View Full Version : Pura cup - possibilities
dr nick
21 Feb 2004, 15:22
so with still another 12 days till the next match is played, here is the table with matches still to be played:
Vic 40
Tas 22
Qld 18
NSW 17
WA 15
SA 12
NSW v Qld
Tas v Vic
SA v WA
Victoria will be playing for their 26th Sheffield Shield / Pura Cup title at the MCG on the 12th March.
For Tasmania to be assured of making the final they have to win outright. If they only win 1st innings, Qld has a chance of leapfrogging them. Failing that if the NSW - Qld match fails to produce an outright result, Tasmania will make it regardless of the outcome of the Tas - Vic match for a chance to win their 1st ever domestic title.
For Queensland they need to beat NSW outright at the SCG next week and hope Tasmania don't win outright. If Qld win outright and Tas win 1st innings only, Qld will beat them in quotient and play at the MCG on the 12th March for a shot at their 6th title.
For New South Wales to make the final, they need to beat Qld outright and hope other results go their way, namely Victoria beating Tasmania at Bellerieve to have a shot at their 44th title.
As for South and Western Australia, thanks for coming - it is a null match. Battle for the spoon i suppose.
Cooldude
21 Feb 2004, 15:35
It really doesn't matter, coz the Vics will flog whoever they play in the final.
red+black
21 Feb 2004, 15:35
NSW should have been docked again for slow over rates. I hope we play them in the final, it would be good to see us pummell the waughs. shame mctrash won't still be around.
dr nick
21 Feb 2004, 15:39
i was of the opinion slow over rates only mattered if the match went overtime, which the match against SA didn't.
Originally posted by nicko18
For New South Wales to make the final, they need to beat Qld outright and hope other results go their way, namely Victoria beating Tasmania at Bellerieve to have a shot at their 44th title.
um.... carn the Vics :o
Jim Boy
21 Feb 2004, 17:44
What chance of Vic going for the outright, but letting Tassie bat first and then declaring a couple of runs short of their first innings. Vics would still be looking at thrashing tassie, and be playing a team that they have psycholgically dominated in the final.
Freo Big Fella
21 Feb 2004, 18:37
You know, if South Australia combined with WA. We'd have a pretty good team:D.
Rogers
Mike Hussey
Langer
Lehmann(c)
Goodwin
North
Campbell
Cleary
Casson
Tait
Rofe
wagstaff
21 Feb 2004, 18:39
Originally posted by Jim Boy
What chance of Vic going for the outright, but letting Tassie bat first and then declaring a couple of runs short of their first innings. Vics would still be looking at thrashing tassie, and be playing a team that they have psycholgically dominated in the final.
I was thinking the same thing too. They would definitely feel that Tasmania would be the least likely to gain an outright at the MCG when compared with NSW and Qld.
Actually, it would be an appopriate tribute to Hookes if the Vics were to do this, as Hookes when SA captain manipulated a one-day match in 1986/87 so that Tasmania met them in the final instead of a more highly-credentialed side.
And SA went onto win the final.
apollo_creed
21 Feb 2004, 19:14
Oh, just imagine the uproar in the NSW media if that was to occur, in particular Fox Sports News AKA New South Wales Sports News.
C'mon Vics do exactly that, oh how i'd laugh, and laugh.........
Fall Out Boy
21 Feb 2004, 19:18
You're only fighting for second anyway boys.
EssJayW
21 Feb 2004, 20:07
Originally posted by Jim Boy
No need to start stuffing around with things now. Play to win and let the rest sort itself out.
Dry Rot
21 Feb 2004, 20:22
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
You're only fighting for second anyway boys.
I would have thought that a NSW side boosted by the addition of Bevan, Clarke, Haddin & McGrath might be a bit competitive....
The Spornstar
23 Feb 2004, 06:54
Originally posted by Dry Rot
I would have thought that a NSW side boosted by the addition of Bevan, Clarke, Haddin & McGrath might be a bit competitive....
Worry about beating Qld first...
dan warna
23 Feb 2004, 07:09
I'd like us to bat for 4 days and set them a task of score 1500 runs in the last day:D
GIVE THEM NOTHING.
Esp like it if we pummel the squelchmen.
dangers
clarke is/will be a class batsman, bevan is a class FC batsman, M and S waugh are well past their peak, but probably capable of one last gasp innings.
NSW have a pretty gun batting crew to throw at us, although past their prime. NSW tail is not much to chop though.
bowling, mcgilla is good at cleaning up tails, and we'll have to depend on our top 5 continuing their top form. McGill is as good as white;) but the rest of their bowlers might as well be chucking pies.
Qld have good batsmen and bowlers, with noffke, horrorwitz, bichel can bowl sides out, and love, maher et al, can bat for long long long times. Love definately once set, its like trying to get rid of a 2 tonne concrete slab, and slaw is in form also.
Tassie, easily the softest option, only wright threatens with the ball, although doherty is a skilled bowler at the start of his career. batting, son of iron gloves can be dangerious, devo is a talent, no easy run there either.
Victoria
hussey seems to have lost his early season form, a spent force? skill doesn't dissapear, but seems to be making rash decisions, hodge has been consistently fabulous, elliot has been getting BETTER as the season goes along. Moss steady and hard to remove, lets see him at his boring best, don't care if he gets 5 runs in 500 balls in a months time!, white, hit and miss, definately a talent, but gets out too easily sometimes, concentration issues?
Chuck has rediscovered his bat at the end of the season/career, good for 40 runs...
the secret is our even bowling, inness, maccas, wise, lewis all seem to be firing at the same time, the only team to regularly bowl sides out for less than 300.
I wouldn't mind even if we bowled first at the moment on final day.
with white able to winkle out 'set' batsmen with his leggies, and mott and moss with the donkey drops...Vics definately favs
Originally posted by Darky
Umm... you gotta beat Qld first! Wouldn't back NSW with your $! No team with 5 outright losses deserves a spot in the final.
For our part I can see us pummeling Tassie again. Bellerive is usually a road & they can bat so an outright either way is the outsider I'd say.
Looks straight-forward enough.
Bring on the final..it'll be a big weekend.
Fall Out Boy
23 Feb 2004, 19:58
Originally posted by Dry Rot
Given our amazing year, i feel i have a right to feel confident about our chances.
Fall Out Boy
23 Feb 2004, 20:00
Just out of interest, how can one who deplores everything Victorian, then supporter a Victorian football club?
I couldn't support a South Australian football team.
The Spornstar
24 Feb 2004, 06:46
Are you actually from NSW originally Darky?
Given our amazing year, i feel i have a right to feel confident about our chances.
All good things must come to an end.
Fall Out Boy
24 Feb 2004, 09:14
Originally posted by Zeke
Not at the hands of Tasmania, that's for sure.
Originally posted by Zeke
Yes they do...Vic bashing from opposition supporters that is. It will no doubt end after the pura cup final this year when we romp it in.
Originally posted by The Spornstar
Are you actually from NSW originally Darky?
No he's from Germany, explains a lot really...
He's always supported NSW, I'll leave it up to him to tell you why.
I'm tipping his explaination will contain the phrase "Because the Vics were ****" :D
Maybe we didn't have enough lefties :rolleyes:
I know he was a big Wayne Holdsworth fan & I think he would've married Mark Taylor had Tubby asked ;).
He hates Steve Waugh because he bats for his average, yet Bevo's allowed to do it coz he's a lefty :).
ThePope
24 Feb 2004, 16:04
Originally posted by nicko18
As for South and Western Australia, thanks for coming - it is a null match. Battle for the spoon i suppose.
But if WA win outright and Tassie gets docked a point for slow over rates....
straws
Originally posted by ThePope
But if WA win outright and Tassie gets docked a point for slow over rates....
straws
... and if you beat SA.
I admire your optimism & your maths is solid. ;)
All these teams needing favours from the Vics, that's almost reward enough for me. :D
Originally posted by BT
No he's from Germany, explains a lot really...
He's always supported NSW, I'll leave it up to him to tell you why.
I'm tipping his explaination will contain the phrase "Because the Vics were ****" :D
Maybe we didn't have enough lefties :rolleyes:
I know he was a big Wayne Holdsworth fan & I think he would've married Mark Taylor had Tubby asked ;).
He hates Steve Waugh because he bats for his average, yet Bevo's allowed to do it coz he's a lefty :).
All of the above is more or less correct.
And people like dan warna don't make me regret it for a second. :D
Just out of interest, how can one who deplores everything Victorian, then supporter a Victorian football club?
Not at all, my friend.
I'm not specifically anti-Victorian, just don't support the cricket team and never have.
I don't start up threads slagging off players just because they are from a certain state. (Not referring to yourself either). That's when you can start accusing people of being anti- something or having irrational bias.
I always try to add some logical weight to my arguments when assessing the pros and cons of any player or team.
Not at all, my friend.
I'm not specifically anti-Victorian, just don't support the cricket team and never have.
I don't start up threads slagging off players just because they are from a certain state. (Not referring to yourself either). That's when you can start accusing people of being anti- something or having irrational bias.
I always try to add some logical weight to my arguments when assessing the pros and cons of any player or team.
Good onya Darky.
I'm the same, born and bred Victorian, but follow NSW.
Always followed the Blues, have never been sorry for that fact, especially after a particularly nasty run in with Mr Dean Jones.
Having said that, I will not mind at all if the Vics win the Milk Mug, for the hard work and dedication shown by Hookesy.
Bombers_Forever
27 Feb 2004, 13:02
If Victoria play Tassie, they will smash them.
If Victoria play NSW, I would be worried. NSW would be a huge chance, even though Victoria have dominated yet.
The Spornstar
27 Feb 2004, 17:04
Originally posted by Bombers_Forever
If Victoria play Tassie, they will smash them.
If Victoria play NSW, I would be worried. NSW would be a huge chance, even though Victoria have dominated yet.
I’m more scared of Qld than NSW myself. Still I’d obviously want Tassie the most.
I think it would be a bit of an injustice if the Vics didn't win this season. They have beaten everyone outright and have not lost a match outright this season.
Anyone playing the Vics will be worried with Elliot, Hussey, Hodge & Moss all averaging over 50 and White averaging in the Mid 40s it's a pretty leathel batting line up. Plus they have been consistently able to take 20 wickets in a match and not really on sporting declarations for a chance.
Fall Out Boy
28 Feb 2004, 17:54
Originally posted by spanna
I'm the same, born and bred Victorian, but follow NSW.
Blasphemus.
I couldn't imagine following another state, just not right.
Originally posted by The Spornstar
I’m more scared of Qld than NSW myself. Still I’d obviously want Tassie the most.
Agreed.