he's gone.
Crooked Rain
8 Feb 2004, 22:24
Originally posted by Port01
I reckon everyone should stop even mentioning Bracken.
me too.
Bombers_Forever
9 Feb 2004, 06:45
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Great news for the bulls. What better way to end the season with one A Bichel in the team with a point to prove.
Be scared Bushrangers , be very very scared.
From a QLD perspective, I am happy to have him in our side, even if it means losing Kaspa.
In saying that, Bichel is not a protected species (like Martyn, Lee etc) so his career may well be over in the international scene.
Maybe he needs to suck up a little more and get his head on TV commercials.
WoeyFanclub
9 Feb 2004, 14:57
umm tait has done one thing desent at fc one day level i think im pretty sure he got an 8/ something
CoastBhoy
9 Feb 2004, 15:31
Bichels stats from saturdays qld grade cricket 0/68 from 14 overs , he really has to find that form again.
The invisible mullet
10 Feb 2004, 09:56
Bichel is gone. Good on him for getting as much out of his ability as he could.
I wouldn't write Bichel off just yet. His non-selection for Sri Lanka is only a comment on his suitability for the sub-continental conditions.
I reckon he'll be back in calculations next summer.
Wicked Lester
10 Feb 2004, 11:07
Barring more injuries to our senior (and experienced) pace bowlers - principally McGrath and Gillespie - Bich is finished.
By next summer Bich will be 34. Once the Sri Lankan and Indian tours are over the selectors will be looking to the future and Bich wont be on the radar screen.
Same age as McGrath, and a strong body. I hope he gives it one more crack next season.
Crooked Rain
10 Feb 2004, 22:50
Originally posted by Wicked Lester
Barring more injuries to our senior (and experienced) pace bowlers - principally McGrath and Gillespie - Bich is finished.
By next summer Bich will be 34. Once the Sri Lankan and Indian tours are over the selectors will be looking to the future and Bich wont be on the radar screen.
People have said that about the great man before. If he is getting heaps of wickets for QLD like he always does, there is no reason why he can't sneak in there again, especially if injuries intervene and some of these up-and-coming youngsters everybody is talking about, fail to hit the mark.
The guy is as strong as an ox and rarely gets injured.
I reckon his best chance of playing for Aus again is in the Test arena.
cr.
Milenko
10 Feb 2004, 23:19
I'd rate Bruce Reid a better chance of playing for Australia again before Bichel.
Crooked Rain
11 Feb 2004, 00:31
Don't you mean Bruce Rude?