22.3 Muralitharan to Nkala, no run, pads it out to leg
22.4 Muralitharan to Nkala, no run, straighter one, Nkala leans forward
and takes it on the front pad
22.5 Muralitharan to Nkala, no run, another quick delivery, defends it
down
22.6 Muralitharan to Nkala, OUT: World record! 520 test wickets,
straigher one, pushed in the air to silly mid off, Jayawardene
makes no mistake and Muralitharan celebrates

Zimbabwe 9/72, Murali apparently hurt his finger taking a catch and is off the field, despite being on a hat trick. Zoysa has five wickets.

Jim Boy
8 May 2004, 23:18
All over, ZIm all out for 102 so SL win by an innings and 240 runs with Murali MOM.

In further news today the future of Zim cricket appears to be going even further down the gurgler with the announcement that Mugabe was going to do to Private Schools what he did to white farmers. This is pretty serious for cricket as it is a handful of these schools that is the nursery of Zim cricketers. Cricket just doesn't happen in government schools. If the activities of these schools are severly curtailed, then there will be no future Zim cricketers, black or white.

Mickey
9 May 2004, 00:10
Originally posted by Mog
Zimbabwe 9/72, Murali apparently hurt his finger taking a catch and is off the field, despite being on a hat trick. Zoysa has five wickets. I heard it was because someone in the crowd yelled out "Murali's a chucker". :D

Cooldude
9 May 2004, 00:27
Seems like he got the World Record with the doosra....... that is gonna be a funny story for ages, a ball determined to be illegal got the wicket for the World Record

Rob
9 May 2004, 01:12
Originally posted by Cooldude
Seems like he got the World Record with the doosra....... that is gonna be a funny story for ages, a ball determined to be illegal got the wicket for the World Record

Fitting really.

thewhippersnapper
9 May 2004, 02:09
Cant believe this scumbag cheat has the world record.

This so bad for cricket.

The Candy Man
9 May 2004, 02:33
I will never forgive the world cricket authorities for allowing this to happen. It's an abomination.

Russian
9 May 2004, 03:15
Originally posted by BomberAUS
Cant believe this scumbag cheat has the world record.

This so bad for cricket. He'll lose it soon. Warne's still only 4 wickets behind him.

btw he came back later to go for the hat-trick but was hit for 4 by the number 11 instead :D

TheBloods
9 May 2004, 10:35
Taking the record with a chuck against one of the worst teams in test cricket. Pretty much sums it all up!! :rolleyes:

lamby29
9 May 2004, 12:24
I thought he wasn't allowed to bowl his doosra anymore??:confused:

Zeke
9 May 2004, 12:37
Originally posted by The Candy Man
I will never forgive the world cricket authorities for allowing this to happen. It's an abomination.

Ditto.

It's enough to make me chuck.

Cooldude
9 May 2004, 13:40
Originally posted by lamby29
I thought he wasn't allowed to bowl his doosra anymore??:confused:

Well ICC's still doing the mandatory 6 week period to review his action, and during that time he can still throw that delivery, but morally it is very wrong, especially when it's proven to be illegal, yet he continues to throw it down and get wickets with it, he's lost any creditibility (whatever little) he had.

pav_is_god
9 May 2004, 14:19
yah for cricket!:rolleyes:

Ray Nolan
9 May 2004, 15:10
Congrats Murali! I never thought when I saw Murali get his first his first test wicket that he'd go on to get the record. He's a guy who has battled very hard through a lot of adversity to get where he is today. It couldn't happen to a better guy, he fully deserves it. Nice one machun!

As for people suggesting it was a doosra to get the record, if it was the straighter one as suggested there then it would most likely be the top spinner - a delivery ruled legal by the ICC.:p

GhostofJimJess
9 May 2004, 16:26
Originally posted by Ray Nolan
Congrats Murali! I never thought when I saw Murali get his first his first test wicket that he'd go on to get the record. He's a guy who has battled very hard through a lot of adversity to get where he is today. It couldn't happen to a better guy, he fully deserves it. Nice one machun!

As for people suggesting it was a doosra to get the record, if it was the straighter one as suggested there then it would most likely be the top spinner - a delivery ruled legal by the ICC.:p

Don't try and ruin their moment of bitterness, Ray. They're on a roll.

BTW, congrats Murali. As mentioned above, couldn't happen to a nicer guy ... a genius. Just as Shane Warne's an absolute genius.

I can see these two battling it out for the record for the next couple of years ... hopefully it keeps alternating.

DKA
9 May 2004, 16:52
Boo Hoo, all you sooks.

If/When his doosra is banned, and he still takes heaps of wickets with his off spinner, i wonder what argument you will use then?

Can't people handle take having records broken?

Port01
9 May 2004, 22:37
Originally posted by DKA
Boo Hoo, all you sooks.

If/When his doosra is banned, and he still takes heaps of wickets with his off spinner, i wonder what argument you will use then?

Can't people handle take having records broken?

That he chucks his offspinner?

dr nick
9 May 2004, 22:38
Who would have thought way back when he toured here in 1995 as a youngster amidst such controversy he would go on to become the leading wicket taker in test history. Eclipsing the greats like Dennis Lillee, Frank Tyson, Shane Warne, Richard Hadlee, Kapil Dev, Courtney Walsh, Imran Khan, Bill O'Reilly, Clarrie Grimmett, Glenn McGrath... the list goes on and on.

To have come that far from such humble and controvesial beginnings is some achievement, but events from the past few weeks completely detract from my image of the man. He bowled at the UWA study as if he was taking us all for fools, halfheartedly ambling in and and casually rolling his arm, and then amongst findings that he was breaching the laws of bowling, which was 5 degrees at the time, he continued to bowl his doosra, the first real evidence that he was deliberately cheating. Doubt now clouds his whole career in light of this as one wonders whether he also showed such distain and complacency to scientific process with the Hong Kong study, and whether he deliberately tried to cheat the process.

It makes you wonder, i used to think that he genuinely thought he was bowling legally as the studies said he did (regardless if you believe the studies were flawed or not - if they are negative blame should not lie at the foot of the guinea pig), but given his attitude to it all in the past few weeks, i'm inclined to think he was deliberately cheating all along, which is a shame, and one which tarnishes the game.

Muralitharan - 521*

dr nick
9 May 2004, 22:40
Originally posted by DKA
Can't people handle take having records broken? if you can find evidence of angst towards Richard Hadlee, Kapil Dev or Courtney Walsh breaking the record i'd like to hear if it. It may be easier to write it off as sour grapes, but its not the case.

dr nick
9 May 2004, 22:44
Seems like he got the World Record with the doosra....... that is gonna be a funny story for ages, a ball determined to be illegal got the wicket for the World Record If that is the case, then i have absolutely no sympathy for him in anticipation of the retribution and slander he will receive over it. He is out of control is this is true.

Has anyone seen the replay?
---------------------------------------
:mad: Fox Sports News didn't show the footage.

Thewlis Dish
10 May 2004, 06:06
Congratulations Murali, hopefully he and Warnie can continue to battle it out for a couple of years to come. Two wizards of spin bowlings.

Ray, I'm sure this is a prouder moment for you than for most, congratulations mate.

scottywiper
10 May 2004, 09:45
Good for cricket eh!

He breaks the record while still bowling a ball that HAS been proven to be illegal against a third string team that contains barely a player of Test class.

Isn't cricket travelling just beautifully at the minute...

Ray Nolan
10 May 2004, 14:17
There has been no footage thus far of the delivery that I've seen but most indications suggest that it was the 'straighter one' that got the record. If that is the case then that is NOT the doosra. It is the top spinner which was ruled legal by the ICC back in 1998. I know Robert Craddock has been banging on in the paper again today saying that all of Murali's wickets in the Test were taken with the doosra (as if :rolleyes: ) but given the bileous, vitriolic and hate filled campaign he has run against Murali for years I think we should take what he has to say with a grain of salt.

Gopies 2002
10 May 2004, 15:09
There has been no footage thus far of the delivery that I've seen but most indications suggest that it was the 'straighter one' that got the record. If that is the case then that is NOT the doosra. It is the top spinner which was ruled legal by the ICC back in 1998. I know Robert Craddock has been banging on in the paper again today saying that all of Murali's wickets in the Test were taken with the doosra (as if :rolleyes: ) but given the bileous, vitriolic and hate filled campaign he has run against Murali for years I think we should take what he has to say with a grain of salt.

No offense Ray, but Craddock (tosser agreed) is just expressing what most people in this country believe.

I have no dislike for Murali, but I do believe he throws, and not just the Doosra. And I am fairly confident that I am in the majority with my view.

Cooldude
10 May 2004, 15:19
It's just like Diego Maradona, when he was tested positive with all those coke he smokes he thought everyone was trying to bring him down coz they're jealous of his achievements. As big a load of crap as the doosra

Mog
10 May 2004, 16:52
Originally posted by Gopies 2002
No offense Ray, but Craddock (tosser agreed) is just expressing what most people in this country believe.

Well, if it's what people believe then I can't wait for the Elvis concert. Craddock is a **********.

dr nick
10 May 2004, 17:06
It's just like Diego Maradona, when he was tested positive with all those coke he smokes he thought everyone was trying to bring him down coz they're jealous of his achievements. but did he pull out the race card?

scottywiper
10 May 2004, 18:41
It is an incontravertable FACT...he has been bowling a ball that has been proven to be illegal.
Regardless of what you thought of him previously, that is blatant cheating.
How anyone can see it any other way is beyond me.

TheBloods
10 May 2004, 20:29
He's a chucker - every one of his wickets should have been a no ball...

Macca19
10 May 2004, 21:25
Originally posted by scottywiper
It is an incontravertable FACT...he has been bowling a ball that has been proven to be illegal.
Regardless of what you thought of him previously, that is blatant cheating.
How anyone can see it any other way is beyond me.

Why?

I believe he has a 6 week grace period where he can still bowl the delivery. The ball is still considered legal until that 6 week period is up.

So given that, how IS it cheating?

dr nick
10 May 2004, 21:50
Originally posted by Macca19
Why?

I believe he has a 6 week grace period where he can still bowl the delivery. The ball is still considered legal until that 6 week period is up.

So given that, how IS it cheating? surely if the man had some level of integrity he would cease bowling a ball that has been found to breach the laws of the game, even if he is given a 6 week period (no idea why) where they will not call him.

I'm really not sure why he continued to bowl it. Was it to thumb his nose at authority? sheds a whole different light on what attitude he's had towards the whole thing all along.

PS: it is NOT considered legal, but they have agreed not to no-ball anybody during a match for that period (reports can be referred to the match referee, but not in murali's case due to the recent report) Its still breaking the laws, only he knows he can get away with it.

Ray Nolan
10 May 2004, 22:00
Has anyone actually seen any footage of him bowling the doosra in Zimbabwe or are we relying on the likes of Craddock for this 'information'. Most of the stuff I see in the ball-by-ball text commentary of this series talks about 'the straighter one' which is his legal top spinner.

dr nick
10 May 2004, 22:03
to be honest i didnt see a top spinner i don't think for the entire series just recently.

unfortunately haven't seen the footage, so at this stage its Robert Craddocks word over the 1 line cricinfo commentary.

PS: does it strike anybody as odd that there hasn't been any footage of it?

Ray Nolan
10 May 2004, 22:17
Originally posted by nicko18
to be honest i didnt see a top spinner i don't think for the entire series just recently.

unfortunately haven't seen the footage, so at this stage its Robert Craddocks word over the 1 line cricinfo commentary.

PS: does it strike anybody as odd that there hasn't been any footage of it?

He did bowl some top spinners in the recent series, but not as many as compared to a few years ago when he wasn't bowling the doosra. I expect he's going back to the top spinner more now. As for what Craddock has to say he's not even there AFAIK so I don't know how he thinks he knows the score, at least the cricinfo guy is there. It doesn't strike me as odd that there has been no footage of it. Given the state of things in Zimbabwe at the moment I doubt ZTV has the money available to televise the series anyway. They're more likely to be running Mugabe propaganda! And it's unlikely that an RSA cable network like SuperSport would pick it up as well. There isn't a big enough satellite audience in Sri Lanka to justify a group like TEN Sports (the mob who did SL v AUS & PAK v IND) doing coverage either. Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation couldn't afford to do an overseas broadcast even if it wanted to, nor could any of the private SL free to air networks, even though Murali was going to break the record. So at the end of the day, it's not surprising to my mind that there is no footage.

dr nick
10 May 2004, 23:06
From The Australian 10-May-2004

"Murali's controversial new "doosra" delivery was reported as being suspect during Australia's tour of Sri Lanka in March. Scientific tests at the West Australian University have proven he straightens his arm by more than 10 per cent (the allowable limit for spinners is 5 per cent).

He is able to continue to bowl the doosra during a six week non-reporting period, after which, if he is reported again, he can be banned for two years by the ICC.

Muralitharan bowled the doosra continually during the Zimbabwe Test, claiming several wickets."

dr nick
10 May 2004, 23:16
One has to wonder what the hell he is doing. If he just goes about his business bowling his offies, he would have got the record. All he is doing is disgracing himself further by continually bowling it during the 'non reporting' period.

scmods
10 May 2004, 23:30
I saw some footage of one wicket on the news, but it was on and off again so quickly I couldn't tell you what he bowled, or if it was the record-breaking wicket. (It was caught at slip if that narrows it down).

So at least some match footage does exist.

Cooldude
11 May 2004, 00:47
On a different topic in a way, Zimbabwe bowler Blessing Mahwire has been reported for a suspect action.

Richie would be happy with that, he openly bagged his action on air.

Zeke
11 May 2004, 11:38
On a different topic in a way, Zimbabwe bowler Blessing Mahwire has been reported for a suspect action.

Richie would be happy with that, he openly bagged his action on air.

What's the bet Blessing gets crucified and Murali continues along on his merry way?

Cooldude
11 May 2004, 13:38
Originally posted by Zeke
What's the bet Blessing gets crucified and Murali continues along on his merry way?

None of the players/commentators have the guts to bag him, Gilchrist for starters, he queried his action and look what happened to him. Commentators are too scared sh*te to say anything about a bloke who's taken 500 wickets

On the other hand bagging a little known Zimbabwen is far safer

Ray Nolan
11 May 2004, 14:03
Commentators are too scared sh*te to say anything about a bloke who's taken 500 wickets

Greigy's a big bloke who can probably handle himself, maybe the Channel Nine boys don't want to take him on! ;)

Cooldude
11 May 2004, 14:33
Greigy's a big bloke who can probably handle himself, maybe the Channel Nine boys don't want to take him on! ;)

It's pretty sad when a Pom holds so much power on an Australian TV channel :) Should kick him back to Pommy land and take his memorbillias with him

DKA
11 May 2004, 23:11
Originally posted by Macca19
Why?

So given that, how IS it cheating?

Agreed.

People in hear don't know the facts. It's true, the findings by the WA Uni, found that he illegally straightened/bent (whatever) his elbow. This info, was given from a "leaked" report, which basically means, there is nothing in concrete that it's illegal, if the ICC haven't ruled upon it.

Onto Murali's side of it, his mentality, he is that he is innocent. So until he is proven guilty by the ICC, he will continue to bowl what he thinks is right.

I mean, he did and still does with his off break, which WAS cleared, yet everyone still called him a chucker from the crowd, it didn't bother him, nor does this, well, until the ICC rule.

nicko 18: I can assure you, absolutely, that Murali does not cheat intentionally. He is different, everyone will admit that. He is playing the game he loves and would never bring the game into disrepute.

He's taken around 2% of his wickets with the doosra, but the 98% of wickets before it, was pure (cleared by ICC) class, and I think you know this.

He's not a bad person, might be bowling an incorrect ball, but he's not a bad person.

Ray Nolan
12 May 2004, 10:14
Apparently the ICC has finally made the official ruling overnight (according to SKY News this morning) that Murali can't bowl the doosra. Sri Lanka Cricket will now inform Murali that he has to stop bowling the doosra. It appears that Murali wasn't told to stop bowling it until the official decision from the ICC came through and the instruction from Sri Lanka Cricket was put to him. As such he hasn't done anything wrong to my mind over the last few weeks on the few occasions he's bowled the doosra over in Zimbabwe because no official decision had come through yet. Yes the findings of the report were leaked and have been known for the last few weeks but until the official word came through from the ICC & Sri Lanka Cricket that he's not allowed to bowl the doosra then Murali was under no obligation not to bowl it. Now that the official word has come through and once Sri Lanka Cricket has informed him I'm sure that he wont be bowling the doosra until such time that he is cleared to bowl it again.

Zeke
12 May 2004, 10:44
He may not be an official cheat.

He has cheated the spirit of the game for years.

dr nick
12 May 2004, 13:38
He may not be an official cheat.
assuming he bowled in those tests like he would do in a match.

Ray Nolan
12 May 2004, 14:10
He has cheated the spirit of the game for years.

Says you, but I reckon that's a load of bum waste!:p

dr nick
12 May 2004, 16:28
Says you, but I reckon that's a load of bum waste!:p i agree, but at the very least in light of the findings lately, surely continuing to bowl the doosra under those circumstances backs up what zeke says. Irrespective if the ICC will take action over the period or not.