View Full Version : Essendon votes

sapaul
15 May 2004, 00:18
Pathetic...5 minutes in you could tell we weren't on song.

POTY

5-Carey
4-Begley
3-Bassett
2-Ricciuto
1-Ladhams

TTM

3-Carey
2-Bassett
1-Begley

Rookie

1-Bock

spindoctor
15 May 2004, 00:20
Bassett, Ladhams and Bock? Whatchu smoking?

dyertribe
15 May 2004, 00:31
BOG

5 - Carey: Absolutely immense. Just a shame the vast majority of the rest of his team-mates went home with 13 minutes left.
4 - Ricciuto: Another stellar game, precious little help.
3 - Begley: The little boy with his finger in the dyke.
2 - McLeod: On his way back slowly, questionable decision making and kicking accuracy.
1 - NO FIFTH DIVIDEND

BTM

3 - Carey: See above.
2 - Begley: See above.
1 - Clarke: While not his best game he battled manfully against Allan all night.

ROOKIE

1 - Abstain

Scotty's_Girl
15 May 2004, 00:37
POTY

5. Wayne Carey
4. Mark Ricciuto
3. Andrew McLeod
2. James Begley
1. Nathan Bassett

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. James Begley
1. Chris Ladhams

Rookie

None :(

maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 00:40
Best Players

Carey,Roo,Bassett,Begley

Team Man

Carey,Roo,Begley

Rookie

Meh:mad:

DaveW
15 May 2004, 00:59
After carefully examining the performance of all 22 players tonight, I found it hard to narrow it down to the usual 5 to 8 players. But here goes:

BOG

5. Mark Ricciuto
4. Wayne Carey
3. Mark Ricciuto
2. Wayne Carey
1. Mark Ricciuto

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. Mark Ricciuto
1. Wayne Carey

With so many good performances across the length and breadth of the ground, I still can't work out how we didn't come closer to winning this game.

maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 01:05
Originally posted by DaveW
After carefully examining the performance of all 22 players tonight, I found it hard to narrow it down to the usual 5 to 8 players. But here goes:

BOG

5. Mark Ricciuto
4. Wayne Carey
3. Mark Ricciuto
2. Wayne Carey

1. Mark Ricciuto

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. Mark Ricciuto
1. Wayne Carey

With so many good performances across the length and breadth of the ground, I still can't work out how we didn't come closer to winning this game.

Only two players for the Crows sounds about right tonight Dave the rest were 'passengers' :rolleyes: :mad:

macca23
15 May 2004, 01:23
I think that told us the truth about where we sit in the pecking order. We've now lost comfortably at home to 3 top 4 sides in Brisbane, St Kilda and Essendon.

Anyhow onto best players, as few as there were:

BOG

5 - Carey - His effort was superb and showed his class. He must have felt like the Lone Ranger up forward - kicked half of our goals.
4 - Ricciuto - The heart and soul of the team and why is it that so few follow his example.
3 - Begley - Terrific effort in defence, is getting better evry week.
2 - McLeod - While he was a bit patchy, he had some very good moments
1 - Bassett - I thought he fought his guts out, and although Lloyd got 4, he had to with the dominance Essendon held.

BTM

3 - Carey - See above.
2 - Ricciuto - See above.
1 - Begley - See above

ROOKIE

1 - Hentschel - I'm amazed that he hasn't been mentioned before. Played a very useful game in defence, and along with Begley and Bassett, at least set an acceptable standard. Usage of the ball was impeccable as usual.

adelaide_girl
15 May 2004, 01:26
Chocolates to boiled lollies in a week... we were just pathetic... so happy i have shelled out more money to see us interstate.....

POTY

5. Wayne Carey
4. Mark Ricciuto
3. Jame Begley
2. Nathan Bassett
1. Andrew Mcleod

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. James Begley
1. Nathan Bassett

Rookie

None

Stiffy_18
15 May 2004, 01:52
Originally posted by macca23
I think that told us the truth about where we sit in the pecking order. We've now lost comfortably at home to 3 top 4 sides in Brisbane, St Kilda and Essendon.

BOG

5 - Carey - His effort was superb and showed his class. He must have felt like the Lone Ranger up forward - kicked half of our goals.
4 - Ricciuto - The heart and soul of the team and why is it that so few follow his example.
1 - Bassett - I thought he fought his guts out, and although Lloyd got 4, he had to with the dominance Essendon held.

BTM

3 - Carey - See above.
1 - Begley - See above

ROOKIE

1 - Hentschel - I'm amazed that he hasn't been mentioned before. Played a very useful game in defence, and along with Begley and Bassett, at least set an acceptable standard. Usage of the ball was impeccable as usual. Put me down for a serve of these ;)

AngelEyes
15 May 2004, 02:38
POTY
5. Begley
4. Carey
3. Roo
2. Bassett
1. McLeod

BTM
3. Carey
2. Begley
1. Roo

Rookie
Bock....thought he tried hard every time for the ball....good 1%er's! Potential was alright, but I dont know, Bock just showed absolute determination everytime...or at least I thought nearly everytime. Bring back the form of Jericho from last week. :(

This year I decided I would be more lienent on my votes, and maybe give Burton a fair go...honestly, why did I bother. :o

macca23
15 May 2004, 02:41
Originally posted by AngelEyes

This year I decided I would be more lienent on my votes, and maybe give Burton a fair go...honestly, why did I bother. :o

He was crap with a capital K!! ;)

AngelEyes
15 May 2004, 02:45
He is crap with a capital K!! ;)
you dont have to tell me that!

Note; Edit; italic change.

Fergus-6-
15 May 2004, 04:02
ok, my second post and you wont believe what Im about to say.... I wouldnt blame you for thinking this is a trolling effort as its my second post on BF....

The King is far from done, he has felt this kind of game coming for a while... your in for some exciting times, he has no intention of hanging the boots up and is elated with the way his body is feeling atm... having said that... not 14 days ago the "R" word was very close to being a reality.

now if everyone else could just pull their sh*t togethor the 8 isnt out of the equation, and from there....

doubters take your best shot... but from someone close to the camp (having just left it at 2:30am lol), the enthusiasm is back, and the body is finally right... the king is ready to rule again, he is far from dead LONG LIVE THE KING!

silky-smooth
15 May 2004, 05:43
POTY

5 - Wayne Carey
4 - Mark Ricciuto
3 - Nathan Bassett
2 - James Begley
1 - Chris Ladhams (50th game as well I think)

kirky
15 May 2004, 10:25
Originally posted by adelaide_girl
Chocolates to boiled lollies in a week... we were just pathetic... so happy i have shelled out more money to see us interstate.....

Am looking forward to the trip to the Gabba in round 17. Might go down to bloody "Hollywood on the GC" for the day and see another makebelieve world.

noddy
15 May 2004, 11:48
Last night's loss was not unexpected just the magnitude of it. :mad:

POTY

5. Wayne Carey
4. James Begley
3. Mark Ricciuto
2. Nathan Bassett
1. M Bode ( for the amount of time he spent on the ground he probably had more of the ball than 80% of his team mates)

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. James Begley
1. A McLeod

Rookie

Hentschel

Wayne's-World
15 May 2004, 12:02

BOG

BTM

3 - Carey - See above.
1 - Begley - See above

ROOKIE

1 - Hentschel - I'm amazed that he hasn't been mentioned before. Played a very useful game in defence, and along with Begley and Bassett, at least set an acceptable standard. Usage of the ball was impeccable as usual.
I didn't post much after last week, because I knew that emotion overides proper player assessments, and players become better than in fact what they are.
A week is long time in footy - back to reality ah!

Macca, good to see a really good assessment of the game. Agree completely with your votes, even Hentschell, who is still going to have up & down games.
Not embaressed to be beaten by a better side - we just need to be making good decisions on delisting and trades ( as I suppose we do each year)

McLeod23
15 May 2004, 16:16
POTY

5. Carey
4. Riccuito
3. Begley (I've liked him since we drafted him, and he's coming good. Will be part of our "new defence" alongside Hentschel and Massie. )
2. McLeod
1. ?

BTM

3. Riccuito
2. Carey
1. Basset

ROTY

1. Hentschel

(Jericho has a lot of raw talent but he quickly needs to develop sticky hands)

Wayne's-World
15 May 2004, 18:56
Originally posted by McLeod23

1(Jericho has a lot of raw talent but he quickly needs to develop sticky hands)
No he needs to start grabbing the ball in two hands rather than scooping, it in one handed ( or should I say trying to scoop).
Its junior grade stuff, which he has to realise doesn't cut it at AFL level.

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 20:42
BOG
5. Carey
4. Begley
3. Ricciuto
2. McLeod
1. Basset

BTM
3. Carey
2. Begely
1. Riccuito

Rookie
1. Mr Potential. Improving with every game. Made a few blunders but thats just the young player coming out in him.

Memo to the Crows 'Supporters' group :
YES we do realise you ARE the crows supporters group. No need to promote yourselves, get rid of the banner before I burn it. :rolleyes:

And maybe you could all spend your days making a banner that says 'GO CROWS'. :mad:

Some of them..well.. lets just say they have an uncanny resemblance to my Cabbage Patch Kid..... :o

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 20:45
Originally posted by Wayne's-World
No he needs to start grabbing the ball in two hands rather than scooping, it in one handed ( or should I say trying to scoop).
Its junior grade stuff, which he has to realise doesn't cut it at AFL level.
Yeah, he would usually grab most marks with Westies.

His hands last night arent normally the way they are. He's usually a pretty handy mark.

AngelEyes
15 May 2004, 20:47
Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy

YES we do realise you ARE the crows supporters group. No need to promote yourselves, get rid of the banner before I burn it. :rolleyes:

And maybe you could all spend your days making a banner that says 'GO CROWS'. :mad:

Some of them..well.. lets just say they have an uncanny resemblance to my Cabbage Patch Kid..... :o

Amen sister, AMEN! :)
That's needed to be said for a long time! They are there to support the crows, not themselves! :mad:

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 20:49
Amen sister, AMEN! :)
That's needed to be said for a long time! They are there to support the crows, not themselves! :mad:
They are dead set shocking.

To make matters worse, when they hold up the banner it makes it hard to see. I dont like to watch yellow fabric...:rolleyes:

AngelEyes
15 May 2004, 21:01
They are dead set shocking.

To make matters worse, when they hold up the banner it makes it hard to see. I dont like to watch yellow fabric...:rolleyes:

Whats also worse is the chants and the inability to yell out and support the team instead of saying; "Burton shouldn't of dropped that!""Get DELISTED Gallagher!"

They should be saying; "Go team!"

I have been captain of a sports side and you dont go far by shouting out negative comments to your players. You need to encourage, beef up their confidence and then they will play more confident and actually might win.

Hoping not to get barraged by some people for this comment but after experiancing the Port crowds and the Crows crowds, I think every supporter that sits backs and watch needs to have a good hard look at themselves...maybe even go visit the stadium on a Port match day...see, no HEAR the difference! Many red coats I have spoken to have commented about how loud the Port fans are to Crows crowds, and yet Port have dramatically less crowds.

Crows fans PLEASE find your voices next home match, and not your negative voices, POSITIVE voices!:)

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 21:12
Whats also worse is the chants and the inability to yell out and support the team instead of saying; "Burton shouldn't of dropped that!""Get DELISTED Gallagher!"

I have been captain of a sports side and you dont go far by shouting out negative comments to your players. You need to encourage, beef up their confidence and then they will play more confident and actually might win.

Hoping not to get barraged by some people for this comment but after experiancing the Port crowds and the Crows crowds, I think every supporter that sits backs and watch needs to have a good hard look at themselves...maybe even go visit the stadium on a Port match day...see, no HEAR the difference! Many red coats I have spoken to have commented about how loud the Port fans are to Crows crowds, and yet Port have dramatically less crowds.

Crows fans PLEASE find your voices next home match, and not your negative voices, POSITIVE voices!:)

To quote your great self ' Amen, sister, AMEN!'

And i had my reasons last night as to why I didnt participate in the 'action' so to speak. I have the flu so when I attempt yelling my throat clams up and I can't breathe. That and Asthma.

But for the rest of the crowd there's no excuse. What is even worse is that we get quieter as the margin grows bigger :mad:

Add another comparison to port supporter. A lot of crows supporters are much older and therefore think that cheering is some terrible cult action which therefore makes them a bunch of Crankers (refer Crown and Anchor-ians) :rolleyes:

DaveW
15 May 2004, 21:15
Take two:

BOG

5. Ricciuto
4. Carey
3. Edwards
2. Bassett
1. McLeod

BTM

3. Ricciuto
2. Carey
1. Clarke

Rookie

Meh

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 21:16

Rookie

Meh
you weren't even impressed with Hentschel? At all? I thought he was servicable. Hes got one cool head.

DaveW
15 May 2004, 21:19
you weren't even impressed with Hentschel? At all? I thought he was servicable. Hes got one cool head. His head was so cool it must have been frozen when he just stood there and allowed himself to be tackled by James Hird.

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 21:21
His head was so cool it must have been frozen when he just stood there and allowed himself to be tackled by James Hird.
Well yeah that was pretty shocking I must admit

But overall I thought he did just enough to get my vote ;)

jc67
15 May 2004, 21:32

**clap,clap,clap**
i wish this same attitude was adopted more on this site,
the only time ive upset people here has been for getting into them for not supporting their team.
to me there is NOTHING worse than being white anted by your own people.
(i think a lot of the time these people just aint bright enough to realise what they are doing!)

Stiffy_18
15 May 2004, 21:40
His head was so cool it must have been frozen when he just stood there and allowed himself to be tackled by James Hird. Yeah he was really supposed to have the eyes on the back of his head. How about some team work from Burton to let him know that he was about to be tackled. If thats the criteria that you are not allowed to be caught once in a while them Mark Ricciuto and anyone else for that matter should be dropped.

AngelEyes
15 May 2004, 22:01
Originally posted by jc67
**clap,clap,clap**
i wish this same attitude was adopted more on this site,
the only time ive upset people here has been for getting into them for not supporting their team.
to me there is NOTHING worse than being white anted by your own people.
(i think a lot of the time these people just aint bright enough to realise what they are doing!)

it needed to be said.

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 22:05
it needed to be said.
Yes and you my dear said it :p

Nice to see not everyone on here is invisible :rolleyes:

AngelEyes
15 May 2004, 22:12
Yes and you my dear said it :p

Nice to see not everyone on here is invisible :rolleyes:

But you instigated it. Props to you, props.

and as for being invisible, could be worse, you could be a Collingwood supporter! :p Only joking.

maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 22:12
BOG
5. Carey
4. Begley
3. Ricciuto
2. McLeod
1. Basset

BTM
3. Carey
2. Begely
1. Riccuito

Rookie
1. Mr Potential. Improving with every game. Made a few blunders but thats just the young player coming out in him.

I will pass the message onto mark this weekend Sarah:D :p The group in Adelaide are sooooooooooooooo pathetic:rolleyes: :mad:

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 22:17
Originally posted by maccas_no1
I will pass the message onto mark this weekend Sarah:D :p The group in Adelaide are sooooooooooooooo pathetic:rolleyes: :mad:
Thankyou. That is much appreciated.

Just one question: He doesnt know who I am does he? I hope not... :( I am always giving dirty looks to that mob :p

adelaide_girl
15 May 2004, 22:19

Great post Angel Eyes and RaDaR ReiLLy couldn't agree more

What i have always found so facinating is, you watch us play in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane or Perth or even at against the Power , 4 or 5000 people make more noise than the 45,000 + there for a sell out home game. I really fail to comprehend what is difficult to understand about supporting your side wether they are 5 goals down or 5 goals up.

That said to the idiotic "crow fans" i encountered at the players race at half time last night... spitting and trying to grab at players and general abuse isnt a real good way to get your point across, especially whan you consider that there were children in that area!!! Well in Melbourne for the Collingwood game onlly hope the few thousand there can once again show our home supporters how to support. :p

dyertribe
15 May 2004, 22:24

And then you ran and hid when your holier-than-thou attacks were easily retorted.

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 22:25

That said to the idiotic "crow fans" i encountered at the players race at half time last night... spitting and trying to grab at players and general abuse isnt a real good way to get your point across, especially whan you consider that there were children in that area!!! Well in Melbourne for the Collingwood game onlly hope the few thousand there can once again show our home supporters how to support. :p
You were pretty upset about that one!! :p

I agree 100%. Its not a good thing for the players either. They dont need to hear it and they wouldve been feeling bad enough. The club is supposed to pride itself on having the home ground advantage- certainly no advantage if our own supporters start turning on the playing group. :mad:

maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 22:28

Here Here Dani well said we had two of the old trolls come over for the Geelong game and they were sitting behind me and they spent to whole game bagging players especially Roo saying he was the worst captian we have ever had they are the most unpositive bunch of ****s I have ever come across and it's the reason why I will NOT sit with the group when I come to games at AAMI anymore and most of the ****s are at the bar getting ****ed or if we are losing most of them leave halfway through the last quarter, Crows Supporters Group my arse, bunch of ****ing sooks who just winge and moan and get this their motto this year is you are the voice yeah right find some voice you ****ing morons:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

adelaide_girl
15 May 2004, 22:30
You were pretty upset about that one!! :p

I agree 100%. Its not a good thing for the players either. They dont need to hear it and they wouldve been feeling bad enough. The club is supposed to pride itself on having the home ground advantage- certainly no advantage if our own supporters start turning on the playing group. :mad:

Yep, i was just a tad upset as you saw lol, even more so today as i have a 7 year old who no longer wants to go to the football.... So much for the family environment at the footy :mad:

dyertribe
15 May 2004, 22:31
Yep, i was just a tad upset as you saw lol, even more so today as i have a 7 year old who no longer wants to go to the football.... So much for the family environment at the footy :mad:

Only 80 more years until the little one is eligible to become a redcoat.

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 22:35
Aww thats horrible. Footy is supposed to be about fun. To hell with the suppporters who make it horrid.

And you werent a tad upset, you were extremely upset!! So upset that you threatened to dob them into police who were just a hop skip and jump away! :p

maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 22:36
Thankyou. That is much appreciated.

Just one question: He doesnt know who I am does he? I hope not... :( I am always giving dirty looks to that mob :p

They are the worst no Mark wouldnt know who you are he is the one that starts the chants and runs out witht he big flag when the players come down the race

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 22:38
Here Here Dani well said we had two of the old trolls come over for the Geelong game and they were sitting behind me and they spent to whole game bagging players especially Roo saying he was the worst captian we have ever had they are the most unpositive bunch of ****s I have ever come across and it's the reason why I will NOT sit with the group when I come to games at AAMI anymore and most of the ****s are at the bar getting ****ed or if we are losing most of them leave halfway through the last quarter, Crows Supporters Group my arse, bunch of ****ing sooks who just winge and moan and get this their motto this year is you are the voice yeah right find some voice you ****ing morons:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
Everything I have wanted to say for 9 years!!

Well done you deserve three cookies :p

topjars
15 May 2004, 22:39
BOG

5. James Begley
4. Wayne Carey
3. Nathan Bassett
2. Andrew McLeod
1. Mark Ricciuto

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. James Begley
1. Matthew Clarke

ROTY

3. Jericho
2. Hentschel
1. Avon

jc67
15 May 2004, 22:42
Originally posted by dyertribe
And then you ran and hid when your holier-than-thou attacks were easily retorted.
Actually i read 4 hours worth of your posts after that response a couple of days ago, i even wrote a response for you, but then i decided to take your advice.
Originally posted by dyertribe
As for my "arrogant opinions" if you don't like them don't read them. Simple.

I was out of line towards you that night mate.
I felt like i was the ony person on their side and everyone (as i said not restricted to BF) was really enjoying pulling my team apart.
I will always back them always no matter what.
and try not to snipe at them afterwards.

you and kane do post a lot of good stuff and i regret hoping into you both.

but everyone here could get a little more positive dont you think?

maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 22:46
Everything I have wanted to say for 9 years!!

Well done you deserve three cookies :p

Can I have three Monte Carlo's please:p ;)

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 22:52
Can I have three Monte Carlo's please:p ;)
I am disgusted. Subway cookies are the best one can possible get in this world of ours. :p And I can get them at a 50% discount!

Monte Carlos are made in a factory...argh..:o

maccas_no1
15 May 2004, 22:57
I am disgusted. Subway cookies are the best one can possible get in this world of ours. :p And I can get them at a 50% discount!

Monte Carlos are made in a factory...argh..:o

Ohh yeah forgot you work at Subway in that case I will have three of those M and Ms cookies thanks :D :D :D :D :D :D

RaDaR ReiLLy
15 May 2004, 23:03
Ohh yeah forgot you work at Subway in that case I will have three of those M and Ms cookies thanks :D :D :D :D :D :D
good choice :p They are a bestseller :p

jmorg1
16 May 2004, 12:07
Votes:
5 - Wayne Carey, took nine marks
4 - Wayne Carey, kicked six goals
3 - Wayne Carey, had 17 disposals
2 - Wayne Carey, great team player, allowed Scott Stevens to take a chest mark and then drop it
1 - Wayne Carey, for putting up with Brett Burton spoiling his marking attempt

RooDog
16 May 2004, 13:20
POTY

5- carey
4- begley
3- riccuito
2- hentschell
1- mcleod

BTM

3- begley
2- carey
1- hentschell

rookie

hentschell

disgusted with the effort on friday night, enough said on the above players already, we would want to beat collingwood!

Bockchoy67
16 May 2004, 13:52
Player of the year
5. Carey - Really tried hard. His best game yet for the Crows and showed he can play against the Dons without doing a knee. ;) Very happy with his game, one of very few that can say 'I had a go.'

4. Begley - Disposed extremely well of the ball, played very well in the back line, and beginning to prove his early - draft potential.

3. Basset - Played really well in my opinion. Always gave a contest, and has the better of Llyod for the game. Put his body on the line and made good decisions.

2. Riccuito - Definitely not his best game, but still cleared the ball well and added some drive in the center.

1. Ladhams - Worked well in the midfield, I was very happy with his effort until his "snap" about 100 metres into the air. :rolleyes: Still tried hard though.

Best Team Man
3. Carey - Contested well, set up great play, spoiled well on occasions, pushed to the ball, and kicked 6 goals. Great effort.

2. Basset - see above.

1. Begley - see above.

Rookie of the year
Hentschel - Had the number on Scott Lucas in the first half. Faded out at times but still contested and worked hard. Also kicked a goal. Not his best effort, but still very acceptable.

Bock is also heading on the right track.

Oh, and I have to ask, did Scott Stevens even get a possession?

And Perrie must get dropped! The Pez Dispenser's brain is not functioning right now.

AngelEyes
16 May 2004, 17:38
The poor little girl! :( I hope she changes her mind.

The fact that those supporters go and shout abuse at the players is nothing but a "feral" act. And some people call the Port mob this, I think some people are heavily mistaken! :mad:

crows98
16 May 2004, 18:08
B.O.G

5. Wayne Carey
4. Mark ricciuto
3. Nathan Bassett
2. Andrew McLeod
1. James begley

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. James Begley
1. Mark Ricciuto

Rookie

1) Jericho

acg_204*
16 May 2004, 21:20
I know I complained last week about too many good players and not enough votes...I swear I'll never complain again if that happens in the coming weeks.

Back on topic...

BOG

5 - Carey
4 - Ricciuto
3 - Begley
Daylight.
2 - Bassett
1 - McLeod

BTM

3 - Carey
2 - Ricciuto
1 - Begley

ROOKIE

Pass

maccas_no1
16 May 2004, 21:35
The poor little girl! :( I hope she changes her mind.

The fact that those supporters go and shout abuse at the players is nothing but a "feral" act. And some people call the Port mob this, I think some people are heavily mistaken! :mad:

I hope you arent referring to me???????? I dont abuse players and would never turn anyone against going to the footy:)

AngelEyes
16 May 2004, 22:18
I hope you arent referring to me???????? I dont abuse players and would never turn anyone against going to the footy:)
Well I just dont appreciate people calling the Port supporters "feral" when most are the total opposite. Friendly banter is one thing, disrespect for other people when some times their own backyard is the same, is unacceptable. I have family members and many friends who support the Power, and they are no way in one bit of detail "feral". The fact that people generalise their supporter group as "ferals" astounds me as I do not believe they should not be all considered to be "feral".

Saying all that the quoted post was not in reference to you it was in reference to the people that shouted obscene words towards the players as they walked into the changerooms to, re-group. Those people should have their membership revoked!

And that's my 2 cents. :o

jc67
16 May 2004, 22:20
And that's my 2 cents.
You deserve some change ;)

AngelEyes
16 May 2004, 22:33
You deserve some change ;)

was it that bad? :confused:

I swear I've never used the word; "Feral" so much before in my life! :eek:

jc67
16 May 2004, 22:41
was it that bad? :confused:

I swear I've never used the word; "Feral" so much before in my life! :eek:
no it was just my attempt at humour;) sorry if i offended you
BTW since I was 12 years old (over 25 years ago) and in the bays cheer squad I’ve / we’ve called port "the ferals", it's not that they really are it's more of a term or endearment;)

Kane McGoodwin
16 May 2004, 23:19
Arrrrrhhhh, what an aweful performance. Lack of manning up & accountability when they had control of the ball. Was a repeat of the Brisbane game... :mad:

BOG
5. Carey - easily & our only forward
big gap
4. Begley - looks to have found consistency in the backline
3. Ricciuto - best midfielder & still tried his guts out
2. Bassett - fought hard against Lloyd
1. McLeod - coz really struggling to find anyone else

BTM
3. Carey
2. Begley
1. Bassett

BR
1. Hentschel - not his best game, but far from disgraced.

Kane McGoodwin
16 May 2004, 23:43
Keep them coming...

18 Voters

Best on Ground
87 Carey (5)
61 Ricciuto (4)
56 Begley (3)
33 Bassett (2)
21 McLeod (1)
3 Ladhams
3 Edwards
3 Abstained
2 Hentschel
1 Bode
270 Total

Best Team Man
47 Carey (3)
27 Begley (2)
15 Ricciuto (1)
7 Bassett
3 Clarke
1 Ladhams
1 Hentschel
1 McLeod
6 No Votes (bigsjsmith)
108 Total

Best Rookie
7 Hentschel (1)
6 Abstained
2 Jericho
2 Bock
1 No Votes (bigsjsmith)
18 Total

marvin
17 May 2004, 11:03
BOG

5 - Carey
4 - Roo
3 - McLeod
2 - Begley
1 - (abstain)

BTM

3 - Roo
2 - Carey
1 - Begley

Rookie

(abstain)

Bodes_Girl
17 May 2004, 21:08
BOG

5. Mark Ricciuto
4. Wayne Carey
3. James Begley
2. Nathan Bassett
1. Andrew McLeod

BTM

3. Wayne Carey
2. Mark Ricciuto
1. Begley

Rookie
1. Trent Hentschel

Jars458
18 May 2004, 11:00
5 - Carey
4 - Begley
3 - Ricciuto
2- Bassett
1 - Edwards

Team Man

3 - Bassett - he's is the epitomy of team man and often leaves his own man to help out a team mate. Sure he got caught once by Lloyd but he stoped several other goals that way.

2 - Carey

1 - Roo

Rookie

Hentschell - had a pretty good game with the one mistake but getting caught by Hird is no bid deal

Note - Whoever voted for Ladhams must have been watching a different game to me. He is a passenger and completely unaccountable. Tim Notthing in the Brisbane game and now Dean Solomon in this game embarrassed him

Speaking of embarraising - how bad was Burton. Lets hope he forgets about that quickly and has some kicking practice this week.

Fergus
18 May 2004, 13:01
What a disaster:

BOG
5. Carey - by a mile
4. Begley
3. Riccuito
2. McLeod
1. Bassett

BTM
3. Carey
2. Begley
1. Bassett

Rookie
Hentschell

DaveW
18 May 2004, 13:04
Originally posted by Jars458
Note - Whoever voted for Ladhams must have been watching a different game to me. He is a passenger and completely unaccountable. Tim Notthing in the Brisbane game and now Dean Solomon in this game embarrassed him
I tend to agree, Ladhams was very ordinary on Friday night. I still think he can play though.

"Tim Notthing" - was that deliberate or just a Freudian slip?

napsyd
18 May 2004, 13:50
:(

BOG

5. Carey

4. Roo
3. Begley
2. Bassett
1. McLeod

BTM

3. Bassett
2. Carey
1. Begley

Rookie

1. Hentschel

Nige_Bix
19 May 2004, 00:27
BOG
5. Carey

4. Begley
3. Roo

2. McLeod
1. Bassett

BTM
3. Carey
2. Roo
1. Bassett

Rookie
Bock

Kane McGoodwin
20 May 2004, 21:45
Sorry about the delay, but my home PC has been playing up...

24 Voters

Best on Ground
116 Carey (5)
83 Ricciuto (4)
76 Begley (3)
41 Bassett (2)
30 McLeod (1)
4 Edwards
4 Abstained
3 Ladhams
2 Hentschel
1 Bode