View Full Version : Westy Boy
Shinboners
27 May 2001, 12:58
Pre-match drinks in the Locker Room next Friday night?
Pre/during/post match drinks for Werribee vs the Murray Kangaroos on Saturday as well?????
I think these invitations should be extended to the other Doggies fans as well. They seem a pretty good bunch. Any takers, private message or email me via the forum to arrange stuff. Shinners and I look likely starters, can't speculate on others.
Westy Boy
28 May 2001, 22:24
Sounds great Shinboners! :D
Almost 100% certain I'll be able to make it for pre match drinks on Friday, around 6-6:30 sound ok?
And totally agree with Darky, it would be great to also meet Waltzing Woof Biscuit, Localyokel, Dogs-R-us, Hahnpremium, Bulldogs1 and all the other passionate Bigfooty doggies fans .... and Chicago, we'll have a couple of drinks on your behalf. :p
For the Werribee match Shinners, i could be going to Paramatta for the NSL grand final, so depending on when we're leaving, I might struggle to make it-- I'll PM you guys to let ya's know later in the week. BTW, you should invite Dan25 for that match too ... wouldn't that be a riot? ;)
Anyway, it'll be great to finally put some names to faces.... see ya's there!
Chicago1
28 May 2001, 22:58
Originally posted by Westy Boy
... and Chicago, we'll have a couple of drinks on your behalf. :p
Thanks, Westy Boy... but make them Coke, I don't drink! Wish I could be with y'all. I missed last weekend's match. Went to Ohio to visit a couple of amusement parks to ride the roller coasters (Millenium Force travels at 92mph and has a 300ft drop) and didn't get back until midnight Friday. Our match started at 4.30am so just couldn't get up after driving 7 1/2 hours. Glad to hear that Darcy did so well.
If only Shinboners and Darky knew that I almost was going to barrack for the Roos the week after I arrived in Australia in 1975. I told Dave at Bulldogs Unleashed I'd write the story and e-mail it to him to put on the site, but I just haven't had the time. I'll try to do it this week.
Looks like my return to Australia won't be until January 2002 if at all. Hey, my Cubbies have won seven straight games and are back in first place in their division. Maybe I'll be going to the Finals after all this year... but baseball at Wrigley Field in September! :D
Have a great night y'all! ;) :)
Captain Sensible
29 May 2001, 10:01
Love to make it and put some names to faces but I often dont make it to Collo until just before the first bounce.
My house is a 5-10 minute drive and my wife seldom goes so she drops us off(what a luxury) and anyway my 2 y-o son isnt allowed into the locker room(I think) I've been turfed out before for having him with me.
HahnPremium8
29 May 2001, 10:01
I dunno if i'll be able to make it yet. :) How are yous planning on meeting up? There will probably be heaps of ppl in there.
Dogs_R_Us
29 May 2001, 12:00
Thanks very much for the invitation but I won't be able to make it this time.
May the best team win ...... OURS :D
It's a North vs Footscray game... won't be too packed I reckon.
Most of the Roos regulars know eachother (so that's already taken care of), any of the Doggies faithful that are interested, should PM or email one of us probably before Friday arvo to arrange something.
I'm not sure what time Shinboners will be online Friday, but I'm likely to leave for the game 5.30ish - it's only 4 stops to Spencer Street - and get there around 6.00 pm. I will probably be online in the afternoon until I leave for the game.
Shinboners
29 May 2001, 15:05
Sounds great Shinboners! :D
Almost 100% certain I'll be able to make it for pre match drinks on Friday, around 6-6:30 sound ok?
For the Werribee match Shinners, i could be going to Paramatta for the NSL grand final, so depending on when we're leaving, I might struggle to make it-- I'll PM you guys to let ya's know later in the week. BTW, you should invite Dan25 for that match too ... wouldn't that be a riot? ;)
Westy Boy, just give me a call when you get to the Locker Room. I've still got your mobile number as well.....e-mail me if it's changed.
Hmmm.......maybe we should ask Dan25 to come along.....we do need someone to fetch food and beer for us.....and we could always tell Burger Butt Calthorpe that unless he quits, we'll force him to sit down with the Danster and talk about the merits of the Minor Premiers system :D :D :D
Shinboners
29 May 2001, 15:07
Originally posted by Darky
It's a North vs Footscray game... won't be too packed I reckon.
Don't forget that the highly prestigious "Franco Cozzo Cup" is up for grabs..... :D
(For those of you who don't know, it comes from the old "Norda Mulburn ana Fodisgray" that old Franco used to say at the end of his late night TV commercials)
Originally posted by Shinboners
Westy Boy, just give me a call when you get to the Locker Room. I've still got your mobile number as well.....e-mail me if it's changed.
Hmmm.......maybe we should ask Dan25 to come along.....we do need someone to fetch food and beer for us.....and we could always tell Burger Butt Calthorpe that unless he quits, we'll force him to sit down with the Danster and talk about the merits of the Minor Premiers system :D :D :D
Dan25:No no no, you are WRONG, Shinboners! Why don't you people understand me!
David Calthorpe cannot be the world greatest glutton unless he has gone head to head with every other glutton. Performing well in one do-or-die smorgasboard Olympics does not make him the best glutton. His effort was an upset and a fluke. Ryan O'Connor was easily the best glutton throughout 1999, in fact he dominated. I have written letters to Ryan and he has categorically stated that he supports my theory, and I know that 70% of dietitians agree with me, because I took a head-count of all the dietitians that walked through the doors of the KMart store where I work, and told them that they think they agree with me.
Why can't you just accept that you are wrong. I am annihilating you in this argument. The figures you quoted from the national Census, and the Australian Bureau of Statistics mean nothing, even if you have a Morgan Gallup poll to supposedly back it up.
I am satisfied that my sample of 10 dietitians walking aimlessly through KMart looking for blue cardigans is a big enough sample to represent all of Australia, because if you interviewd everybody, they will all nominate Calthorpe because he is the only glutton they know of, and are quick to align themselves with him because he is representative of.... *walks off into distance, still rambling by the time he hits Werribee*
Shinboners, David Calthorpe, Westy Boy, Darky: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Grendel
31 May 2001, 08:01
Hi guys, at this stage im not sure, but i might be around town this friday too. Now if you wouldnt mind a Hawk coming along to have a look at you two lots of blokes taunting one another all night, i would love to meet up with you as well.
Main thing is, i dont know what any of you look like, or where the meets being held (presuming the Locker rooms one of Coronials bars?) anyway good luck to both sides even if i cant make it on the night, will be watching it and drinking to several good blokes that i know will be there.
Cheers http://cwm.ragesofsanity.com/s/net7/beerchug.gif
Westy Boy
31 May 2001, 09:17
Definitely Grendel! Would be fantastic to meet ya!
I've never been to the Locker Room myself, but i think I've walked passed it a few times ... from Spencer St station just go straight to the stadium, and it should be just to the left of Gate 2 if I'm thinking the about right one. Shinners or Darky can confirm?
Who to look for? Ummm ... to find me .... very short .... very fat .... woggy looking 20 year old who makes Mick Martyn look like Brad Pitt .... and got a shaved head like Micky too! :D
I can private message you my mobile if you wanna call me there, or organise to meet outside that gate at a particular time?
Hoping you can make it, Grendel, and we'll organise something for round 20 as it gets closer too.
PS: Could ya bring young Hay or Rawlings (to help us contain Carey) along with ya too? :p
PPS: You gonna be wearing the 'Grendel' shirt I've heard so much about? :D
Westy Boy
31 May 2001, 09:36
Originally posted by Darky
Dan25:No no no, you are WRONG, Shinboners! Why don't you people understand me!
David Calthorpe cannot be the world greatest glutton unless he has gone head to head with every other glutton. Performing well in one do-or-die smorgasboard Olympics does not make him the best glutton. His effort was an upset and a fluke. Ryan O'Connor was easily the best glutton throughout 1999, in fact he dominated. I have written letters to Ryan and he has categorically stated that he supports my theory, and I know that 70% of dietitians agree with me, because I took a head-count of all the dietitians that walked through the doors of the KMart store where I work, and told them that they think they agree with me.
Why can't you just accept that you are wrong. I am annihilating you in this argument. The figures you quoted from the national Census, and the Australian Bureau of Statistics mean nothing, even if you have a Morgan Gallup poll to supposedly back it up.
I am satisfied that my sample of 10 dietitians walking aimlessly through KMart looking for blue cardigans is a big enough sample to represent all of Australia, because if you interviewd everybody, they will all nominate Calthorpe because he is the only glutton they know of, and are quick to align themselves with him because he is representative of.... *walks off into distance, still rambling by the time he hits Werribee*
Shinboners, David Calthorpe, Westy Boy, Darky:zzzzzzz
Originally posted by Shinboners
Darky and Shinboners: LOL!! :D .... I think you might be on to something Shinners, with Dan25 getting players to quit ..... what about Wills leaving? hmmm... now that i think about it.... the Werribee connection .... the sudden departure for no apparent reason .... clouded in secrecy.... the stats book left behind in his locker being torn to shreds "YOU ENDED MY STELLAR CAREER BUT REVENGE WILL BE SWEET DAN25 HAHAHA!! *evil laugh*" engraved in the front cover.... ? hmmm ;)
Darky, he's not talking about how it IS, he's talking about how it SHOULD be! Why can't you see that?? ... why is he the only person that understands everything??? It must be hard for him to carry that kind of intelligence around, lets have a bit of compassion for the bloke, despite him calling everyone who disagrees with him "uneducated, foolish, moronic idiots with shlt for brains"..... he means well.
I'll give ya a call as soon as I get there, Shinners. Is there a main bar inside? Darky, which train you catchin? You jumping on at Seddon?
Chicago,
I'll make it a (bourbon &) Coke... just for you :D
The AFL site should have coverage so you can loudly cheer us on.. and hopefully the Cubs outstanding start to the season is a good omen for us! Maybe you'll be able to make the final at Wrigley Field early September, then fingers crossed you'll be flying across for the G on the final Saturday. ;)
Dogs-r-us, Hahn, Localyokel, and WWB and K9-54, would have been great to see ya's there this week -- but since most of you can't make, we'll make sure to organise a get together in the next few weeks if everyone's interested :) Fremantle match sound ok?
Waltzing Woof Biscuit
31 May 2001, 11:52
Hey guys,
I'd love to make it, but if you check my post on the AFL Board, under the David Parkin thread, you'll see why it's not possible this time!
Agree Westy, we should put a few faces to psuedonyms. As Doggy supporters, we could swap a masochistic yarns or two! Aahh, but the Essendon supporter will never know the exhilaration of winning a simple home-and-away game against the second bottom team. Long live the late 70s!! ;)
Count me in next time eh?
Cheers.
I'll definitely be at the game. If I make it by about 7 I'll stick my head in the Locker Room.
I'll give ya a call as soon as I get there, Shinners. Is there a main bar inside? Darky, which train you catchin? You jumping on at Seddon?
Not sure Westy, I have access to two train lines, so if I just miss the one at Seddon, I usually head for Middle or West Footscray - just depends on timing really. There is also an ever so slight possibility that I may be heading into the city a little earlier (maybe 4.00-4.30), and be going to the game directly from there.
Feel free to email me (this is for all of you) at DarkAvstoney@hotmail.com so I can reply with some recognition details and a mobile number.
Grendel - it would be great if you could attend too, especially seeing I am no certain starter if a piss-up is arranged for the Roos vs Orks game in Round 12 (birthday function to attend on the Saturday afternoon).
The Locker Room is closest to Gate 1 at the Southern end of the ground (Spencer Street station end) and I think is less than 50 metres from the gate, on the right when you walk in. The earlier you arrive, the less crowded it will be. I have also confirmed a few other Roos attendees.
Shinboners
31 May 2001, 16:21
Grendel,
I sent you a private message via bigfooty with my contact details, so I hope you check it.
Cheers
SB
Damir Dokic
31 May 2001, 17:05
Maybe Damir is come too. Damir ketch train from Sant Albans f*cken. :)