View Full Version : Inness News

Freo Big Fella
1 May 2004, 16:42
Inness seeks commitment from Victoria

Wisden Cricinfo staff

April 30, 2004

Mathew Inness: undecided about his future © Getty Images

Mathew Inness, the left-arm pace bowler, has expressed his desire to stay in Victoria, and asked for a commitment from his home association. His concerns about playing for the Bushrangers were intensified when there was news of Victoria considering Gerard Denton, the Tasmanian seamer, for next season.

Ever since he was squeezed out of the playing XI before Victoria's triumph in the Pura Cup final, more than one state has shown an interest in signing up Inness. However, Inness said that he preferred to stay in Victoria and is currently having discussions with the board about his contract.

Inness had earlier expressed his disappointment about Denton being considered a possible replacement. "I'll talk to them [the selectors] about it and see how I fit into their plans," he said. "I suppose if I'm not satisfied with where I fit in, that's when I'll have to think about my future, but if I'm satisfied with what they say, then there shouldn't be any problem."

Shaun Graf, the operations manager of cricket in Victoria, confirmed that Denton had "a very good chance" of accepting an offer from them. "He [Denton] hasn't signed a contract yet, but we're certainly confident he's going to leave Tasmania and come across to Victoria."

However, Graf said that Denton's signing would not pose a threat to Inness's place in the side. "If another bowler does come from interstate, it doesn't necessarily mean he's definitely going to play. Mathew would still be a required player, he's been a great player for us and he knows that. We certainly wouldn't be looking to release Mathew out of a contract or anything."

© Wisden Cricinfo Ltd

Freo Big Fella
1 May 2004, 16:44
All I can say his, I hope the Vic selectors aren't thinking rationally when he approaches him about his future. Come to WA Matty!:D.

Unwritten_Law
1 May 2004, 18:58
I have no idea why the vics even want Denton :confused:

Inness is most welcome to take his spot ;)

The Scarecrow
1 May 2004, 20:01
Fair trade for Tasmania, Innes for Denton, I'm sure he will get a regular gig with Tassie.

Come to Tassie, Matthew, you'll love it :D

grayza
3 May 2004, 10:53
the vics would be stupid to get rid of inness, especially if all we gain is denton
im a vic, and would be disappointed to see matty go, every other state would have a crack at him

dont go matty

Black Thunder
3 May 2004, 23:36
Can't believe Inness was dropped by Victoria.

He would still be IMO the number 1 ranked seamer in Victoria. And it wasn't as if he was out form......

could cost them a very good bowler.

year of the roo
4 May 2004, 17:06
Originally posted by grayza
the vics would be stupid to get rid of inness, especially if all we gain is denton
im a vic, and would be disappointed to see matty go, every other state would have a crack at him

dont go matty
Ahhh, read the articles again. Victoria have made it abundantly clear that they want to keep him, however if Matty want out there isn't a lot we can do.

year of the roo
4 May 2004, 17:10
Originally posted by Black Thunder
Can't believe Inness was dropped by Victoria.

He would still be IMO the number 1 ranked seamer in Victoria. And it wasn't as if he was out form......

could cost them a very good bowler.
He was very much out of form. He had a poor year all year, granted it was disrupted by injuries.

At the time, he wasn't the number 1 ranked seamer because we had Wise (who would have to be in the top 3 domestic seamers from last year in Australia), Lewis (who was in great form) and Harvey (international class bowler).

Ultimately it came down to Lewis or Inness and they chose Lewis as it offered better balance of only 1 left armer, and a more in form, injury-free bowler.

It was the right decision, I have no doubt about it!

If he leaves, it will be because he's a whiny little girl and I wouldn't want him around with an attitude like that!!

Fall Out Boy
6 May 2004, 12:23
Today's Herald Sun says Inness is "likely" to stay, despite seeking a release earlier.

Good news, hopefully it is all resolved within the next week.

pinkus maximus
18 May 2004, 16:46
The West Australian said today that Matthew Innes has confirmed that he WANTS to move to WA but Vic wont release him

VoR
18 May 2004, 16:53
Any room for him if we want Irvine?

year of the roo
18 May 2004, 18:54
Originally posted by pinkus maximus
The West Australian said today that Matthew Innes has confirmed that he WANTS to move to WA but Vic wont release him
Any direct quotes from him saying that, or is it just a slow news week in WA?

year of the roo
18 May 2004, 18:57
Originally posted by VoR
Any room for him if we want Irvine?
Oh please, I think there might be just enough room for him somewhere. I dunno, maybe you might need to put him on a rookie contract :rolleyes:

We are talking about one of the premium strike bowlers in Australia here mate, any state would have him in a heartbeat!!

dan warna
19 May 2004, 10:03
what I don't understand is why we went after denton??? he's a class unit but we have harvey, mcdonald, lewis, white, inness and a couple of others who aren't too bad...

I reckon we have between 6 and 7 pacemen vieing for 3 to 4 spots...ridiculous.

this doesn't benifit Australia or victoria