View Full Version : Did anyone notice that we have definitely torn it now
Crows.ok
28 May 2001, 20:40
The Melbourne media are starting to suggest that Crows might make the finals.
Even here on bigfooty, on the main board, a thread entitled "Final 8" by a Pies fan suggests Adelaide will be finalists.
There goes our underdog status.
At least, there it goes until finals start. Then Crows will be underdogs again, with a modicum of luck.
topjars
28 May 2001, 21:33
The Melbourne media have always been slow on the uptake (Well most of 'em)
And I think the Crows will be quietly confident.:o
Next It'll be Richmond for 9th!!:D
And Er...Go cRoWs:eek:
This from the same thread:
"I don't believe Adelaide have the ability to sustain their current form for the whole season and face a tough finish to the year, against the sides they have already lost to. "
I think we still got a chance of keeping things under wraps and our underdog status. Let's hope so.
Crows.ok
28 May 2001, 23:29
Originally posted by ant
This from the same thread:
"I don't believe Adelaide have the ability to sustain their current form for the whole season and face a tough finish to the year, against the sides they have already lost to. "
I think we still got a chance of keeping things under wraps and our underdog status. Let's hope so.
So, in the final analysis, having five players out and thus losing our first three games was a masterstroke, then!
Pure genius.
:)
topjars
29 May 2001, 12:46
Originally posted by Crows.ok
So, in the final analysis, having five players out and thus losing our first three games was a masterstroke, then!
Pure genius.
:)
These lads are no soft tyros.
They would be next in the gun if injurys take us down.
Depth wise worries me; while we can currently cover the small man department our Height could be exposed.
Apart from Biglands Perrie Basset Eccles and maybe Doughty; we're a bit thin.
And Er...GO:eek:CROWS
C'mon guys, you have made the finals only 3 times in 10 years. What makes you think you will make it this year?. We all know the Crows only preform when they are the underdogs. Now that teams will take you seriously you have got no hope. Before you know it the old we should sack Ayers saga will start all over again.:D
topjars
29 May 2001, 15:05
Were living in deJAvu.....whats your excuse
You havent been to the top of the mountain yet... (thats twice) We know what it takes and you have yet to taste it.
A bit like a sweet pussy and a teenager!!
Were goin awright!!:eek:
Originally posted by carb70
Before you know it the old we should sack Ayers saga will start all over again.:D
Hey carb, remember when Cahill got the Axe?, how many port members left?
Remember last yr when yous lost to st kilda? How many port supporters called for Williams to get the axe??
Now that teams will take you seriously you have got no hope.
That is the ********ing most pathetic thing ive ever seen on Bigfooty
Well done carb, you have won pathetic post of the year, how do you feel?
topjars
29 May 2001, 19:26
I dont reckon theres a side that crosses the line and doesnt take the Crows seriously. Port dont and you wouldnt want it any other way. Roll on the NEXT Showdown ;)
Looks like a bit of wet weather could become a factor against Geelong...there not looking as tall as I thought they were..:D
And Er...GO CROWS:mad:
Originally posted by QT
That is the ********ing most pathetic thing ive ever seen on Bigfooty
Well done carb, you have won pathetic post of the year, how do you feel?
QT, I feel so proud. I have finally taken the pathetic post of the year title from you.:D
Just let me say I will accept apologies from everybody when my fact is proven to be correct.;)
Originally posted by topjars
I dont reckon theres a side that crosses the line and doesnt take the Crows seriously. Port dont and you wouldnt want it any other way. Roll on the NEXT Showdown ;)
And Er...GO CROWS:mad:
topjars of course clubs take the Crows seriously. But doesn't it concern you that the Crows can not go out and dominate a game. All their wins seem to be come from behind wins against sides who are not in the best form.
Finally bring on the showdown, Port might need to bolster it percentage at the end of the year when it's competing for top spot against Essendon.:D
Jars458
30 May 2001, 12:15
Finally bring on the showdown, Port might need to bolster it percentage at the end of the year when it's competing for top spot against Essendon.:D
Or they might need it to sneak into the top eight on percentage
You haven't beaten anyone decent yet either, (we were shi#t at the time and bulldogs had only half a side)
Even Brisbane who you beat are no longer in the top eight!!!
Power are gone. Bring back Carter Poole and Morton, its your only chance.
Originally posted by Jars458
You haven't beaten anyone decent yet either, (we were shi#t at the time and bulldogs had only half a side)
The reason we haven't beaten anyone decent yet is when you are sitting 3rd on the ladder, there are only 2 decent teams you can play and thats 1st & 2nd.
Also when we play lesser teams we kick their arse. Thats why our percentage is 133.5 and the Crows is only 93.7.
topjars
30 May 2001, 21:16
topjars of course clubs take the Crows seriously. But doesn't it concern you that the Crows can not go out and dominate a game. All their wins seem to be come from behind wins against sides who are not in the best form.
Not really, we are only coming from behind due to poor kicking.
Sh1t once that turns around I'll be even less concerned !
REMEMBER : Form is as good as the next team allows....For flicks sake serve 'em up.
Premierships are BUILT on come from behind wins...tee hee:eek:
And Er.... Go Crows;)
Crows.ok
30 May 2001, 22:33
Originally posted by topjars
Not really, we are only coming from behind due to poor kicking.
Sh1t once that turns around I'll be even less concerned !
Adelaide 19.13 (127) Brisbane Lions 18.14 (122)
Some evidence there to suggest Crows have at least started to turn the poor kicking around.
Actually, I though Crows had 20.12 in that game, Pike touch edwards shot in the last Q all right, but he touched it behind the line!
Thats my story & I'm sticking to it.
QT, I feel so proud. I have finally taken the pathetic post of the year title from you.:D
No carb, you are the "inaugaral" winner of this amazing award, what a surprise "pathetic post of the year" came from somone what HASN'T experienced an AFL premiership!:D :D
Originally posted by QT
No carb, you are the "inaugaral" winner of this amazing award, what a surprise "pathetic post of the year" came from somone what HASN'T experienced an AFL premiership!:D :D
QT you are wrong about me not experiencing a premiership. Considering I support the Port Adelaide Magpies who do you think I used to support in the AFL before the Power joined?. I will give you a clue 1990.:D
Jars458
31 May 2001, 14:24
QT you are wrong about me not experiencing a premiership. Considering I support the Port Adelaide Magpies who do you think I used to support in the AFL before the Power joined?. I will give you a clue 1990.:D
So you jumped on the Power bandwagon then?
YES, BUT ISNT THAT THE TRUE PORT ADELAIDE TRADITION?:D
Carn the crows!
Jars and QT let me explain to you how things worked in the old days before the Crows because you guys probably beleive football didn't exsist before the Crows.
In the 1st 20 years of my life SA had no team in the then VFL and had no intention of joining. So it was a bit hard to follow Port in the VFL when they didn't actually compete in it. So the only option I had was to follow the team that wore back and white and were also known as the Magpies. That is basic logic something most Crows supporters find hard to understand.
Also QT you had made an incorrect statement. You have stated Premiership Count Adelaide 2 Port 0. It should read Adelaide 2 Port 34. Maybe the statement should of read AFL Premiership Count Adelaide 2 Port 0. ;)
I will change it now ;)
Jars and QT let me explain to you how things worked in the old days before the Crows because you guys probably beleive football didn't exsist before the Crows.
In the 1st 20 years of my life SA had no team in the then VFL and had no intention of joining. So it was a bit hard to follow Port in the VFL when they didn't actually compete in it. So the only option I had was to follow the team that wore back and white and were also known as the Magpies. That is basic logic something most Crows supporters find hard to understand.
Carb if you had said that you "followed" the Magpies I would understand as I used to "follow" Carlton in the VFL
But supporting a team is different. ie going to games buying memberships etc etc.
If you supported one club, you should not have changed as that shows a lack of loyalty!
Also that stupid comment of us not knowing football existed before the Crows is well..........just that...stupid. A lot of Crows supporters are SANFL supportes too, always have been always will be.
Port have the same problem - the Magpies used to get what 10,000 fans to their minor round games
Now the Power get 20,000 +. Where did the extra 10,000 come from???????????????
As far as the Premiership count goes, if you count SANFL flags, will you also count Reserves U19's U17's etc etc
How low a level are you allowed to go to, to count flags
Primary School?
You are right on two counts Carb!!:o
Football didn't exsist before the Crows.
AFL Premiership Count Adelaide 2 Port 0
And er... Go Crows
:eek: :eek: :eek:
Carb if you had said that you "followed" the Magpies I would understand as I used to "follow" Carlton in the VFL
But supporting a team is different. ie going to games buying memberships etc etc.
If you supported one club, you should not have changed as that shows a lack of loyalty!
Also that stupid comment of us not knowing football existed before the Crows is well..........just that...stupid. A lot of Crows supporters are SANFL supportes too, always have been always will be.
Port have the same problem - the Magpies used to get what 10,000 fans to their minor round games
Now the Power get 20,000 +. Where did the extra 10,000 come from???????????????
As far as the Premiership count goes, if you count SANFL flags, will you also count Reserves U19's U17's etc etc
How low a level are you allowed to go to, to count flags
Primary School?
OK jars you are correct I used to follow Collingwood not support them. But from what I understand QT is not a member of the Adelaide FC so if he can claim 2 Crows premierships than I can claim a Collingwood one. Also Jars if I was a financial member of Port and Collingwood back in the early 90's how can you claim that as jumping ship when Port joined the AFL because prior to 1997 these 2 clubs where in different comps.
As far as Crow supporters not knowing football exsisted before the Crows, well that is my opinion. I have been to plenty of Crows game and sat in the crowd (which mainly consist of teenage girls and grannies) and their football knowledge is poor. Most of the crowd wouldn't know a lot about the SANFL a lot of them probably couldn't name the 9 clubs in the SANFL. Also try telling them that Mcleod was a premiership player with Port in the SANFL and they look at you like you are a fool because a lot of then don't even know where he came from.
As far as the Magpies getting 10,000 to a game. I have been to games against Norwood, Glenelg, Sturt and even North where we had crowds of 30,000 and in finals we used to get crowds of 30,000+. So that extra 10,000 has been their they just didn't attend every game. People do work and or have other comittments on Saturdays so it is hard for people to attend all games.
Finally as far as premierships go the Port Adelaide FC has 34 SANFL premierships, there is no ifs or buts about it. The PAFC joined the AFL in 1997 from the SANFL that is where our history is prior to 1997 so I have every right to count their premierships of course it means nothing in AFL terms but you can't change the fact that we won 34 in the SANFL. Also your primary school line is just your stanard comeback you always seem to use in this premiership arguments. Maybe it's because that is your level of education.
Also good on the Crows for winning 2 premierships, I would be happy if Port had 2 but they don't so I can't use that line of we have 2 premierships and you don't like most Crows supporters do when they they are losing an argument or their team is getting whipped yet again by Port. At least I'm happy with my team being 8-2 and sitting equal top on the ladder. Come August at least I won't have to worry about my team winning enough games to make the finals but then again neither do Crows supporter because most years they are not in contention for the finals but then again you do have 2 premierships and you probably will have 2 for many more years to come.
Crows.ok
3 Jun 2001, 23:42
carb70:
Come August at least I won't have to worry about my team winning enough games to make the finals but then again neither do Crows supporter because most years they are not in contention for the finals but then again you do have 2 premierships and you probably will have 2 for many more years to come.
Now hang on just a minute here. At this point of the season Crows are in as good a position as they have been in any other season at the same stage. Port are in a far far better position than they have ever been before.
The only difference is that Crows are a proven finals threat. Crows have won two falgs from worse positions than where they now sit.
Port have been in the AFL finals for one game only - which they lost.
If I were you carb70 come September that is what I would worry about.
Come August Crows look as though they will be on track for making it into finals in a reasonable position. Enough to have a ping at the flag. An impossible position (fifth or so) for other sides maybe, but for Crows - proven finals finishers, no worries mate!
carb70:
Come August Crows look as though they will be on track for making it into finals in a reasonable position. Enough to have a ping at the flag. An impossible position (fifth or so) for other sides maybe, but for Crows - proven finals finishers, no worries mate!
Crows.ok ever heard of a team called Essendon. Even though you won premierships from 4 & 5 which was a great effort don't get me wrong but in those years there was no team in the final series in the same class as Essendon. Your team today is nowhere near the class of 97-98 you would be lucky to get within 10 goals of Essendon in a finals match you even struggled to get anywhere near Port in the last 2 showdowns. It will be interesting to see how you go against Essendon in a few weeks time though.
Would have to agree with you Carb
Although Kangas in 98 were at the peak of their powers and would have given today's Essendon side a run for their money.
We have to beat the Doggies before we worry about Essendon. They always play well here.
Showdown we were still in bad form and no Jarman and Johnson.
This shows we need our best 22 out there to be competitive
Fingers crossed
ps - brick bat to Geelong and their pathetic flooding
Crows.ok
4 Jun 2001, 21:03
Some of what you say has some merit, the rest is bunk. Essendon are definitely beatable. We will see in a couple of weeks time how Crows rate relative to Essendon.
You are right in that Crows effort in the showdown early this season was poor. A long way down on the standard required. Crows have improved markedly in the interim though, there is no way that Crows would get six wins from seven games if they were still playing as they did in the showdown.
I think you are wrong in your assesment of the Crows today, relative to 97-98. In fact, I think Crows are better performed so far this year than in either of those two years. If you remember, Crows played the odd stinker in 97 and 98 too.
Hey Carb, its preety hard getting a silver membership when their is a 7000+ waiting list!
I think you are wrong in your assesment of the Crows today, relative to 97-98. In fact, I think Crows are better performed so far this year than in either of those two years. If you remember, Crows played the odd stinker in 97 and 98 too.
The Crows were inconsistent back then too granted.
But I think they had the ability to hurt teams on the scoreboard more regularly and quicker back then. The crows of old were hit or miss a lot, big wins and big losses, these days its more grinding with few big breaks either way (Brisbane game was good though, I wish they didn't rely on Voss so much).
I actually rate the crows against Essendon because the camrys rely 95% on the midfield, and most of Essendons decent midfielders are out. I hope it doesn't happen though as Adelaide will be unbearable, even if they lose every other match for the year.
. I have been to games against Norwood, Glenelg, Sturt and even North where we had crowds of 30,000
Also your primary school line is just your stanard comeback you always seem to use in this premiership arguments. Maybe it's because that is your level of education.
Please tell me when and where these games were???
Very pathetic of you to resort to talking of lack of education.
I think I would measure up quite well there - but it doesn't matter
Clearly I use that line to delineate the fact you crap on about flags in a lower level of competition. You know this to be the truth
Whether you won 34 or 9000 it doesn't matter squat in the AFL - except to the extent that this is the reason you got the second licence.
I look forward to August.
Long way to go in the season yet, who knows who will finish where.
Please tell me when and where these games were???
1990 Rd 2 Port v Norwood 36,997
1989 Rd21 Port v North 29,204 we also got 26,135 to a Glenelg game that year.
1988 Port v Sturt 38,213 that game was a double header which also included Central v North. The Port v Sturt game was the 1st game and the staduim was full at the start of that game. Central v North previous 2 games that season averaged about 5,500 people so going by that you can say that at least 30,000 people went to see the Port v Sturt game which was one of the greatest games I have ever seen.
How far back do you want me to go Jars?. I sure we would of got big crowds back in the 50s, 60s and 70s. Infact doesn't Port and Sturt hold the record for the largest crowd at Foootball Park which is 66,000+ people for the 1976 GF. What is the team for all South Australians largest crowd at Football Park?. It wouldn't even be over 50,000.
Very pathetic of you to resort to talking of lack of education.
I think I would measure up quite well there - but it doesn't matter
Clearly I use that line to delineate the fact you crap on about flags in a lower level of competition. You know this to be the truth
Whether you won 34 or 9000 it doesn't matter squat in the AFL - except to the extent that this is the reason you got the second licence.
I look forward to August.
Long way to go in the season yet, who knows who will finish where.
Didn't I previuosly state that our 34 SANFL premierships meant nothing in AFL terms?. I simply stated that they were part of our history. The SANFL is were we came from not like some other team in this state that was just thrown together so it could stop another team joining the then VFL.
Originally posted by QT
Hey Carb, its preety hard getting a silver membership when their is a 7000+ waiting list!
So QT , I can assume that your name is one of the 7,000 on the waiting list.:D
Also have you ever thought of buying a match day ticket since you are such a loyal supporter. Crows games don't sell out like they use to.
******** ive been to every single crows game this season except the showdown, and last night when i couldnt make it
Originally posted by QT
******** ive been to every single crows game this season except the showdown, and last night when i couldnt make it
******** I'm sorry QT I didn't know. Every game exept 2 you must be loyal especially travelling to watch them play in Brissie and Tassie.
HA HA calling me a ******** is that the best insult you can come up with. I'm was shaking in my boots so much after reading that, that I had to take them off.:D
Carb, you can call my unloyal, couldnt give a ********
But......
Every season ive prob be spending over 200 bucks on tickets while waiting to get my season tickets.
And also going to see St kilda vs Adelaide at colonial next month.
So all up i spend majority of my money to see the crows.
But if you want to call me unloyal, just coz i dont have a season ticket YET , you can
Originally posted by QT
Carb, you can call my unloyal, couldnt give a ********
But......
Every season ive prob be spending over 200 bucks on tickets while waiting to get my season tickets.
And also going to see St kilda vs Adelaide at colonial next month.
So all up i spend majority of my money to see the crows.
But if you want to call me unloyal, just coz i dont have a season ticket YET , you can
QT don't take what I'm am writing about you not being loyal as serious. I'm only having a bit of fun. After all Port did lose today and I thought I would have a bit of fun at Crows supporters expense. I know you love your Crows you don't need to prove to me how loyal you are to them.