View Full Version : Wizard Cup: Melbourne - Geelong
The Shev
28 Feb 2004, 18:59
The Semi Final is here! A win over the Cats will see the Demons reach a Grand Final, just weeks after the club has been given ***** by every man and his dog in the footballing community. So it would be great to stick it up them all by making and winning the big one, but first we have to beat the Cats.
They looked decent against the Blues today, but their forward line looked pretty weak to me. I think our midfield has the ability to out-run theirs, but that hasn't happened in recent matches against the Cats.
Originally posted by The Shev
The Semi Final is here! A win over the Cats will see the Demons reach a Grand Final, just weeks after the club has been given ***** by every man and his dog in the footballing community. So it would be great to stick it up them all by making and winning the big one, but first we have to beat the Cats.
They looked decent against the Blues today, but their forward line looked pretty weak to me. I think our midfield has the ability to out-run theirs, but that hasn't happened in recent matches against the Cats.
They're vulnerable in the ruck. I only saw the last quarter of today's game & Playfair was decent against French. Jol & Whitey would fancy their chances against the likes of Playfair & Graham/Mooney. Ling is dangerous, they are a bit like us in that they're fairly even across the ground.
No chance of us taking them lightly, after the two towellings they gave us last season.
Best thing is that we get Jolly, TJ & Brown back fresh. Jamar who was decent, should make way for Jol. Walsh will be replaced by Johnno but I'm not sure who makes way for Dogga.
Good problem to have.
I think our midfield has the ability to out-run theirs, but that hasn't happened in recent matches against the Cats.
With Gazz to probably return next week, our midfield will be even stronger. The Dees have been playing the better football, but we have the wood over you. Should be a good game. Don't care about the result next week, I just want us to be ready to play come Round 1 of the real stuff....
Although the first prize of $200,000 would be nice! ;)
Originally posted by Catman
With Gazz to probably return next week, our midfield will be even stronger. The Dees have been playing the better football, but we have the wood over you. Should be a good game. Don't care about the result next week, I just want us to be ready to play come Round 1 of the real stuff....
Although the first prize of $200,000 would be nice! ;)
I reckon we're in a similar position, performance is the key, results are a bonus.
No doubt we're eyeing that prizemoney keenly though.
The Shev
28 Feb 2004, 20:01
Yeah, should be good. I like the Cats, I actually went to their game today wearing a Geelong top (to please my mate and **** of my Blue friends). But don't worry, I was there on Friday night supporting Melbourne.
:D
The money, membership and momentum will be good if we win. It's all about the three M's.
;)
lamby29
28 Feb 2004, 20:49
Our side should look like this:
B. Whelan Nicholson Bizzell
HB. Ward Holland Read
C. Heffernan Yze Johnstone
HF. Green Miller Robertson
F. Davey Neitz Vardy
R. White Bruce Godfrey
Int. Jolly, Williams, Thompson, McDonald, Wheatley, Rivers
In: Holland, Johnstone, Jolly
Out: Walsh, Jamar, Armstrong
Originally posted by lamby29
HB. Ward Holland Read
F. Davey Neitz Vardy
R. White Bruce Godfrey
& Brown in for Williams.
Looks a pretty handy side.
footyman
28 Feb 2004, 22:43
Yeah, should be good. I like the Cats, I actually went to their game today wearing a Geelong top (to please my mate and **** of my Blue friends).
That's a disgrace!!!
The Shev
29 Feb 2004, 17:01
Coz you're Mr. Morals.
:rolleyes:
Fall Out Boy
29 Feb 2004, 20:47
HB. Ward Holland Read
F. Davey Neitz Vardy
R. White Bruce Godfrey
Looking forward to it.
Interesting to see what happens with your defence this time round, given how good McCarthy was last year against your mob.
If Holland doesn't play, i believe we can exploit your defence again, but only time will tell.
Best of luck, glad to see two teams who actually need the cash involved.
lamby29
29 Feb 2004, 22:34
McCarthy will have to contend with a rejuvenated Alistair Nicholson!
I think we'll win this one. Too much pace. Flash, Ward, Williams, Whelan, Heffernan and Johnstone all burn the grass... Geelong aren't known for their pace.
Not expecting Neita to do much, Scarlett has been in fine form.
Dees by 21 points. Bizzell BOG. :)
Broadbridge_20
29 Feb 2004, 23:03
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Looking forward to it.
Interesting to see what happens with your defence this time round, given how good McCarthy was last year against your mob.
If Holland doesn't play, i believe we can exploit your defence again, but only time will tell.
Best of luck, glad to see two teams who actually need the cash involved.
We'll actually be playing to win this time. ;)
It's a huge match for both teams. While it's pretty easy to dismiss the wizard cup as a meaningless mickey-mouse competition, it would be worth about a million dollars to both clubs if you factor in increased membership sales, corporate promotions and increased tv exposure, as well the prizemoney itself. Geelong and more-so Melbourne need that revenue, so expect both teams to be fired up.
The Dees have the height advantage, especially considering our ruck injury worries, but the cats, imo, are developing an impressive midfield fleet while our backlines are not bettered by anybody. The forward structure is still under construction though.
Maybe man for man, the dees match up pretty well, but for the last couple of years, they have performed truly miserably against the cats (like we have against the bulldogs) and I expect this psychological inferiority to be the decisive factor, cats by 20.
Fall Out Boy
1 Mar 2004, 11:50
I think we'll win this one. Too much pace. Flash, Ward, Williams, Whelan, Heffernan and Johnstone all burn the grass... Geelong aren't known for their pace.
Melbourne have been a faster team for years, hasn't really ever helped you against us.
We match up remarkably well against Melbourne, and that alone gives me enormous confidence this weekend.
However if Neitz performs against Scarlett, we'll be in a bit of trouble.
Fall Out Boy
1 Mar 2004, 11:53
Originally posted by Broadbridge_20
We'll actually be playing to win this time. ;)
Just got to find a reason for the losing to us 13 of the last 16 times ;)
Demonheart
1 Mar 2004, 14:48
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Just got to find a reason for the losing to us 13 of the last 16 times ;)
Playing at KP! When was the last time we won there? In the 80's? :(
footyman
1 Mar 2004, 15:42
Coz you're Mr. Morals.
:rolleyes:
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
The Shev
1 Mar 2004, 16:54
Originally posted by footyman
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
Never mind.
Geelong have the wood over us, but I'm hoping this changes on Friday night.
Round 14
Geelong 2.1 5.4 6.6 8.8 56 Date: 02-Jul-1988 Att. 16,777 Played at: Kardinia Park
Melbourne 1.4 5.7 10.10 13.11 89
We've come close a few times since & received the odd hammering as well.
We've never played Geelong at Telstra Dome.
Venue P W D L GF-BF For GA-BA Agn % Win% 100+F 100+A
Docklands 15 11 0 4 267-183 1785 214-187 1471 121.35 73.33 13 7
Melbourne Results
Round Result Margin Opponent Venue
2003 Round 18 LOST 21 Western Bulldogs Telstra Dome
2003 Round 03 WON 32 Western Bulldogs Telstra Dome
2002 Round 22 WON 18 St Kilda Telstra Dome
2002 Round 15 WON 44 Carlton Telstra Dome
2002 Round 13 LOST 12 Essendon Telstra Dome
2002 Round 05 WON 23 Western Bulldogs Telstra Dome
2001 Round 22 WON 10 Western Bulldogs Telstra Dome
2001 Round 21 WON 35 Fremantle Telstra Dome
2001 Round 10 WON 31 St Kilda Telstra Dome
2000 Round 20 WON 83 Fremantle Telstra Dome
2000 Round 19 WON 18 St Kilda Telstra Dome
2000 Round 17 LOST 1 Kangaroos Telstra Dome
2000 Round 12 LOST 25 Western Bulldogs Telstra Dome
2000 Round 10 WON 18 Brisbane Lions Telstra Dome
2000 Round 07 WON 61 West Coast Telstra Dome
Result Filter
Originally posted by Jim Boy
It's a huge match for both teams. While it's pretty easy to dismiss the wizard cup as a meaningless mickey-mouse competition, it would be worth about a million dollars to both clubs if you factor in increased membership sales, corporate promotions and increased tv exposure, as well the prizemoney itself. Geelong and more-so Melbourne need that revenue, so expect both teams to be fired up.
The Dees have the height advantage, especially considering our ruck injury worries, but the cats, imo, are developing an impressive midfield fleet while our backlines are not bettered by anybody. The forward structure is still under construction though.
Maybe man for man, the dees match up pretty well, but for the last couple of years, they have performed truly miserably against the cats (like we have against the bulldogs) and I expect this psychological inferiority to be the decisive factor, cats by 20.
I think we've made some serious in-roads as far as mental stength goes in comparison to last year. West Coast belted us twice last season but we were a different team on Friday (& in Canberra to a lesser extent). 53 tackles to 33 against West Coast was a sign to me that at the very least, we're serious about turning around our on field tendancies.
Geelong have some talent in midfield no doubt. The likes of Ling, Enright & Corey won't be underestimated this time around. Ablett if he plays, may not be as influencial as he can be first time up.
Should be a close one I'd say.
The Shev
1 Mar 2004, 17:48
Originally posted by Demonheart
Playing at KP! When was the last time we won there? In the 80's? :(
Plus the Ablett factor.
storrma29
3 Mar 2004, 07:51
The wce eagles went from running around witches hats(collingwood) to fronting up to a commited unit last week.
You certainly jumped em last week and they never really got going until it was over.
Im expecting a low scoring tight game
We will need to watch White`s influence ,he looks in good form
The scarlett/ nietz battle will be worth a look
I think it will boil down your ability out of the middle versus how well we can run the ball out of our defence and of course our fwd lines impact
Should be a good game......... to close to call.
Originally posted by storrma29
The wce eagles went from running around witches hats(collingwood) to fronting up to a commited unit last week.
You certainly jumped em last week and they never really got going until it was over.
Im expecting a low scoring tight game
We will need to watch White`s influence ,he looks in good form
The scarlett/ nietz battle will be worth a look
I think it will boil down your ability out of the middle versus how well we can run the ball out of our defence and of course our fwd lines impact
Should be a good game......... to close to call.
Two teams that are quite even all over the ground IMO. More hard workers that deadset stars in both teams. Players will step up & it probably won't be the one's we're all looking to for inspiration.
Supermercado
3 Mar 2004, 18:34
I'm far more confident of doing Geelong this week than I am of knocking over one of the other two in the final.
Meanwhile I'm torn about how to take this whole pre-season thing. Having been minus 17 years old at the time of the first flag and not having started following the game seriously until 1989 it means I've never been there for an MFC championship of any variety and I'm starting to think the way it's going that I might never.
So what do if we (heaven forbid) actually win the thing? It's the meaningless pre-season comp, and it's not even a real game of football with all the rule changes but I'll be going absolutely SICK anyway because you never know when the entire thing is going to collapse and either leave us without a team to follow or some ****weak merged entity that I almost certainly won't be going for. I also have a habit of getting rather emotional at games (see the 2000 Prelim Final) so there might be entertainment to have there too.
Yes, I am an absolute pussy. Thanks for asking!
Originally posted by Supermercado
I'm far more confident of doing Geelong this week than I am of knocking over one of the other two in the final.
Meanwhile I'm torn about how to take this whole pre-season thing. Having been minus 17 years old at the time of the first flag and not having started following the game seriously until 1989 it means I've never been there for an MFC championship of any variety and I'm starting to think the way it's going that I might never.
So what do if we (heaven forbid) actually win the thing? It's the meaningless pre-season comp, and it's not even a real game of football with all the rule changes but I'll be going absolutely SICK anyway because you never know when the entire thing is going to collapse and either leave us without a team to follow or some ****weak merged entity that I almost certainly won't be going for. I also have a habit of getting rather emotional at games (see the 2000 Prelim Final) so there might be entertainment to have there too.
Yes, I am an absolute pussy. Thanks for asking!
If we win this thing I'll be wanting to see you in action mate!
Nothing wrong with getting excited either.
Would you really consider Heff and Travis to be quick? Heffernan seems to be of average pace to me while Johnstone is a bit of a loaper
The Shev
5 Mar 2004, 22:20
1 point loss.
Gee whiz.
:(
Like to say congradulations on a well played match. Your boys performed well tonight and the match could have gone either way. Good luck in the season proper.
Originally posted by GeeCat
Like to say congradulations on a well played match. Your boys performed well tonight and the match could have gone either way. Good luck in the season proper.
Cheers mate the Catters were pretty sharp. Melbourne are a bit unlucky in that we're the first team to ever lose a Wizard cup match because of the scoring system.
It would've been
Geelong 10.9.69
Melbourne 10.10.70
Had it been a regular season game.
We have benefitted from the scoring system as much as any other team though, especially the Supergoals (we jagged 4 of those vs North). We can't complain, we've had 3 solid hitouts & now get the chance to play some kids vs The Wobbles on Friday.
Here's hoping Geelong belt whoever they play in the granny!
Supermercado
7 Mar 2004, 09:05
And thus the trend of folding faster than superman on laundry day when the pressure comes on in the last quarter continues. There we good signs - in fact there were excellent signs - but I would like to see them go in with it in a last quarter once in a while.
Meanwhile I seriously doubt we would have gotten up if it had gone to extra-time.
And it was the least violent reaction I've had to a 1pt loss at Docklands. When North did us by a point there in 2000 i punched the living ****e out of one of the seats on level 3 and my hand was cut up for a week :D I love footy.
Originally posted by Supermercado
And thus the trend of folding faster than superman on laundry day when the pressure comes on in the last quarter continues. There we good signs - in fact there were excellent signs - but I would like to see them go in with it in a last quarter once in a while.
Meanwhile I seriously doubt we would have gotten up if it had gone to extra-time.
And it was the least violent reaction I've had to a 1pt loss at Docklands. When North did us by a point there in 2000 i punched the living ****e out of one of the seats on level 3 and my hand was cut up for a week :D I love footy.
I reckon ND was saving Carroll for overtime, why else would you pick him?