View Full Version : More SANFL Trivia

FattyLumpkin
20 May 2004, 00:13
1. Who calmly stepped out of his shorts and the slotted a goal from the boundary at Unley Oval?

2. "What a ball-tearer" - the commentator & the game?

3. Who put his charges through and "end to end" training drill at 3/4 time one day when obviously displeased with the skill level displayed?

4. Robin Bennett (the ump) demonstrated those red coated fools at Footy Park un-necessary when he handled an irate spectator who invaded the ground. Just what punishment did he hand out?

5. Name the last player - make it the last few players - who wore glasses, complete with elastic band holding 'em on?

Cheers,

Fatty

Leaping Lindner
20 May 2004, 01:09
1). Paul Bagshaw. Robran did a similar thing at Prospect as well.

2). Ian Day. SA vs Victoria - don't remember the year.

3). Glenn Elliot did something like this to West Torrens at an Escort Cup game in mid season 1982. I remember because at work I picked them to win the next home and away game in the tipping comp. I was the only one who did, and everyone said I was mad, but they got up!

4). Don't know that one!

5). Stephen Boehm (CD), Geoff Blythen (PA) They're the only two I remember.

Uncle Steve
20 May 2004, 11:25
Originally posted by FattyLumpkin
3. Who put his charges through and "end to end" training drill at 3/4 time one day when obviously displeased with the skill level displayed?
Malcolm Blight, Woodville, at Glenelg Oval, 198....5???

Ford Fairlane
20 May 2004, 11:29
5) Paul Marrett too (PA)

Uncle Steve
20 May 2004, 12:00
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
Malcolm Blight, Woodville, at Glenelg Oval, 198....5??? I just did a quick bit of research to verify this. I couldn't find it, but did dig up this little story which warrants cut-and-pasting here. It's from the Advertiser, on Glenelg v Woodville at Glenelg, 1986:

At the team meeting, Cornes asked all his players who they were standing next day. Normally this is not a tough question, although, as always, Woodville's line-up does contain some names which are not exactly in the household category.
Robin Kidney, 19, one of Glenelg's interchange players, suddenly had a problem. He couldn't identify his Woodville counterpart.
Forward Stephen Copping, 29, leant over and whispered in Kidney's grateful ear; ``Bob Simunsen''.
And you don't want to know. When Cornesy asked Kidney the inevitable question, the little rover replied; ``Bob Simunsen''.
The Tigers broke up, as they should have.
For goodness sake! If Woodville hadn't produced Blighty, Simunsen still would be regarded as the club's greatest player; a classy, long-dropkicking centreman who carried the then 'Peckers (now Warriors) through their leanest years, and a born-too-soon champion who was good enough to win a Magarey Medal or two elsewhere at another time.

Incidentally Glenelg won by 39 points, denying Woodville its fourth win on the trot.

Adrian Shelton
20 May 2004, 12:53
Did Triggy wear glasses for a while too or am i mixing him up with Boehm? BTW i remeber one of those highlight tapes from the 80's showing Boehm getting his shorts torn off, Horn Rim specs and a jock strap isn't really a good look!

The Candy Man
20 May 2004, 13:47
Can't remember Trigg wearing glasses. As for losing the dacks, I always remember Phil Carman getting pantsed while in the play against Central District at the Ponderosa in 1972.

Play went on for ages, Carman chasing the ball around, tackling, getting tackled without any shorts on. It looked really funny. Just as well Shane Crawford wasn't playing or he would have lost the lot :D

Robranisgod
20 May 2004, 13:52
1. Who calmly stepped out of his shorts and the slotted a goal from the boundary at Unley Oval?

That incident with Baggy was at Adelaide Oval in the Qualifying final of 1973.

The Candy Man
20 May 2004, 15:48
Here's one I just thought of. Who was the Port Adelaide Player in the 1960s playing his first game of league football, and turned up to the game with the wrong colour shorts?

I used to play cricket against him and it is a very funny story, I might enter it on the other thread, but I'll wait and see if anyone knows first.

Robranisgod
20 May 2004, 17:04
Originally posted by The Candy Man
Here's one I just thought of. Who was the Port Adelaide Player in the 1960s playing his first game of league football, and turned up to the game with the wrong colour shorts?

I used to play cricket against him and it is a very funny story, I might enter it on the other thread, but I'll wait and see if anyone knows first.

Bruce Nyland

Portmagpies
20 May 2004, 17:19

Port v Woodville, round 9, 1986.

Blight put them through it in front of the members.

A sign of things to come I guess.

Oh and BTW, Port won by 54 points.

Ford Fairlane
20 May 2004, 17:26
Originally posted by Robranisgod
Bruce Nyland

When Denis Errey used to commentate the reserves with Dean Davis I'm pretty sure he told the story of how he was once tackled by Bruce Nyland after he (Denis) had managed to evade the clutches of several opponents. Apparently Bruce's eyesight wasn't exactly 20/20. Which might explain the shorts mix up ...

Uncle Steve
20 May 2004, 18:40
Originally posted by Portmagpies
Port v Woodville, round 9, 1986.

Blight put them through it in front of the members.

A sign of things to come I guess.

Oh and BTW, Port won by 54 points.

I just found the article. It was indeed Port, at Footy Park, in round 9 of '86. Although Port won by 66 after leading by 52 at lemon time.

Portmagpies
21 May 2004, 11:37
Ah the good old days when Port would routinely hand out eleven goal thrashings...

GrahamH
21 May 2004, 11:51
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
I just found the article. It was indeed Port, at Footy Park, in round 9 of '86. Although Port won by 66 after leading by 52 at lemon time.

After which, the mighty Warriors won something like 10 of their last 12 to make the finals (beating Port and Norwood :D )

Still my favourite period of SANFL football. The press Woodville were getting during the finals was bordering on Crows-like :D

The Candy Man
21 May 2004, 12:35
Originally posted by GrahamH
After which, the mighty Warriors won something like 10 of their last 12 to make the finals (beating Port and Norwood :D )

Still my favourite period of SANFL football. The press Woodville were getting during the finals was bordering on Crows-like :D

You're right. As a Norwood supporter I felt under seige in the Elimination Final as any attempt to barrack for the Redlegs that day was howled down by thousands of "Woodville supporters".

Everyone who wasn't a Norwood supporter was barracking for Woodville that day. They played so well and ran over the top of us. A mate of mine who followed Port Adelaide thought it was so funny, getting beaten by Woodville. He wasn't so sure the following week when Woodville downed his side as well.

It was also the week a mate, Jim Thiel, was killed ... so it was a very solemn occasion at Norwood that evening.

A couple of weeks later I went to the MCG to see my Hawks defeat Carlton in the VFL Grand Final. I was in a group of South Australians who also made the trip. On that day Woodville were playing Glenelg in the SANFL Preliminary Final.

Word must have reached people on the level above us that we were South Aussies because I heard something I never thought I would hear in a crowd of 100,000 people at a VFL Grand Final.

Someone leant over the balcony and yelled, "Anyone down there know how Woodville is going?". It seemed Woodville had captured everyone's imagination in that Finals series. :)

FattyLumpkin
22 May 2004, 17:31

2. "What a ball-tearer" - the commentator & the game?

4. Robin Bennett (the ump) demonstrated those red coated fools at Footy Park un-necessary when he handled an irate spectator who invaded the ground. Just what punishment did he hand out?

5. Name the last player - make it the last few players - who wore glasses, complete with elastic band holding 'em on?

Cheers,

Fatty

1. I'll take Paul Bagshaw. I was sure it was Unley, but stand corrected if it was Adelaide Oval. I also have some dim recollection of Robran doing something similar.

2. Yep, "Daisy" Day at some State Game from Footy Park.

3. Yep, Blighty & Woodville

4. Can't believe no-one has got this one yet! I recall it being a final, and think it was either a Port or Norwood fan who invaded the ground to "discuss" a few umpiring decisions with Bennett. Cops & officials came from everywhere. Didn't matter - Bennett orchestrated 2 of the best "knees to the groin" ever seen at Footy Park - I reckon the second was administered when the invader was in the grasp of the constabulary! Reckon Bennett would have got at least 6 games had there been trial by video!

5. Blethyn & Boehm are definites. Jeez Boehm was a kamikatzee!!I too have some recollection of Paul Marrett wearing the bi-focals. Did Harry Kernahan ever wear 'em? I remember some game when his contact lense was dislodged, somehow cutting his cheek. Reckon half the umps in charge of my beloved Peckers should have wore 'em!

Cheers,

Fatty

McAlmanac
24 May 2004, 03:24
Originally posted by Robranisgod
Bruce Nyland Used to teach PE at Findon High.

Baggy definitely stepped out of his shorts at Adelaide Oval. Blighty definitely did the drill at Footy Park.

Very entertaining reading - nice to read such nostalgia from a cybercafe in Bordeaux. :)

Portmagpies
24 May 2004, 14:29
Originally posted by The Candy Man
A mate of mine who followed Port Adelaide thought it was so funny, getting beaten by Woodville. He wasn't so sure the following week when Woodville downed his side as well.

Especially after we kicked nine goals in the opening term to lead by 36 points at quarter time!

If Woodville didn't kick something like 2.10 in the final quarter, they probably would've rolled North the following week as well.

BTW, anyone know where you can pick up an old Warriors guernsey these days?

Ford Fairlane
24 May 2004, 16:41
Originally posted by Portmagpies
Especially after we kicked nine goals in the opening term to lead by 36 points at quarter time!

If Woodville didn't kick something like 2.10 in the final quarter, they probably would've rolled North the following week as well.

BTW, anyone know where you can pick up an old Warriors guernsey these days?

Try "At The Toss Of A Coin", Unley Rd Malvern. Specialises in collectibles, but you could be a chance.

(btw didn't the Bays roll Woodville in the PF?)

Leaping Lindner
24 May 2004, 17:57
Yes. "Toss of the Coin" had one when I was over there about three months back. Also an old late 60's/early 70's "thin" style striped Woodville guernsey.

By the way Ford Fairlane what Port Magpies meant was

"If Woodville didn't kick something like 2.10 in the final quarter (of the preliminary), they probably would've rolled North the following week as well."

For what it's worth I tend to agree.They beat us under lights late in the 1986 season and they were awesome. Although 4 finals in a row may have been to much for them. We'll never know.

Leaping Lindner
24 May 2004, 17:58
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Used to teach PE at Findon High.

Baggy definitely stepped out of his shorts at Adelaide Oval. Blighty definitely did the drill at Footy Park.

Very entertaining reading - nice to read such nostalgia from a cybercafe in Bordeaux. :)

Bordeaux????

Gee it's a good life for some.;)

The Candy Man
24 May 2004, 22:38
Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
(btw didn't the Bays roll Woodville in the PF?)

Yes they did.

Portmagpies
26 May 2004, 13:13
Sorry about that.

I was referring to the Prelim against Glenelg.

I think all of SA was cheering for Woodville that year.

They quickly became cocky b@st@rds the next year until a late season slump ended their season.

Maybe that's where the seeds were planted for the current crop of blowhard Eagles supporters.