View Full Version : Seriously A Perfect Team And Plan To Beat West Coast.

wrennyboy
24 May 2004, 21:16
B: A.Kellaway Hall Newman
HB: Chaffey Gasper Campbell
C: Tivendale Johnson Blumfield
HF: Bowden Ottens Schultz
FF: Zantuck Richo Pettifer
Foll: Stafford Brown Hyde
Int: Fleming, Marsh, Fiora, Krakouer

In: Marsh,Pettifer,Blumfield,Zantuck
Out: Fletcher, Roach, Hartigan, Hilton

Ins:Reasons for ins and outs: Pettifer has been doing really well and deserves a chance give him a full game. Blumfield is back in form and we need him in our team, Marsh is an interesting well he had a great game for coburg but i will tell you my reasons for the selection soon and zantuck to boltster the forward line or backline and could act as a foil to richo.

Outs: Roach and Hartigan have had a good run they just need to have a full 120 minutes down and coburg. If we want to beat west coast we need quality not kids. Hilton has had his chance but just needs to have a run in the 2's and fletcher was shocking last week.

Now with stafford, Ottens and Marsh in the one side i would be very happy with this. I would be rotating the ruckman so much to make there ruckman get really tired cause we are running them around the ground too much.

If marsh is rucking we could have Ottens, Pettifer, Zantuck, Brown, Stafford and Richo up there. So this would mean that west coast cant do a chad cornes and stand in front of him cause all those other forwards are important and will lead out causing richo to be one on one which he is dominant.

I aint rewarding Marsh on form its just to give us the advantage in the ruck if we dont have it already and try not to get feed to their midfielders as easily.

Likely Matchups

Gasper On Gasper
Hall on McDougall
Newman On Matera
Fiora On Embley
Chaffey On Sampi
A.Kellaway on Staker

Hyde and fleming to tag judd and cousins.

Richo On Glass (If we get the ball in quick i think that glass will be shattered) :p

So its more of a proving game with pettifer, Marsh, Blumfield all at the crossroads so they need to prove something.

Thoughts?

kretchy
24 May 2004, 23:27
We have to at least break-even which is hard to see us doing up against the midfield rotation of Kerr, Cousins, Judd, Fletcher, Braun, Embley and Chick.

sante
24 May 2004, 23:42
Originally posted by kretchy
Kerr, Cousins, Judd, Fletcher, Braun, Embley and Chick.

VS

Bowden, Brown, Johnson, Krakouer, Campbell, Fleming and Hyde

Ripper
25 May 2004, 00:03
You blokes will flog them. Brown grows a leg when he plays them and they will be that brown concious that every one else will run amok.

corporal
25 May 2004, 09:46
I'd rather keep Hartigan in defense considering Westcoast have two of the best small forwards in the league in Matera & Sampi

Other then that this game is impossible to pick, Richmonds form is completely unreliable.

tiger of old
25 May 2004, 09:53
we matchup pretty well with west coast.get off to a good start i reckon we can roll'em.

cheers!

Captain Blood
25 May 2004, 14:16
Are you guys forgetting this is played in WA?
Love your optimism, but we will get toweled up big time

Otto's ladder
25 May 2004, 14:30
If we somehow manage to produce a victory over there, I think it would say more about how West Coast are travelling than us. The three games we won on the trot were ugly, and played against woeful opposition. We have not looked like a half decent team (excepting Richo's performances, Brown's form and Bowden last week) since round 1. I don't expect that to change in a hurry.

25 May 2004, 16:35
Blo ody he ll.

Winning 3 in a row is better than losing three in a row. Winning against woeful opposition is better than getting rolled by woeful opposition.

Just be bl oody happy they're not putting in performances like they did against Mebourne, Geelong and the Crows.

If they can beat Sydney in Sydney, they can just as easily suprise everyone in Perth.

Corporal, are you tipping them this week? I made a couple of bucks when you tipped them in Sydney...

wrennyboy
25 May 2004, 16:48
I'd rather keep Hartigan in defense considering Westcoast have two of the best small forwards in the league in Matera & Sampi

While i like hartigan i just think him and roach could use some time at coburg. They now know what it takes to be at the elite level they can work at that and become a better footballer.

I would rather have Chaffey on sampi and newman on matera

corporal
25 May 2004, 17:43
Originally posted by wrennyboy
While i like hartigan i just think him and roach could use some time at coburg. They now know what it takes to be at the elite level they can work at that and become a better footballer.

I would rather have Chaffey on sampi and newman on matera

Chaffey would get murdered by Sampi,

Bloody Tigers V Sydney, I was set to drop into the local tab untill my missus decided to wash her hair blah blah the outcome was no $4.15 return for me,

Regarding this week I'd have to see the odds, although I'm thinking West Coast are going to be pretty damn fired up and I've got a feeling Judd is going to turn in a blinder,

If I can get odds around $3 (which is probably wishful thinking) I might take a punt.

The only advantge of punting on the tigers is they are so damn inconsistent is it possible to get good odds here an there with the possibility that Richo will turn in a blinder.

Darth_Tiger
25 May 2004, 22:36
cant see us beating them over there. the mindset will be same as always - we cant win this game - and they will turn defensive and play as individuals a la the port game. eagles will be breathing fire just like port

eagleye
26 May 2004, 04:25
NO doubt West Coast have been down on form but that means we are desperate for a win and will give everything in this game i would expect. If it were in Melbourne i would give the tigesa fair chance of winning it but being at fotress subi i cant see u winning. It's our midfield rotations of Cousins, Kerr, Judd, Fletcher, Embley, Braun chuck in Wirra and Sampi and youve got a bloody good midfiled. Unfortunatly they have had no one to kick to all year exept Matera. Since coming back from injury Travis Gaspar has steadily improved and i wouldn't be suprised if he finally gets to his best this game or the next. from my understanding Tigers have a very tall forward line which may hurt us if you get enough of the ball. Our defense has been woeful at times this year and is very inexperienced. If the eagles midfilders can play well defensivly and offensivly then we will be pretty hard to beat. if Gaspar and / or Staker plays well i would think we would win quite comfortably. Ripper is right though Brown usually runs all over us, and could well kick a bag.

for what it's worth i tip eagles by 38

Coach Required
26 May 2004, 12:54
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
You blokes will flog them. Brown grows a leg when he plays them and they will be that brown concious that every one else will run amok.

LOL I wish!!!

I am expecting because its in Perth that this weeks results will be very similar to last weeks results against the power.

eagles will nail us by 10 goal

CJH
26 May 2004, 15:02
Remember this game is being played at Subiaco. Big ground. Fast track. Against a team with plenty of leg speed in the middle.

For this reason, Roach and Hartigan should retain their places. Also, for this reason, Marsh should not get a recall. We should not be in the business of 'rewarding' players like him. He is on our list solely as a reserve ruckmen, only to be used when Stafford or Otto go down. (That said, we may yet be playing ducks and drakes with their injuries)

Hilton has done OK since returning and does not deserve a dropping.

Fletcher should be treated in the same manner as Marsh - a reserve player, only to be used in the event of injuries to other more established midfielders. He would be the first 'out'

I understand that Campbell is a doubtful starter this week. He would be another 'out'.

I don't think Zantuck AND Richo works together in the forward line. Scrap that idea.

Although he has had only one week out, I would consider Rodan. Mainly for his footspeed.

I would also consider either of Blumfield or Pettifer to come in as well.

smasha
26 May 2004, 18:23
We will get beaten but I hope I 'm proved wrong by Ripper.

wrennyboy
26 May 2004, 21:12
Last Time We Played them the hitouts were 63-16 and that told the story. The Eagles set up their win with 11 unanswered goals either side of the half-time interval as Richmond could not contain tall forward targets Glen Jakovich and David Haynes, who combined to kick seven goals, with pint-sized Phillip Matera picking up all the spillages from marking contests and bagging five goals himself.

If you think about it we are looking better.

Gardiner played last game and killed us and he has done his knee.
Haynes and jako kicked 7 goals and they both arent there.
Vardy,king etc have been delisted

We have new players.

And with Ottens and staff against Cox we hav a better chance.

Just gotta stop their midfield and keep matera quiet and we will go close