View Full Version : Match Report - Adelaide vs Freo

tinman
29 Feb 2004, 16:29
Apologies for the delay in posting this. It is not really a match report as I didn't take notes, more my view of the game. I had been so looking forward to seeing the guys over here in Perth again, as I always do.

There was a bit of a breeze blowing at Subi and it was a tad warm, but the breeze wasn't an excuse for poor disposal by the Crows who failed to find targets in general field play as well as up forward.

Carey lined up at CHF and he played there for all first half before going off. Ryan Murphy started on him and Michael Johnson also had a spell on him. Not household names, but Freo had no less than 11 new players in for their first "senior game". I feel sorry for anyone who called the game on radio because Freo fielded a team of guys I have never seen before. Carey did OK but wasn't any standout.

Overall given the number of young players Freo used I think that they are entitled to be very excited about the future as they have vast amounts of talent coming through. Their final score was not quite double our's, which is a reasonable reflection as they were twice as good.

On our players, Hart played the first half and looked like he needed the run, Smart the second half and he moved well and provided much needed run from the back half. On this, we are now relying on the "older brigade" to provide run fom the backline, as guys like Rutten don't provide any run at all. How he made the best players has got me beat as he looked lost out there.

What cost us is our inability to hit targets all over the ground and we played a high possession short game that went all around the flanks. For a brief period in the third quarter we actually straightened up (thanks to Smart and Reilly), running through the middle but that was the exception rather than the rule. If they are using these games to trial a new game plan it looks pretty sad at the moment and it needs a lot of work.

Perrie struggled at FF and when he moved out in the second half he looked much better. We seem to be going very wide at the moment, but when Perrie plays at FF that is where he leads........you can't expect players to kick the ball into the hole in front of FF when he never leads straight???

We couldn't take a contested mark in the forward line to save ourselves, and I know some posters won't agree, but we were crying out for a player (like Burns) with pace on the forward line as when the ball came to ground we didn't provide any great contest and Freo ran the ball out with ease. Roger Hayden stood Johncock, who looked threatening but could never really get loose, Hayden was superb.

Carey rarely takes an uncontested mark these days, so given that he is always going to be in a contest anyway, why not play him at FF or out of a pocket where his strength and cleverness may be useful closer to goal?

Both Hayden and Hadrill came off the rookie list and Freo has really manged to pick up some good rookie and lower picks to complement their early picks (Hasleby, Headland and Pavlich etc. none of whom played as they rested something like 9 first choice players), guys like Hayden, Haddrill, Sandilands and Medhurst.

Hudson tried hard in his time on ground but with limited effectiveness. We went in with three ruckmen, Biglands started well and finished the game in defence. He looked very good and worked hard around the ground but all three ruckmen struggled against Sandilands in the ruck contests (he is 7 ft) and he just dominated the hitouts. Biglands at least was able to make something of his better mobility to get to contests around the ground, whereas Clarke didn't (if he is not getting hitouts he is decoration - get him off). Hudson tried but I would have liked to see him provide an option going forward or dropping a kick behind play. From memory he took one nmark going back. He was tried in the last quarter at FF and he didn't have an impact.

As I have lived in the west for around 5 years this was the first time I have seen Smith. I don't know how he would get an SANFL game unless the standard has dropped enormously since I left. He dropped marks and handballs, and looked way way out of his depth against a team of rookies. Surely there must be better options than him around? I saw about 11 yesterday.......I'm praying that they don't promote this guy if Stevens M doesn't come back........

On a brighter note Hentschell played well at the back in the first half before going forward. He looks a bit tenative sometimes in a contest but has skills and he is mobile. He will be a very useful player with a bit of confidence and toughness. Stevens was in and out of the game but was alright, Reilly was very good except that he was opposed to Cunningham who slipped off him and kicked 3 from a wing, Stenglein ran hard and Welsh got through another game without injury and moved freely.

Bode got a fair bit of the footy, but his disposal is a real concern, Begley looks fit but for god's sake everyone in the world must be able to see he has no left side and so when pushed onto his left he struggles and his disposals are, as a consequence, inneffective. When on his right and running he looks a million $, so I just don't know about him. If he could fix this fault he would be a walk up start.

Skippy tried hard and he has got a footy brain as he knows where to put himself. He positioned himself at the front of the pack and got his hands to the ball a few times, but needs to find either a yard of pace or a tad more strength as he is frequently caught and struggles to break a tackle.

Basset did a few good things, but also did a couple of classic clangers. I think his confidence is down after being dropped late last year.

Gallagher was great until getting injured although he struggled with Medhurst who is a clever player. That's no shame as Tyson Edwards also struggled with him. Gallagher showed heaps of courage and good skills, and at least he can consistently hit a target with both feet. He is very unfortunate to be injured as he, Reilly and Hentschel are 3 who have put their hands up for Rnd.1 selection. Biglands also put his hand up to lead the ruck.

Overall, some positives, but the skills (particularly disposal)sucked, the persistence with a very indirect game plan continued, and we were outclassed by a bunch of kids. My mate from Freo had a broad smile and he commented that we were in for a long season. I don't necessarily agree with that, but it did show how much we rely on 1. A Mcleod to get us moving, and we need to organise the forward setup and fine tune the gameplan post haste.

I read most of the posts on this site and have to disagree with most with the view that we can afford to start the season slow and come home hard. If we lose games early we may lose confidence and never recover. I think we really need a good start.

All the best from the West,
the Tinman

Jerome
29 Feb 2004, 16:56
Thank you very much Tin Man, excellent work! I agree with everything you said...we need to get it together this week, we cant afford a bad start to the year.

I hated it when we started 0 5 and 03 in 2000 and 2001 and I dont want a repeat. For mine, If we want to be taken seriously this year we have to start well and theat means beating the Roos and Lions in the first two rounds. If we start wthe year with ordinary pre season form and a dumb game plan I'll be worried as have a tough draw.

I didnt like it last year when we went into the finals win no H&A wins against a top three side. I dont want a repeat of that either.

I watched the Lions last night. Beating 'em gonna be tough, but thats the standard we have to match.

Wayne's-World
29 Feb 2004, 20:14
Originally posted by tinman

I read most of the posts on this site and have to disagree with most with the view that we can afford to start the season slow and come home hard. If we lose games early we may lose confidence and never recover. I think we really need a good start.

Thanks for the report.
I'm confident the club has no desire to start the season proper with loss's. Yes they have deliberately timed the're build up to peak coming into the season, rather than the Wizard Cup.
The reasons are obvious, but I think we are tending to compare they're skills/teamwork with last year, and thats unfair on the club. Collingwood losing by 100 points in the first cup game doesn't mean their season is over.
We have a tough draw in the first part of the season. I'm sure the club desperately wants to be fresh and primed for that tough assignment. The only question is whether they will have the team peaking at the right time, and injury free.

macca23
29 Feb 2004, 20:27
Excellent summary tinman - excellent.

You really put the flesh around the bones and I can't disagree with any of the conclusions that you've drawn from the game, gameplan or players.

The things that are really concerning me are our forward structure, the fact that we can't take an overhead mark up forward, the way we bring the ball around the flanks, and the manner in which we burn the ball by missing targets when going forward.

And all this after weeks of practicing our forward setup and delivery.

As you said "we need to organise the forward setup and fine tune the gameplan post haste."

2 weeks to do it in.

Thanks again for a great report.

Stiffy_18
29 Feb 2004, 21:14
Excellent report tinman. To stuff.

I think the encouraging sign is that Reilly and Hentschel are showing a bit and Gallagher has played well in his new role at HB in all 3 trial games. Its unfortunate he got injured as I was confident he would have played in round 1. I think he is one bloke who can provide us with a great deal of rebound from defence and as you said he delivers it well with both feet.

Taking time to dispose of the ball and going wide with poor skills is a major concern IMHO. I don't care if we had a list better than Brisbane's or Port's but if you are not playing the right type of game plan you will not win games. We need to be long and direct at all costs and deliver the bloody thing lace out to our forwards.

I agree we need to get off to a good start no question about that but the question remains whether we do or not. From what I have seen so far this season we are very rusty and it will take time to get into gear. I am not sure 2 trial games are enough to get us resonably fluent in out movement. Time will tell.

noddy
1 Mar 2004, 10:05
Agree with the others, a terrific report tinman & it looks like Ayresy & his assistants are slightly behind the 8 ball in developing a game plan that will actually win us some games & if the last 2 weeks are any guide then maybe they should throw it out & start again.

By the sounds of it not too many of the young bucks that went over to Perth made much of an impact & i noticed you never mentioned Schuback did he get little time on the ground or was he kept out of the game ??

Kane McGoodwin
1 Mar 2004, 12:53
Great report tinman. Will be interesting to see whether Gags can make it this year. Not convinced he is the right player to shut down a Medhurst/Milne/Matera type, but could be very handy coming off a HBF to give us some pace & rebound. One thing in his favour is that he uses the ball very well. Something which can't be said for all of our players.

Wayne's-World
1 Mar 2004, 13:51
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Great report tinman. Will be interesting to see whether Gags can make it this year. Not convinced he is the right player to shut down a Medhurst/Milne/Matera type, but could be very handy coming off a HBF to give us some pace & rebound. One thing in his favour is that he uses the ball very well. Something which can't be said for all of our players.
I'm with you.
On another thread I've noted the importance of tackling to a teams success - would suggest this is not a strong facet of Gags game. He is however doing well enough at this point, you would think, to retain his spot on the list at years end. Could spell trouble for Skippy, if recruiting emphasis this year is on midfielders (as it should be)

tinman
1 Mar 2004, 15:31
Originally posted by noddy
Agree with the others, a terrific report tinman & it looks like Ayresy & his assistants are slightly behind the 8 ball in developing a game plan that will actually win us some games & if the last 2 weeks are any guide then maybe they should throw it out & start again.

By the sounds of it not too many of the young bucks that went over to Perth made much of an impact & i noticed you never mentioned Schuback did he get little time on the ground or was he kept out of the game ??

Noddy, Schuback had little influence. He was around the footy and got plenty of game time, but like Skipworth I think he struggled with the pace of the game. Despite Freo playing a bunch of youngsters, the game was played at reasonable pace, as all games are here in Perth. I think that is one reason why a lot of teams struggle to win here - both WCE and Freo have pace to burn which suits the grounds and the climate. Those teams haven't performed as well as we have over the last few years in Melboune though.

I wouldn't discount Schuback or Skipworth as players yet (see my initial post re Skipworth) as it may take them awhile to adjust to the pace of AFL footy. Maybe they'll pick it up and maybe they won't, and trial games are a good oportunity for them to make the adjustment. On Saturday's form they are both struggling a tad, but hopefully that will change. I know my initial post re Skipworth may seem a bit negative in that he needs to find a yard or some strength in order to break a tackle, but it wasn't meant to be. I think that he knows where to place himself and he has some footy smarts about him, he got his hands to the footy plenty of times on Saturday but was caught with it around half the time. I really hope he makes the step up.

I think that we may get more run from the backline when Hart and Smart are both in together, plus McGregor, but it is a sad state when you are looking at blokes Smart and Hart's age to be giving you run from the back. Before Smart came on our backline was static. I think that we will end up having to play Goodwin and/or Edwards back to give us run, which robs the midfield where we have already lost Bickley and Johnson over the last couple fo years. So we may be in the process of spreading the talent more thinly around the ground which is a worry. Freo on the other hand moved the ball quickly and directly out of defence which put real pressure on our backline.

I agree with one of the above posters that this is an area where Gallagher can provide us with something. Reilly also goes long and direct and looks a class above our other youngsters. He will play on a wing this year and be a very handy player. Hentschell will blow hot and cold for awhile yet but he was certainly one of the best on Saturday and he has the benefit of being able to play back or forward.

From what I've seen this preseason we have changed to a high possession, high disposal gameplan which needs high skills to work - the more often you dispose of the ball the more opportunity to turn over the footy. And at the moment our skills aren't good enough to play that game plan and we are turning it over way too often. Maybe our skills can improve by round one.

We have some terrific players who are proven AFL footballers so I don't think we will have any problem with them coming up to speed. It is the second & third string players we will need to get more from. And players like Smith don't just need an improvement in skills, he needs nothing short of a miracle on Saturday's dismal performace. He was embarrasing. My mate who is a Freo member asked who he was with a big smile on his face. I told him the story I read on this board about Smith's alleged versatility - he can't play at both ends of the ground :( .

BTW, Biglands didn't make the best players but I think he is a must to lead the ruck. He did struggle with Sandilands at the centre bounces but he will be no orphan there this season.

Hudson has real endeavour and will tackle and chase but I'm still not convinced he is up to it - yet. It is early days for him, but I would have liked to see him take a couple more marks, particularly as he is more mobile than someone like Sandilands. he is another one I think some patience will be required with, but he is a goer and takes no backward steps, no doubt about that.

Hopefully Smith has ruined any chances he had of being promoted as his skill level was deplorable. I think he got one kick, and it is a waste of time anyone handballing to him, never mind kicking it to him. Maybe it was the pressure of playing for a spot on the list proper - I don't know. But he showed absolutely nothing on Saturday. I don't know what the coaching staff see in him - maybe he has photos of Ayresy with a chicken???