View Full Version : McManus

Rob
21 Feb 2004, 18:14
Anyopne else starting to get really, really p*ssed off with McManus' shocking disposal? To be honest, his consistent pinpointing of either the opposition or the boundary umpires used to be a bit of a novelty when were were crap and pretty amusing for those of us in block 310, but when we are getting towards going for a flag, its suddenly become tear your hair out material. His kicking yesterday was his usual standard, and it gave me the sh*ts a lot more than normal. I get the feeling Connolly knew it too, because late in the game he decided to put him on probably the worst player in Essendon's team, Justin Murphy. The result was Murphy suddenly bobbed up to kick the winning goal and take another mark inside 50 with 30 seconds to go. Ordinarily it would be the subject of much amusement, but yesterday it was just so bloody frustrating.

Maybe a bit harsh so early in the season, but I certainly wasn't encouraged that he's in any danger of hitting the target more than 1 in 10.

Kenny_01
21 Feb 2004, 18:24
His kicking definitely improved last year but it wasn't very good yesterday, but I'll give him the benifit of the doubt, being the first game and all. I'd personally play him on a HFF because I think he is a very strong mark, and could be a decent target. His accountability isn't a major strength either. But still in our best 22, IMO anyway. Adds some much needed toughness and leadership.

error404
21 Feb 2004, 20:34
The Top Ten Placings in the Doig Medal were as follows -

1 Peter Bell
2 Matthew Pavlich
3 Paul Hasleby
4 Robert Haddrill
5 Shaun McManus - Need I say more
6 Matthew Carr
7 James Walker
8 Paul Medhurst
9 Dion Woods
10 Roger Hayden

Tony_Clifton
21 Feb 2004, 20:36
yeah, what the hell is walker doing at 7?
;) in case you didn't realise

error404
21 Feb 2004, 20:47
I think the coach and match committee vote on a 5,4,3,2,1 system................ they are a better judge than me ;)

avdbrm
21 Feb 2004, 23:36
i reckon that mcmanus is still pretty good.... sure he's not all that talented, but he has his moments..... and when the moments come they're really good.

well worth waiting for.

Moo
22 Feb 2004, 02:37
Maybe a bit harsh so early in the season,

Rob - at least you said one thing I can agree with.

Rob
22 Feb 2004, 19:32
Originally posted by Moo
Rob - at least you said one thing I can agree with.

So you disagree that his shocking disposal skills have graduated from being the subject of amusement to frustrating the sh*t out of you? ;)

Ripper
22 Feb 2004, 20:22
The thing with Macca is when he has a clanger everyone notices it as they are looking for it. The player on our list with the most clangers last year was Haze. But no-one notices because he is a good player. When Macca has a (rare last year) disposal error he does it properly and misses by a mile making it very noticable. I prefer to watch him and appeciate the times that he does hit a teammate lace out.

Kenny_01
22 Feb 2004, 22:46
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
The thing with Macca is when he has a clanger everyone notices it as they are looking for it.

Agree with that to an extent. But Hasleby gets more clangers because he gets more touches and his disposals are often in traffic.

Ripper
22 Feb 2004, 22:53
Originally posted by Kenny_01
Agree with that to an extent. But Hasleby gets more clangers because he gets more touches and his disposals are often in traffic.

For sure, I am just using Haze as an example. The way people talk about Macca you would think that he coughed it up every disposal (although that could be said in the past). At the moment Macca's good points outweigh his bad points and here's hoping that he shows even more improvement this year. From what I have seen of the preseason games it seems to be the older blokes who are the most rusty (Hird excepted :( )

masai
23 Feb 2004, 12:31
I have this opinion that some players clangers are noted more than others. Case in point, James Hird on Friday had a good game, do you remember the two woeful kicks he did, they were dreadful but no one is talking about his bad disposal, but we are harping about a similar number by another player.

In fact Macca has a pretty good record of delivering the ball well down ground, it's just that his clangers stand out. Anyway a player must have many facets to his game, Maccas other facets more than make up for his perceived poor delivery.

Just my two cents.

ThePope
23 Feb 2004, 13:09
The Clanger Count from 2003 (min 11 games played)

Player Disp Clng Clng%
Paul Medhurst 234 60 25.6%
Trent Croad 168 43 25.6%
Aaron Sandilands 137 26 19.0%
Steven Koops 99 18 18.2%
Troy Simmonds 267 48 18.0%
Justin Longmuir 171 29 17.0%
Robert Haddrill 271 44 16.2%
Byron Schammer 191 30 15.7%
Jeff Farmer 186 29 15.6%
Des Headland 348 48 13.8%
Shaun McManus 397 50 12.6%
James Walker 270 33 12.2%
Luke McPharlin 172 21 12.2%
Antoni Grover 213 26 12.2%
Graham Polak 218 26 11.9%
Matthew Pavlich 449 52 11.6%
Matthew Carr 366 41 11.2%
Dion Woods 295 33 11.2%
Paul Hasleby 561 52 9.3%
Roger Hayden 282 24 8.5%
Shane Parker 150 11 7.3%
Troy Cook 399 29 7.3%
Peter Bell 596 40 6.7%

So Macca is up there, but isn't the absolute worst

doppo
23 Feb 2004, 14:09
I think the problem tends to be that Mcmanus' clangers are often shockers, kicks out of bounds on the full, directly to opposition player, whilst someone like Haselby might just miss a target.

I'd assume a behind counts as a clanger? Explaining the goal kickers high rankings.

Kenny_01
23 Feb 2004, 14:29
What else is suprising by those stats is that Cook is 2nd last.

Ripper
23 Feb 2004, 14:35
Originally posted by Kenny_01
What else is suprising by those stats is that Cook is 2nd last.

True kenny, I also noticed the 2nd & 4th worst were traded to other clubs.

pav_is_god
23 Feb 2004, 15:08
By playing him what we lose in poor disposal and decision making, we gain in experience, grit and determination.

Besides, we can't expect clive to be the only Goldilocks in the side.:D

Rob
23 Feb 2004, 19:51
AFAIK, clangers are only blatant unforced errors. Merely missing a target doesn't get you a clanger stat unless it goes out on the full or straight down the throat of an opposition player on his own.

If you're kicking to a lead, the ball either falls short or misses the target and a pack forms, it's not a clanger.

Rob
23 Feb 2004, 19:54
Originally posted by pav_is_god
By playing him what we lose in poor disposal and decision making, we gain in experience, grit and determination.

I agree, but that doesn't mean his kicking doesn't annoy the living bejesus out of me.

Moo
23 Feb 2004, 23:14
Look as I see it a clanger is worth - 1, however consistently running head long into danger and rising from unconsciousness to kick goals are worth + 5.

McManus is on a score of 153.

Ask yourself this has there been a period when McManus (as a total footballer) hasnt deserved a spot in our best 22 on a regular basis? No and IMO that includes right now as well.

Do I get annoyed if he miskicks ...absolutely but I treat everyone the same.

ImperialPurple
24 Feb 2004, 15:20
Macca is a good player.
Every one knows that.

From Stefan Age7 :)