View Full Version : ****ing Aussie Bowlers!
You will all undoubtably have no interest in the fact that I made my first outing of the season on Sunday.First ball bowled by my Aussie mate was a bouncer which I tried to hook, well i don't know if it was the beer's I'd been steadily consuming throughout the day but I was pretty sure it was going for 6 & then it's going through the wicket keeper's hands & according to all reports it's just missed my nose by a couple of centrimetres.So I decide to play meself in, take a quick single & get to the other end.Well the bloke at the other end is an aussie as well & he's bowling these medium paced pitched up seamers right on the bloody stumps & so I face a couple of these(one of which is a full toss which I try to hook again & which apparently just misses my kisser again) & then I'm bowled out palying round a yorker for 1.Was I p1ssed or what, luckily I'd entertained myself earlier by sledging all & sundry & so I got something out of the game.
But it got worse cos when we finished someone put the radio on & England looked like they might beat the Aussies(before the game I thought we were gonna get our arses whipped) so Holliake(an Aussie himself) bowls to Harvey & Waugh & he keeps the runs down & Aussie needs 11 off of 7 balls so what happens, Harvey smacks him over wide long off for 6.SH1T! & then Waugh finishes it off & I'm stuck with a load of bragging South Australians(the only compensation is that they weren't Queenslanders!)
Next time I'm gonna smash those b@st@rds all over the park (or bloody well die trying)
... and you would also be happy to remember that when Shane Warne took that blinder of a catch to dismiss Nick Knight, Brett Lee's foot was about a metre over the crease and the no-ball wasn't called.
Santos L Helper
13 Jun 2001, 15:08
Dipper, you must be pretty happy to see the worlds most fearsome bowler is back in action?
Andy Caddick must be the biggest joke of an opening bowler since the heady days of Gladstone Small and co. The Aussies must be terrified of his return.
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Dipper, you must be pretty happy to see the worlds most fearsome bowler is back in action?
Andy Caddick must be the biggest joke of an opening bowler since the heady days of Gladstone Small and co. The Aussies must be terrified of his return.
And Mark Ealham is the worst all-rounder since the Kiwis sent Rod Latham over here for the WSC about 10 years ago.
Latham was unknown over here, and when he came on to bowl I don't think the Aussies realised what the definition of "medium pace" was in NZ.
Latham's first ball was so slow the batsman had swung and missed before the ball had even travelled half the length of the pitch! Remarkably, he took 5-for in a One Day International once!
I like the look of Knight and Trescothick though (lefties of course, haha). Two blokes not afraid to play their shots and attack the bowling, and look safe as houses doing so. It was just unfortunate that Trescothick came undone with only a few balls to go - he played an innings which deserved to be covered in match-winning glory.
It's a shame Knight hasn't kicked on at test level - looks like he might go the same way as Neil Fairbrother a few years ago, being one of the first selected for the ODIs, but only a back-up for the tests.
Santos LH,
Mate Believe me when I say I'm first in the queue to bag those in the England side that I don't feel are up to the job, sure Caddick used to be a bit of a gutless loner that didn't fit in properly but now he is consistently bowling well, if he catches a team on one of those typical English wickets that offer a little bit of swing & movement off the pitch then he is as good as anyone(gets some dangerous bounce) my real big worry is that he is very easy to drag into a big sledging episode & then he tends to lose his rag & bowl a load of crap & if anyone can drag him into then it's Steve Waugh & the boys.
I had to laugh at the footage of the 1dayer between Aus/Eng the other day, when an English batsman was run out by a mile due to a mix up on the slo-mo replay you could just hear one of the Aussie fileders shouting 'DON'T TAKE ME ON' well I assumed it was probably Ponting,Waugh or Martyn-you know one of the nippy fielders that you don't take liberties with & who was it? none other than fatty Warne-he may be a hoon but he makes me laugh.
As for Gladstone Small, excuse me if my memory is playing tricks with me but didn't he bowl the Aussies out at Melbourne in 86/87 to win a Test Match that won us the Ashes?Seriously though I could name you about 20 opening bowlers that have played for England in the last 15 years that make Caddick look like Dennis Lillee-Illott,Bicknell,Watkin,Sidebottom,McCage,Mullaly,Giddins,Tho mas,Agnew,Lewis,Benjamin to name a few.I'd wager that Caddick will have an OK series with at least 20 wickets at less than 28.
Yeh Darky the no-ball thing has gone bonkers over here, in the Test with Pakistan originally they reckoned that 4 English batsmen were out to no-balls in the 2nd innings now they reckon it was 6,I don't what the Umpires are playing at.
Agree with you on Ealham he must be what Rod Marsh has in mind when he labels Pommie bowlers 'pie chuckers'.Didn't NZ base their whole 1 day policy on getting toegether a whole bunch of slow medium bowlers to pitch the ball up & give the batsmen no pace? I remember Chris Harris & some other dude who was even slower do it & it's a real p1sser for the crowds.
Knight hasn't got in him to be a Test match player but Trescothick is the best find we've had for a few years he looks a genuine Test match opener & the young guy Shah looks like he might have future as well.Fairbrother was our Bevan, shame cos he was a beautiful timer of the ball.
OutKast
14 Jun 2001, 23:40
You bag Andy Cad**** and what does he do first over? Yep gets Matt Hayden fourth ball, 1-0. Granted it was a catch on the square leg boundary...should've gone for 6.
lioness
16 Jun 2001, 00:37
I actually follow the England team!!!!! :eek::eek::eek: Happened last time the Poms were out here, I met a lovely English guy, started hangin round the team, let me say Alec Stewart and Darren Gough are 2 of the nicest guys!!!!! Embarrassed the hell out of myself in front of one A.Stewart prior to the England/Sri Lanka game at the G, but hey. :) Since then I have had a soft spot for them, and while I am happy to see they are more competitive these days :p they need to lift their game just a tad more. :) LOL
The Dutchman!
17 Jun 2001, 09:49
Its going to be a LOT closer than everyone thinks.
Trescothick (gun)
Thorpe (gun)
Atherton (always solid)
Hussain (out of slump and great captain)
Gough &
Cad**** (quality openning pair - no Lillee Thompson, Donald Bloodnut or Marshall Holding but very, very potent over th last two years).
White (if fit - a quality player)
Cork - should be better - particularly in English conditions than his figures suggest
Hoggard - promising quick - v. honest - Merv Hughes like
Finally I'd still play the much maligned Phil "the Cat" Tuffnel - the most attacking spin bowler the POMS have had in 20 years and shedloads better than Croft - remember his efforts at the Oval last time round????
then... well probs:
Vaughan (still ify)
Shah (looks class but totally green)
Stewart (in more trouble than the life insurance salesman who signed up Jesus on Easter Thursday... - is past it and should make way now to let the POMS build for the World Cup)
Hick (HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!)
Butcher (see Hick)
Ramp's: all the technique and grace in the world cannot hide his fear of G. McGrath (the M.Bevan of the English Test side) - besides Botham hates him for some reason
Flintoff - fat and useless
Hollioake (either one) - see Flintoff except not fat
Fair assessment Dip?
As for us - time to blood batsman for the changeover....
I'd go with:
Elliott ( not on tour - oh well)
start again:
Hayden (done enough for spot - Slats - unlucky 12th man)
Gilly
Pont - 2nd best bat in world at prez - after Tendulkar (Langers out of form - has been for a year)
Martyn (due)
Harvey (5th bowler and English expert - if he duds out after 3 revert to Slats and Hayden up top)
Mark Waugh (at 36 last Ashes series)
Steve Waugh (at 36 maybe last Ashes serie)
Fatboy
Dizzy
Lee
Pidgeon
Hoggard sucks. He took like 2-700 for the season in my International Cricket Captain PC game. :mad:
;) :D
Originally posted by Darky
Hoggard sucks. He took like 2-700 for the season in my International Cricket Captain PC game. :mad:
;) :D
He'd be happy with that against the Aussies cos you could guarantee that it wouldn't be the worst figures for an England bowler.
Dutchman,
agree with you on Tresco & Thorpe-both quality (esp Thopre the way he takes the fight to the bowlers).Hussain is a great captain let's hope he makes some runs.
I'm not the biggest Atherton fan, sometimes he let's the innings drift by forgetting to score & for a defencive batsman his technique isn't the most solid.
I don't undersatnd why the press over here rate Vaughn so highly as he hasn't actually done much.White's a top notch player but for some reason Cork hasn't swung it this year although last year he was boomeranging it & got his wickets at around 12/13 against the Windies.
I like the Cat but I think they'll go with Giles who won a series in Pakistan for us & is a pretty good bat down the tail.
I agree with you on Flintoff,Adam Hollioake & I think Ramprakash is gutless just like Hick before him.I think Ben Hollioake may have something to offer though probably in the 1day game but i really think that Shah could be something special.
Overall my biggest worry is the support bowling for Gough/Cad****, hopefully White will get his rythm back quickly but none of the other quicks look as if they can move the ball sideways at the moment.
Our best chance is to break the opening pair quickly (which I think we can do) & get into the middle order whilst the ball is still new as Langer's form has been iffy & junior's feet don't always move as well as they should for English conditions-trouble is Tugga & Ponting might be too good for us when we're bowling with the old ball & the tail Gilly/Warne/Gillespie can all make a few runs.
Good on you Lioness we can always do with a few more fans BUT if you don't mind me asking how did you embarass yourself with Stewart my mind is boggling-LOL
Briedis
22 Jun 2001, 13:49
Originally posted by DIPPER
Waugh finishes it off & I'm stuck with a load of bragging South Australians(the only compensation is that they weren't Queenslanders!)
Next time I'm gonna smash those b@st@rds all over the park (or bloody well die trying)
DIPPER, if you want to get back at those South Australians just use alittle line I picked up at an AFL game a few years back -
"South Australians are proof that Tasmanians can swim."
Guarenteed to annoy all Croweaters....
Originally posted by Briedis
DIPPER, if you want to get back at those South Australians just use alittle line I picked up at an AFL game a few years back -
"South Australians are proof that Tasmanians can swim."
Guarenteed to annoy all Croweaters....
LOL- Thanks Briedis, I'm seeing one of them tommorow so I'll drop that one in & see his reaction-hopefully he'll get the sh1ts!