View Full Version : BHH vs Frankston ...YESSSSSS

ricohawk
3 Jun 2001, 22:00
I know yesterday was a terrible disappointment to most of us but take heart...these boys are burning !!!

Today was our first real win against one of those big , strong , experienced sides.
After an even first quarter , we stuggled momentarily against the hard running , hard hitting Frankston. But then it all turned around. After half-time our boys outran , out hit (see Billy Nicholls) and outscored their more experienced opponents.....13 goals to 1 in the second half !!!!
Fair Dinkum , Frankston have gone out and bought the best blokes going round - big , tough pros - and our little group of skinny kids , led by the courageous Rocky , wiped the floor with 'em.
Beating Sandy earlier in the year was our first step , this was our second step.....this footy club is on the way !!!

Added to this was a terrific 105 point win to the ressies (after losing to them earlier in the year) giving the good sized crowd a really good day.

Great to see lots of new faces (in Hawthorn gear) and also many of the Hawthorn senior team in attendance.

Box Hill 17.12 (114)
Frankston 8.13 ( 61)

Goals : Nicholls 5 , Tuck 2 , Campbell 2, Passador , Pugsley , Brewer , Ries , Lonie , Obst , Dent , Mitchell

Best : Cox , Nicholls , Rock , Dent , Vandenberg , Williams. (could have put the whole team in ...seriously...but I'm forcing myself to stop there !)

Hawthorn guys :

Billy Nicholls : absolute ripper. Only kept from BOG by Coxy. Billy ran hard , and took some lovely pack marks. He also layed a couple of the hardest bumps I'seen since Changa ! Sensed a bit of leadership from the boy too.

Willo : another top game from the boy in the backline. He ran so hard you'd have sworn he was playing up forward a couple of times. Importantly , he's learning more about WHEN to run , WHEN to fly etc. Still manages to throw in that touch of absolute magic each week.This kid is going to be SO good it's scary.

Tim Hazell : almost !! Tim's trying so hard but it's not all coming together at the minute. Did a couple of nice things up forward but was patchy. Hang in there Timmy.....it's coming.

Nick Ries : After being KO'd last week I had my doubts about him coming up this week. First few minutes he went 'hesitatingly' into a crunch situation and I thought..oops.But the kid overcame his fears as the game went on and was one of the best with his hard running and a couple of hard tackles to boot. He deserves top marks for getting through what must have been a tough time for him.

Vander : terrific game , first as a tagger then freed up to run through the midfield. Had heaps of possessions. Almost a certainty to go up this week.

Loater :did a knee in the first qtr. He was on crutches after the game but I was told it was only a strain.

Nat Lonie : very solid game on HBF. Wasn't as spectacular as previous weeks but did not put a foot wrong. Had an awful lot of handballs today when all you want to see is him kicking it...may have been under instructions.

Stevie Greene : again copped a fair bit of physical attention (they seem to target him) but came through really well , did some terrific stuff in heavy traffic. I feel like the learning curve has got a lot steeper for Stevie of late and he's coping well.

Obba : again played up forward and did some nice things without starring. Jayma , I heard Donald refer to him as 'getting ahead of the ball again' at one of the breaks..that's coachspeak for being a bit of a receiver. I cant see it myself but maybe that's what they see as his problem. Must still be in that group close to promotion.

Rocky : probably earned himself a game at Collo stadium next week. Senior player.

Coxy : What a game !!! Played FB on Sautner (leading VFL FF) and gave away many cms and kgs. Sautner kicked 5....Coxy simply starred. Nick Sautner will kick 5 on just about anybody. Coxy bustled , jumped , spoiled and ran , ran , ran. A BOG performance which MUST force the selectors to look at him.

Chicken : Solid , steady , intelligent game in defence. Would have to be a chance to go back up.

Tucky : after a horror first half where he dropped marks , kicked badly and generally just couldn't get into it , he worked his butt of in the second half to be a solid contributor.

Robbie Campbell : Came on early when Loater was injured and performed well against the big experienced Clarke. These sorts of games will teach him heaps.

Micky Osborne : another top game by the boy. Got plenty of footy and stood up well to the physical pressure.

Best of the Box Hill boys :

Johnny Baird...another good game at CHB. Marked well and combined beautifully with Coxy in running out of defence.

Sammy Mitchell...top tagging role in the midfield. Different role for him but did well.

Andy Pugsley....great game up forward. Marked well and showed a bit of toe today.

Matty Brewer ...skipper wasn't fully fit after his nasty hip injury but battled on well all day. So gutsy.

A terrific day all round.

Next week we play Geelong at Geelong on Sunday with the Ressies playing Werribee as a curtain raiser. It's a long way I know but I can guarantee these bloke will make it worth your while !!

Go all Hawks

-Rico

***sorry if I've gone on a bit but this really was one of the great wins.

IP: Logged
Previous

Grendel
4 Jun 2001, 00:42
Great to hear, Rico. Even better still to see my boy Billy as a real chance for next week.

Needed some cheering up after leaving yesterday i copped a
#&%(*^@ing parking ticket to complete a wonderful day! :rolleyes:

Go the Stangers!

hawfawnchick
4 Jun 2001, 15:41
Couldn't have put it any better Rico......a very solid performance by the Box HIll lads yesterday. I think some of the Hawthorn boys realised that there is a very big possibility that there are spots on offer this week and decided to impress in front of Chris
Connelly, Parko, Kelvin Moore and even Dicker (who was not impressed by the Hawthorn seniors on Saturday and didn't want to talk about it at all).

I hope the Geelong boys bring their handbags this week because they may need them as the Box Hill boys go right through them!!:D

hAwKs_2001
4 Jun 2001, 16:04
yes it was sweet as to win, i know a few of the franga guys and as i live in frankston it was good to win... i really believe its time for nathan lonie to be given a go in the seniors... :)
obba should be back in too soon