View Full Version : Freo vs Bombers match thread
6.20 first qtr
Freo 1.0.1 10 Bombres 0.0.1 1
Hird Goal
Headland goal
16 to 8
Winderlich goals
23 vs 14
Soft free kisk to lloyd for hanging on to haddrill.
Lloyd goals
23 to 20
Headland is everywhere
Free kick taken high
Headland goals
29 to 20
Lloyd goals from a defensive error
29 to 26
Qtr time 29 to 27
Cliiiivvveee Goals
35 to 27
Clive lines up again
a behind
36 to 27
Hird 3rd goal.
Bombres 40 freo 37
Shortmuir kick a behind
41 to 38
Schammer time Goal
Freo back in front
44 to 41
Free kick to megastar from Fletcher
Goals!!!
55 to 43
Lloyd soccers a goal
51 to 49
Lovvet murray goals
55 to 51 Bombres way
Farmer kicks a point
Free kick to Clive
Cliiivvvee goals
58 to 55 freo in front
Free kick to hird and 50 goal
Bombres 64 to 55
Medhurst goals
scores are level
Lloyd kicks his 4th
72 to 71 bombres in front
Super goal to lucas
Bombres by 9
Lucas again 6 pointer
bombres by 15
Goal to Bellie
dons by 10
3/4 time Bombres by 10 points
88 to 78
Hille marks in front.
Goals
Bombres by 16
Bellie marks in front
Goals 10 points again
Troy simmonds lines up
goals!!
Bombres by 4
Free kick to clive
Clliivvvee !
Freo by 2 what a game!
Headland a point
Freo by 3
Winder lich goals bombres by 3
Rushed behind bombres by 2
Touched behind
bombres by 1 point
All over red rover well done bombres
bombres by 8
Top game.
See you at the dome in round 12 or whatever it is. The rivalry continues
:D
Kenny_01
20 Feb 2004, 22:27
Pretty good hitout.
Would have been nice to win but ah well, we can set ourselves up for the season now.
Out of the youngsters...
Gilmore and Schammer were alright. Browne was pretty solid too. Good signs from that trio.
Cunningham might as well have been wearing an Essendon guernsey.
Originally posted by marcuz
Top game.
:D
Did you watch it Marcuz? I was only listening to the radio. If you did what were your thoughts?
Great game that really could have gone either way.
See you in June.
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Did you watch it Marcuz? I was only listening to the radio. If you did what were your thoughts?
Yeah i watched it on Foxtel.
Look i think early Freo looked to quick for us to be honest. The got some great run early from shammer and the hard running bell. Pav was very quiet which surprised me as bolton is the only bloke we have that can go with him all over the ground and he didnt play on him. Simmonds showed something up forward and so did polak early. They both seemed to drift out of the game although simmonds did goal late.
I think what got us over the line was our kids and the run they gave us. Winderlich, Stanton, The lovetts, Walsh, davies are all young and super quick Dyson didnt play which was a surprise as he would nearly be the fastest we have got and they are what we lack and what you have an abundance of so in effect we took you on in your own game and won.
Haddrill struggles on Lloyd IMO. Lloyd should of had 7 or 8 tonight. I also think you need to find some key forwards to compliment Medhurst who i rate very highly and Farmer who cant play against Essendon for some reason. Pavlich if left at CHF would quickly become the best in the league in my humble opinion. No defender can go with him and he is being wasted in the midfield.
Well thats my two cents worth on a very good pre-season game. As i stated before i wouldn't be too concerned with the result either way. The real stuff starts in just over a month.
Docker_Brat
20 Feb 2004, 22:48
Bummer it wasn't free to air :(
How did Dunn and Gilmore go?
Dunn was quiet although he did get a bit of it. I've seen this kid play in the juniors and he is a talent, tough as old boots.
Gilmore looked very smooth and got enough of it(15 touches). You should be happy with both kids.
Surprisingly entertaining game, although the skill level started to really deteriorate in the last quarter. The most positive sign for us was Farmer, he really seemed to have a real go and gave some good 2nd and 3rd efforts at contests. Hird absolutely killed us though.
I certainly don't agree that Haddrill is a bad match up for Lloyd, I thought he did pretty well. Lloyd really only got his goals from stupendously soft free kicks and times where the ball fell in his lap after our defenders made errors, eg. Woods dropped uncontested mark which fell straight to him, and some other player decided the best place to handball out of a pack was straight to Lloyd at the top of the goalsquare.
Not that we didn't get the benefit of some shocking decisions in front of our goals either though. The umpiring was again of a woeful standard generally. You couldn't possibly have 20/20 vision and pick out some of the free kicks that were paid. The one Clive got in the last quarter was almost as bad as the kick paid against Haddrill's neck for clinging onto Lloyd's hand.
But I certainly can't go away feeling overly disappointed with the game. Solid hitout that gives us 5 weeks to prepare for the real season. 6 weeks really, given round 1 is against Carlton. ;)
Originally posted by Rob
I certainly don't agree that Haddrill is a bad match up for Lloyd, I thought he did pretty well. Lloyd really only got his goals from stupendously soft free kicks and times where the ball fell in his lap after our defenders made errors, eg. Woods dropped uncontested mark which fell straight to him, and some other player decided the best place to handball out of a pack was straight to Lloyd at the top of the goalsquare.
On the lead he does well. Body on body he looks lost. How many times did Lloyd beat him with pure strength only to drop or misjudge the flight of the ball. An in form Lloyd eats those marks for breakfast. The same thing happened in the final.
The radio commentators reckoned that it was a great duel. And lets face it if you can keep Lloydie to 4 goals (one from a really soft free kick that should have gone the other way according to the NT commentators) I reckon you have had a pretty good game.
4 goals on a night with so much humidty making it tough for key forwards in a game won by 8 points i'd say Lloyd took the points.
Milenko
20 Feb 2004, 23:54
Pavlich had a shocker. Quiet in his last 3 outings against Essendon. Gee Sheedy did well talking him up late last year.
Gilmore looked promising, Siegert did some good things. Browne still looks not have fundamental skill error problems, likewise Cunningham. Like the body shape of Dunn for a kid.
Polak still finding his feet. Looks a bit lost up forward.
Woods looked alright at times as a key defender. Still needs a bit more intensity.
Sandilands, still not thumping those ruck knocks. Improvement duly noted however.
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
The radio commentators reckoned that it was a great duel. And lets face it if you can keep Lloydie to 4 goals (one from a really soft free kick that should have gone the other way according to the NT commentators) I reckon you have had a pretty good game.
that seemed to be a fairly blatant grab and hold of the jumper by Haddrill from where I was sitting. Unless there were two and I'm getting confused, but there seemed little doubt in it imo. The contact to Haddrill's head was fleeting, but the hold on Lloyds jumper lasted the whole contest. Anyway that's my hazy memory of it.
The umpires were, in general, making life easier for forwards though.
But it was an excellent game to watch. Headland had me very worried early, we really struggle for a match up for him!
Marcuz I can't believe you had Davies in that list!
:D He may be quick but he certainly didn't help the Don's cause.
Sandilands certainly is big, but more impressive is that he moves pretty well.
Schammer is not big, however he looks like he's going to be a player
Kenny_01
21 Feb 2004, 00:44
Originally posted by Milenko
Pavlich had a shocker. Quiet in his last 3 outings against Essendon. Gee Sheedy did well talking him up late last year.
Gilmore looked promising, Siegert did some good things. Browne still looks not have fundamental skill error problems, likewise Cunningham. Like the body shape of Dunn for a kid.
Polak still finding his feet. Looks a bit lost up forward.
Woods looked alright at times as a key defender. Still needs a bit more intensity.
Sandilands, still not thumping those ruck knocks. Improvement duly noted however.
Didn't think Browne's disposal was too bad. He did have one or two clangers that I remember, but thought his disposal generally was OK. Cunningham made him look like Dean Kemp mixed with a touch of Andrew McLeod.
Polak lead pretty well for mine, and creates a good option at CHF. He did struggle taking marks inside 50, but that's generally because he was outnumbered with a 3rd man flying over the top and didn't get a chance to directly outmark his opponent mixed with the fact that the ball was slippery. I like him leading out ala Tredrea. He also dropped a few marks that he would generally snap up no worries.
cbreban
21 Feb 2004, 08:35
Good to see Essendon (Who had a fair share of younger kids playing) beating almost if not full strength fremantle side.
Good Signs.
Milenko
21 Feb 2004, 08:48
Hird
Lloyd
Lucas
Fletcher
Welsh
Hille
Mercuri
Misiti
McPhee
Wellman
Johnson
Johnson
Peverill
Richards
Bullen
That's right mate, you went in with a reserves team....
:rolleyes:
Originally posted by Milenko
Hird
Lloyd
Lucas
Fletcher
Welsh
Hille
Mercuri
Misiti
McPhee
Wellman
Johnson
Johnson
Peverill
Richards
Bullen
That's right mate, you went in with a reserves team....
:rolleyes:
He wasn't saying that. Freo would have had a more experience side out there last night ... without question.
Essendon were missing Solomon, Ramanauskas, Rioli, McVeigh and Cupido (regular senior players) and recruits Allen and Alvey.
If you call one season extra, experience. We had a bunch of young blokes out there. There was also a lot of experimentation from both sides.
Thought Simmonds was the revelation for us ....he will be very difficult to match up on.
I thought we went in slightly closer to full strength than Essendon, though the kids both teams played did exceptionally well.
I am not that worried that Pav was missing in action, I'd rather see Gilmore/Browne play well, Simmonds perform admirably in a new position and confidence players like Headland/Farmer lift....(BTW how good does Jeffery look?).
Guys like Medders and Pav will stand tall come Round 1 ...so no sleep will be lost in my little purple cave.
Were some of Lloyd's free kicks a little soft ....absolutely but hey he gets front and centre and puts himself into those 1/1 body contests. What I am saying is yes he was lucky but I suppose he makes his own luck - the man is class.
I'm not dissapointed as I have a very neutral position on the Wiz cup ....always have. Would I rather we won - absolutley but it was a fairly high level contest in testing conditions....we dont lose, we take something out of the contest.
If we lose a H&A match I am devestated, now I'm just slightly preturbed.
Just Moo's view of the world.
ThePope
21 Feb 2004, 13:35
Originally posted by BomberAUS
Good to see Essendon (Who had a fair share of younger kids playing) beating almost if not full strength fremantle side.
Good Signs.
But it was Hird, Lloyd and Lucas who beat us.
Stanton was great, but Richards and Bradley didn't do much.
Freo had a near full strength side on paper, but most of the top players only played half a game, with planned interchanges at the 12 min mark to avoid the heat.
All up I think both coaches would be happy... and Connolly will be even happier if Brisbane win and Essendon has to play at the Gabba next week, whilst we get to play in Mandurah with normal AFL rules, so that we can work on our clearances etc without the stupid ruckman only circle in the middle, the boundary umps throwing the ball into the centre of the ground etc.
I saw Lloyd outmark Woods a couple of times, but I can only remember him doing it once to Haddrill body on body. And in any case, he's the best full forward in the league, he does that to just about every full back, let alone one who's in his early 20's and played about 50 games. I think he is by far our best option at full back most weeks. If we put someone else on him like McPharlin or even Pavlich, it negates their rebounding skills from inside the defensive 50. Haddrill is not as good a rebounder from defence as our other KP defenders.
pav_is_god
21 Feb 2004, 16:57
Apart from the part where we lost, I really enjoyed that game. The intensity was awesome when you consider it was just a preseason game and that the conditions were trying.
The boys let themselves down with skill errors (dropped marks, poor kicks/handballs) but that is excusable given it was there first hit out against another AFL side. The thing that I found the most disappointing from a Freo POV was that a couple of times the guys got carried away with "not being physically intimidated", which gave away 2 freebie super goals to the Bombers. But by far the worst part of the game was the soft free kicks given to the forwards, in particular Loyd, Nathan Lovett-? and Clive. Hopefully the umpiring improves before the start of the season (yeah right!).
There's no doubt Hird was the difference btw the 2 side and was my pick for BOG. As for the Freo boys, I think the following stood out/showed some promise:
Haddrill - looks huge with those extra kgs and matched up well against Loyd. Got a soft ass free given against him when Loyd clearly was hanging onto the top of Robbie's jumper, and from memory the resulting goal was the only one (maybe 2nd) kicked on him by Loyd (2 goals game from stuff ups by Woods).
Gilmore - hadn't seen much of him before this game, but he looks very mature and was bobbing up every where in defence and driving the ball out.
Simmonds - ran his butt off and just kept presenting. I think the work he has done on his aerobic capacity will pay off this season.
Sandilands - looks a lot more confident in himself and seems to be reading the play a lot better. Hard to judge his rucking (esp in the centre) because of the rule changes.
Farmer - his 2nd and 3rd efforts were outstanding and IMO put the most effort into the one percenters. Plus, he only gave away one stupid free kick!!!
Dunn - looked very poised with the ball and didn't seemed rushed when passing to team mates. Plus he is well built for an 18 yo, suggesting that he'll get a few games this season.
Added to these names, Bell, Hase and Carr had predictable good games. Pav was quite but I have all the confidence in the world in him.
Also, did anyone else who watched the game have trouble picking out Polak with that hair cut? I found myself saying a couple of times "who's the guy who looks like McPharlap?".:D
TheRealBuzz
21 Feb 2004, 16:59
Great game. Damn shame that so few people got to watch it.
Yesterday I mentioned that I was interested in seeing how Connolly would set-up his forward/ruck combinations. But, after watching the game last night, I'm left with few answers and even more questions.
I mean you have plenty of options, but the sooner you settle on a regular forward structure the better off you'll be. Most of the top sides in this competition have a very stable line-up that doesn't chop and change too much.
J'Lo really strikes me as a bloke that enjoys the responsibility and challenge of leading the ruck - but is he needed more at full forward? Clive did some good things in that position last night, but he still puts the spaz in spasmodic.
And if J'Lo does become a permanent fixture in the ruck, where does that leave Sandilands? Only capable of playing ruck, imo, and he could be left warming the bench a fair bit.
Troy Simmonds is bloody fast, very strong and a nice long kick - but he still just doesn't get enough of the pill for mine. Just not convinced about him as a forward. Polak is probably the better long term option, but is very young and would need time and patience to learn how to play in a very tough position.
Sorry for rambling, but it will be interesting to see how it all turns out.
Thought Headland showed a few good signs - you need this bloke firing, because he adds a much needed 'spark' to your midfield. Schammer, Dunn and Browne can all play, and will keep improving as they get more games under their belts. Bell and Haselby did everything we've come to expect.
McPharlin and Pav will improve.
Still think Robbie Haddrill has too many good games where he still manages to concede 4-5 goals. Roger Hayden is all class.
Anyway, good signs for two teams that should both definitely finish in the top eight this year.
KiNgCliVe26
21 Feb 2004, 18:13
On the lead he does well. Body on body he looks lost. How many times did Lloyd beat him with pure strength....
And what Backman doesn't Lloyd beat body on body. The guys a ****ing freak he's so ****ing good. I don't like him but i acknowledge he is a great player. Hadrill is our best option for him IMO and got beaten just like 90% of the blokes that play on Lloyd.
Kenny_01
21 Feb 2004, 18:20
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Great game. Damn shame that so few people got to watch it.
Yesterday I mentioned that I was interested in seeing how Connolly would set-up his forward/ruck combinations. But, after watching the game last night, I'm left with few answers and even more questions.
I mean you have plenty of options, but the sooner you settle on a regular forward structure the better off you'll be. Most of the top sides in this competition have a very stable line-up that doesn't chop and change too much.
J'Lo really strikes me as a bloke that enjoys the responsibility and challenge of leading the ruck - but is he needed more at full forward? Clive did some good things in that position last night, but he still puts the spaz in spasmodic.
And if J'Lo does become a permanent fixture in the ruck, where does that leave Sandilands? Only capable of playing ruck, imo, and he could be left warming the bench a fair bit.
Troy Simmonds is bloody fast, very strong and a nice long kick - but he still just doesn't get enough of the pill for mine. Just not convinced about him as a forward. Polak is probably the better long term option, but is very young and would need time and patience to learn how to play in a very tough position.
Sorry for rambling, but it will be interesting to see how it all turns out.
Thought Headland showed a few good signs - you need this bloke firing, because he adds a much needed 'spark' to your midfield. Schammer, Dunn and Browne can all play, and will keep improving as they get more games under their belts. Bell and Haselby did everything we've come to expect.
McPharlin and Pav will improve.
Still think Robbie Haddrill has too many good games where he still manages to concede 4-5 goals. Roger Hayden is all class.
Anyway, good signs for two teams that should both definitely finish in the top eight this year.
Nice summary, agree with most of it. I'm not convinced with Simmonds at FF either, I'd prefer him to be thrown in there every now and then, but not be a permanent fixture there. I still like J-Lo starting in the goalsquare and Polak leading out at CHF, but not sure if Connolly will use that setup this year. The thing that annoys me is the ball seems to be cleared out so easily EVERY time one of our forwards drops a mark, generally because our opposition have more numbers at the drop of the ball.
Haddrill had 4 kicked on him, but if you go through Lloyd's 4 goals, only 1 or 2 of them were when he was directly opposed to Lloyd. Once the ball just landed in his arms and he dribbled through a goal, and one other goal, Woods dropped a sitter.
To all the essendon fans you would have to be pleased with the team effort considering the kids you played and freo had a full team on the field.OH sorry they were with out cook and it is good to see Farmer is still a D_ckhead
Watson looks very good as does Winderlinch and Richards,could be a good year for you'se but I dont Know about the girl team
Kenny_01
21 Feb 2004, 18:50
Originally posted by jeab
To all the essendon fans you would have to be pleased with the team effort considering the kids you played and freo had a full team on the field.OH sorry they were with out cook and it is good to see Farmer is still a D_ckhead
Watson looks very good as does Winderlinch and Richards,could be a good year for you'se but I dont Know about the girl team
Why are you talking as if Essendon isn't the team you support? :rolleyes:
grinspoon
21 Feb 2004, 19:18
And what Backman doesn't Lloyd beat body on body
collingwood backman.
ImperialPurple
21 Feb 2004, 19:33
loser
ImperialPurple
21 Feb 2004, 19:35
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Clive did some good things in that position last night, but he still puts the spaz in spasmodic.
Aaah Buzz - I think in 25 years time, when the name Clive is mentioned, that will be the line I think of.
A treasure, for sure and certain... :D
Originally posted by Kenny_01
Why are you talking as if Essendon isn't the team you support?
If i hadnt have looked at his profile i would have guessed he was a pie fan...It has uneducated written all over it.
Originally posted by grinspoon
collingwood backman.
Hahaha! Anzac Day 2003. Take a look at the tape. Presti and Clement were outbodied by Lloyd on more than one occassion. get off your high horse. The only backman that has recently done a job on Lloyd is Scarlett, and even he gets a few kicked on him by Matt.
Good hit out.
Umpiring was ordinary, but it evened out by the end of the night. Message to umpires, if both players are grappling, signal play on rather than giving a free to the the one with the best hairstyle.
Seeing the game on tele I was unsure how long alot of players were on the ground, but from what I saw, Des looked as if he'd come to play, Pav was in first gear, Cunningham will be the first departure at the end of the year, Snake must play around half forward and in the ruck, Gilmore looked ok and Dunn looked better the longer the game went.
The "power" players for the Bombers played well and oozed class.
In retrospect I'm happy we had a hitout against a good side, would it have been better to be up against a bottom 8 club and walk over them?. We should now know where we must improve and we have a month away from the cameras to do the fine tuning.
dave_27
23 Feb 2004, 15:44
Originally posted by grinspoon
collingwood backman.
no wonder, they cant get within 10 meters of him.
observer
23 Feb 2004, 16:36
Originally posted by masai
Umpiring was ordinary, but it evened out by the end of the night. Message to umpires, if both players are grappling, signal play on rather than giving a free to the the one with the best hairstyle.
Jeez your a funny **** arent ya :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
ImperialPurple
23 Feb 2004, 17:22
Originally posted by observer
Jeez your a funny **** arent ya :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
idiot
The Mission Man
23 Feb 2004, 18:56
Originally posted by masai
Then Observer advances the cause of rhetoric, public speaking and advocacy by saying:
Jeez your a funny **** arent ya
Obviously Observer is currently looking after Sir Robert's hair.
Never upset a hairdresser, they get pretty snippy.