View Full Version : 3rd Test: Sri Lanka vs. Australia
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 13:14
Ricky Ponting won the toss and chose to bat :)
Given MacGill is likely to be given the nod ahead of Williams/Tait, batting first is a great advantage.
Fingers crossed Katich gets a run.
Teams:
Haydos
BNG
Punter
Marto
Boof
Katta
Gilly
Warney
Dizzy
Kaspa
Magilla
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 13:27
Thompson and Fernando said the pitch is a "belter" which will play extremely well for the team batting first.
Might be a bit of bounce in the deck too.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 13:30
One man wrong, Jaymin.
We've made two changes, Williams and Katich in, MacGill and Symonds out.
Happy with the changes, although Slater and co. seem to think MacGill was hard done by. Slater also said he should have gotten the ball first, before Warne, in the first few tests.
Sri Lanka made one change, left arm orthodox bowler, Herath, in for Lokuarachchi.
Could Slater have made anymore excuses for MacGill ?
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 13:32
Really hoping BNG gets a score today.
As much as i want Matty Elliott back in the Aussie team, i'd like to see more of the BNG/Haydos opening partnership.
One man wrong, Jaymin
Yeah i was really only guessing.
I would have played Tate before Williams. Not a big Williams fan.
Eagles4Ever
24 Mar 2004, 13:38
Glad to see Williams get a game.... Brings some aggression into the side.
Good toss result... not only a good batting pitch but gives Warney a good chance of getting the 9 wickets he needs for the record by bowling last.
Go Aussies !!!
Hallelujah....it's a beautiful fay!
Fantastic to see MacGill dropped and Symonds make way for a bloke with form on the board in the long version of the game.
Justice from the cricketing gods - now all we need are a few more Vics into the national side & I'll be happy!
Eagles4Ever
24 Mar 2004, 13:43
Originally posted by Lidge
Hallelujah....it's a beautiful fay!
Fantastic to see MacGill dropped and Symonds make way for a bloke with form on the board in the long version of the game.
Justice from the cricketing gods - now all we need are a few more Vics into the national side & I'll be happy!
How many West Aussies is that now? :p
Go_Doggies
24 Mar 2004, 13:59
Katto is BACK!
I would have played Tait.. give hima go and see what he can come up with. After hitting Punter in the helmet, maybe it was time to put the fear of God into the Lankans.
But no worry, justice has been done. Katich is playing, meaning Symonds won't have a chance to consolidate a place in the team. I could see him scoring a 70 or so, being selected against the Zimbos, and slamming them around everywhere. Then he'd be an 'automatic' selection for India. :rolleyes:
Gopies 2002
24 Mar 2004, 14:05
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
One man wrong, Jaymin.
Happy with the changes, although Slater and co. seem to think MacGill was hard done by. Slater also said he should have gotten the ball first, before Warne, in the first few tests.
Sri Lanka made one change, left arm orthodox bowler, Herath, in for Lokuarachchi.
Has Slater watched the first 2 tests ?
MacGill is a good bowler. Not in the Warne class though. At no stage when the 2 have bowled has MacGill looked as likely to get a wicket as Warne.
dan warna
24 Mar 2004, 14:09
slats opinion is worth about as much as his bunk catching, bye bye mcgilla gorilla the ball has talked and you are no. ZERO,
warne is back.
katich deserves a decent run in the seniors, I feel sorry for symonds as two tests is not a fair run, but I guess as matty ellliot, love, devo etc found out, you have to make the most of what you get
lets see the selectors stick with katich and give him a decent run to prove himself. (you only have to look at the way the pommes messed hicks career to know that we don't want to follow that path)
CatManDo
24 Mar 2004, 14:17
Zoysa injured?
Anyone know what exactly?
Black Thunder
24 Mar 2004, 14:20
good to see Katich is playing.
Symonds did nothing at all to deserve that spot, and Katich did nothing at all to get dropped.
Langer has just been dismissed. Terriblely executed pull shot spooned to short mid wicket. 1/43.
Black Thunder
24 Mar 2004, 14:21
Originally posted by CatManDo
Zoysa injured?
not sure exactly. got the commentary off. just saw him limping off the ground in the middle of an over. Looks reasonably serious.
EssJayW
Anyone.
How come only 1 spinner?
Pitch and weather reports please.
Required 1st Innings total? (Phat this is one for you).
str8khlr
poor old Langer, hope he gets some runs in the second innings...
Go_Doggies
24 Mar 2004, 14:25
Langer out....
Jars458
24 Mar 2004, 14:26
MacGill has a better average than Ponting Symonds and Langer at the moment.
Go you good thing:D
Black Thunder
24 Mar 2004, 14:27
Originally posted by EssJayW
Anyone.
How come only 1 spinner?
we've got 2 spinners don't we??? at least i'm pretty sure i saw MacGill on the team list on Fox......and i doubt Warney's been dropped.
pitch and weather look pretty similar to the first two tests - first 10 overs, they've got Samereewara (spelling is way off i think :p) bowling and he's getting a bit of turn. And he's a part time off spinner......
Will probably do what it's done in the first two tests again and spin less over the second and third days before really getting some demons in it over the final two days.
high 200's to low 300's would be pretty solid for the first dig of this test. But we're looking pretty good. Depending on how well Murali bowls we can be rolled for about 150-200, or we could end up with 400+
harry_hawka
24 Mar 2004, 14:28
Anyone.
How come only 1 spinner?
Only 1 spinner because the pitch is very hard and isn't playing any tricks at all. Chaminda Vaas and Zoysa barely moved the thing, and consistent bounce had Hayden pre-meditating off drives in the third over. Looks to have nothing for the spinners in for the first few days, and only consistent, patient, line and length bowling will get good batsman out today, tomorrow and probably friday.
Weather looks a bit overcast, possible rain coming from the South East later on (apparently that's where the big rain always comes from over there) but for the moment doesn't look hugely threatening.
1st innings total- Would be very surprised if Aussies didn't make 400+ (including a Hayden century). Hard to know what a good score is, but anything under 400 with this current Aussie line up would surprise.
EssJayW
24 Mar 2004, 14:31
Cheers fellas.
Go Aussies.:)
BTW
BT. I dont think McGill is playing.
Eagles4Ever
24 Mar 2004, 14:31
I guarantee you will see Kato bowl a fair few overs of spin durning the course of the game.
harry_hawka
24 Mar 2004, 14:32
Just as I post that, Langer's out. He wasn't looking good though. Make no mistake, I still think this pitch is a very good batting deck at the moment, the spin isn't sharp spin from Samaweera, almost tennis ball like (as Slats was saying pre-match), it is just rolling off the deck. Hayden is really in ominous form, punishing everything with confidence. I'm still thinking 400+.
BNG has got to be listed now as "in selection trouble".
Black Thunder
24 Mar 2004, 14:40
Originally posted by harry_hawka
the spin isn't sharp spin from Samaweera, almost tennis ball like
the only problem there is the man you've mentioned. Samawaraa is only a part timer really.
The big thing will be how Murali turns the ball, cause he usually turns the ball very sharply.
Hayden very lucky on the latest LBW. Lankans should've gone up more they would've had a chance of getting the call, even if it did hit outside the line. it was only just outside.
Jars458
24 Mar 2004, 14:42
Originally posted by pazza
Given the success of Hayden and Langers opening partnership, Mr Langer would have to make a lot more low scores before the selectors even considered dopping him.
He will play against Zimbabwe and then Sri Lanka at home at the very least before he comes under any pressure. Remebering that there will be no domestic cricket between now and the Indian tour he is probably safe there as well.
Langer will make a score soon anyway, he always does.
harry_hawka
24 Mar 2004, 14:56
Hayden out, chipped it to Chandana at mid off and was caught off the bowling of Samaweera. Really was catching practice that and one of the softest dismissal's I've seen, particulary from Hayden. I've a feeling that Matty will be ropable with that shot, didn't go at it whatsoever.
He looked set, and this pitch is made for someone like him. Disappointing result.
Black Thunder
24 Mar 2004, 15:07
Hayden's shot was very ordinary indeed!
just watching Murali's opening over he's looking very ominous....... fortunately i'm going to work so i'm not gonna see what may happen.
Eagles4Ever
24 Mar 2004, 15:23
Marto seems to have settled into his usual routine of striking the ball at about 45 - 50 % which is a good sign.
What does worry me is that he and Ponting have not batted to well together in the past. A few mix ups and run outs between them.
Langer has continued his unconvincing tour... Some worrying signs there for Alfie. I doubt his position is in any doubt, but he sure does struggle on the sub continent...
Name Mat I NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
JL Langer 3 5 0 75 32 15.00 0 0 3 0
Blokes have been dropped permanently for tours like that.
Gopies 2002
24 Mar 2004, 15:45
Originally posted by Zeke
Langer has continued his unconvincing tour... Some worrying signs there for Alfie. I doubt his position is in any doubt, but he sure does struggle on the sub continent...
Name Mat I NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
JL Langer 3 5 0 75 32 15.00 0 0 3 0
Blokes have been dropped permanently for tours like that.
Not a good sign when you consider the next 2 tours are to the Zimbas and India.
Langer is not suited to these conditions. It would be a gutsy more to drop him for the next 2 tours, but if picking the best team for the conditions it would have to be an option.
red+black
24 Mar 2004, 15:49
Originally posted by Jars458
Given the success of Hayden and Langers opening partnership, Mr Langer would have to make a lot more low scores before the selectors even considered dopping him.
He will play against Zimbabwe and then Sri Lanka at home at the very least before he comes under any pressure. Remebering that there will be no domestic cricket between now and the Indian tour he is probably safe there as well.
Langer will make a score soon anyway, he always does.
Don't forget that Matthew Elliott is replacing Jimmy Maher at Glamorgan and the season starts next month, so Matty will get some batting practice in.
Bombers_Forever
24 Mar 2004, 16:08
Originally posted by pazza
Have to agree paz........Elliot would be very close to selection on the next tour.
Good to see MacGill got the punt! :D
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 16:17
Anyone.
How come only 1 spinner?
We will make 300-350, i believe.
Pitch definitely won't be a dustbowl, some one spinner (along with Katich and Boof) is enough.
Bombers_Forever
24 Mar 2004, 16:20
Martyn gone for 14................
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 16:22
Originally posted by CatManDo
Zoysa injured?
To me, it looked like an injury to the outside part of the knee joint.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 16:23
Originally posted by Bombers_Forever
Martyn gone for 14................
Ouch.
Time for a Boof special.
Bombers_Forever
24 Mar 2004, 16:25
Go Boof........he has made the number 5 position his own.
The Candy Man
24 Mar 2004, 16:26
Why is it Australia are 2-0 up in the series, we are only just after lunch on day 1 of the 3rd Test, and people are talking about who should be dropped?
Can't these discussions take place after the Test has ended? For all we know, Langer may come out in the 2nd Innings and make 100.
Milenko
24 Mar 2004, 16:30
28.4 Vaas to Martyn, OUT: Pitches on the middle stump and a bit of turn.
A bit of turn? Last time i checked Vaas was a fast medium pace bowler. Someone please put these neanderthal scorers out of their misery.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 16:42
They're volunteers, and English is their second language. I think it's fair to cut them a little slack.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 16:52
Shrek dropped by Jayawardene.
Cooldude
24 Mar 2004, 16:57
Jayawardene's caught the Marto disease, dropping every catch
dr nick
24 Mar 2004, 17:02
Originally posted by Milenko
A bit of turn? Last time i checked Vaas was a fast medium pace bowler. Someone please put these neanderthal scorers out of their misery. :D:D:D the commentary is funny as :p
gee i had difficulty typing that, for some reason as i'm listening to 3AW on the net when i put the earphones in the computer starts typing wierd stuff... like this:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
the home with the the the the , the the with the the the the new with the of the way the way the man with the his home with the day with the man, the man with the with his man with with the man with a hit with a man with his with his home with his his his
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
that was after 60 seconds, is someone trying to hack into my computer or what?
dr nick
24 Mar 2004, 17:13
To me, it looked like an injury to the outside part of the knee joint. was he able to walk? wonder if he snapped a ligament.
Bad news for SL.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 17:18
Originally posted by nicko18
was he able to walk? wonder if he snapped a ligament.
Yeah, he walked off.
It must be pretty serious given he didn't allow the physio to even look at it on the field.
IceTemple
24 Mar 2004, 17:25
3/162 45 ov
Ponting 71
Boof 23
Go_Doggies
24 Mar 2004, 17:54
Ponting closing in on a century.
The thing with Langer is... they won't drop him for the Zimbo tour. That will give him plenty of time to make a couple hundreds in time for selection for India.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 18:03
50 up for Boof.
Tragic that this bloke has only played 18 matches.
ross gibbs
24 Mar 2004, 18:09
50 up for Boof.
Tragic that this bloke has only played 18 matches.
lehmann, siddons, hookes and favell.
all should have played a lot more for aus than they have/did
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 18:10
Ponting gone for 92. Loose shot, but given the way he was playing, we can't really complain.
Just didn't pick the slower ball.
And that's tea.
Go_Doggies
24 Mar 2004, 18:13
What a shame, Ponting was cruising towards a century.
Now its up to Lehmann and Katich, we need to post around 350.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 18:37
Vaas is starting to get some nice reverse swing into the left handers.
A big test for Katich in his first outing, sure he'll come through it and post a good score though.
If they don't get 350 they'd be pretty annoyed I'd reckon. 400 would be a better target as SL has an ordinary batting line up.
Cooldude
24 Mar 2004, 19:02
Murali having little to no impact so far
Originally posted by Cooldude
Murali having little to no impact so far
give him a break, the tail isn't going the slog yet.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 19:10
That appeal for a run out was a bit dodgy.
Sangakkara NEVER took the ball in his gloves, yet claimed the runout.
What worried me was why the third umpire took so long to make the decision, it was clear that the ball never touched the stumps and that the ball was never in his gloves.
Even as a third umpire, Manuel is a worry.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 19:18
Originally posted by Port01
give him a break, the tail isn't going the slog yet.
Meanwhile, Murali dismisses Katich with a ripper of a caught and bowled.
Sorry more pose than ripper, it seems chuck has a sense of theater about him....ball basically lobbed:rolleyes:
**** poor shot and chuck was making Katich look like one of those tail enders ......:mad:
Bring back Roy.
mellowyellow
24 Mar 2004, 19:31
Can someone give a score update . I cant log on to baggygeen.
5 for 265 lehman 74, gilly 7.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 19:43
Originally posted by Zyban
Sorry more pose than ripper, it seems chuck has a sense of theater about him....ball basically lobbed:rolleyes:
Deadset, Murali could take all 20 wickets, make a double century, and he still wouldn't get any credit whatsover.
Yes he would, we would all say he will make a great baseball pitcher one day.
Deadset, Murali could take all 20 wickets, make a double century, and he still wouldn't get any credit whatsover.
Their ain't 20 tailenders:p
Credit where it's due for the runs:D
But it ain't baseball......
Now if he was pitching a shutout in the 9th.......:eek: :D
IceTemple
24 Mar 2004, 19:47
LOL zyban!:D
For those of you experiencing trouble with the BaggyGreen score feeds - try this one:
ABC Live Cricket Scorecard (http://www.abc.net.au/cricket/scores/20040324srivaus.htm)
No commentary, but you've got the score at least!
Caught yes, its the bowled bit I query ;)
Originally posted by Zeke
For those of you experiencing trouble with the BaggyGreen score feeds - try this one:
ABC Live Cricket Scorecard (http://www.abc.net.au/cricket/scores/20040324srivaus.htm)
No commentary, but you've got the score at least!
Thanks Zeke
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 20:16
Gilchrist gone, 6-299.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 20:28
100 up for Boof. Been an absolute joy to watch, lovely seeing an unconventional cricketer doing well.
That's 5 centuries in his past 9 tests.
Well done Shrek, hope he goes on and makes a big one.
Lehmann, 101runs off 175balls, (11fours & 1six)
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 20:39
Nuwan Zoysa has been diagnosed with a torn calf, according to the commentators.
I've had plenty of problems with my calves, very surprised he was able to walk off the ground.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 20:43
6-314 at stumps
Massive props to Boof and Punter. Both played great, free flowing innings.
dr nick
24 Mar 2004, 20:52
slats is really getting stuck into zoyza, lack of fitness, lack of preparation, leaving Vaas to do all the work etc.
bit harsh! sometimes these things just go.
Kane McGoodwin
24 Mar 2004, 20:55
100 up for Boof. Been an absolute joy to watch, lovely seeing an unconventional cricketer doing well.
That's 5 centuries in his past 9 tests.
Well done Shrek, hope he goes on and makes a big one.
... & to think some didn't think Boof should be pick for this tour. The Aussie will get a few more good years from him yet! Go the Boof! :cool:
IceTemple
24 Mar 2004, 20:56
Nah, disagree nicko18. How does a professional bowler tear a calf after only three overs. Something just not right there so I'm with Slats on this one.
Well done Boof! How many 100's if you had been chosen earlier in your career?!
C'mon Warne stick it out in the morning and don't throw your wicket away.
Murili for a 5 for? Easy with our tail!!
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 21:03
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
The Aussie will get a few more good years from him yet! Go the Boof! :cool:
I hope so, because we desperately need him to be the backbone with Ponting.
He's got some miles in those stumpy little legs though, hope his body holds up.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2004, 21:05
Originally posted by nicko18
slats is really getting stuck into zoyza, lack of fitness, lack of preparation, leaving Vaas to do all the work etc.
bit harsh! sometimes these things just go.
Must agree.
Would Slater have gone as hard if it was Kasprowicz who tore his calf?
Well done Boof.
Great to see a fat bald man who smokes showing them all how it's done.
Top effort that!!
dr nick
24 Mar 2004, 21:17
Originally posted by IceTemple
Nah, disagree nicko18. How does a professional bowler tear a calf after only three overs. Something just not right there so I'm with Slats on this one.
Michael Johnson tore his hammy just when he was at his peak fitness in the US olympic trials.
especially if you have had previous tears they go pretty unpredictably.
Ray Nolan
24 Mar 2004, 21:37
As soon as Zoysa pulled up lame I knew we were in for a long day. Credit to Vaas who I thought bowled very well considering he was shouldering the pace bowling load on his own. Murali was turning it big and looked dangerous but it wasn't until later in the day when he was effective picking up those 2 scalps. He is over-bowling the doosra which I feel is hurting his effectiveness. Herath I thought did OK in tying up the other end and Samaraweera bowled especially well considering he was brought in as a stop gap. Fielding is what killed us out there, it was woeful all day. Jayawardene putting down Lehmann on 20 was unforgivable. There were loads of misfields and wild throws, it's just not up to scratch.
Credit to Boof Lehmann for playing a wonderful innings, a well deserved century. Ponting batted well, he was striking the ball beautifully out there, I thought he was set for 100 until Vaas got him with a good delivery which caught him out. The points deservedly going Australia's way today, but they were assisted somewhat by a poor Sri Lankan fielding performance. Sri Lanka need to get them out early tomorrow and get in ASAP. The pitch is already kicking up dust so the sooner we get a bat on it the better.
I've had plenty of problems with my calves, very surprised he was able to walk off the ground.
Is there any part of your anatomy that you haven't injured? You make Heath James look like Jim Stynes :p
As for the cricket we need warney to hang around. If he gets sighter he can be very dangerous. Boof has been sensational on his return to the test side. He might just bat SL out of the game tommorow if he hasnt already.
Black Thunder
24 Mar 2004, 21:59
well a pretty good day finsishing at 6/314.
But given this series we could be all out for 320, which would leave the match very evenly poised.
Whether it's with the bat or ball, the key man in tomorrow's days play will be Shane Warne.
If he fires up in either of the disciplines (more likely to be ball) than we will be well on top for sure.
Cooldude
24 Mar 2004, 23:16
Apart from Marto and Gilly, the other four batsmen must be really disappointed with their dismissals, a lot of poor shots. The total could've been bigger if they hanged around.
As of tomorrow, if Warnie and Lehman hangs around for an hour+, 400 is comfortable, if Warnie makes a big score, 500 is possible with the tail hanging around, but anywhere around 400 would be a very, very good lead.
The Spornstar
25 Mar 2004, 06:39
One man wrong, Jaymin.
MacGill out? Is Greg Matthews on strike from his fox sports duties in protest? We can only hope....
Originally posted by Ray Nolan
Credit to Vaas who I thought bowled very well considering he was shouldering the pace bowling load on his own.
He's been doing it for years. He's probably more comfortable bowling as the only pace option in the team.
Fall Out Boy
25 Mar 2004, 08:03
Originally posted by marcuz
Is there any part of your anatomy that you haven't injured? You make Heath James look like Jim Stynes :p
Quite seriously, no.
My list of injuries in the past 3-4 years is astonishing, before then, i never had a problem.
Fall Out Boy
25 Mar 2004, 08:05
Originally posted by Cooldude
Apart from Marto and Gilly, the other four batsmen must be really disappointed with their dismissals, a lot of poor shots. The total could've been bigger if they hanged around.
BNG's shot was reminiscent of those we used to play when having fun in the nets at the end of training.
Never seen such a shot at this level.
Cooldude
25 Mar 2004, 10:55
Originally posted by The Spornstar
MacGill out? Is Greg Matthews on strike from his fox sports duties in protest? We can only hope....
Matthews ain't there, but Slats is doing an equally good job of whinging about it and also sucking up Macgill's c***
Good to see a decent first innings total. Hopefully we can get up around 400. The pitch to me seems extremely dry and I don't think it will hold up as well as the one in Kandy. Making runs will be very difficult in the 3rd and 4th innings I would think. Heres hoping for a 3-zip result. Go Warnie!
The Spornstar
25 Mar 2004, 12:52
Well done to Boof and to Punter too – shame he couldn’t get his hundred as well but good to see him get a score, he’s been terribly unlucky this tour as he was only legitimately dismissed once in the first 2 tests despite being dismissed four times.
ARDENSTREETforever
25 Mar 2004, 13:44
Congrats to Brad Williams on getting selected. Good luck mate.
*note* Brad Williams originally grew up in my town.
Go Aussies!
Jars458
26 Mar 2004, 08:37
Sensational display by Boof though he did have his share of luck during the innings.
Godd innings by Punter but I thought he got out to a very poor shot at the end of the day just before the tea break.
As far as the bowling went it was pretty poor
Boof made them work for it though was very lucky with that second wicket.
A hard day ahead today I would have thought.
Sri Lanka well on top. An absolute disgrace of a decision to leave MacGill out of the side. Paceman bowled attrociously. Warne didn't bowl much better. 2 wickets came from 1 awful decision and 1 slog caught in the deep.
The wicket needs a spinner who can turn the ball sharply with some variation. MacGill is the man.
Cooldude
26 Mar 2004, 10:28
Murali gets a 5 wicket bag of tailenders and Lehmann slogging at him again, Test cricket's that easy, isn't it....
As of the bowlers, everyone apart from Lehmann bowled crap, Warnie was okay but was too negative (around the wicket all the time). The other pacemen were rubbish
Cupido13
26 Mar 2004, 10:51
Interesting to see that the 3 men who were most commonly bagged on this site before the tour began, Marto, Boof and Warney (mainly that he shouldn't be an automatic re-selection ahead of MacGill) are the leading leading run scorers and the leading wicket takers in the series. It would be ridiculous if one of these 3 didn't win the player of the series. Good on the 3 of them for standing up in amongst all the tough times they have gone through for 1 reason or another.