View Full Version : Adelaide Vs Essendon
maccas_no1
9 May 2004, 20:45
Should be a ripper of a game both sides coming off good wins and Essendon in good form also, this game could go either way I think the Crows are going to have to shutdown Hird and keep Lloyd under 5 goals to win!!!!!!!!
Crows are expecting a few good players back this week Biglands,Goodwin and Hart.
Im looking forward to this game always enjoy playing Essendon;)
IceTemple
9 May 2004, 21:19
Yeah should be a good game but I must confess I sort of expect we will lose, simply due to our poor performances on the road. If we can just put it together then we really should win.
I find it interesting that after only 7 rounds there is already a TWO game difference between us in sixth and Swans in seventh. I find this quite amazing!
It's like a bye with -4 points attached and I am already thinking about Geelong in two weeks.
I just hope we don't get any injuries and we somehow keep it under 100 points.
crows will win comfortably, only for the fact that is in adelaide.
windyhill
9 May 2004, 21:49
Over here, Essendon. Over there Crows. Our travelling apart from the Freo win has been disgraceful, I`m just hoping for the boys to have a fair dinkum ****ing crack.
Originally posted by windyhill
I`m just hoping for the boys to have a fair dinkum ****ing crack.
After round 1, I've given up on false hopes like that.
I expect another mauling. At least that way I won't be disappointed when we're given a dose of reality.
Darealrath
9 May 2004, 22:51
Originally posted by M29
It's like a bye with -4 points attached and I am already thinking about Geelong in two weeks.
I just hope we don't get any injuries and we somehow keep it under 100 points.
I'm with you. I kept saying to myself over the last two weeks that as long as we beat sydney and the dogs i wouldn't need to get my hopes up for this one, coz 5-3 aint too bad.
No doubt that despite of that i'll still be well ****ed off if we lose.
We're probably a decent chance of making Carey look good.
Stegelator
9 May 2004, 23:40
Originally posted by Darealrath
5-3 aint too bad.
but 6-2 is ****ing better.Carn bombers! :cool:
lufc618
10 May 2004, 00:33
Come on guys, don't concede the match just yet. This is probably our best chance of a win interstate in years. Although i do think Adelaide will win, i don't think it will be by much and i think we will give it a real red hot go. Come on Bombers!
bacon buster
10 May 2004, 15:30
i'm really not sure how this game will go, not confident at all. hopefully it's like 99 all over again.
Will be backing Adelaide by 39.5+ points. Should get about $4.50
Pevers-Legend
10 May 2004, 16:13
Originally posted by bacon buster
i'm really not sure how this game will go, not confident at all. hopefully it's like 99 all over again.
thats all the jope we can cling to.
30-50 point loss. Will be competitive till about the 2nd half of the 2nd quarter where Adelaide will get out to a 3 goal lead. From there, in the 3rd quarter will slam on 5-8 goals. we will kick a few in the final quarter, then Adelaide will wake up and hold sway by kicking a couple so we are well and truly outplayed.
C'mon you bunch of dunses - play like your lives depend on it - hell play like Collingwood does over there and we will win.:(
dave_27
10 May 2004, 17:23
Adelaide would be definite favourites at the moment and full of confidence so a quick start is a must, poor kicking at the start of the game at goal will just demoralise the side so every opportunity has to be taken.
i guess if we lose we dont go any lower than 6th due to the 2 game gap between 6th and 7th.
maccas_no1
10 May 2004, 18:00
Im surprised you arent rating the Bombers a chance on Friday night, I think you have a real show, Lucus is always a problem for our defence as he just bobs up with a few quick goals and can hurt sides if he is not kept in check
eastaugh36
10 May 2004, 18:31
The negativity in here is s******* me off! How can anyone say crows by plenty yet if it were in Melbourne we would win? Playing interstate is not worth 15 goals!!!! That's a cop out no longer accepted and it's about time something was done to rectify the poor travelling, if not for the team, for the loyal interstate fans who flock to the games and make us one of the best followed teams in Adelaide.
You guys are so pessimistic. We have as good a chance as any team to go over to Adelaide and win. An away hoodoo is all in the mind and if we can put it out of our minds then we are the better team on paper and should win easily. Saying that, if we can't overcome the mental barrier then we could get done by 50+ points. Like someone said earlier, we have to make use of our opportunities early in the game- unlike both semi finals against port when we kicked poorly and didnt make them pay enough.
Going to be incredibly difficult.
Moreso after the Crows had a stunning win last week.
Their forwardline is very tall and functioning extremely well, whilst the midfielders are getting ****loads.
Originally posted by eastaugh36
Playing interstate is not worth 15 goals!!!!
It is if we're the opponent.
After round 1 and everyone talking about how we are going to 'rectify' how **** we are interstate, I'd expect no less this friday night.
To bad the odds aren't out for this match. Will be ineteresting to see how low adelaide at over 39.5 will be.
dannyboy
10 May 2004, 19:54
I think we are a good show if we just really come out and fire up....solomon, MJ, JJ, Pev, mcphee and Welshy should try and throw their weight around and get a bit of edge and niggle into the game. I believe thats when we play our best. like the Brisbane game last year.
And Lucas and Rioli to put in big ones.
BomberBen
10 May 2004, 22:03
Lets hope Welsh has a shocker for the Crows. Last time he tore us apart. But.. I'd love to say we have a chance, but.. I really honestly think we'll get toweled up there.
However.. Bombers will make the finals and be a real threat for the Premiership. Im sure of that. Winning in Adelaide is just virtually impossible for any team besides Port and Adelaide (obviously).
I normally concede the loss when we travel to Adelaide, but I give us a realistic 40-60 chance of winning this one. Sheedy has openly said, he and his players are sick of going over there are getting our butts kicked, so I think being ultra-competitive will be a focus for us because of that.
With no injuries and coming off 5 wins, there is no reason to think we can't be very, very competitive. The round one match has no relevance. Apart from Port being a better side than the Crows, we had a skeleton side in.
It reminds me of the 1998 match (remember that one?) We went into the match against the reigning, and eventual premeirs, with 4 straight wins and minimal injuries and lost by 2 points in a fantastic match. The circumstances dictate that a similarly competitive performance can be expected this Friday.
Stegelator
10 May 2004, 23:19
Originally posted by Dan26
I normally concede the loss when we travel to Adelaide, but I give us a realistic 40-60 chance of winning this one. Sheedy has openly said, he and his players are sick of going over there are getting our butts kicked, so I think being ultra-competitive will be a focus for us because of that.
With no injuries and coming off 5 wins, there is no reason to think we can't be very, very competitive. The round one match has no relevance. Apart from Port being a better side than the Crows, we had a skeleton side in.
It reminds me of the 1998 match (remember that one?) We went into the match against the reigning, and eventual premeirs, with 4 straight wins and minimal injuries and lost by 2 points in a fantastic match. The circumstances dictate that a similarly competitive performance can be expected this Friday. i agree. i reckon we're a big chance. If Lloyd can kick a bag, Hird can...well be hird. Johnson and Johnson can keep the midfield engine ticking, Peverill can keep Ricciuto quiet, Rioli can show his brilliance, Lovett-Murray and Cupido can kick a bag between them, our half back line works like it did on anzac day, Fletch can keep the last line of defence in tact and working order, Murphy will play a blinder, Bolton could do something, McPhee could maintain his form, I reckon we could win.
bOmBeR_BoY1
11 May 2004, 07:46
Anybody who already thinks this game is already lost is kidding themselves ... the Crows arn't 2-5 and 11th and we're not 5-2 and 6th for nothing!
Our players will be so keen to head over there to turn around that horrific Round 1 loss it won't be funny, and we'll be fielding a much stronger team and playing the Crows (who despite their win, I don't rate them higher than Port and still don't think they'll make the finals)...
It's amazing, if this game was being played in Melbourne I'd say we'd all be very confident at the moment for a 6th straight victory ... yet because it's being played over there we are seemingly no hope.
We'll just have to wait and see I spose ... anybody expecting another 15 goal massacre is kidding themselves.
go team
11 May 2004, 09:08
Originally posted by pazza
Going to be incredibly difficult.
Moreso after the Crows had a stunning win last week.
Their forwardline is very tall and functioning extremely well, whilst the midfielders are getting ****loads.
how come they've only won two games?
bacon buster
11 May 2004, 09:25
you're only as good as your last game
Pevers-Legend
11 May 2004, 09:47
Originally posted by go team
how come they've only won two games?
Because they have played better opposition than us at Footy Park.
Every year we hold out with hope that they will be competitive and at least lose by under 4 goals, but every year they are ******* disgraceful and they throughly deserve this bagging due to recent matches there.
I pray we do play well, but this negativity is deserved, and is not a cop out easty, but the truth. I too used to go to footy park every year and watch us get annihilated, I know exactly how that feels, but they deserve this schit, hopefully it will fire them up.
Kane McGoodwin
11 May 2004, 12:31
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Should be a ripper of a game both sides coming off good wins and Essendon in good form also, this game could go either way I think the Crows are going to have to shutdown Hird and keep Lloyd under 5 goals to win!!!!!!!!
Crows are expecting a few good players back this week Biglands,Goodwin and Hart.
Im looking forward to this game always enjoy playing Essendon;)
I'm not expecting this to be a 1-sided contest as many Essendon supporters suggest, though we should win if we play like we did last week (big if though given our inconsistency).
Biglands will probably come back in for Huddo, but Goody is out for another week & Hart likely to come back through the SANFL. S Stevens is likely to come back if he passes a fitness test.
Kane McGoodwin
11 May 2004, 12:41
Originally posted by BomberBen
Lets hope Welsh has a shocker for the Crows. Last time he tore us apart. But.. I'd love to say we have a chance, but.. I really honestly think we'll get toweled up there.
Welsh has been shocking most of the year & will be lucky to keep his place. I hope you get him back in form & that he can recapture his form from the same game last year...
Originally posted by Stegelator
i agree. i reckon we're a big chance. If Lloyd can kick a bag, Hird can...well be hird. Johnson and Johnson can keep the midfield engine ticking, Peverill can keep Ricciuto quiet, Rioli can show his brilliance, Lovett-Murray and Cupido can kick a bag between them, our half back line works like it did on anzac day, Fletch can keep the last line of defence in tact and working order, Murphy will play a blinder, Bolton could do something, McPhee could maintain his form, I reckon we could win.
If thats all that needs to happen, then what are we all worried about? ;)
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Welsh has been shocking most of the year & will be lucky to keep his place. I hope you get him back in form & that he can recapture his form from the same game last year...
We have a habit of playing guys like Welsh back into form....we seem to do it to Dew every year!
bLuEMoOsE
11 May 2004, 15:56
Bolton has is is already doning plenty....
would in my view be on par with McPhee who is on fire atm... Bolton doing better defenisve jobs but not quiet as good running out of defence...
ok.crows
11 May 2004, 23:19
i agree. i reckon we're a big chance. If Lloyd can kick a bag, Hird can...well be hird. Johnson and Johnson can keep the midfield engine ticking, Peverill can keep Ricciuto quiet, Rioli can show his brilliance, Lovett-Murray and Cupido can kick a bag between them, our half back line works like it did on anzac day, Fletch can keep the last line of defence in tact and working order, Murphy will play a blinder, Bolton could do something, McPhee could maintain his form, I reckon we could win.
If Carey & McGregor combination can kick a bag, Roo can...well be the Roo. Burton & Edwards can keep the midfield engine ticking, Stenglein can keep Hird quiet, McLeod can show his brilliance, Johncock & Welsh can kick a bag between them, our half-back line works like it did last Saturday night, and Fletcher has a brain explosion like he did last time he played at AAMI against the Crows, Doughty will play a blinder, Jehrico could really do something, and Hentschel could maintain his form, I reckon the Crows could win.
ok.crows
11 May 2004, 23:25
I agree that Welsh is in shocking form, but then again it would seem that Johncock has taken up the challenge to become a damaging small forward.
If S Stevens is available for selection, it could be Welsh that is squeezed out of the side.
ok.crows
11 May 2004, 23:39
The two years prior to this Sheedy has openly said prior to games against the Crows at AAMI that the game was a "must win" and "like a final for the Bombers".
Meh. At this venue this year, Port have smashed the Bombers and lost badly to the Crows.
It reminds me of the 1998 match (remember that one?) We went into the match against the reigning, and eventual premeirs, with 4 straight wins and minimal injuries and lost by 2 points in a fantastic match. The circumstances dictate that a similarly competitive performance can be expected this Friday.
I expect it could well be a close game this Friday. However, the Crows have been exceedingly erratic this season. If the Crows bring their form from last Saturday Night to this game, then IMO the Crows stand a chance of a decent win, despite the respective ladder positions of the sides. If the Crows bring form like they had against Kangaroos in round 1, or the second half against the Cats in round 6 - then the Bombers will win. If the Crows form is like they had against Freo (@ Subi) or Saints or Lions - then I suspect that Essendon aren't quite up to that standard especially when playing away & the Crows would win a fairly close contest. All IMO.
Originally posted by ok.crows
If Carey & McGregor combination can kick a bag, Roo can...well be the Roo. Burton & Edwards can keep the midfield engine ticking, Stenglein can keep Hird quiet, McLeod can show his brilliance, Johncock & Welsh can kick a bag between them, our half-back line works like it did last Saturday night, and Fletcher has a brain explosion like he did last time he played at AAMI against the Crows, Doughty will play a blinder, Jehrico could really do something, and Hentschel could maintain his form, I reckon the Crows could win.
:D very good!
I'm just hoping for a competitive game by us. It's been too long now that I watch an interstate game on TV with high expectations, just to see us get flogged.
But, even with lower expectations, I'll still be very p|ssed off if we don't at least get within 4 goals.
Stegelator
12 May 2004, 00:31
If Carey & McGregor combination can kick a bag, Roo can...well be the Roo. Burton & Edwards can keep the midfield engine ticking, Stenglein can keep Hird quiet, McLeod can show his brilliance, Johncock & Welsh can kick a bag between them, our half-back line works like it did last Saturday night, and Fletcher has a brain explosion like he did last time he played at AAMI against the Crows, Doughty will play a blinder, Jehrico could really do something, and Hentschel could maintain his form, I reckon the Crows could win. smart ass :p
maccas_no1
12 May 2004, 10:13
Your not asking for much are ya;) :p
maccas_no1
12 May 2004, 10:16
I agree that Welsh is in shocking form, but then again it would seem that Johncock has taken up the challenge to become a damaging small forward.
If S Stevens is available for selection, it could be Welsh that is squeezed out of the side.
The thing with Welsh is he is a confidence player if he starts the game well he will have a good night but if he starts of poorly then he wont have an influence IMO he had an ok game he was coming back from injury thought he contributed well kicked a goal always gets in goes for the ball and tackles well, I think his spot would be safe this week, IMO they will drop either Bock,Bode,Gallagher or perrie before Welsh;)
bOmBeR_BoY1
12 May 2004, 12:27
The two years prior to this Sheedy has openly said prior to games against the Crows at AAMI that the game was a "must win" and "like a final for the Bombers".
Nice to see you back on bigfooty, ok.crows ...
I thought you wouldn't show up again after you conceded after Round 2 or 3? by memory that your season was over and that all those summer months of denying that Adelaide had an aging list had finally caught up with you...
Great to see you posting again! I just love loyal supporters like your good self!
ok.crows
12 May 2004, 12:57
Originally posted by bOmBeR_BoY1
Nice to see you back on bigfooty, ok.crows ...
I thought you wouldn't show up again after you conceded after Round 2 or 3? by memory that your season was over and that all those summer months of denying that Adelaide had an aging list had finally caught up with you...
Great to see you posting again! I just love loyal supporters like your good self!
After the Wizard Cup and the first few rounds of this season, I admit to being dirty on Ayres for coming up with a completely inane gameplan. I expected Ayres to be as stubborn as he has been with similar schemes before - remember when the Crows didn't use a zone for kick-ins and every team played a "huddle" against us with great effect ? It took over half a season before Ayres gave up on that stupidity.
Anyway, it would appear that Ayres has learnt a lesson about being inflexible. Rather than making a public announcement that the Crows needed to fix their approach - Ayres seems to have just quietly gone about changing it for the better without having to admit it was broken.
That, I can support.
Hence, I now have some hope that this season for the Crows can still be salvaged. I didn't think it could be as recently as just last week.
My but a week is a long time in footy, hey !
windyhill
12 May 2004, 20:34
The negativity in here is s******* me off! How can anyone say crows by plenty yet if it were in Melbourne we would win?
Quite easily. We own Adelaide here, they have never beaten Essendon in this town. Over there different story.
Stegelator
12 May 2004, 21:51
If S Stevens is available for selection, it could be Welsh that is squeezed out of the side. [/B]
Originally posted by maccas_no1
The thing with Welsh is he is a confidence player if he starts the game well he will have a good night but if he starts of poorly then he wont have an influence IMO he had an ok game he was coming back from injury thought he contributed well kicked a goal always gets in goes for the ball and tackles well, I think his spot would be safe this week, IMO they will drop either Bock,Bode,Gallagher or perrie before Welsh;) since when did this beomce the adelaide board? :confused: :D
ok.crows
12 May 2004, 23:42
since when did this beomce the adelaide board? :confused: :D
Likewise, there is a poster who goes by the handle "go team" who seems to have got a bit confused about what to post on the Crows board - and is regurgitating Sheedy's lame excuses about why Essendon lost to Port at AAMI (not a full strength side last two occasions) - somehow conflating that with games against the Crows at AAMI.
I guess most of you have legitimate reasons for being somewhat pessimistic on here, goodness knows I usually am, but I think your boys are serious chances this Friday night. Everything is really set up for you to perform well and come away with the victory...
-solid lead up form, 5 straight wins without really completely extending yourselves and playing your absolute best football
-relatively injury free playing list, most players fit and in form.
-everyone completely focused on performing well interstate, very keen to atone for past sins (really, you're due to get a win at AAMI again)
-despite an excellent build up to the game, there's a lot of scepticism about your abilities to win interstate, nothing fires up a side more than the doubts of the experts.
-Crows have just had a good win, we struggle to put two in a row together and we invariably follow a good performance with a shocker.
Really, everything is there for the Bombers to record a comfortable win, there aren't many excuses. Good luck for the game, and may the right team win.
go team
13 May 2004, 10:13
Likewise, there is a poster who goes by the handle "go team" who seems to have got a bit confused about what to post on the Crows board - and is regurgitating Sheedy's lame excuses about why Essendon lost to Port at AAMI (not a full strength side last two occasions) - somehow conflating that with games against the Crows at AAMI.
i ventured onto the Crows board to ask why the crows would win, hoping to find a reason other that home ground advantage, and they got all upset and protective...
i haven't raised any port game
i haven't used injury as excuse
ok.crows used round 15 last year as an example of adelaide's midfield dominance over essendon, and i pointed out there will be about five or six different players running through the midfield this time - thus such a comparision is really no grounds to support the conclusion.
maybe i should stick to posting on the bomber board were people actually read the posts they are replying to..
ok.crows
13 May 2004, 10:40
Originally posted by go team i ventured onto the Crows board to ask why the crows would win, hoping to find a reason other that home ground advantage, and they got all upset and protective...
I didn't see anyone on the Crows board getting upset over your apparent disbelief that there would be anyone who could possibly have any reason for thinking the Crows might have a show on Friday & posting that query on the Crows board no less.
i haven't raised any port game
You didn't, Sheedy did. For some unfathomable reason, Sheedy is always talking about & making excuses for Bombers games against Port at AAMI when his side is about to come up against Crows at AAMI. This time he said there would be more players available - that Bombers wouldn't be missing Hird, Fletcher & Lloyd.
Hello! YooHoo, Sheeds! Hird, Fletecher & Lloyd all played for the Bombers in their last game at AAMI gainst the Crows - which the Bombers lost.
i haven't used injury as excuse
ok.crows used round 15 last year as an example of adelaide's midfield dominance over essendon, and i pointed out there will be about five or six different players running through the midfield this time - thus such a comparision is really no grounds to support the conclusion.
Come again sport ? You claim you didn't use injury as an excuse, you just said that you would have different lesser lights available this time ? Whatever, mate.
maybe i should stick to posting on the bomber board were people actually read the posts they are replying to..
Maybe you should try harder to think about what your own words actually mean, rather than accusing people of misreading them.
go team
13 May 2004, 11:13
Come again sport ? You claim you didn't use injury as an excuse, you just said that you would have different lesser lights available this time ? Whatever, mate.
You claimed that Adelaide's midfield would wipe the floor with Essendons midfield "as demonstrated quite vividly when these two teams met at AAMI Stadium last year"..
I admit we got smashed. I'll quote myself from the Adelaide board:
Originally posted by go team
If they played round 15 last year, we probably would have been thumped by just as much, and maybe even more... nobody knows though, cause the two clubs haven't come against each other with these respective lineups..
How can you make a judgement based on the Essendon 2004 midfield from a game where the majority of the 2004 midfield weren't playing?
This argument is all rather pointless though - I'm sure when the game is all over, and Adelaide come away with victory, you'll selectivley quote my arguments and say that you were right all along..
You didn't, Sheedy did. For some unfathomable reason, Sheedy is always talking about & making excuses for Bombers games against Port at AAMI when his side is about to come up against Crows at AAMI. This time he said there would be more players available - that Bombers wouldn't be missing Hird, Fletcher & Lloyd.
Hello! YooHoo, Sheeds! Hird, Fletecher & Lloyd all played for the Bombers in their last game at AAMI gainst the Crows - which the Bombers lost.
He said games at AAMI and adeliade. He didn't mention either team. The last two times we have played at AAMI fletcher has been missing.
Comprende?
eastaugh36
13 May 2004, 15:13
Originally posted by windyhill
Quite easily. We own Adelaide here, they have never beaten Essendon in this town. Over there different story.
You can't tell me that playing at footy park is a 15 goal advantage.
nonchalance
13 May 2004, 15:31
No, it's a six or seven goal advantage IMO.
It's a three or four goal advantage to us playing them in Melbourne.
eastaugh36
13 May 2004, 15:38
Originally posted by nonchalance
No, it's a six or seven goal advantage IMO.
It's a three or four goal advantage to us playing them in Melbourne.
Fair enough but there were clowns in here saying we will get smashed yet then saying we would win it in Melbourne ! That's at least a 15 goal turnaround!!! Rubbish.
ok.crows
13 May 2004, 15:56
Originally posted by M29
He said games at AAMI and adeliade. He didn't mention either team. The last two times we have played at AAMI fletcher has been missing.
Comprende?
Sure I understand what Sheedy said, I just make the note that what Sheedy said about when Fletcher was missing has nothing to do with this upcoming game at AAMI against Adelaide.
Zilch, zero, zip, nada.
Fletcher wasn't missing at all when the Bombers lost in their most recent games at AAMI against Adelaide.
eastaugh36
13 May 2004, 16:10
Sure I understand what Sheedy said, I just make the note that what Sheedy said about when Fletcher was missing has nothing to do with this upcoming game at AAMI against Adelaide.
Zilch, zero, zip, nada.
Fletcher wasn't missing at all when the Bombers lost in their most recent games at AAMI against Adelaide.
I think Sheeds was saying that most times we have visited footy park of late we have had one of our big 3 out(which partly explains our thrashings at footy park), which obviously doesn't help when playing away.
Jars458
13 May 2004, 16:16
Originally posted by M29
Comprende?
So he was just sprouting irrelevant dribble as usual.;)
I have been surprised by the focus on Essendon this week in regard to their results at AAMI stadium as opposed to the game itself.
There has been little in depth analysis of the actual game and the potential match ups.
I think it will be a cracker. Essendon's team looks formidable on paper, but then so do Port's finals teams.
Home ground advantage evens it up for us, because as it has been said we can't beat you in Melbourne.
Hopefully the rain stays away. Today for example it rained this morning, cleared up and was sunny at lunch time and is now clouding over again. It may yet stay dry on Friday.
Stenglein v Hird battle will be a ripper. Hird should still win plenty of the ball but watch for Stenglin hurting you the other way and at stoppages.
Llloyd is a huge problem for us this time with no N Smart. I just can't see a good match up so we will have to win the midfield battle 60-40 I would say to stand a chance.
nonchalance
13 May 2004, 16:34
Point, Jars.
Personally, I'm worried about McGregor - he's in excellent form atm.
Have you got the Adelaide team yet?
ok.crows
13 May 2004, 17:08
I think Sheeds was saying that most times we have visited footy park of late we have had one of our big 3 out(which partly explains our thrashings at footy park), which obviously doesn't help when playing away.
Most times when you have played Port at Footy Park in recent years, yes, that is so, the bombers have had at least one and sometimes 3 of their big 3 missing.
It wasn't so at all when they played Adelaide in recent years at Footy Park and lost. All 3 played. Bombers still lost.
So why mention it ? It wasn't relevant Sheeds. You gotta come up with another excuse.
Jars458
13 May 2004, 17:09
Point, Jars.
Not yet but apparatnly Biglands has been named in the SANFL so Hudson will keep his spot.
Jars458
13 May 2004, 17:11
Dan, for once old chum, I agree entirely.
WABomber
13 May 2004, 17:43
If only supporters for other teams where all so civile.
I think we do have a genuine chance against Adelaide, if its a good ol arm wrestle then i think our clutch players will come thru with the goods
even if we do lose, in the whole scheme of things now is a rare time where we can afford to lose one game as long as noone does anything stupid or careless, would be a bad time to lose players
Kane McGoodwin
13 May 2004, 22:20
Point, Jars.
Only 1 change for the Crows - Ladhams in for the injured Doughty. Although there are a few players with the flu, so there may be more late changes.
Will Fletcher play on McGregor, leaving Lucas to play on Carey. Who plays on Welsh, given his last performance against you guys? Stinger is sure to get Hird, but I also reckon JJ requires close attention. McPhee v Burton perhaps? Lot's of great matchups, but one of the most important could be in ruck to give their midfield the advantage...
maccas_no1
14 May 2004, 10:02
since when did this beomce the adelaide board? :confused: :D
It hasnt bcome the Adelaide Board this is a thread on the match between the two clubs who are playing tonight, nothing more nothing less,I was quoting someone on Welsh that was all;)
nonchalance
14 May 2004, 10:03
Fletcher will play FB against whoever the Crows have down there - he's a fullback, not a general KPP defender. That most likely leaves Lucas at CHB, since I can't see Bolton taking either of your big forwards.
Haynes won't play for us, which means Bradley, Bullen or Stanton will come in. My tip is Bradley, meaning that we have another tall option.
My bet is Welsh on Welsh - might be a bit skinny, but I think he can handle it.
Burton v McPhee will be great to watch if it eventuates.
Ricciuto v J Johnson would be great to watch also, but I'm doubting Sheedy would let that happen.
Either Pev or MJ will tag McLeod, and do as well on him as anybody would - which is to say if McL is on fire, nobody in the league could stop him, so I won't worry about it.
Who I am worried about is Ricciuto. The only players quick enough and skilled enough to go against him are going to be outmuscled - except JJ, but he's no tagger - think Roo and Hird are the keys to the game.
The ruck contest will be important, yes - Allan and Hille v Clarke and Hudson. I'd go for Allan and Hille, but I may be biased.
Kane McGoodwin
14 May 2004, 10:19
Fletcher will play FB against whoever the Crows have down there - he's a fullback, not a general KPP defender. That most likely leaves Lucas at CHB, since I can't see Bolton taking either of your big forwards.
Haynes won't play for us, which means Bradley, Bullen or Stanton will come in. My tip is Bradley, meaning that we have another tall option.
My bet is Welsh on Welsh - might be a bit skinny, but I think he can handle it.
Burton v McPhee will be great to watch if it eventuates.
Ricciuto v J Johnson would be great to watch also, but I'm doubting Sheedy would let that happen.
Either Pev or MJ will tag McLeod, and do as well on him as anybody would - which is to say if McL is on fire, nobody in the league could stop him, so I won't worry about it.
Who I am worried about is Ricciuto. The only players quick enough and skilled enough to go against him are going to be outmuscled - except JJ, but he's no tagger - think Roo and Hird are the keys to the game.
The ruck contest will be important, yes - Allan and Hille v Clarke and Hudson. I'd go for Allan and Hille, but I may be biased.
Crows are likely to play their talls (ie. Carey & McGregor) across CHF, so if Fletcher won't move from FB, you will need another tall defender along with Lucas. Probably Wellman, but he isn't really strong enough. Perhaps this is where Bradley could come into play.
If Fletcher plays FB, will be interesting to see how he matches up on Edwards & McLeod leading combination. I know he is quick for a big guy, but not that quick!
I expect Pev will play on Roo, with MJ on Macca / Edwards. Stinger to get Hird for sure, with both being in great form.
If Clarke plays like he did last week, your rucks will be taken to the cleaners as he demolished Brogan & Lade. I'm confident that we will get the edge in the taps, but worried about Hille's ability to run forward & do some damage.
nonchalance
14 May 2004, 10:39
Crows are likely to play their talls (ie. Carey & McGregor) across CHF, so if Fletcher won't move from FB, you will need another tall defender along with Lucas. Probably Wellman, but he isn't really strong enough. Perhaps this is where Bradley could come into play.
Bradley or Bolton - although Fletch may have to move out. I'd like to see Bradley on Carey, at least for a quarter or so - he'd learn a hell of a lot.
If Fletcher plays FB, will be interesting to see how he matches up on Edwards & McLeod leading combination. I know he is quick for a big guy, but not that quick!
That's what Phil Matera thought :D
Seriously, though - if that matchup does happen, the Crows will have to be very accurate with their forward passing. If that's your main forward target, and we're on top in the midfield, you're in big trouble. Of course, if you're able to get the ball out of the midfield without constant pressure, we're stuffed.
I expect Pev will play on Roo, with MJ on Macca / Edwards. Stinger to get Hird for sure, with both being in great form.
Probably, yeah. The worry there is if Ricciuto goes forward, where he'll towel Pev up - of course, if it's Fletch and Pev vs Roo and Edwards, I'll back Fletch in any marking contests.
If Clarke plays like he did last week, your rucks will be taken to the cleaners as he demolished Brogan & Lade. I'm confident that we will get the edge in the taps, but worried about Hille's ability to run forward & do some damage.
Taken to the cleaners no. Beaten, maybe - but Allan will give a good contest in every ruck, and Hille should be able to beat Clarke around the ground, especially with the two rotating. I do agree that you'll have the edge in the hitouts when Clarke's in the ruck, but Hudson's a significant step down in those contests.
Who's going to deal with Hille if we have him in the forward line while Allan's in the ruck?
Basset's got Lloyd, obviously. How do you think your lot will go vs Cupes, NLM and Rioli in the forward line at the same time?
Incidentally, loving this discussion. Rational opposition supporters who know their stuff are great - because to be honest, I haven't seen the Crows as much as I've seen other teams. Thanks.
ok.crows
14 May 2004, 10:59
nonchalance -
The Crows seem very much to be feeling their way towards an effective setup at this time, given the players they have.
Last week against Port there was a noticeable difference in the way that the Crows set up their forward structure and in the way the Crows moved the ball into their forward 50.
In particular, long bombs to the goalsquare were virtually banned.
The Crows rotated two players through the FF position - both small & quick & capable of taking an overhead mark on the run at full pace. Edwards & McLeod.
It was quite effective. Port used Wanganeen as FB to try and matchup this setup & it didn't really work.
If the Crows persist with this, and I think they will, I can't see that Fletcher would be a good choice to saty at FB for the Bombers.
Also, if Fletcher has to come out to CHF against either Carey or McGregor - would Fletcher be as comfortable there?
I think the same forward tactics as used last week by the Crows might have some chance of coming off this week against the Bombers also.
Kane McGoodwin
14 May 2004, 11:08
Bradley or Bolton - although Fletch may have to move out. I'd like to see Bradley on Carey, at least for a quarter or so - he'd learn a hell of a lot.
That's what Phil Matera thought :D
Seriously, though - if that matchup does happen, the Crows will have to be very accurate with their forward passing. If that's your main forward target, and we're on top in the midfield, you're in big trouble. Of course, if you're able to get the ball out of the midfield without constant pressure, we're stuffed.
Reckon you guys should play Fletcher on McGregor, as IMO he will be too strong for your other talls. So will be very happy if Fletcher plays on our smalls at FB. Concern with Carey is he usually struggles (fitness-wise) after playing a good game. Hope this week is the exception.
Taken to the cleaners no. Beaten, maybe - but Allan will give a good contest in every ruck, and Hille should be able to beat Clarke around the ground, especially with the two rotating. I do agree that you'll have the edge in the hitouts when Clarke's in the ruck, but Hudson's a significant step down in those contests.
Who's going to deal with Hille if we have him in the forward line while Allan's in the ruck?
I doubt Clarke will take your rucks to the cleaners either, as I can't see him playing a blinder 2 weeks in a row. No doubt the concern is the around-the-ground advantage from Hille & Allan, though Huddo is no slouch. If Hille pushes forward either Perrie or Hentschel (who can take either a small or a tall) will matchup on him.
Basset's got Lloyd, obviously. How do you think your lot will go vs Cupes, NLM and Rioli in the forward line at the same time?Massie & Begley have been in good form & Mattner was awesome with his tackling last week. Probably Massie v Rioli, Begley v NLM & Mattner v Cupido.
Incidentally, loving this discussion. Rational opposition supporters who know their stuff are great - because to be honest, I haven't seen the Crows as much as I've seen other teams. Thanks. Yeah, the great thing about Big Footy is the interaction between different supporters & getting a different perspective on things. Cheers & may the best team win! :)
nonchalance
14 May 2004, 12:38
I'm basing the Fletch at FB thing on three concepts.
First, Fletch tore Phil Matera apart, even though the Eagles kicked to him pretty much only when he was on the lead - if Dustin was within four or five feet, he'd fist it away.
Second, Fletch is an absolute wall when he's in the defensive 50, and our defense relies on that.
Third, the old adage: play your best defender on the opposition's best forward. As much as I rate McGregor, McLeod (and probably Edwards also) would be better forwards at the moment.
So based on what you guys have said, I agree that the Crows will absolutely play the small forwards and try and get Fletch to CHB, where he's less effective on the rebound - the question is whether Sheedy will go along, and then how Fletch will respond to that.
If Fletch goes to CHB on McGregor (and if we put all other things aside, he would be the best matchup for him), McPhee will have to go to FB, because Lucas won't match up on McLeod or Edwards any better than Fletch will. McPhee on Edwards and MJ on McLeod, probably.
The advantage of pushing Fletch up to CHB and playing McPhee at FB is that Lucas can go forward - Lucas, Lloyd, Hird, NLM and Cupido gives us a very impressive forward line, and the shortest guy in it is around 188cm (Cupes). If Hille pushes forward as well...
and may the best team win.
and may the best team be Essendon ;)
Stiffy_18
14 May 2004, 13:39
The closer we are to the match the more nervous I get. Expected rain has not come and its pretty good conditions for footy. I tipped Cros but now I am not so confident.:(
hirdy_is_champ
14 May 2004, 17:35
bombers you have to play like you want it!! just think its the MCG so its like a home ground advantage. us bomber fans really dont want to be dissapointed tonight you have to win interstate.
and all 'dons fans dont jump off us yet we have to support them. and to all bombers fans going to footy park or whatever its called cheer you fkn hearts out!
GO DONS!!
I just hope we have a crack tonight. Too many times we have ventured to adelaide only to just bend over and cop the medicine. Time to show some heart and pride.
Darealrath
14 May 2004, 19:38
Come on bombers.
windyhill
14 May 2004, 19:41
You can't tell me that playing at footy park is a 15 goal advantage.
Please point out where I have said this.
maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 09:48
Congrats Essendon beat us all over the ground and you are lucky to have such a good side,goodluck for the rest of the season;)