View Full Version : Who should Choco take with him

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 14:54
Most people here are saying our famous finals failures are Choco's fault. For the time being, I'm not going to argue that point. But surely some players have let us down too. In the Josh Carr thread I've pointed the finger at Dew and S. Burg, but apparently now I'm being harsh. So who should go?

Porthos
4 Jun 2004, 15:17
Have a squizz at Schoey's stats in losing finals.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 15:34
16 Disposals Avg, and 1 goal a game.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 15:40
In comparison across the same games, Tredders has

13.4 disp. avg., and 1 goal a game.

Porthos
4 Jun 2004, 15:46
Originally posted by Pred
16 Disposals Avg, and 1 goal a game. Your stats there are wrong unless you're including West Coast.

vs Kang - 10 touches, 1 goal
vs Bris - 22 touches
vs Haw - 18 touches, 1 goal
vs Coll - 13 touches, 1 goal
vs Bris - 16 touches
vs Syd - 13 touches
vs Coll - 19 touches.

Actually, he didn't kick a goal in any of West Coast's finals either.

0.3 against Collingwood for us stands out though.

All that said, it appears those stats are only slightly below his career average.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 16:00
Ah yeah ok, I got one column mixed up for one game.

Still, I haven't done the stats for the other midfielders in those games, but a 16 disposal average is probably far from worst for a midfielder in those games.

Porthos
4 Jun 2004, 16:03
I think you'd struggle to find much worse from a non-tagger/benchsitter.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 16:05
Let's assume for a minute that is correct, are you saying Schofield is the only player who has let us down?

(Not having a go at you, at least you have responded)

Porthos
4 Jun 2004, 16:17
No, I'm just saying he's the player that I could most obviously say has let us down, as he had the experience to make a difference, the opportunity to make a difference and was in the position to make a difference and didn't make a difference.

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 16:29
From 2001 onwards
Average against Hawthorn at 123.2 ......... In SF 69 points (at AAMI)
Average against Essendon at 124.6 ......... In Finals 83 points (both at AAMI)
Average against Collingwood 103.65 ........ In finals 81.5 (1 AAMI 1 away)
Average against Brisbane 83.5 ............. In finals 69 (Away)
Average against Swans 90 .................. In final 88 (at AAMI)

No opinion here, these are just facts.
Do we play different in finals or not?

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 16:38
Originally posted by PAfolwr
From 2001 onwards

Do we play different in finals or not? Don't know why you pulled that out. There is no question we have performed poorly in finals. The question is, which players have let us down?

Andre
4 Jun 2004, 16:38
From 2001 onwards

Do we play different in finals or not?
I think the general opinion is we don't - except for some shocking match-ups like Stevens to the forward pocket, but other sides do - ie. a lot more man on man and tighter checking. The types of game we struggle with in the H & A as well, but don't encounter there often. The exception to that was we always encoutered that game style against the Roos under Pagan - and no surprise we lost every one of those.

An interesting one would be who of our players has consistently failed against the Kangaroos (under Pagan). I'd hazard we'll see the same names that crop up when discussing finals failures.

Macca19
4 Jun 2004, 16:48
Most people here are saying our famous finals failures are Choco's fault. For the time being, I'm not going to argue that point. But surely some players have let us down too. In the Josh Carr thread I've pointed the finger at Dew and S. Burg, but apparently now I'm being harsh. So who should go?

Very very harsh on Dew. Hes been excellent in our finals and has been one player to stand up. His 2002 Finals series was exceptional. He almost single handedly won us the Collingwood final when noone else would stand up, he was excellent against Essendon and performed well against Brisbane. I thought he was our Best FInals Player that year but they chose Bish instead.

Anyway, heres his stats:

1999 - Kangaroos - 10 disposal, 1 mark, 4 goals.

2001 - Brisbane - 10 disposals, 1 mark
2001 - Hawthorn - 6 disposals, 1 mark, 2 goals (kicked a ripper goal with a couple of minutes left that should have sealed the game)

2002 - Collingwood - 11 disposals, 2 marks, 3 goals
2002 - Essendon - 17 disposals, 3 marks, 3 goals
2002 - Brisbane - 17 disposals, 7 marks, 4 goals

2003 - Sydney - 7 disposals
2003 - Essendon - 12 disposals, 2 marks, 2 goals
2003 - Collingwood - 14 disposals, 2 marks, 2 goals

Dunno what more he could have done in the last two years. Hes one of the only players that has performed equal or better in finals than in regular season. Consistently kicked goals too.

Really, most of our players have let us down in finals. A better question would be who HASNT let us down in finals.

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 16:50
Don't know why you pulled that out. There is no question we have performed poorly in finals. The question is, which players have let us down?
It has happened too often (ie every single time) to blame the players. The coach has to take responsibility after a while.
Not to kick 100 points once out of 8 game (excluding the Roos one) implies the problem is systemic.
I think we all agree there is a problem. Perhaps disagree on who is responsible.

One or two games? Could easily be players fault.

Game after game for 8 games, then:
Is it picking players that do not perform? Coach's job.
Is it going too defensively (Chad at back Tredrea on his own)? Coach's job.
Gameplan lets other teams shut you down too easily? Coach's job.
Any other flaw? Coach to fix it, nobody else will.

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 16:57
Originally posted by Macca19
Very very harsh on Dew. Hes been excellent in our finals and has been one player to stand up. ...
Dunno what more he could have done in the last two years. Hes one of the only players that has performed equal or better in finals than in regular season. Consistently kicked goals too.
If we look at his *% of goals scored* Vs *total team score* he has probably done even better than during the season proper.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 16:59
I find it fascinating that when it comes to the players, noone apart from Porthos has so far been willing to actually name anyone who should be cut. Not one. C'mon, I'm sure there are players you think should go. Or are we waiting until after the finals to judge that?

Santos L Helper
4 Jun 2004, 17:05
I find it fascinating that when it comes to the players, noone apart from Porthos has so far been willing to actually name anyone who should be cut. Not one. C'mon, I'm sure there are players you think should go. Or are we waiting until after the finals to judge that?

I said to many people (Macca included) that we needed to trade Stevens after the Essendon final in 2002. I'll be interested to see how we go with him gone, but I'm concerned by a lack of hardness in the middle.
Others who really need to stand up...

Carr
Schofield
Tredrea
K CORNES.......bad finals series should see him go
Brogan
Bishop

How about them apples?

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 17:09
Said it last year, and numerous times during the year. Nothing has changed.

Stevens was no good, but was it him or the system that "forced" us to play through him? With him there we would be playing the same system again this year, with him gone we "may" end up playing a different one.
Schofield is very good when we are running, but the opposite when we need to slog. We really need to find a replacement for him before the finals. running out of time.
Chad, Kane, Dew are big game players, we need some more like them, plus we need to release them so they have bigger roles.
Lade can be a big game player.

Tredrea has failed, but only because
1. The ball doesn't get there
2. Resting ruckmen up there do not help him. Need to get him another tall or two to help.

Sorry Pred I do think we have, and have had, the players to do better.
A different approach is what is required IMO.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 17:12
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Carr
Schofield
Tredrea
K CORNES.......bad finals series should see him go
Brogan
Bishop

How about them apples? Your effort at dispensing apples has been most appreciated. :)

Still waiting for other farmers to arrive at market though.

Macca19
4 Jun 2004, 17:12

I wrote a list of players down but it was getting lengthy so I changed my post to say who has performed in finals.

Here is the list.

Stevens, P Burgoyne, S Burogyne, Montgomery, Wakelin, Primus has been well beaten a few times, C Cornes played 2 rippers and some shockers, K Cornes, Schofield, Wanganeen hasnt really played a standout game, Mead, Lyle, Kingsley, Pickett, Brogan.

Theres probably more.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 17:19
Sorry Pred I do think we have, and have had, the players to do better.So do I, and I have never said any differently.

I agree with everyone else that the coaching has had problems. But regardless of coaching, it is just a game of football.

You go out and get the flamin' footy. If you are prepared to give every last ounce of yourself to do that, you're in with half a chance. Too many haven't been prepared to to that.

Not many players have stood up in the midst of a bad game and said "stuff this - I am just gonna that that bloody ball, no matter what". Surely each player that simply throws in the towel is reponsible for that. Throwing in the towel is not the Port way. It's an affront to the jumper, a disgrace.

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 17:21

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 17:28
So do I, and I have never said any differently.

I agree with everyone else that the coaching has had problems. But regardless of coaching, it is just a game of football.

You go out and get the flamin' footy. If you are prepared to give every last ounce of yourself to do that, you're in with half a chance. Too many haven't been prepared to to that.

Not many players have stood up in the midst of a bad game and said "stuff this - I am just gonna that that bloody ball, no matter what". Surely each player that simply throws in the towel is reponsible for that. Throwing in the towel is not the Port way. It's an affront to the jumper, a disgrace.
Perhaps if a player is given a too rigid role, then if that role fails he is either too "scared" or not "used to" going against instructions. If someone (say a Kane Cornes) is told to tag, he will not let go of his opponent to go and take the game by the scruff of the neck
I cannot help but think of Michael Stevens whenever I say that. He was definitely one player that seemed too scared to play his natural game.

Ford Fairlane
4 Jun 2004, 17:34
At this point, Schofield, Cochrane, Wakelin, Montgomery, Hardwick (will retire). I'm willing to give the younger players a bit more leeway. But ask me again after the finals.

Hall and Champion are under the pump, but that won't be determined by finals.

Arsene Wenger
4 Jun 2004, 17:41
Heres who i rekn should go

Wakelyn
thurstans
SB
Dew

Whoever it was that highlighted dewys finals performances - that really surprised me -

Macca19
4 Jun 2004, 17:42
Id prefer to wait till the end of the year before saying who should go and what not but right now here are players I would be looking at:

Hall - definately gone you'd have to say
Hardwick - already said its his last year
Ackland - Obvioulsy loved by the coaching staff and will be kept for backup reasons only but still has to do loads more
S Burgoyne - Trade bait
Champion - Hasnt done enough but apparently the Power had been eyeing him for a few years so unlikely they will get rid of him
Cochrane - would like to think he is gone...but will be kept
Dew - id like to keep him but i think he will be traded
Gilham - Would love to keep him but may be traded/delisted
Wakelin - delist him.
Schofield - needs to lift enormously. will be kept but would like to think his spot is in major jeapordy

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 17:45
Gilham - Would love to keep him but may be traded/delisted
Why is that Macca? :confused:
Of the little I have seen of him (very little) he is just about the most exciting.
Do I take it that his everyday SANFL form does not reflect that?

Pred
4 Jun 2004, 17:46
Originally posted by Arsene Wenger
Wakelyn
thurstans
SB
Dew

Whoever it was that highlighted dewys finals performances - that really surprised me - Well....I highlighted them....but I made a couple of mistakes - he had actually done a little bit better than I thought and is our highest goalkicker in finals (not in a big way).

kaysee
4 Jun 2004, 17:50
Without looking at any stats and going just on memory I think the following players have contributed most to our bad finals record (ie. losing to Collingwood & Sydney in 2003... and then to Collingwood again in 2003)

Schofield - poor ball use, lack of hardness.
Stevens - lack of hardness, picks up easy possies.
Kingsley - poor ball use, lack of hardness.
K. Cornes - still young but poor ball use.
P. Burgoyne - has gone missing, brain freezes.
W. Tredrea - not bad but just disappointed in his leadership.
Montgomery - failed each year in our 1st finals.

and our Rucks have often been down come finals.

SKC

Macca19
4 Jun 2004, 18:26
Why is that Macca? :confused:
Of the little I have seen of him (very little) he is just about the most exciting.
Do I take it that his everyday SANFL form does not reflect that?

General feeling than anything else.

Thought his form was the most impressive during the pre season and thought he had assured himself a spot but wasnt even in the emergencies for Round 1, yet Pettigrew, who had a modest pre season was in the side.

His SANFL form is solid without being a standout (tho he hasnt played for ages)

Then again....I guess our defenders usually get 4-5 years to prove themselves.

He may want to go back to Melbourne for more oppurtunities.

Andre
4 Jun 2004, 18:40
Originally posted by kaysee
Without looking at any stats and going just on memory I think the following players have contributed most to our bad finals record (ie. losing to Collingwood & Sydney in 2003... and then to Collingwood again in 2003)

Schofield - poor ball use, lack of hardness.
Stevens - lack of hardness, picks up easy possies.
Kingsley - poor ball use, lack of hardness.
K. Cornes - still young but poor ball use.
P. Burgoyne - has gone missing, brain freezes.
W. Tredrea - not bad but just disappointed in his leadership.
Montgomery - failed each year in our 1st finals.

and our Rucks have often been down come finals.

SKC
Except for Tredders pretty much agree with that. And no surprise regarding the midfielders that the biggest failures are the receivers. We sorely need another in and under midfielder to stand up. It could be Cassisi - but if he's kept on tagging who knows, it could be Ebert, but he doesn't even get into the midfield at all. Somewhat ironic (in a depressing way), that the only youngster to get a good crack in the midfield from the start lately is Salopek - and he's another receiver at the moment. :eek:

Any more news on the Francou comeback ? I'd feel alot more confident about actually winning the midfield in a final with Francou, James and Carr getting 'down and dirty' and getting the ball for us.

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 18:44
General feeling than anything else.
Ouch.
Usually gut feelings should be listened to. :(

Thought his form was the most impressive during the pre season and thought he had assured himself a spot but wasnt even in the emergencies for Round 1, yet Pettigrew, who had a modest pre season was in the side.
I saw it pretty much like you did.

... His SANFL form is solid without being a standout (tho he hasnt played for ages)

Then again....I guess our defenders usually get 4-5 years to prove themselves.
That's why I wasn't too upset, as the coaching staff will know if his body is ready or not more than us, and that's what I put him not getting picked down to.

... He may want to go back to Melbourne for more oppurtunities.
Double ouch.
That will really p*ss me off. :mad:

Bresh
4 Jun 2004, 18:56
IMO, there's not any individual player that you can point the finger at for our finals losses... everyone has let the team down. We might as well have fielded 22 Kingas as was the 'bombscare' nature of our team over the last three years, just indecisive, scared that they will be the one to screw up... Result, everyone screws up.

Further to a point I alluded to recently in another thread, we have precious few players, if any, that can 'make something out of nothing', i.e. just pull a goal out of their backside, make a crucial tackle (in the context of big games, not the H&A season). Brent Guerra was the prime exponent of both, and obviously we were disgusted at his lack of opportunities.

You've just got to pick the guys who will back themselves and do the one-percenters at all costs. When we add up all those inches, that's the ****ing difference between winning and losing. Someone get the players to watch Any Given Sunday FFS.

Porthos
4 Jun 2004, 18:57
He may want to go back to Melbourne for more oppurtunities. Doubt it'll be for that. Right now its not as though he'd be getting more opportunities at another club as he's long-term injured. If he did want to go to Melbourne, I dare say he'd rather wait until his brother is drafted or not and try for there.

On the other hand, if trading him would go some way towards picking up a bloke like Nick Smith, I'd be all for it.

Ford Fairlane
4 Jun 2004, 19:16
Originally posted by Andre
Any more news on the Francou comeback ? I'd feel alot more confident about actually winning the midfield in a final with Francou, James and Carr getting 'down and dirty' and getting the ball for us.

After Francou consulted with the club doctors the day after making his surprise comment, the comeback idea has been shelved.

FWIW I thought Pettigrew was more impressive than Gilham in the preseason. Wasn't surprised to see the Grew get in first.

Andre
4 Jun 2004, 21:08
Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
After Francou consulted with the club doctors the day after making his surprise comment, the comeback idea has been shelved.
Which only makes it more important to allow potential 'in and under' midfielders Cassisi and Ebert time in the midfield - as midfielders. I live in hope, if not expectation.

PAfolwr
4 Jun 2004, 21:24
Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
... FWIW I thought Pettigrew was more impressive than Gilham in the preseason. Wasn't surprised to see the Grew get in first.
Depends what one means by impressive.
We need a fullback now that Paxman has gone.
Gilham looked and acted every bit like a natural fullback. That was impressive as very few players can do that. Actually even fewer than that can.
Was not referring to any other aspects of his game.

Ford Fairlane
5 Jun 2004, 00:20
Depends what one means by impressive.

Composure under pressure, footy smarts, general athleticism, versatility, pace.

We need a fullback now that Paxman has gone.
Gilham looked and acted every bit like a natural fullback. That was impressive as very few players can do that. Actually even fewer than that can.
Was not referring to any other aspects of his game.

I didn't really look from that perspective, but he can't afford to panic on the last line like he did a couple of times. That should come with experience, but I thought the Grew was more composed straight up.

PAfolwr
5 Jun 2004, 11:05
For something slightly different

Stuart Dew vs Essendon since (and including) 2001, as that is when he really started scoring goals.

Round .2 2001 6.0
Round 17 2001 1.4
Round 11 2002 6.0
Final .. 2002 3.2
Final .. 2003 2.0
Round .1 2004 6.0

Wow!

Pred
5 Jun 2004, 12:22
Yeah, now if he'd only pull his ****ing finger out against the other clubs.

Fullarton Power
5 Jun 2004, 12:50
I can't believe you guys who are suggesting Shaun Burgoyne or Stewie Dew as trade bait. Come on, reality check people.

Why trade two great opportunist forwards? Have a look at the mess with Guerra. Want two more examples of that? Trade Shaun and Peter would almost certainly want to follow. Wise move.

As with last year its time for some hard decisions. We have too many passengers. Williams has to go, no question.
The following players should follow

Wakelin ( Delisted on current form )
Schofield ( Trade, way too soft)
Hardwick ( retired, although I'd love to see him continue )
Hall ( Who would have this dud ?? )
Bishop ( See above )
Brogan ( Trade. Severe loss of form this year )
Cochrane ( Trade )

About time the kids like White, Gilham, Pettigrew, Surjan and Chaplin were given the green light. If Surjan isn't signed on a long term prospect, I'll be very cheesed off. he has all the signs of another Josh Carr, a real tough little bastard who's got a bit of mongrel. Just what we need.We need to bolster our defence and get some good running flankers to replace Dimmer and Gav.

sog35
5 Jun 2004, 13:31
Originally posted by Fullarton Power
I can't believe you guys who are suggesting Shaun Burgoyne or Stewie Dew as trade bait. Come on, reality check people.

Why trade two great opportunist forwards? Have a look at the mess with Guerra. Want two more examples of that? Trade Shaun and Peter would almost certainly want to follow. Wise move.

As with last year its time for some hard decisions. We have too many passengers. Williams has to go, no question.
The following players should follow

Hall ( Who would have this dud ?? )
Bishop ( See above )
Cochrane ( Trade )

About time the kids like White, Gilham, Pettigrew, Surjan and Chaplin were given the green light. If Surjan isn't signed on a long term prospect, I'll be very cheesed off. he has all the signs of another Josh Carr, a real tough little bastard who's got a bit of mongrel. Just what we need.We need to bolster our defence and get some good running flankers to replace Dimmer and Gav.

I agree with not trading Burgoyne and that's almost where it stops.

I cannot comprehend the trading of Brogan. He is still carrying an injury I think that is pretty clear to see. He is the future of our ruck division and without him going forward we will never be close to the flag. He has mongrel about him as well which you convinently overlook.

Dew is not a GREAT opportunist forward. He is an average one. He could be a GREAT wingman.

The Floodbuster
5 Jun 2004, 14:40
Dew should go back to Centrals and find some form, it's not that he is not trying he just seems so out of place at the moment.
His kicking is still great, some of his passes have precision perfect over the last month and he is actually trying to lay a hip'n'shoulder, (think I have have counted 7 in the last month) more than what I have seen him lay in his career. But he just can't take an overhead mark to save himself, one on one he is useless and he just doesn't look up to AFL standard at the moment.
Back to the thread, if Choco was to leave I would hope that Cochrane would go with him.
Keep Dew on our list, at least he has got potential, we'd get nothing for him at the moment on form and he is better off staying with us if we were to get nothing. Cochrane, trade, he is a liability, people used to whinge about him always getting caught Holding the ball or having clanger after clanger, now he aint even good enough to get the ball for this to happen. He plays one good game every 6 weeks and seems to hold down his place keeping out someone else who deserves his spot.
Some of Chocos selections are questionable, this first hit me hard in the 2002 finals series. One thing I will never forget was when Thurstans was cutting up in the SANFL at the end of 02 and Wakelin was injured, yet an out of sorts Mead was selected which was costly, then to top things off the Brisbane Final when Wakelin was brought back in and should of never played, at least Thurstans would of contested that night. That decision costed us five goals IMO.
Then the next year, when we had no JFrancou,ames for the finals series, Ebert was cutting it up in the SANFL and Guerra as well to an extent, Guerra was played in the Sydney game, in some ways got us back in the match yet 2 weeks later Choco goes for duds like CCC and Kingsley in the Prelim final against Collingwood. Also the decisions he has made throughout the home and away season, giving Morgan a go before Thurstans in 02, consistently playing Kingsley in defence when he's sabotaging us, taking gamebreakers like Primus off in time on periods before half time when we should be going the kill only to give opponents a sniff, changing a game plan that is perfect mid season only to alter it in late rounds like practising to time waste etc etc to prepare us for finals, Choco's ideas of chasing after ex-Essendon players like Hardwick, Forster-Knight, etc etc. Since the Eagleton trade our trading has been shocking besides the Salopek one. Wakelin costed us pick #4 in a strong draft, Hardwick #11 and a few others. It's just been the great work of our recruiting committee that have covered this area up. I'd just like to see us settle into a routine, this was happening this year until injuries hit. Choco can be a great coach and has improved tremendously this year, he brought out a new gameplan early this year, it has been affected by ample injuries which has forced us to hold back a bit on it but he seems to be a bit more alert this year and I think once we get players back and the side settles down we will be a threat come September.

PJ Power
5 Jun 2004, 22:35
Schofield, Cochrane and Hardwick will not be at our club next year. The latter will retire. The other two delisted. maybe Freo or the Eagles may give us draft pick 30 for Schoey, but that is about all he will get us.

Just when I was going bald ripping my hair out about Dew's form, he shows a bit of character.

Paralowiepower
5 Jun 2004, 23:44
Trade Brogan? Your kidding right?
As for Cochrane who would want him?

Porthos
6 Jun 2004, 00:11
I'm very much against trading most of our players named in this thread, because I reckon the way they're being used is a massive part of their ordinary form.

Happy to stand by my Schofield comments though, I reckon.

PAfolwr
6 Jun 2004, 01:08
Originally posted by Porthos
I'm very much against trading most of our players named in this thread, because I reckon the way they're being used is a massive part of their ordinary form.
Agree. Very much so.

Originally posted by Porthos
Happy to stand by my Schofield comments though, I reckon.
Not sure what they are atm, but if they are that we should go all out to replace him with a youngster by the finals then agree as well.

Gee I'm fissed. Missed the first half, recording the second atm, and frick it's not looking well.
WTF is Tredrea looking for kicks anywhere up to HBF for. That is White's job. :mad:

ZeroGlass
6 Jun 2004, 02:59
Frawley for COACH!!! :D

Fullarton Power
6 Jun 2004, 18:12
Originally posted by Paralowiepower
Trade Brogan? Your kidding right?
As for Cochrane who would want him? Afraid not. He was thrashed by Goodes in that first final last year and has not played a good game since. Would prefer Lade as starting ruck, and would like to see what Ackland can do. His form in his first crack at AFL warranted retention.

PortProudWA
7 Jun 2004, 18:57

He can take all those who have lost faith as well as far as I'am concered!!.......Supporters that is....Yer lets get rid of Dewy:rolleyes:

PortProudWA
7 Jun 2004, 19:00

Bishop ( See above )

Well if you want to lose Brog's and Wake's, Bish and Schoey I guess you go with them!!!!!!!.....jezzz people :mad:

Paralowiepower
7 Jun 2004, 20:39
would like to see what Ackland can do.
Well go watch the Magpies then, he is hardly staring in a B grade competion.