View Full Version : Adelaide V Freo Trial game

Pages : [1] 2

Jerome
24 Feb 2004, 18:22
Channel 9 reports that McLeod will be rested this week for the Freo tial match. Precautionary stuff.

Now if this isnt a chance to get Schuback into the side I don't know what is.

Jericho could get a run in defence, but after last week's lack of leadership in defence I think the club will be deadset keen to get Ben Hart back in the mix (if he is fit).

Stiffy_18
24 Feb 2004, 18:46
I think its a good move by the club. I would also rest Carey. Give Schuey and another tall a go. Maybe Watts for a quarter of the bench.

macca23
24 Feb 2004, 19:23
The Freo game has to be the one for any experiments.

Rest Macca and Carey. Perrie to CHF and Burton to FF.

Begley and Reilly on the wings.

Rissole Burns.

Schuback must play or he never will.

The last 2 pre-season games should be played fielding what is likely to be our team and structure for the opening match proper.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
24 Feb 2004, 19:40
any chance this game might be on Foxtel?

k
xx

Stiffy_18
24 Feb 2004, 19:47
Originally posted by macca23
The Freo game has to be the one for any experiments. Spot on.

OUT: McLeod, Carey (rested) Burns (omitted)
IN: Schuback, Hart, Smart. Later two to get match fitness. They can only play a half each at this stage.

F: _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 25. Ben Rutten _ 14. Hayden Skipworth
HF: _ 26. Jacob Schuback _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 27. Scott Stevens
C: _ 33. Brent Reilly _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 24. Brett Burton
HB: _ 37. Trent Hentschel _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 21. James Gallagher
B: _ 34. Ben Hart _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 9. Tyson Edwards
1R: _ 13. Ben Hudson _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 18 Graham Johncock

Int: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 3. Kris Massie _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _
_____ 7. Nigel Smart _ 12. Robert Shirley _ 10. Matthew Bode

Kane McGoodwin
24 Feb 2004, 21:34
Disagree about leaving Carey out as he needs to build up match fitness & a repore with the other key forwards. We should only be leaving out players like Macca where there is no great benefit of playing them. For that reason I would consider resting the likes of Edwards & even Goody. Roo & Birdman need a good run through the midfield. Hart & Smart could do with a half each too. Schuey must get a deserved chance or consider getting some photos of Ayresy.

Kane McGoodwin
24 Feb 2004, 21:38
B: Gallagher, Hentschel, Bassett
HB: Hart, McGregor, Stenglein
C: Reilly, Ricciuto, Burton
HF: Johncock, Perrie, S Stevens
F: Schuback, Carey, Welsh
R: Hudson, Shirley, Bode
I: Biglands, Rutten, Smart, Massie, Skipworth, Ladhams

macca23
24 Feb 2004, 21:45
Just as the wildest of wild cards, and I know it won't happen, but I would like to see Ben Hudson tried for a quarter or two at CHF playing the Robran stay at home CHF in the middle of the corridor.

I wouldn't expect him to get many kicks, but I know as sure as hell he'd put up a hell of a contest and get the ball to ground for the crumbers nearly every time. He has excellent 2nd and 3rd efforts and certainly he wouldn't be over-awed.

Won't happen, but I'd love to see it, as I reckon it would straighten us up going forward.

Stiffy_18
24 Feb 2004, 21:53
Just as the wildest of wild cards, and I know it won't happen, but I would like to see Ben Hudson tried for a quarter or two at CHF playing the Robran stay at home CHF in the middle of the corridor.

I wouldn't expect him to get many kicks, but I know as sure as hell he'd put up a hell of a contest and get the ball to ground for the crumbers nearly every time. He has excellent 2nd and 3rd efforts and certainly he wouldn't be over-awed.

Won't happen, but I'd love to see it, as I reckon it would straighten us up going forward. I think you might be onto something macca. I would like to see that for a quarter just to see how it would work for the team. One thing is for sure Big Ben will work his guts out to bring the ball to ground and then crash in to keep it in the area.

Big Ben is fast becoming somewhat of a cult figure around here:D

Kane McGoodwin
24 Feb 2004, 21:56
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Big Ben is fast becoming somewhat of a cult figure around here:D
Stiffy at least this Big Ben is gaining popularity! ;)

Stiffy_18
24 Feb 2004, 22:12
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Stiffy at least this Big Ben is gaining popularity! ;) :D

macca23
24 Feb 2004, 22:16
Stiffy at least this Big Ben is gaining popularity! ;)

This Big Ben, unlike noddy's our Ben ( ;) sorry noddy) , puts his heart and soul into the game. He's as raw as hell, but boy does he have a crack.

For those who went to the Norwood trial, you'd have to say one of the highlights was in that game when Huddo went to FF and as the ball came in long and high crashed the whole pack, splitting it open and setting up a crumber to goal. I loved it. That's called commitment!!

Stiffy_18
24 Feb 2004, 22:25
This Big Ben, unlike noddy's our Ben ( ;) sorry noddy) , puts his heart and soul into the game. He's as raw as hell, but boy does he have a crack.

For those who went to the Norwood trial, you'd have to say one of the highlights was in that game when Huddo went to FF and as the ball came in long and high crashed the whole pack, splitting it open and setting up a crumber to goal. I loved it. That's called commitment!! I saw that. I think Scotty Borlace would be a very sore boy even today. That was one hell of a hit.

There is something about him that you have to admire. He just crashes in and has no regard for his safety. Probably the most pleasing thing is his willingness to follow up with 2nd, 3rd, and 4th efforts. He gets down on his knees and gets to the bottom of the pack.

You once said there is no such a thing as a soft Rugby player and its true. The bloke has my vote thats for sure. He is very raw but hell he shows good signs.

And to think some of us thought we should keep the other Ben......:o

Fergus
25 Feb 2004, 07:50
Disagree about leaving Carey out as he needs to build up match fitness & a repore with the other key forwards. We should only be leaving out players like Macca where there is no great benefit of playing them. For that reason I would consider resting the likes of Edwards & even Goody. Roo & Birdman need a good run through the midfield. Hart & Smart could do with a half each too. Schuey must get a deserved chance or consider getting some photos of Ayresy.

I agree with Kane that playing Carey at this stage is important. He needs the football and we need to get a forward structure working with him in it earlier rather than later. We can always rest him from the last trial game if he needs it.

Jars458
25 Feb 2004, 09:17
From what I am reading is seems as if Ayres is intent on playing his best side "to get things right"

So don't count on many new players getting a run

I would love to see Watts Jericho Schuback Parker et al, given a run but I won't be holding my breath.

naughty monkey
25 Feb 2004, 15:22
Originally posted by Jars458
From what I am reading is seems as if Ayres is intent on playing his best side "to get things right"

So don't count on many new players getting a run

I would love to see Watts Jericho Schuback Parker et al, given a run but I won't be holding my breath.

It will be interesting to see who gets the minutes. This will speak volumes about his confidence in his players to execute the new gameplan, imo.

tinman
25 Feb 2004, 22:45
Never miss a chance to see the Crows here in WA so I will be going to Subi and am more than happy to provide a brief report after the game.

may not be posted 'til Sunday though as I'm going with some mates from Freo ;)

Cheers

Jerome
26 Feb 2004, 05:45
From today's Advertiser:

"McLeod will miss Saturday's Regional Challenge match against Fremantle with knee soreness but Nigel Smart (achilles) and Ben Hart (calf) are expected to be named after two months on the sidelines. "

"Stenglein said the Crows would "still be putting a good side out on the park" instead of experimenting too heavily against the Dockers in Saturday's Regional Challenge match at Subiaco."

Doesnt look like too many more young blokes will get a game. So who else goes out for Smart?

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 17:21
IN:
Smith:rolleyes:
Clarke
Hart
Smart
Schuback:D
Begley

OUT:
Burns :D
Shirley
McGregor (Rested)
Burton (Rested)
McLeod (Rested)

Why Smith??????:confused: Wouldn't it be better to play someone like Watts especially since Fremantle are playing their inexperienced players. We should have played as many youngsters as possible in this match. Probably expect Smith to play in defence. Hopefully we play Hentschel at CHB where he can use his skills and be a bit more attacking.

Freo are playing all of their available youngsters so one would expect that we should win easily. I still would have prefered for us to play the youngsters.

Burns and Shirley will play with their local clubs.

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 19:40
from afc.com.au

Crows include Hart, Smart
4:56:23 PM Thu 26 February, 2004
Alan Shiell
afl.com.au
Adelaide stalwarts Nigel Smart and Ben Hart will play their first pre-season matches on Saturday, against Fremantle in the Wizard Regional Challenge Series clash at Subiaco Oval.

Smart (Achilles) and Hart (calf) have been named in a squad of 25 for Perth, but the Crows will rest three key players – Andrew McLeod, Brett Burton and Ken McGregor.

Ronnie Burns and Robert Shirley also have been omitted from the squad of 24 that lost to St Kilda by 13 points at AAMI Stadium last Sunday.

Burns and Shirley did not get much game time against the Saints and will have invaluable outings with SANFL clubs Port Adelaide Magpies and Woodville-West Torrens respectively this weekend.

Apart from Smart and Hart, the other four inclusions for Perth are Matthew Clarke, who has recovered from a calf strain, Jacob Schuback, James Begley and rookie-listed Matthew Smith.

The squad of 25 to play against the Dockers is: Nathan Bassett, James Begley, Rhett Biglands, Matthew Bode, Wayne Carey, Matthew Clarke, Tyson Edwards, James Gallagher, Simon Goodwin, Ben Hart, Trent Hentschel, Ben Hudson, Graham Johncock, Kris Massie, Ian Perrie, Brent Reilly, Mark Ricciuto, Ben Rutten, Jacob Schuback, Hayden Skipworth, Nigel Smart, Matthew Smith, Tyson Stenglein, Scott Stevens, Scott Welsh.

OK since this is the squad here is my line up:

F: _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 25. Ben Ruten _ 2. Wayne Carey
HF: _ 14. Hayden Skipworth _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 26. Jacob Schuback
C: _ 33. Brent Reilly _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 18. Graham Johncock
HB: _ 3. Kris Massie _ 37. Trent Hentschel _ 21. James Gallagher
1R: _ 13. Ben Hudson _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 32. Mark Ricciuto

Int: _ 1. Matthew Smith _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 10. Matthew Bode _ 27. Scott Stevens _ 28. James Begley _ 35. Rhett Biglands

Thoughts??????

Jerome
26 Feb 2004, 19:50

Why Smith??????:confused: Wouldn't it be better to play someone like Watts especially...Hopefully we play Hentschel at CHB where he can use his skills and be a bit more attacking.

I agree with Watts being given a run. Certainly on the form from a couple of weeks ago, I would have Watts ahead of Smith.

Smith's physique has improved where as Watts needs another pre season to fill out. Maybe they are keener to play guys who look phyiscally ready?

With Hart and Smart back in the side and Kenny out I think they will take up the defensive roles, and Smith could be used in attack.

They played Smith as a forward aginst the Bays. I think they might give it another run. If Smith is in defence I'll be interested to see what they do with Smart.

We assume that he will play in defence. With no injuries, it looks like Hentschel, Kenny, Ben and Bass are our key defenders in Round 1.

Where does Nige play? A utility playing off the bench? We don't need 5 talls down back do we? I wonder ... with Stevo out and Burton earning his spot on the wing, do we try Smart up forward?

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 20:03
Originally posted by Jerome
I agree with Watts being given a run. Certainly on the form from a couple of weeks ago, I would have Watts ahead of Smith.

Smith's physique has improved where as Watts needs another pre season to fill out. Maybe they are keener to play guys who look phyiscally ready?

With Hart and Smart back in the side and Kenny out I think they will take up the defensive roles, and Smith could be used in attack.

They played Smith as a forward aginst the Bays. I think they might give it another run. If Smith is in defence I'll be interested to see what they do with Smart.

We assume that he will play in defence. With no injuries, it looks like Hentschel, Kenny, Ben and Bass are our key defenders in Round 1.

Where does Nige play? A utility playing off the bench? We don't need 5 talls down back do we? I wonder ... with Stevo out and Burton earning his spot on the wing, do we try Smart up forward? You make some very good point Jerome.

You are right that Watts still needs to put on some muscle but the reason I would have given strong consideration about playing him is because Fremantle will rest a dozen of their key players. That leaves them with rookies. Watts would probably be matched up on someone like David Mundy who played TAC last year. Smith is stronger but Watts is a far better footballer.

I think we will play Hart and Smart for a half each so I wouldn't be surprised if they play 1st half with one of them and the 2nd half with the other playing the same position.

Smart is an interesting one. He has shown in the past that he can play at both ends of the ground. I still think he is our best negating defender and when the proper season starts he will most likely get the oppositions best forward. Its a very interesting situation.

macca23
26 Feb 2004, 20:04
from afc.com.au

Burns and Shirley did not get much game time against the Saints and will have invaluable outings with SANFL clubs Port Adelaide Magpies and Woodville-West Torrens respectively this weekend.

Stories do differ in the telling.

Burns played 2 and a half ratsh*t quarters on the wing before being replaced by Reilly who should have got a far better go. Burns was back on the ground again in the last quarter.

In another mind-blowing coaching surprise, Ayres outdid himself by starting Shirley on Milne. True, Shirley didn't get much of a chance after that, so he will appreciate the gallop.

macca23
26 Feb 2004, 20:14

OK since this is the squad here is my line up:

F: _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 25. Ben Ruten _ 2. Wayne Carey
HF: _ 14. Hayden Skipworth _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 26. Jacob Schuback
C: _ 33. Brent Reilly _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 18. Graham Johncock
HB: _ 3. Kris Massie _ 37. Trent Hentschel _ 21. James Gallagher
1R: _ 13. Ben Hudson _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 32. Mark Ricciuto

Int: _ 1. Matthew Smith _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 10. Matthew Bode _ 27. Scott Stevens _ 28. James Begley _ 35. Rhett Biglands

Thoughts??????

Huddo's pinched the #1 ruck spot Stiffy?? :D I've got no problems with it but I don't think AFC will do that. I hope he gets more than a good go though - I think he can play.

I like your forward set-up as it has a bit of everything in it. Strength, marking, pace and sharking.

Hentschel looks the obvious CHB, so I don't think you're too far from the mark.

Jerome
26 Feb 2004, 20:24
The other interesting aspect is the fact they have named all three ruckmen.

I wonder how they will use them - I'd expect at least one of them to get a KPP role but who and where? Hudson or Biglands at FF? Rhett at FB? Are we priming someone to take up Stevo's spot in 04?

I bloody wish this was on TV! What time is it on radio? Please 5AA dont let McDermott and Wildy call this game!

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 20:28
Huddo's pinched the #1 ruck spot Stiffy?? :D I've got no problems with it but I don't think AFC will do that. I hope he gets more than a good go though - I think he can play. Yeah Hudo's got just about wrapped up:p. I doubt we will line up that way but thats I would line them up. Give lesser lights a LOT of game time.

I like your forward set-up as it has a bit of everything in it. Strength, marking, pace and sharking. I like it as well. Rutten would kick a bag. There is a bit of everything there.

Hentschel looks the obvious CHB, so I don't think you're too far from the mark. I think thats just about given unless they want to presist with him deeper in defence and play Smith at CHB. I would certainly play Hentschel at CHB and give him freedom to attack. I think thats one big part of his game as a backman. He is capable of providing plenty of drive from the backline.

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 20:31

I wonder how they will use them - I'd expect at least one of them to get a KPP role but who and where? Hudson or Biglands at FF? Rhett at FB? Are we priming someone to take up Stevo's spot in 04?

I bloody wish this was on TV! What time is it on radio? Please 5AA dont let McDermott and Wildy call this game! I think Hudson will probably get the KPP gig.

I think it will be Wildy but not sure about Cain Ackland lover. The game starts at 3pm SA time (I think) so it will either start at 2:30 or 3.

macca23
26 Feb 2004, 20:51

I wonder how they will use them - I'd expect at least one of them to get a KPP role but who and where? Hudson or Biglands at FF?

Hudson is the most likely to play in a KPP if they do go that way because he is the most mobile and loves to get down and get dirty as well.

As I said elsewhere I'd really like to see him tried in a practice game like this one at CHF as a target in the Blight mode. While we couldn't expect him to get the ball a lot it would straighten us up and give the crumbers certainty as to where the ball would be.

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 21:01
Hudson is the most likely to play in a KPP if they do go that way because he is the most mobile and loves to get down and get dirty as well.

As I said elsewhere I'd really like to see him tried in a practice game like this one at CHF as a target in the Blight mode. While we couldn't expect him to get the ball a lot it would straighten us up and give the crumbers certainty as to where the ball would be. One thing is sure with Hudson. Whether you play him in the ruck, FF, CHF, CHB or Fb he will always give you a contest. He will never let you down with his work ethic and just guts and determination to put his body on the line and get the ball at all costs.

I would really love to see it. However, I think the club will use the next 2-3 games to get the forward line functioning which probably meas you will see Perrie and Welsh at FF with Carey at CHF and Scott Stevens on the HFF.

Kane McGoodwin
26 Feb 2004, 21:23
However, I think the club will use the next 2-3 games to get the forward line functioning which probably meas you will see Perrie and Welsh at FF with Carey at CHF and Scott Stevens on the HFF.
I agree Stiffy that the Crows will want to settle down their forward structure for at least the 1st half against an inexperienced Freo. Then experiment in the 2nd half with the younger players with mass changes.

Clarke, Hart & Smart will probably only play a half each given it's their 1st hit-out. Bode needs to show something this game to guarantee a spot. Roo needs a good run, as did Burton, so his injury must be still of a concern.

B: Hart, Bassett, Edwards
HB: Massie, Hentschel, Gallagher
C: Reilly, Ricciuto, Stenglein
HF: Johncock, Carey, S Stevens
F: Welsh, Perrie, Skipworth
R: Clarke, Goodwin, Bode

I: Biglands, Hudson, Rutten, Smart, Smith, Begley, Schuback (very tall bench)

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 21:27
HF: Johncock, Carey, S Stevens
F: Welsh, Carey, Skipworth I think 2 Careys would be very handy since Stevo is just about finished:p

Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2004, 21:32
Should we be worried that both Hart and Smart have missed 2 months of pre-season?????? History shows that if a player misses a big part of pre-season they generally don't have a good year.

I know they have been doing a lot of swimming and bike work to keep up their fitness but they haven't had much of the competative training. Is this a real concern??????

Kane McGoodwin
26 Feb 2004, 21:32
I think 2 Careys would be very handy since Stevo is just about finished:p
Wishful thinking :D

Kane McGoodwin
26 Feb 2004, 21:35
Should we be worried that both Hart and Smart have missed 2 months of pre-season?????? History shows that if a player misses a big part of pre-season they generally don't have a good year.

I know they have been doing a lot of swimming and bike work to keep up their fitness but they haven't had much of the competative training. Is this a real concern??????
It's not ideal. If they can't get up decent match practice 1 or both may have to play a few SANFL games to begin with. As long as they are right come the business end of the season.

Ripper
26 Feb 2004, 23:26

I think you will find that Snake is being groomed for a forward role. CC Said the other day that while he is probably our best ruckman he is also probably our best CHF at the mo. Sandilands will probably do most of the ruckwork with J Longmuir who has been better changing of the ball.

I am looking forward to this game just to get a look at the young blokes who are all keen to impress. Hopefully it will be a reasonably close game.

Kenny_01
27 Feb 2004, 01:43
You guys should really flog us seeing as though we are resting Pavlich, Walker, Hasleby, Farmer, Simmonds, Carr, Bell, McPharlin, Headland and 1 or 2 others I think.

Still, I will be down there to see how our youngsters go.

napsyd
27 Feb 2004, 08:33
I think 2 Careys would be very handy since Stevo is just about finished:p

Hopefully at least one of them came into the team via a time warp from 1994!

AngelEyes
27 Feb 2004, 10:22
IN:
Schuback:D

:D :D Finally we will be able to see what the speedster can do!

RaDaR ReiLLy
27 Feb 2004, 13:43
IN:
Schuback

Oh, Gary has awoken from his slumber! :p :D :D :D

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 13:53
What time is it on radio? Please 5AA dont let McDermott and Wildy call this game! I have checked it and its on at 3 pm. 5AA won't have their team over so they will be taking relay from 6PR. Don't expect much info on Crows youngsters unless they play a blinder in the propotions that Luke Ball played last week.

Still worth a listen.:)

Jerome
28 Feb 2004, 13:56
Thanks Stiffy! Anything's gotta be better than listening to Wildy and McDermott!

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 14:00
Thanks Stiffy! Anything's gotta be better than listening to Wildy and McDermott! I find Wilds OK but McDermott really gives me the $hitS. He actually rates Walls.

How precious can he get. When someone has a crack at AFC it get to him that AFC have a crack back but when someone has a crack at him he gets all offended and goes on a raging attack.:rolleyes:

Grow a brain Chris McDermott!!!!!!:rolleyes:

I think the fact that he has HUGE wraps on Cain Akland speaks volumes I reckon.

Jerome
28 Feb 2004, 15:33
Half time - Freo 8 goals, Crows 3

Freo seems to be winning the midfield easily Sandilands is not being toubled by Biglands and Clarke. Cunningham has kicked a few goals. Freo defence rebounding well.

Brent Reilly seems to be playing well and getting a few touches. Carey is moving well at CHF and reading the play alright.

Ben Rutten has started in defence. Ian Perrie seems to be the focal point in attack according to the radio - sounds to me like he is doing a crap job of it.

Lots of work to do for AFC, esp in front of goals. The old problem of poor conversion in front of the big sticks has resurfaced!

jmorg1
28 Feb 2004, 15:42
Half time - Freo 8 goals, Crows 3

thanks keep the updates coming ...

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 15:51
8.1 to 3.5 - Freo leading - at half-time. Play has just resumed. Accurate summary from Jerome on the first half.

Crows just kicked the first goal after half time. Stenglein passed to Hentschel up forward - Hentschel goaled. Crows 20 points down.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 15:54
Carey being rested in the 3rd quarter aftr an excellent first half. Hentschel at CHF. Smith is on the ground as is Hudson.

Reilly burning.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:01
Bassett's disposal from defence very poor - 2 bad skill errors in a row.

Stenglein doing well. Just kicked a goal after good work from Johncock. 14 points the diff.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:03
A bit of magic from Medhurst on the burst and a goal. Back to 20 points 9-2 to 5-6

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:05
Scott Stevens snaps a goal- back to 14 points. Commentators saying he's shown enough today to make Ayres happy.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:08
Three quarter time

Freo 9-2

Crows 6-6

Adelaide still burning the ball a bit up forward

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:22
Game has just resumed. We have had at least 4 attacks for nothing but turnovers. Freo into attack and goal to Longmuir courtesy of Medhurst.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:24
Reilly a point - down by 19 points

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:26
Bugger - Johncock hits the post - 18 points down

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:28
We must have been inside 50 at least 7 times for no goals. Anothet poor entry, Freo rebound straight down the ground, and McManus goals..24 points down

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:30
This is really p*ssing me off!! We've been in attack another 2times for no score. Our disposal up forward is a joke.

Massie and Bode getting a fair bit of the ball.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:31
Commentators made the point that Smith has had an attack of the fumbles since he's been on.

He's a joke and so are the selectors for picking him.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:33
Poor disposal into the 50 from Skippy and Biglands. Is it that hard to find a forward?

Freo down the ground for a point - 26 points to Freo

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:35
Another 2 forward entries for nothing. Does Ayres realize we have a problem.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:36
Commentators just gave Skippy a very good wrap for effort. Minute and a half to go.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:37
Johncock a point from a tight angle - 25 points down.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:38
Freo straight down the ground for a goal as the siren sounds.

Done by 32 points.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:42
Final scores 12-4 to 6-9.

How many forward entries did we have in the last quarter for zero goals.

We didn't have a forward structure, and we couldn't hit a forward target.

Reilly got plenty of praise. Others to get the thumbs up were Massie, Scott Stevens and Carey for his first half.

Scotty's_Girl
28 Feb 2004, 16:44
That really sucked! :( Very very frustrating just listening to it. I would've hated to have actually been there or even seen it on the TV!

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 16:51
Originally posted by Scotty's_Girl
That really sucked! :( Very very frustrating just listening to it. I would've hated to have actually been there or even seen it on the TV!

All it did was make me want to scream.

You just knew that every time we went forward we would stuff up.

I know it's only a trial game, but they had 11 youngsters playing and we still couldn't kick a goal out of umpteen attacks in the last quarter. In fact our disposal into the forwards is that bad the opposition get their goals from rebounding off of our bad disposal.

Perrie apparently was crap. Smith of course is crap.

Hentschel got a good rap for his 2nd half at CHF. Reilly got some more final praise Bode got an honourable mention as well a bit earlier.

Jerome
28 Feb 2004, 16:51
Great calling from Macca!

third quarter the Crows seemed to lift their workrate. You could sense they had lifted in the midfield - heard Bodes name heaps but I think he burnt the ball. Mass, Sting and Edwards got a bit of it too. Sounds like we are still going in wide.

Hudson sounded good in the third, started with a strong mark in defence, played in front and won some tap outs.

Smith started forward v Parker. A few fumbles, but did take a good mark on a lead and set up a Scott Stevens goal. Stevens also seeed to play well today.

Hentschel played up forward and took a good grab and kicked a goal. Played CHF in place of Carey and didnt have much of an impact.

Smrt came on and looked confident. Medhust beat Gags. Perrie in ordinary form.

i did not hear Schuback's name called until the last quarter. Brent Reilly easily the Crows best player today.

All up sonds like a very casual performance against the Freo B's. We didnt seem to want it enough and no system in attack, although we worked hard to keep it in 50 in the third. Workrate from the Crows not consistant enough over 4 quarters.

Well done Freo.

adelaide_girl
28 Feb 2004, 16:55
Argh, another frustrating performance... thank god i wasnt at the game i don't think i could have stomached that two weeks in a row..... Radar was polished given a good wrap :)

Scotty's_Girl
28 Feb 2004, 16:57
All it did was make me want to scream.

You just knew that every time we went forward we would stuff up.

I felt like screaming too.

What happened to the good delivery up forward at training? It's gone out the bloody window :eek: :mad:

Kenny_01
28 Feb 2004, 17:38
Hey guys, I was at the game- a couple of points.

Carey was OK in the first half but had Murphy on him and he gave Carey way too much room.

Haddrill gave Perrie an absolute bath then he came off injured

Adelaide's forward line had no structure at all and our youngsters (11 of which have not even played an AFL game yet) cleared it with relative ease

Bassett was useless, and made some really stupid errors

Reilly and Johncock looked pretty good

Adelaide looked good in the 3rd Q but could not convert due to ineffective forward line

Looked like Gallager hurt himself

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 17:45
Thanks for that Kenny. That's exactly how it sounded.

I should have mentioned Johncock as he was called as getting a lot of the ball.

Gallagher got hurt when Medhurst went for a speccy going off the call.

There wasn't too much to be happy about from a Crow's point of view.

In fact the lack of a forward structure, and the inability to give the ball to a forward is alarming IMO

Thanks again Kenny

DaveW
28 Feb 2004, 18:05
Who do we play next week?

Arsene Wenger
28 Feb 2004, 18:07
i herd that crows play loser of demons and eagles - so i guess the eagles...... not 100% sure tho

btw - who was missing for dockers and crows respectively?

kirky
28 Feb 2004, 18:14
I should have stayed at the pub this arvo - I'm getting depressed. This isn't giving me a lot of confidence when we play a Dockers second side and can't get within 5 goals. 6 goals for the match on a fine day - what the hell is going to happen on a wet one?

Still, always next week but we obviously need a rethink!!!

topjars
28 Feb 2004, 18:29
Sounds like weve hit form.....poor form but we can only get better.

Besides, from what I can gather Hudson Skipworth Rielly and even Shubacka did OK.

Rollon next week.

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 18:31
Commentators made the point that Smith has had an attack of the fumbles since he's been on.

He's a joke and so are the selectors for picking him. ROFL:D

error404
28 Feb 2004, 18:32
Originally posted by Arsene Wenger
i herd that crows play loser of demons and eagles - so i guess the eagles...... not 100% sure tho

http://thegame.thewest.com.au/20040228/afl/news/tg-afl-new-sto120640.html

Fremantle has rested Peter Bell, Matthew Pavlich, Des Headland, Paul Hasleby, Jeff Farmer, Matthew Carr, Troy Simmonds, James Walker and Luke McPharlin against Adelaide and picked 11 for their first game of AFL football.

Midfielder Ryley Dunn may find himself opposed to Crows skipper Mark Ricciuto, key forward Adam Campbell is a chance to play on Nigel Smart, Brett Peake should have time on Simon Goodwin while Ryan Murphy and Michael Johnson will confront Wayne Carey when they head into defence.

Kenny_01
28 Feb 2004, 18:33
Originally posted by Arsene Wenger

You guys host the Eagles I think.

Don't know about you guys but we were resting/missing Pavlich, Hasleby, Walker, Bell, Thornton, McPharlin, Simmonds, Farmer, Carr, Cook and Headland... and Woods barely got any ground time, he was rested for most of the game also.

FreoDocker
28 Feb 2004, 18:41
Originally posted by Kenny_01
You guys host the Eagles I think.

Don't know about you guys but we were resting/missing Pavlich, Hasleby, Walker, Bell, Thornton, McPharlin, Simmonds, Farmer, Carr, Cook and Headland... and Woods barely got any ground time, he was rested for most of the game also.

and the most important of all .......... Clive!!

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 18:42
I listened to the radio as well and to be honest, I was only listening to how our youngsters are going. It would appear that most of them played well.

Reilly was apparently a pick of the bunch and Hentschel was good at CHF in the 2nd half.

Our delivery was obviously shocking and there appears to be no forward line structure. Even more reason to play Burton and Carey out of the goalsquare.

Skippy was apparently worman like and Scott Stevens appeared to be reasonably involved for a forwards.

I am starting to think that it doesn't matter who we have in the forward line as we can't deliver the ball to save our life.

I am still not getting worried. Its a trial game so I honestly am not too worried about it. If we lose in Rd1 then I wouldn't be happy. From the sounds of things we still experimented with our structures and placings of particular players.

For those that were at the game did Carey start at FF??????

Next week we should be at Footy Park so if I am not too busy I should go and have a better look. I think the next 2 games we should play our best side, give players a run in their positions. Time to gel and forget about experimenting. 2 games to get us primed for round 1.

Ripper
28 Feb 2004, 18:47
I just got back from the game and the thing that impressed me was the pressure put on by the Freo players whenever they did not have the ball. "Clearance king Cunninham" was excellent especially in the clinches. I didn't know half the players as I printed out a list but left it in Meeka but the young bloke with the Fuzzy hair was good I thought.
Rodger the genius was superb and Megastar was not far behind him.
We went along hoping for a respecable loss but those young blokes were excellent.

Adelaide came out and had a fair dinkum crack in the 3rd quarter but could not kick a goal if their life depended on it.

All in all very reassuring to know that we have some depth after all these years.

ant
28 Feb 2004, 18:55
Just on next week's game, I heard it will be against the Eagles as well and will be played on the Friday night.

Jerome
28 Feb 2004, 21:52

I am still not getting worried. Its a trial game so I honestly am not too worried about it.

True.

The problem as I see it is that we're not putting in a solid team performance. It's a real worry.

There does not seem to be enough team spirit or cohesion within the group. There are players coming in and out I know, but everyone has been training for 4 months to a team plan so there is no excuse for poor execution of the plan three weeks before the start of the season.

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 22:32
True.

The problem as I see it is that we're not putting in a solid team performance. It's a real worry.

There does not seem to be enough team spirit or cohesion within the group. There are players coming in and out I know, but everyone has been training for 4 months to a team plan so there is no excuse for poor execution of the plan three weeks before the start of the season. I don't know if you can really put in a solid team performance when you are experimenting. Our defence hasn't been settled at all in the last 2 matches. Every game there are new faces there. I have noticed that we are giving more time in the midfield to our lesser lights. The likes of Stenglein and Bode have been getting more time on ball that the likes of Roo and Goodwin for example.

We also tried a few different things in the forward line today. We couldn't really expect for our forward line to function in the 2nd half when we had Hentschel at CHF and Smith at FF. We are chopping and changing too much to put in a solid team effort.

Once the team settles and players start playing in their spots we will be better.

I just watched Brisbane Vs Essendon game and our game plan is very similar to those 2 teams. They both switch play in defence and both have a tendancy to go wide BUT there is one glaring difference. We stop and look for options where as lions for example play on at all costs. Even if they are going down their flanks they are still effective.

There will be times when we are simply forced to go wide because the opposition will crowd the corridor. In this case we must be much quicker in moving the ball forward. I think thats where we break down. If we move the ball quickly, the game plan will be effective and can stand up in finals. If we hesitate like we did in the last couple of games then it won't work as that is the same game plan that Port used in the last couple of years. One other thing, if the GP is to work then we need to be much better with our skills than we have shown so far this year.

Plenty of time until round 1. As I said I am not worried but I will be if we lose first 2 games of the season proper.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 22:46
The weakness in your argument Stiffy is that Freo were experimenting as well.

From the call I'm sure we had more entries into the forward 50 for a lot less score.

I don't give a damn who plays for us, but it just isn't good enough when you can't find a teammate in the forward line.

Same old problems. Poor structure up forward. Bringing the ball round the flanks. Turning the ball over in the forward lines.

We've got 2 weeks to get it right. Do you think we will?

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 22:49
From afc.com.au

Stevens shines in loss to Dockers
7:40:47 PM Sat 28 February, 2004
Mic Cullen
afl.com.au
Fremantle has beaten Adelaide by 31 points in the Wizard Regional Challenge Series match at Subiaco Oval on Saturday afternoon.

With more than 10 of their best 22 missing, Fremantle were simply too good for the Crows, who had half that number out. The final score was Fremantle 12.4.76 to 6.9.45.

Docker Ben Cunningham returned from the wilderness with his best game for a couple of years, working hard throughout the game and equalling his AFL best return with three goals, while defenders Roger Hayden and Antoni Grover were outstanding.

For the Crows, Scott Stevens (two goals), Scott Welsh and Tyson Stenglein were good on a warm Perth afternoon.

The Dockers jumped from the blocks with the first goal inside the first minute, after Andrew Siegert shot the ball out of the middle to Ben Cunningham, who ran inside 50 and slotted it from 40 on the flank.

Adelaide hit back in the sixth minute with a major to Scott Stevens, who took the ball after Wayne Carey cleared the ball from a pack and snapped truly from 20, but Cunningham replied within a minute with a kick from 45 metres out on the run.

Scott Welsh then made the most of a free from 40 metres to bring the Crows back to par, but then Paul Medhurst led well for his first and then Antoni Grover, usually a backman, kicked truly from 52 metres as Graham Polak handed it off after receiving a free.

Fremantle kept it going in the second term, With Troy Longmuir, who was good last week against Essendon in Darwin, marking at 45 and slotting the goal.

Young Docker Greg Edgecumbe then led well into a paddock and kicked truly from 45 before Justin Longmuir and Cunningham made the most of frees to give Fremantle a 32 point break before Mark Ricciuto marked and goaled from 50 after a pass from Wayne Carey.

At the long break, the Crows took Carey off after a good battle with youngster Ryan Murphy and brought Nigel Smart on.

The third term was better for the visitors, with youngster Trent Hentschel goaling in the fourth minute after a good pass from Tyson Stenglein who then scored a goal of his own in the fourteenth minute with a snap around his body.

Paul Medhurst then produced a bit of magic when he got the ball on the right forward flank, burned off a defender, beat the oncoming tackler and then slotted it off one step from 50 metres.

Adelaide coach Gary Ayres said he was satisfied with his young team’s performance.

“I thought some of the kids, in that second half, showed little glimpses of being able to play reasonable footy,” he said.

“I know both sides were stacked up with quite a lot of youth, but that’s the issue with us at the moment – we’ve got to try and find out a couple of things about some young players, and we’ve got to make decision on them, if they’re going to help the squad.

“There might be 30 players who can play some kind of senior footy, but it’s the latter part of your list that you want to try and find something out about.”

Next week, Adelaide is at home to the West Coast Eagles.

FREMANTLE:4.1, 8.1, 9.212.4 (76)
CROWS:2.2, 3.5, 6.66.9 (45)

GOALS: FREMANTLE: Cunningham, T Longmuir 3,Medhurst 2, J Longmuir, Edgecumbe, Grover, McManus
CROWS: Stevens 2, Welsh, Ricciuto, Hentschel, Stenglein
BEST: FREMANTLE: Hayden, Grover, Cunningham, T Longmuir, Medhurst, Sandilands, Haddrill
CROWS: Stevens, Welsh, Stenglein, Bode, Bassett, Riley, Rutten
INJURIES: FREMANTLE: Haddrill (ankle)
CROWS: Gallagher (left shoulder)
UMPIRES: Hendry, Margetts, Worthington
CROWD: 7093 at Subiaco Oval

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I guess the positive is that some youngsters and 2nd tier players got into our best players. It encouraging that Scott Stevens is showing a bit. Hopefully he can carry on with it. One of his critisisms while at Sydney was his inconsistency. I must admit I didn't think Rutten would make our best players but listening to the radio its difficult to pick up who played well and who was being a passenger.

Now its time to settle the side and get the team to gel and forward line functioning for round 1.

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 23:00
The weakness in your argument Stiffy is that Freo were experimenting as well.

From the call I'm sure we had more entries into the forward 50 for a lot less score.

I don't give a damn who plays for us, but it just isn't good enough when you can't find a teammate in the forward line.

Same old problems. Poor structure up forward. Bringing the ball round the flanks. Turning the ball over in the forward lines.

We've got 2 weeks to get it right. Do you think we will? Your points are all valid macca23. Freo did experiment so did we.

Our forward structure has been a problem ever since Modra left. In fact we haven't had a sound forward line structure in Ayres' time at the AFC. I think we can have a pretty potent forward line if we place player in the positions whre they will most benefit the team. For example playing Carey as our permanent CHF is not a smart move IMHO. Playing Burton on the wing robs us of a genuine goal kicker. If we had Stevo healthy that would be fine but we don't so we have to play Birdman deep in the forward line to be effective. Its no coincidence that our forward line functioned best when Burton played at FF in 2002 with Stevo at CHF. Those 2 kicked 90 goals between them that season and we were 4th in the AFL for points scored. It was a simple and effective structure. There is no reason why we can't be just as potent this year if we play Burton close to goal.

There is no question that our skill level is poor. This will come with a bit of time. Remember we haven't had competative drills at training so our skill level under pressure will be rusty to start off with. Players like Roo, Hart, Smart, Burton, Torney and Clarke are coming off injury interupted pre-season's so they will take longer to get the feel of the game back. Youngsters are too inexperinced and will make mistakes. Thats to be expected. As Kerls said after St.Kilda match give the likes of Hentschel his 35 games to settle down and he will be a good player for us. Same applies to a lot of other youngsters on our team (read Rutten, Reilly, Schuback and Skippy).

I don't think we will get it right by round 1. I thin we will start our season with possibly a couple of losses before Ayres realises that our forward line is not functioning. Hopefully then he will realise that we have options its just a matter of how he uses them.

I still expect us to make the 8 but we will start off slowly.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 23:09
I have to admit that of those best players from the AFC site, Rutten is the one I barely heard.

Bassett made a few disposal errors, but he did seem to get it a bit.

Bode got the ball a lot but always seemed to be just bombing it long.

Reilly was the one who was called the most AND used the ball well. He is one that always tries to use it.

The others were called often enough to justify being in the best players. Carey had a very good game against lesser opponents in the half that he played.

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2004, 23:16
The others were called often enough to justify being in the best players. Carey had a very good game against lesser opponents in the half that he played. Thats the bloody problem with him. He will play very well against a no name player but as soon as he gets a decent opponent he gets found out at CHF.

Get him into the goal square to get the best out of him. Perrie will give you a contest at CHF.

Its not that hard Ayres. It very simple trust me and you will see the results very quickly.

From what I have seen of Reilly in the 2 games (Norwood and St. Kilda) i thik he is in for a good year. I think he has really stepped up. If he is given a real chance and he stays injury free, I think he will come close to winning the rising star award. He catches your eye and has the ability to get a lot of ball on the wing and kick goals. I think he is the wingman we have been crying out for ages.

Move Burton to full forward line and give Reilly a position on a wing. He will have a big year if he is handled properly.

macca23
28 Feb 2004, 23:32
I'm with you all the way on this Stiffy

Once again Perrie was pure crap with Carey playing ahead of him. That structure is just not working. I like Burton at FF and Reilly on the wing.

Reilly is in for a boomer of a year on his form to date, provided he gets the appropriate opportunities.

My only consolation on our efforts to date is that for some obscure reason, probably to prevent late season fade-out, we have had no competitive work like we did last year. As a result we may have a slow start to the season and hopefully finish strongly.

My main despair on our efforts to date is the old problem of poor results for our forward thrusts.

Jerome
29 Feb 2004, 06:45

We've got 2 weeks to get it right. Do you think we will?

I absolutley agree with you. With the inclusion of some senior players, we really need to lift our game this week.

Ayres plans total recall

29feb04
ADELAIDE'S build-up to the AFL season will gather momentum on Friday night when it injects more experience into its line-up to face the West Coast Eagles at AAMI Stadium.

Crows coach Gary Ayres yesterday indicated dual Norm Smith medallist Andrew McLeod, key defender Ken McGregor and versatile Brett Burton would return in the lead-up to the juicy round-one clash with the Kangaroos at the MCG.

"The point I made to the players was we can try things this week because we've got three weeks to go," Ayres said.

"Now, you want to make sure that most of your guys in two games get reasonably match-conditioned and play the way you want them to play."

The Crows recalled several more of their decorated players and eased them through yesterday's 31-point practice-match defeat to Fremantle.

Star forwards Wayne Carey and Scott Welsh backed up after the Wizard Cup loss to St Kilda and looked lively in the opening half but did not re-appear after that.

"They were always only going to play a half; I told them about that at yesterday's team meeting and they were fully aware of that," Ayres said.

"I think Wayne did OK across half-forward today and I think Scotty Welsh continues to show that, if he can have a good pre-season and get through that, he will be of great benefit.

"He's missed so much footy in the last two years and then you've got the likes of (Tyson) Edwards and (Simon) Goodwin and (Mark) Ricciuto and Benny Hart and Nigel Smart, who got a half each after being really on the sidelines for two and three months. You'd think they'd only get better over the next two weeks or so."

Ayres described his team's effort as "indifferent" as it mixed some swift work with laborious, error-littered football.

"I thought up until half-time it was probably their accurate and efficient scoring which obviously put them three or four goals in front," he said.

"I think it was eight scoring shots to nine and then we took quite a few senior players off and I thought some of those kids in the second half showed little glimpses of being able to play reasonable footy.

"I know both sides were stacked up with youth, but that's the issue with us at the moment – we have to find out a couple of things about some young players and we have to make decisions on them and whether they are going to help the squad."

Ayres said he was happy with midfielder Brent Reilly, ruckman Ben Hudson, Jacob Schuback and Trent Hentschel.

Stiffy_18
29 Feb 2004, 11:43
I just caught a little bit of the interview with John Reid on the radio this morning.

The bottom line is that the results don't matter in these games. No need to panic we were experimenting a fair bit. The focus is on how individuals go about their footy and how the youngstes perform.

Concerns: That so many of the good players are a bit down but there is still a fair bit of time until round 1.

Gags will miss a couple of weeks with a shoulder injury. He strained the ligaments. Its a blow for the bloke as he has performed really well as a rebounding defender. I think his form would have warranted a game in round 1. I just hope this injury doesn't cost him as much as Schuey ankle injury cost him last year.

Stiffy_18
29 Feb 2004, 11:51
Ayres said he was happy with midfielder Brent Reilly, ruckman Ben Hudson, Jacob Schuback and Trent Hentschel. And this is the key to these games I reckon. The main purpose of these games IMHO, is to see who from the younger brigade will step up and put their hand up to offer something come season proper. The fact that 4-5 youngsters/recruits is a very pleasing sign. This really assures us that if there are injuries we will have some depth. For years we have hoped and prayed that Clarke and Biglands don't get injured as we have no genuine back up. This year we won't be as afraid of this happening as we know that if it comes to it Hudson will step in and do a good job.

We also know that Reilly will get a regualr game this year and if handled pproperly is in for a ripper of a year.

We also know that Hentschel is now up to it where as before we were hoping he was up to it.

We are yet to get a real good look at Schuback but he is showing signs that he will be a good player for us.

I am all for starting the season off slowly as long as we finish strongly. I don't think we can afford to start the season with 3 or 4 losses but if we can start of slowly and still win 50% of our games it will hold us in good stead come finals.

Last year we went on full bore early and run out of steam 3 weeks out of the finals. We lost 4 of our last 5 games last year.

Stiffy_18
29 Feb 2004, 12:09
I'm with you all the way on this Stiffy

Once again Perrie was pure crap with Carey playing ahead of him. That structure is just not working. I like Burton at FF and Reilly on the wing.

Reilly is in for a boomer of a year on his form to date, provided he gets the appropriate opportunities.

My only consolation on our efforts to date is that for some obscure reason, probably to prevent late season fade-out, we have had no competitive work like we did last year. As a result we may have a slow start to the season and hopefully finish strongly.

My main despair on our efforts to date is the old problem of poor results for our forward thrusts. I wonder how would we go if Scott Stevens and Ian Perrie swapped positions. We would probably freeze Sarge out as we would kick it to Wayne all the time even if he has 3 players on him.

Sarge is better than what he is showing I just wish he stops being overawed and just play his game. I would play him in front of Carey but AFC won't.

I might get shot down here but Reilly is a better wingman than Burton for 2 reasons. He straightens us up and has a more penetrating kick that Burton and 2 because he is much better for picking the right option. I other word he is footy smart where Burton is not.

I remember listening to Bassett on the radio a week before the trial against Norwood and his comments were that we were better prepared this time last year. We designed this year's pre-season program so we go in a bit slower and finish of the season stronger which is good. I think the club has got the right idea. If you remember back to 1997 and 1998 we started of very slowly and ended up winning the premiership. Blighty never did any ball work until after the Chrismas break.

Delivery to forward line is a concern BUT considering we haven't done a lot of real competative skill sessions during the pre-season our skills will be as rusty as 90 year old's back. This will improve with more matches. Well I hope anyway.

As I said we will start our season off with a loss or 2 but we should get better after that. No need to panic just yet. If we start a season with 3 or more losses then we are in strife and could very easily miss the 3.

macca23
29 Feb 2004, 13:38
I don't see Scott Stevens as a KPP. He's more of a HFF type who's a bit awkward to match up on as he's pretty tall.

While Carey is playing well at CHF, the forward line isn't, and we've got 2 trials to get it right. The current structure isn't working.

Stevens alongside Perrie at CHF gives two overhead marking options. Carey at CHF eliminates that option in the direct route to goal.

Iterestingly enough Stiffy, more and more of the experts are making similar comments that Carey should be used closer to goal. Sadly that almost guarantees that the pig-headed Ayres won't do that.

Just as an aside, how stupid was it taking Smith to Freo. Why not take Jericho instead, who is on the main list and was close to best against Glenelg?? The only positive is that once again Smith showed why we did delist him at the end of last year.

Jerome
29 Feb 2004, 17:04

Gags will miss a couple of weeks with a shoulder injury. He strained the ligaments.

Get well soon Gags. Sprained ligaments are bloody annoying.

You sure its just a shoulder injury? Have a look at that pic in todays mail, looked like he copped a nasty hit to the mens dept more than anything else. No wonder he hit the ground!

Jerome
29 Feb 2004, 19:05

1. And this is the key to these games I reckon. The main purpose of these games IMHO, is to see who from the younger brigade will step up and put their hand up to offer something come season proper.

2. I might get shot down here but Reilly is a better wingman than Burton for 2 reasons. He straightens us up and has a more penetrating kick that Burton and 2 because he is much better for picking the right option. I other word he is footy smart where Burton is not.

3. If you remember back to 1997 and 1998 we started of very slowly and ended up winning the premiership.

1. I am all for playing more youngsters as desperatley need to. Unfortunatley, thus far we have exposed them to a fairly dumb, uninspired below par brand of footy. That cant be good.

We really need to raise our standards this week to give these guys a better idea of what AFL standard footy is about. Do it now so when they come in during the year they know their role in the plan and will slot in no worries,

2. Burton can be a show pony and he can run into trouble ... but he really has earnt that spot on the wing. I'm loath to move him just yet until Brent has really earnt his stripes. Or unless there isno other way to get the forward line to work.

3. I dont like that comparison. For a start, we had a super coach back then. I also think that our training standards of that time have probably been matched and indeed surpassed by other teams.

I think if we're gonna compare the start of this season to previous years, we should be comparing it to our time with Gaz.

Kane McGoodwin
29 Feb 2004, 19:37
I might get shot down here but Reilly is a better wingman than Burton for 2 reasons. He straightens us up and has a more penetrating kick that Burton and 2 because he is much better for picking the right option. I other word he is footy smart where Burton is not.
Burton was unbelievable on the wing last year & really matured as a player IMO. Deserves to retain his spot & gives us a hard-running player who will kick goals. However, he can be rested at times up forward (to pull down the occassional hanger). Reilly should play on the other wing.

Delivery to forward line is a concern BUT considering we haven't done a lot of real competative skill sessions during the pre-season our skills will be as rusty as 90 year old's back. This will improve with more matches. Well I hope anyway.The concern is that we have been practising hitting forward targets coming through the midfield as reported by Macca. However, I'm not going to worry given that we haven't had our full strength midfield in place yet (ie. Roo, Goody, Macca, Birdman & Reilly) as I reckon that will make a difference. Still not convinced on Bode as reckon we are better of having Ladhams with 70% of possessions as he uses the ball much better.

Wayne's-World
29 Feb 2004, 19:54
Burton was unbelievable on the wing last year & really matured as a player IMO. Deserves to retain his spot & gives us a hard-running player who will kick goals. However, he can be rested at times up forward (to pull down the occassional hanger). Reilly should play on the other wing.

The concern is that we have been practising hitting forward targets coming through the midfield as reported by Macca. However, I'm not going to worry given that we haven't had our full strength midfield in place yet (ie. Roo, Goody, Macca, Birdman & Reilly) as I reckon that will make a difference. Still not convinced on Bode as reckon we are better of having Ladhams with 70% of possessions as he uses the ball much better.
Agree that Burton and Reilly should be our first preference wingmen.
Once your out of the Wizard Cup, PS games have always been notoriously difficult to get senior players motivated.
Theyr'e just practice games for them, its more important for the 2nd tier and newcomers who are trying to impress.
We're not settled anywhere on the field at the moment, so we should be judging the individual skills/decision making of those Crows players, who are trying to make the team.

Its way too early to make any team judgements - remember port lost every PS game last season, and finished minor premiers.

macca23
29 Feb 2004, 20:36
Still not convinced on Bode as reckon we are better of having Ladhams with 70% of possessions as he uses the ball much better.

You make a good point about Ladhams who is one of the very best finishers in the squad.

I'd have him in the 24 this week for that very reason.

RaDaR ReiLLy
29 Feb 2004, 20:51

CROWS: Riley,

Another reason as to why the AFC website sucks so much :rolleyes: They can't even spell their own players names correctly. :(

Just on the match, does anyone know how many possesions Reilly got? Heard his name a lot on the radio, but the paper hasnt been giving out any stats on any matches :confused:

And how much game time did Schuback get? Hardly heard his name all day :mad:

Stiffy_18
29 Feb 2004, 21:25
1. Iterestingly enough Stiffy, more and more of the experts are making similar comments that Carey should be used closer to goal. Sadly that almost guarantees that the pig-headed Ayres won't do that.

2. Just as an aside, how stupid was it taking Smith to Freo. Why not take Jericho instead, who is on the main list and was close to best against Glenelg?? The only positive is that once again Smith showed why we did delist him at the end of last year.
1.That is my main worry. We all know how pig headed Ayres is so the mor ehe is pushed the more he will resist even if its at the expense of a team.

2. As I said at the time I would have take Watts hands down as I thought it is a perfect match to give him a crack. Freo playing 11 untried players and as a result he would have been matched up on someone like Mundy, Murphy or someone like that. He would have been exposed to AFL footy with inexperienced oppisition. Even Jericho would have been a much better choice.