View Full Version : Profit at the Dome V KP

Turbocat
25 May 2004, 16:16
From the GFC site:

=========================================
Cats rule out game switch 5:56:59 PM Mon 24 May, 2004
Paul Gough , Sportal
Geelong will not consider switching its potential round 18 blockbuster clash against St Kilda from Skilled Stadium to Telstra Dome despite attracting a record crowd of more than 51,000 to Docklands for Saturday night’s win over Essendon.
Cats’ chief executive Brian Cook revealed to Sportal on Monday that the Cats made between $80,000 and $100,000 more than they expected from Saturday night’s home game at Telstra Dome, which attracted a club record crowd at the venue of 51,400
The Cats downed the Bombers to entrench themselves in the top eight and their clash later in the season against the unbeaten league leaders could be expected to draw even more than Saturday night’s game – with the two clubs having already drawn 50,533 to the ground for this year’s Wizard Cup final.
However Cook said the match would remain at the Cats’ traditional home, even though the re-building work has reduced the capacity at Skilled Stadium to 22,000.
But Cook said the Cats still made more money out of a crowd of 22,000 at Skilled than they do from a crowd of 50,000 plus at Telstra Dome.
“We make $450,000 on a home game at Skilled with 22,000 but at Telstra Dome (with about 50,000) it’s around $320,000,” he said.
“And the reason for that is we keep everything at Skilled, where we share everything at Telstra Dome.”
Cook said for example the Cats’ kept 100 percent of the money they make from the sale of food and drink for matches at Geelong but only 10 per cent for matches at Docklands while the club received only 50 percent of reserved seat premiums for Telstra Dome matches but the full amount at Geelong.
“And then you also have the football considerations and certainly we would have more chance of beating St Kilda at Geelong than we would have at Telstra Dome (the Saints home ground).”
Cook said the Cats’ also had a commitment with the local council to play a minimum of seven games per season at Geelong with each home game being worth about $1.3 million to the Geelong economy.
And while delighted with Saturday night’s massive crowd – in what was one of three scheduled home games for Geelong at their Melbourne base this season – the Cats are still down on their overall budget for the season.
“We’ve been a bit down because of our poor start to the season (the Cats were thrashed in their first two home games) in areas like membership and coterie revenue,” Cook said.
“We were probably down about $250,000 overall so we were playing catch-up but after Saturday night (when the club made up to $100,000 more than expected after only budgeting for a crowd of 45,000) we are probably down about $150,000.”
============================================

It's amazing that Geelong are $130,000 better off having 22,000 at KP than 50,000+ at the Dome. It would take some serious money to ever get us to move.
One question , how much better of are team like the Bulldogs and Melbourne playing home games interstate. If we are so much better of with 22,000 then perhaps we could do some sort of deal with the doggies to play a game at KP. When was the last time they got 51,400 at the Dome?

ScouseCat
25 May 2004, 16:41
They must have done the maths, otherwise I can't work out why we don't play our Melbourne-based home games at the MCG. It would make more sense to play them there, even with the reduced capacity of the ground at the moment. Does anyone know what crowds we'd need at both the MCG and Telstra Dome to break even?

Cat In A Hat
25 May 2004, 17:03
Originally posted by ScouseCat
They must have done the maths, otherwise I can't work out why we don't play our Melbourne-based home games at the MCG. It would make more sense to play them there, even with the reduced capacity of the ground at the moment. Does anyone know what crowds we'd need at both the MCG and Telstra Dome to break even? from memory its about 25,000 at Telstra Dome... but dont quote me on it.

Fall Out Boy
25 May 2004, 17:06
Break even at TD is 35,000

ScouseCat
25 May 2004, 17:14
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Break even at TD is 35,000
What about at the MCG?

Fall Out Boy
25 May 2004, 18:30
Don't know, sorry.

catattack
25 May 2004, 19:33
Originally posted by ScouseCat
What about at the MCG?
Would it be a bigger attendance required at the MCG to break even considering we moved our home games from the MCG to the Telstra Dome?

Turbocat
25 May 2004, 20:42
I thought it was 30-35 for TD andf 45-50 for the G.I think it depends on Res.Seats taken up and xtra moneys paid for compensation.Since we make so make more at our home ground why would we move any unless we get a deal much more benificial at the Dome.
My other point was if we could get a team like the dogs to play a game against the Cats down here at KP. We could offer them a much greater profit than the ave. Dogs V Cats at the TD would give them.

Sammy D
25 May 2004, 22:20
I thought for the MCG is was something around 37500-40k

gocats
26 May 2004, 13:46
Pity the dogs were not allowed to use the Whitten Oval against interstate sides.

It is kind of sad seeing the AFL let the dogs just struggle at TD, they could setup so well like us if they were allowed to use the old oval.

They should play 3 home games in Darwin and dump the sydney game. They will make some money out of that.

Pretty good idea to get the dogs to sell a home game to us. Why not, they have a pretty good record at KP.

The Battle of Surburban Footy or something. Get a GFL all stars team vs WRFL all stars team or something as a curtain raiser.

gocats
26 May 2004, 13:47
I would like to see us play DOME home teams at the G and G home teams at the DOME for the blockbuster games. BUt we must have a contract with AFL and DOME for the 3 games.

bernabeu
26 May 2004, 23:16
Perhaps one of the reasons we chose Telstra over the G is because it's easier to get to for those fans (like myself), coming up from Geelong.

RoosterWedgie
27 May 2004, 18:04
Pardon my ignorance, but if we make more money from games at KP and have more of a home ground advantage at KP, why the hell do we play any games at the Dome, is it in some sort of agreement with the AFL?

Sammy D
27 May 2004, 19:55
For start, it would partly be in place for the melbourne members. Im sure not as many would sign up if we didnt play any home games up there.

As ive stated before id prefer to play at the 'G' than the dome for a few reasons, one being im an MCC member [Yes, yes. I can hear the boo's already] also the fact the GF is played there, it's surface is much better, more capacity, home of football, yada yada yada. But does anybody know when our current agreement with the TD expires?

Also, getting off at Spencer Street is great for Geelong fans when games are played at the dome, but it isnt that much different than getting off at Richmond for matches at the 'G'.

Turbocat
27 May 2004, 22:37
Today in the Adi they made reference to a profit for the Cats of $22.0 for every person at KP and $7.0 at the Dome but they still request games in Melbourne at the Dome for "greater National exposure fro the club and its sponsors"So, Melbourne home games will be with us for the future.I prefer the Melbourne games to be played at the Dome.It probably depends on your setup , seats , mode of transport to and from; etc.My seats at the Dome are level 2 HFF and dont think I could get as good at the G. Anybody in the Members at the G, on the other hand, probably would think their position is the best.I also think the size of crowds the Cats draw on ave creates a great atmosphere at the Dome and the bonus of staying dry on wet game days are all good additional reasons to Go the Dome

Sammy D
28 May 2004, 23:40
Originally posted by Turbocat
Anybody in the Members at the G, on the other hand, probably would think their position is the best.I also think the size of crowds the Cats draw on ave creates a great atmosphere at the Dome and the bonus of staying dry on wet game days are all good additional reasons to Go the Dome

I know i have an invested interest and the Dome would be a fantastic place if they could get everything right. The amount of ppl who slip over there is unbelievable, and dont give me the its not the surface routine.
BUT

Footy with no weather conditions just isnt footy! It is a great element that is being taken out of the game. Basically when footy is played in the rain you find who the real supporters are [allow good excuses] and you find who the real star players are. Not ones who can just play in perfect conditions.

Turbocat
29 May 2004, 19:00
Sammy, are horse who only win in the mud, the star horses? Are the people who prefer seats to standing in the outer any less a supporter?
I’ve done that stuff years ago. I was there for an often referred to North Melbourne Match in the early eighties when its was a full house at KP (when a full house meant 30,000+), jammed in, shoulder to shoulder, unable to move until the heavens opened and I watched 30,000+ turn in to a couple of thousand by half time.The rain came down in Noah and the Ark type proportions that day and a bunch of us stayed there, soaked thru, dripping, till the end, fuelled admittedly by the amber fluid but to a degree but it was like a rights of passage. As I remember it the Kangas either didn’t score or didn’t kick a goal after half time, the Nankervis boys were running around doing there imitation of what footy would be like a decade later and we were cheering and saluting each goal by Geelong by pulling another ring top. Great day and at the end I went home dethawed and flaked it. Ah the stupidity of unincumbent youth but that was the era.
It was a time when one would just go to the footy at the drop of a hat, take an esky into the outer, grab a good spot and watch the 2nds play before the big boys. Things change. Taking beer to the football-GONE, Just turning up and hoping to grab a good position- I GAVE THAT UP YEARS AGO, watching the 2nd,s –NEARLY GONE.
This is this era of pristine conditions for spectators and players Suburban grounds are all but dead and we now maximize the conditions of the best venues. TV has ensured that product produced has been sanitized, so, no more biffo. The draft and the cap have changed the process of getting players, even the game is a different sport with the emphasis on possession placed a premium rather then the emphasis on yardage.The so called real players of that era would mostly struggle in the running game of today. Things change.
There will always be a spot for the natural weather effected stadium, cant see KP putting a top over any time soon and there will always be spot for the hard ball get type player but most of the players these must have dry ground running ability because most grounds are dry. These days when I take my family to the footy in Melbourne its nice to be able turn up , know where I’ll be sitting, what conditions I have to prepare them for and what type of behavior will probably happen around them.Its just progression

Sammy, the Dome is the future, and its here now !

Jim Boy
29 May 2004, 21:54
I’ve done that stuff years ago. I was there for an often referred to North Melbourne Match in the early eighties when its was a full house at KP (when a full house meant 30,000+), jammed in, shoulder to shoulder, unable to move until the heavens opened and I watched 30,000+ turn in to a couple of thousand by half time.The rain came down in Noah and the Ark type proportions that day and a bunch of us stayed there, soaked thru, dripping, till the end, fuelled admittedly by the amber fluid but to a degree but it was like a rights of passage. As I remember it the Kangas either didn’t score or didn’t kick a goal after half time, the Nankervis boys were running around doing there imitation of what footy would be like a decade later and we were cheering and saluting each goal by Geelong by pulling another ring top. Great day and at the end I went home dethawed and flaked it. Ah the stupidity of unincumbent youth but that was the era.

That was one of my favourite matches. I remember standing on the seats that ringed the oval on the outer wing. There could not have been more than 200 people on that wing by 3/4 time such was the exodus. And what glorious football, North failing to trouble the scorers after half time.

Turbocat
30 May 2004, 14:36
By the way , can anyone explain how the Hawks make any money from hosting the Crows at the G with a crowd around the 23,000 mark?

gocats
1 Jun 2004, 16:49
By the way , can anyone explain how the Hawks make any money from hosting the Crows at the G with a crowd around the 23,000 mark?

They don't, Vic clubs have got to try think of ways to bring crowds to games vs interstate clubs in Melbourne.

We are lucky, we have Kardinia Park.

The others play in Tassie/ACT/Darwin, but they need to some how bring the crowds.

Sammy D
1 Jun 2004, 18:16
Sammy, are horse who only win in the mud, the star horses? Are the people who prefer seats to standing in the outer any less a supporter?
It was a time when one would just go to the footy at the drop of a hat, take an esky into the outer, grab a good spot and watch the 2nds play before the big boys. Things change. Taking beer to the football-GONE, Just turning up and hoping to grab a good position- I GAVE THAT UP YEARS AGO, watching the 2nd,s –NEARLY GONE.
This is this era of pristine conditions for spectators and players Suburban grounds are all but dead and we now maximize the conditions of the best venues. TV has ensured that product produced has been sanitized, so, no more biffo. The draft and the cap have changed the process of getting players, even the game is a different sport with the emphasis on possession placed a premium rather then the emphasis on yardage.The so called real players of that era would mostly struggle in the running game of today. Things change.
There will always be a spot for the natural weather effected stadium, cant see KP putting a top over any time soon and there will always be spot for the hard ball get type player but most of the players these must have dry ground running ability because most grounds are dry. These days when I take my family to the footy in Melbourne its nice to be able turn up , know where I’ll be sitting, what conditions I have to prepare them for and what type of behavior will probably happen around them.Its just progression

Sammy, the Dome is the future, and its here now !

Well, its been a while but...

Firstly, im not saying players who can only play in good conditions arent good players, but players like Hird & Voss not only stand out over other players because they are obviously more skillful but they are as effective if not more in poor conditions.

Well i cant compete with that north game, but i was at that one at KP when it poured about 3-4 years ago. From memory their was like 8000 people there and I was one of like maybe 300 in the standing area to see us get flogged by Carey, Colby & the like.

As for turning up sitting where you want, how does the Dome differ from the MCG? Except it costs more on the bottom level @ the dome than it does the 3rd level, while at the MCG its all the same!

If the dome is the future, the future is bleak and substandard. They cant even get the grass right for christs sake! Even though the grass now looks better players continually cant stop slipping over on it. Maybe they painted the grass again :rolleyes:.

I believe Mike Sheahan stated the other day in the HUN, the dome is the new 'Mecca of football'. What a clueless fool

Fall Out Boy
1 Jun 2004, 19:05
Originally posted by Sammy D
If the dome is the future, the future is bleak and substandard.

Well said.

gocats
2 Jun 2004, 15:27
While it is a good setup at the moment, once Kardinia can hold around 30K, then we should move all games back to Geelong.

Just have to setup different type of memberships and work out perfectly if we could get a doggies home game in Geelong. We would be like the interstate teams, 12 games at Kardinia Park.

Maybe we could be the team with the intiative and play a home game in NZ and still have 11 games at KP?

What about the loss in revenue from Dome Fixtures? We make $450K with 22K, the day when we can make a $1m per home game, we will not need Telstra Dome. So what if heaps of Pie supporters cannot get into the ground, imagine the buzz around Geelong when the Pies and Bombers are coming to town.

Watching the games on TV at KP against Melb and Port 03, the atmosphere must be amazing looked like a soccer match, with some of those goals kicked and the way the crowd was supporting the cats.

What about the Melbourne based fans? Setup a membership for all the away games in Melbourne (At least 5 Games) and include some KP games.

What about going national? It aint really helping at the moment, not much free to air for us. Install some lights at KP, we could get night games.

What do others think???