View Full Version : Lara gets the record back

K9-54
13 Apr 2004, 01:46

and still going.

Crooked Rain
13 Apr 2004, 02:06
The guy is a freak 390* and well-placed to be the first ever Test player to score 400.

I just wish Fox Sports had it on.

It's bloody exciting just following it on baggy green.

C'mon Brian!!

cr.

red+black
13 Apr 2004, 02:10
and radio on http://www.talksport.net/default.aspx.

mattyc2422
13 Apr 2004, 02:40
Struth! Amazing yet sad to see Haydos' record taken.

TheWackedYak
13 Apr 2004, 09:01
400 not out...absofrigginlutely brilliant.

dan warna
13 Apr 2004, 09:53
yes, but it is the England bowling attack!:D

Well done Lara, spanking effort!

now win the test match windians!

PrideOf
13 Apr 2004, 11:36
These innings against cricketing minnows should be stricken from the records forever. ;)

jerry springer
13 Apr 2004, 12:59
all that mathew hayden merchandise just dropped 90% in value

Tim56
13 Apr 2004, 13:25
Originally posted by jerry springer

Stiff sh_t Matt, but your score doesn't really count, seeing as it was against Zimbabwe. Glad to see the record reclaimed for a REAL test innings.

w00dy
13 Apr 2004, 13:40
gee matty, you shouldn't have lost concentration one you passed the record mate... but at lest lara has made it against a real test nation, although the names in that bowling attack don't exactly send a shiver down your spine...

Hoggard
Harmison
Flintoff
SP Jones
Batty
Vaughan
Trescothick

RoosLuver
13 Apr 2004, 13:57
An article about Lara getting the 400.

http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,9265917-32462,00.html

PrideOf
13 Apr 2004, 13:58
Originally posted by w00dy
gee matty, you shouldn't have lost concentration one you passed the record mate... but at lest lara has made it against a real test nation, although the names in that bowling attack don't exactly send a shiver down your spine...

Hoggard
Harmison
Flintoff
SP Jones
Batty
Vaughan
Trescothick

Actually mate, whether this England bowling attack is a real test bowling lineup is dubious. Compare the lineup Hayden scored 380 against versus the lineup Lara faced:

Streak 202 test wickets @ 27
Blignaut 51 wickets @ 32
Ervine 9 wickets @ 43
Price 69 wickets @ 39
Gripper 6 wickets @ 84

Hoggard 92 wickets @ 31
Harmison 63 wickets @ 23
Flintoff 62 wickets @ 41
SP Jones 15 wickets @ 25
Batty 8 wickets @ 63
Vaughan 5 wickets @ 80
Trescothick 1 wickets @ 66

About even.

Wicked Lester
13 Apr 2004, 14:27
I suppose the major difference is that the Windies were down 3-0 in the series and facing the humiliation of a home series whitewash for the first time in god knows how long.

Secondly Lara carries the entire batting lineup. Hayden can go out there and play his shots with gay abandon. As can Ponting, the BNG etc confident that, if they fail, someone else will cover for them.

dan warna
13 Apr 2004, 15:09
yeah the brits are a bunch of second rate pie chuckers, but they've nobbled the windies, saffers, lankans and kiwis they have every right to feel they are closing in on the no.2 or no3 spot in the world.

and they have prob come close to earning the right to be the official challengers to the aus team!

RogerC
13 Apr 2004, 21:11
Originally posted by PrideOf
Actually mate, whether this England bowling attack is a real test bowling lineup is dubious. Compare the lineup Hayden scored 380 against versus the lineup Lara faced:

Blignaut 51 wickets @ 32
Ervine 9 wickets @ 43
Price 69 wickets @ 39
Gripper 6 wickets @ 84

Hoggard 92 wickets @ 31
Harmison 63 wickets @ 23
Flintoff 62 wickets @ 41
SP Jones 15 wickets @ 25
Batty 8 wickets @ 63
Vaughan 5 wickets @ 80

About even.

Don't know how you figure that. On your figures, England have two bowlers better than Streak.

In fact, it's not dissimilar to an Australian line up of: Gillespie (Average of 25), Lee (31), Williams (45) and McGill (29).

scmods
13 Apr 2004, 21:23
Well done to Brian Lara on an awesome and outstanding innings, as well as joining Bradman as the only men to make two triples. I must admit I never expected Lara to re-claim the record. I expected Hayden's mark to hold for a few years, then be taken by an up and coming batsman. It's a credit to Lara that he can repeat history ten years apart.

Is he the first to hold the highest score record twice?

Just a bit sad to see all the pathetic little individuals using it as an excuse to belittle Hayden's innings.

The Candy Man
13 Apr 2004, 21:36
Originally posted by scmods
Well done to Brian Lara on an awesome and outstanding innings, as well as joining Bradman as the only men to make two triples. I must admit I never expected Lara to re-claim the record. I expected Hayden's mark to hold for a few years, then be taken by an up and coming batsman. It's a credit to Lara that he can repeat history ten years apart.

Is he the first to hold the highest score record twice?

Just a bit sad to see all the pathetic little individuals using it as an excuse to belittle Hayden's innings.

Yes, yes, YES!!! Well put, and I agree 100%. How can anyone detract from Matthew Hayden's achievements?

Brian Lara is a wonderful talent and, although a little sad to see Hayden's innings bettered, I am so pleased to see Lara top the 400 mark. I never thought I'd see it done.

And I do believe he is the only player to have the highest Test score twice.

Well done Lara, you are a champion.

mjm28
13 Apr 2004, 22:09
Originally posted by jerry springer

BUGGER!! That's exactly what I thought when I heard about Lara. Oh well!! :(

Destructive
13 Apr 2004, 23:05
Well done Brian, you are a true champion.

Is that the shortest time between records for an innings in a test match in modern times?

andrew coombs
14 Apr 2004, 00:18
Always got a laugh watching bullies like Waugh(S) and McGrath trying to intimidate Lara. He is close to the most talented player I have ever seen. Imagine if he had been facing his own attack over the last few years?

sherb
14 Apr 2004, 07:21
The talk about the quality of the attack involved is highly unfair, there have been plenty of worse attacks than the current English one in the history of Test Cricket before - and no-one has got to 400 prior to this.

Becoming the only player to reach 400 in Test Cricket adds to his record of being the only player to reach 500 in First-Class Cricket.

As well as joining Bradman in scoring two innings of 300 in tests, he also now joins Ponsford in scoring two innings of 400 in f-c cricket.

Well done Brian Lara on an awesome achievement. The guy can be sheer genius when switched on.

red+black
14 Apr 2004, 17:15
Originally posted by sherb
The talk about the quality of the attack involved is highly unfair, there have been plenty of worse attacks than the current English one in the history of Test Cricket before - and no-one has got to 400 prior to this.

Becoming the only player to reach 400 in Test Cricket adds to his record of being the only player to reach 500 in First-Class Cricket.

As well as joining Bradman in scoring two innings of 300 in tests, he also now joins Ponsford in scoring two innings of 400 in f-c cricket.

Well done Brian Lara on an awesome achievement. The guy can be sheer genius when switched on.
well said mate :)

SpecialBruce
14 Apr 2004, 20:00
Bloody aweseome innings. It was a brilliant day for West Indies cricket. He's a true champion. Fights when the back is against the wall.

crudbucket
14 Apr 2004, 20:26
Actually, I beg to differ with some of the hero worshipping going on here, but I think if you are prepared to bat long enough to make 400 runs (especially when you are the captain) then I doubt that winning the match is your no. 1 priority.

And yes, I am aware that the Windies only need to take 10 wickets tomorrow to prove me wrong, but that is more down to some inept english batting than any tactical genius on Lara's part. He was, I believe, mainly interested in not losing as opposed to actually winning ...

That's my rant for today ..

Zeke
14 Apr 2004, 21:05
Originally posted by crudbucket
Actually, I beg to differ with some of the hero worshipping going on here, but I think if you are prepared to bat long enough to make 400 runs (especially when you are the captain) then I doubt that winning the match is your no. 1 priority.

And yes, I am aware that the Windies only need to take 10 wickets tomorrow to prove me wrong, but that is more down to some inept english batting than any tactical genius on Lara's part. He was, I believe, mainly interested in not losing as opposed to actually winning ...

That's my rant for today ..

I would go so far as to say that Brian Lara securing the world record will do more for West Indies cricket than winning a dead rubber at the end of a series spanking.

Might get some kids interested again. Good on him. Anyone who has the ability to get that far deserves a crack at the record.

BT
14 Apr 2004, 21:28
Look it's a great innings & all but the Windies had better win or this will go down as a selfish innings.

I know it's a dead rubber but any test win would boost the Windies at the moment.

They'll prob still win & I hope they do.

Knackers
14 Apr 2004, 21:31
Champion batsman is our Brian, deserves the record, hopefully the rest of the Windies batters can take his example.

Cricket needs the Windies back at their best.

Cupido13
15 Apr 2004, 11:39
The worst thing about the Australian population is the fact that whenever someone achieves something great they always find a reason to knock that person. Well done to Brian Lara on his achievement, who cares about the Test match result. In 5 years time, no one will remember whether England won 3-0 or 3-1, but I am sure they will remember Brian Charles Lara smashing 400 not out and changing history. Well done to him. Also, look back at Mark Taylor's 'unselfishness'. He declared overnight and the Test was still a draw, he might have made 500, but declare and in the end achieved neither a result in the Test or a personal record for himself.

Nel Mangle
15 Apr 2004, 21:05
Originally posted by PrideOf

Blignaut 51 wickets @ 32
Ervine 9 wickets @ 43
Price 69 wickets @ 39
Gripper 6 wickets @ 84

Hoggard 92 wickets @ 31
Harmison 63 wickets @ 23
Flintoff 62 wickets @ 41
SP Jones 15 wickets @ 25
Batty 8 wickets @ 63
Vaughan 5 wickets @ 80

About even.

LOL ,you moron.
Looks like you didnt follow the other games in the series when lara was averaging 15.
you reckon the zimbo attack could've reduced the windies to rubble in the other 3 tests in better bowling conditions??
dont make me laugh.

Nel Mangle
15 Apr 2004, 21:08
Originally posted by Cupido13
The worst thing about the Australian population is the fact that whenever someone achieves something great they always find a reason to knock that person. Well done to Brian Lara on his achievement, who cares about the Test match result. In 5 years time, no one will remember whether England won 3-0 or 3-1, but I am sure they will remember Brian Charles Lara smashing 400 not out and changing history. Well done to him. Also, look back at Mark Taylor's 'unselfishness'. He declared overnight and the Test was still a draw, he might have made 500, but declare and in the end achieved neither a result in the Test or a personal record for himself.

looks like englands 3-0 series win is already forgotten judging by all this ****ing over lara's innings.
Lara is more concerned with individual glory than team success...
"yeah ,we got hammered in the series ,but so what?? I scored a big score in the last test"... lmao

The Candy Man
15 Apr 2004, 21:45
Originally posted by Nel Mangle
looks like englands 3-0 series win is already forgotten judging by all this ****ing over lara's innings.

Many countries have won a Test series 3-0 before, but only Lara has made 400 runs in a single Test innings. It's bigger news.