View Full Version : 1st Test : New Zealand v South Africa
SA are 2/79 just before lunch on day1.
Smith & Gibbs both out.
How many times will the Kiwi commentators use the word "schimmy" ?
I've counted 3.
CatManDo
10 Mar 2004, 09:39
Originally posted by JUBJUB
SA are 2/79 just before lunch on day1.
Smith & Gibbs both out.
How many times will the Kiwi commentators use the word "schimmy" ?
I've counted 3.
What does it mean exactly?
40.5 Vettori to Rudolph, FOUR, outside off, too full, again a typical left handers drive, always looks good
Left handers always look good driving? I reckon the BNG has one of the most unattractive batting techniques, and he's a left hander. Hayden doesnt generally look classy - just thumps it, and he's a left hander.
red+black
10 Mar 2004, 10:21
is he thinking of david gower?
CatManDo
10 Mar 2004, 10:35
Ive always thought left footers look better kicking a footy... never thought about batsmen though... really depends on who it is. Langer is a very compact driver, as opposed to Gilly who often reaches for the ball, yet you wouldnt say he was all that graceful. Whenever Hayden plays a full blooded drive he seems to not have much of a follow through either.
As opposed to the right handed Martyn who is nice to watch when he isnt sitting in the pavillion.
Fall Out Boy
10 Mar 2004, 10:56
Really enjoying this match, far moreso than our match.
The first session was gripping cricket, with neither team giving an inch. The pressure NZ put on the SA batsmen was superb, and caused both Smith and Gibbs to give up their wickets.
Once Kallis came in though, things changed.
He has just dominated, a class above anyone else out there.
Fall Out Boy
10 Mar 2004, 10:58
Originally posted by CatManDo
Ive always thought left footers look better kicking a footy...
Damn straight. We lefties are more stylish generally.
Never noticed anything on the cricket field, but on the football field and basketball court, the style of lefties is beautiful to watch.
dr nick
10 Mar 2004, 11:10
i reckon lefties look better coz its harder to do. I've always thought that about all sports. I have great trouble kicking and batting left handed and so it just looks more skillful i reckon watching a lefty play tennis even looks harder to do than the equivalent right hander.
Watching right handed players on tv through a mirror also looks like they are more skillful though
Fall Out Boy
10 Mar 2004, 11:31
Despite being a dominant left-sided footballer (think Ronnie Burns), whenever i play a sport where i need to swing (cricket, golf, baseball, hockey) i have always found it easier to bat right handed.
Can comfortably bat left handed, but i feel i get more power when my left arm is at the top of the bat.
Fall Out Boy
10 Mar 2004, 11:40
Play after tea has been delayed 10 minutes so far whilst NZ bowlers help the groundstaff cover the covers, which are reflecting into the bowlers eyes.
Only in NZ.
Jars458
10 Mar 2004, 11:53
I am a genuine lefty with hand and foot.
Cant' hit a golf ball or bat right hande to save my life or kick a footy with the right for that matter.
Soccer is my main game and I can use my right foot in that area but only accuratley over short distances. Right foot crosses can work but only if plenty of time and space to swing the foot.
Kallis is on fire again. Great player.
Fall Out Boy
10 Mar 2004, 12:09
Originally posted by Jars458
I am a genuine lefty with hand and foot.
Cant' hit a golf ball or bat right hande to save my life or kick a footy with the right for that matter.
I've never understood that.
As a left hander, our power and flexibility is in our left arm, and given the top hand is the controlling hand, i'd think that you'd prefer to bat right handed.
Quite a number of left handed bowlers, bat right handed.
I've always thought the the lefties tend to look better playing shots throught the leg-side, moreso than driving throught the off (Gower and a couple others excepted).
I went to school with a kid who bowled with his right arm, and threw with his left. Always seemed weird to me.
Fall Out Boy
10 Mar 2004, 12:19
Originally posted by Pedro
I went to school with a kid who bowled with his right arm, and threw with his left. Always seemed weird to me.
That is definitely weird.
Despite batting right handed, i couldn't throw a cricket ball more than 10 metres with my right hand, and in doing so look like a female.
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Despite being a dominant left-sided footballer (think Ronnie Burns), whenever i play a sport where i need to swing (cricket, golf, baseball, hockey) i have always found it easier to bat right handed.
Phat - I never realised you were a dark-skinned fellow :eek:
Fall Out Boy
10 Mar 2004, 12:44
Very good.
Cooldude
10 Mar 2004, 13:16
Kallis falls for the three card trick
That is definitely weird.
Despite batting right handed, i couldn't throw a cricket ball more than 10 metres with my right hand, and in doing so look like a female.
Funny thing was, his old man played 1 or 2 tests. You'd think he would've sorted it out early on. Perhaps he thought it was going to be an advantage for him.
Just one of those oddities though I guess. Everything I do is right handed, except I'm a natural left foot kick. Who knows how these things come to be.
rchowell
10 Mar 2004, 17:27
Can comfortably bat left handed, but i feel i get more power when my left arm is at the top of the bat.I'm also a right handed batsman and left arm bowler, but I also kick right foot and handball with the left fist. It's pretty handy.
Cooldude
11 Mar 2004, 12:17
Andre Nel bowled two balls, and has already been given an offical warning of running on the pitch.
Umpire's Russell Tiffin... this kinda non-sense is why he's been kicked out of the elite panel...
While Tosser Smith continues to complain to the umpire and showed dissent of some sort...
18.2 Nel to Papps, no run, fullish ball, forward, defends to backward point.
Two balls bowled and Nel gets an official warning for running on the pitch. No warning from Tiffen, Smith not happy, has a chat to Tiffen who pulls out his little black book and writes something in it. That is realy autocratic umpiring
Tiffin is a space cadet.
Leave Tiff alone!
He's my favourite umpire.
We get to see big Dave Orchard soon as well. The man who basically handed England an Ashes victory by firing out Langer and Hayden when balls both pitched a foot outside leg stump and were still probably missing leg.
And who could forget when Tiff was obviously told not to give an lbw's under and circumstance in an ODI and gave Lee not out 3 times when he was trying to cut ball off middle stump and getting hit on the back pad.
Ahh Tiff...
Fall Out Boy
12 Mar 2004, 09:14
New Zealand scored 42 runs in the entire first session today.
New Zealand cricket is just baffling
News during tea is that the groundsman made repairs to the pitch
after the players and officials left after play last night
Then they also repainted the sightscreens before play started this
morning
Clive Lloyd instructed the grounds man to un-repair what he did,
not sure how one does that, and the New Zealand Board have been instructed to write a report that is still forthcoming
Cooldude
12 Mar 2004, 11:35
Well Andre Nel took a LARGE chunk outta the danger area on the pitch where it's almost short of a length on a good line outside the left hander's off stump... and now Paul Adams is bowling into them...
If the NZ curators are gonna repair everything that's wrong with the pitch, then all those years ago they should've shaved all that 5 inch grass off the wicket :rolleyes:
rchowell
12 Mar 2004, 18:50
Originally posted by Jaymin
New Zealand cricket is just baffling
News during tea is that the groundsman made repairs to the pitch
after the players and officials left after play last night
Then they also repainted the sightscreens before play started this
morning
Clive Lloyd instructed the grounds man to un-repair what he did,
not sure how one does that, and the New Zealand Board have been instructed to write a report that is still forthcoming
That's exactly what happened leading up to Day 5 of the Boxing Day Test here this summer. There was this big "divot" taken out of the MCG pitch right on a good length at one end, Tony Weir fill it in and Clive Lloyd told him to take it all back out again.
Andre Nel's footmarks totally decimated that pitch
Anyone see the ball from Adams that landed in the foot mark and a big chunk of pitch exploded out of it??
Or the ball bowled by Adams that hit the footmarks and barely left a roll as it passed vettori, nearly bowling him
What a pitch
That slime disease on the wicket area really stuffed that pitch up, they were lucky to produce a wicket at all
I'm a pretty decent left foot kick but it did take practice. Can't get used to batting left handed though it feels so weird.
It's been tense allright, Papps certainly gets his head down.
Nel did not handle Russell Tiffen warning him at all well.
New Zealand 8/483 at lunch. Who would have thought after being 6/225?
84 run partnership for 7th wicket, 113 for 8th wicket and 61 unbroken for 9th wicket.
Jacob Oram not out 106, turning into a pretty reasonable all-rounder. Vettori 53 as well.
The match scores defy the talk about the state of the pitch somewhat. Mind you, Adams has shown he is not nearly good enough a spinner to exploit the conditions - he was bowling left arm over to two left handers with a gaping hole in the pitch on a length outside the off stump. He got Vettori eventually, but far too late.
Cooldude
13 Mar 2004, 09:28
There is a big hole on the pitch, where it's roughly a good length for a spinner coming around the wicket (or Adam's case, over). Just a very big, yellow hole, where Adams or Vettori can constantly hammer into, and it's either kicking up a million miles or doesn't bounce or doesn't turn or turns 5 foot. It's doing all sorts... but Adams can't hit it consistently.
The Proteas will die when Vettori bowls in the 2nd dig, he can hammer into that hole
Go_Doggies
13 Mar 2004, 10:05
Originally posted by Cooldude
There is a big hole on the pitch, where it's roughly a good length for a spinner coming around the wicket (or Adam's case, over). Just a very big, yellow hole, where Adams or Vettori can constantly hammer into, and it's either kicking up a million miles or doesn't bounce or doesn't turn or turns 5 foot. It's doing all sorts... but Adams can't hit it consistently.
The Proteas will die when Vettori bowls in the 2nd dig, he can hammer into that hole
Go New Zealand!
Originally posted by Cooldude
Dead right on the odd occasion that Frog in a blender hit it, the ball did very strange things.
You'd back Vettori to give the Proteas plenty of grief.
Excellent patient innings from Oram, his first test ton. He got great support from McCullum, Vettori & Wiseman, breaking partnership records all the way along.
SA were never able to generate any momentum with the ball.
SA 2/19 trailing by 31.
Gibbs & Kallis at the wicket.
SA 2/65
They lead by 15 runs 40 minutes after tea
red+black
13 Mar 2004, 14:21
kallis in tests recently (reverse chronological order):
92, 56*
130*
73, 130*
158, 44
still a chance for five centuries in five consecutive tests. the record is six, five would put kallis into outright second.
as richie would say on stick cricket: "You are on fire!"
And there it is!! 5 centuries in five test matches. Definately on fire.
Cooldude
14 Mar 2004, 09:50
Vettori still wicketless... one of the criticisms of him is that he cannot stand up and be counted when his team needs him to take wickets, this proves it again here.
It looked as though this game came close to being called off about 30 minutes ago.
The pitch is causing real problems for left handed batsmen.
red+black
14 Mar 2004, 11:22
Originally posted by Pedro
And there it is!! 5 centuries in five test matches. Definately on fire.
Can we drop Martyn and slot in Kallis?
red+black
14 Mar 2004, 12:18
With Smith's declaration, Kallis in tests recently (reverse chronological order):
92, 150*
130*
73, 130*
158, 44
5 tests, 8 innings, 3 not outs, 954 runs, avg: 190.8
for the 2004 calendar year so far, 575 runs!
as neo would say: Woah!
Originally posted by red+black
Can we drop Martyn and slot in Kallis?
Don't see the need. Martyns got 6 on the board. He's just spaced his out a bit more conservatively. Over 10 years rather than about 10 weeks.;) :p
rchowell
14 Mar 2004, 13:47
South Africa 459 & 313/4d
New Zealand 509 & 39/1 (16.0 ov)
Are they fair dinkum??? 1320 runs in 5 days. Appalling. And just to rub it in this afternoon SA set NZ 264 to win in about 23 overs. Nuh. They're not fair dinkum. :rolleyes: