View Full Version : John Reid - Should he go?

Jars458
21 Jun 2004, 18:46
Football Operations Manager

Has his hand in everything at the Club. Surely he can't escape his share of the blame for the events that have lead to Ayres' sacking.

He takes part in recruiting, trading and on match day.

I think he needs to go as well.

Thoughts?

macca23
21 Jun 2004, 18:55
Originally posted by Jars458

Has his hand in everything at the Club. Surely he can't escape his share of the blame for the events that have lead to Ayres' sacking.

Thoughts?

I'll put my hand up to agree with you.

Of course he should go. He's in this as deep as each one of the assistant coaches and maybe deeper.

The broom has to go right through the football area, and Reidy has to go with it!

spindoctor
21 Jun 2004, 18:56
Yep.

I'd even get rid of Jars.

Wayne's-World
21 Jun 2004, 19:31
Originally posted by macca23

Of course he should go. He's in this as deep as each one of the assistant coaches and maybe deeper.

The broom has to go right through the football area, and Reidy has to go with it!
If you were to replace Reid, do you have a candidate in mind?

Jerome
21 Jun 2004, 20:08
Originally posted by Jars458

Thoughts?

Yes, I think he should go.

As for a replacement - Alan Stewart.

Yes I know he has a contract with the Power, but I don't think they'd stop him from going.

Wayne's-World
21 Jun 2004, 20:11
Originally posted by Jerome

Yes I know he has a contract with the Power, but I don't think they'd stop him from going.
If they played hardball with Stevens, do you think they would allow any "required" official to walk out on a contract to a fierce rival - don't think so;)

Crow-mosone
21 Jun 2004, 20:24
Originally posted by Jerome

what makes you think he'd make a footy ops manager?

maccas_no1
21 Jun 2004, 20:25
I think he should go along with Fantasia,Curran,Mickan and Craig. Jarman should stay if Carey cannot be appointed as a Forward Coach.

If Neil Craig is appointed at Senior Coach next season I for will not be renewing my membership because that is just a cop out by the AFC, the AFC have the dollars go after the very best.

macca23
21 Jun 2004, 20:26
Originally posted by Wayne's-World
If you were to replace Reid, do you have a candidate in mind?

No I don't, but it's the type of position for which there would be a lot of prime candidates available out there in the football world.

The point is that Reid is tainted along with the support coaching staff in terms of being responible for the current plight of the club.

If the club is fair dinkum, Ayres just can't be the sole fall guy - it is a shared responsibility and Reidy has a large share of that responsibility.

Punchy Bassett
21 Jun 2004, 20:27
I believe he should go as well as most of the support staff there. Some of these guys were around when Blight was still there who lets face it people didn't leave our list in that great a shape. But if I was to only get one more person to leave it must be James Fantasia. Our recruiting has been dead set awful.

crazy_big_al
21 Jun 2004, 20:28
I am not sure if that is the best course of action to get rid of him

jc67
21 Jun 2004, 20:33
No he shouldn't, in fact nobody else needs to.
Ayres was the problem he was the catelest behind recruiting and player managment.
Now that our guys ( players and managers) dont have to bend to his ego I hope they get a chance to show their stuff (finally).
Ayres is gone
GET OVER IT

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
21 Jun 2004, 20:41
not sure. maybe. not really sure it is necessary though.

k
xx

Stiffy_18
21 Jun 2004, 21:41
Originally posted by jc67
No he shouldn't, in fact nobody else needs to.
Ayres was the problem he was the catelest behind recruiting and player managment.
Now that our guys ( players and managers) dont have to bend to his ego I hope they get a chance to show their stuff (finally).
Ayres is gone
GET OVER IT Biggest loead of CRAP I have ever heard.

And Yes as a bit of a Reidy fan I would agree with Jars and say he should go as well. Ayres is NOT the only one to blame and others should be given the sack as well.

Bill Sanders, John Reid, Peter Curran, Darren Jarman, Mark Mickan, Neil Craig and possibly James Fantasia must also go.

On James Fantasia, I would like see how he goes this year. I think his role is the one where he will cop a lot of flack when it might not be entirely his fault. Clear example of this is the Angwin scenario. A wise recruiter once said that "You're only as good a recruiting manager as the network of pople you have around you". Personally, I don't think our scouts are of high quality and the club has started adressing this by appointing John Turnbull earlier in the year.

macca23
21 Jun 2004, 21:48
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
A wise recruiter once said that "You're only as good a recruiting manager as the network of pople you have around you". Personally, I don't think our scouts are of high quality and the club has started adressing this by appointing John Turnbull earlier in the year.

There is certainly some doubt about at least one or more of our Melbourne based scouts.

Who appoints those Stiffy?? is that Fantasia or does the hierarchy appoint Fantasia's network??

jc67
21 Jun 2004, 21:53
Biggest loead of CRAP I have ever heard.
Ever????
Reid should stay and I like Fanta too.
the new coach will proberbly bring his own assistants, if not I would keep mickan a nd not too sure about the others.

trigg is another one that might not be up to it IMO, (I had a couple of mates at sturt when he was coaching and always took the safe road, and that lead to spoons)

Tyson20
21 Jun 2004, 22:07
Ever????
the new coach will proberbly bring his own assistants, if not I would keep mickan a nd not too sure about the others.

trigg is another one that might not be up to it IMO, (I had a couple of mates at sturt when he was coaching and always took the safe road, and that lead to spoons)

i really wish Wayne Jackson was ready to come back to footy...

i think Reidy should go along with all the assistants...the new coach will more than likely bring his own..especially if its someone from interstate!

like most people i think the broom should sweep through... ;)

Ive been happy with Triggy as it isnt exactly the easiest job in the state and IMO he represents the AFC well...(how tired did he look at the press conference...u can tell he hadnt slept Thurs, Fri, Sat or Sun night knowing he had to tell Ayres the boards decision on Mon morning) :(

as for him taking the safe road at Sturt, during those years the players (if you can call them players) weren't exactly risk takers...he had f*** all to work with!

Kane McGoodwin
21 Jun 2004, 22:08

Agree that the organisation needs a good clean-out as has become a bit in-bred (which won't be fixed by appointing Craig long-term) & Ayres isn't solely to blame for our position.

Stiffy_18
21 Jun 2004, 22:09
There is certainly some doubt about at least one or more of our Melbourne based scouts.

Who appoints those Stiffy?? is that Fantasia or does the hierarchy appoint Fantasia's network?? The club appoints those. Football department recomends it and Board have the final say but usually they give footy department what they won't.

Kane McGoodwin
21 Jun 2004, 22:11
Originally posted by maccas_no1
If Neil Craig is appointed at Senior Coach next season I for will not be renewing my membership because that is just a cop out by the AFC, the AFC have the dollars go after the very best.
I will also be very annoyed if Craid is appointed for the 2005 season, but I still will renew my membership. True supporters will back the club regardless of whether we like all their decisions - though we have the right to voice our disapproval.

Kane McGoodwin
21 Jun 2004, 22:13
Originally posted by Tyson20
i really wish Wayne Jackson was ready to come back to footy...

Would love to Jackson to join AFC. However, think he may be more interested in a Board position - preferably the Colonial's job.

spindoctor
21 Jun 2004, 22:13
The talk about Shaun Rehn coaching sure went dead?

I for one think he's done a good job with a completely savaged list this year.

Stiffy_18
21 Jun 2004, 22:14
Ever????

trigg is another one that might not be up to it IMO, (I had a couple of mates at sturt when he was coaching and always took the safe road, and that lead to spoons) With all due respects I think its bigest load of crap to say that Gary alone is the cause of this.. Thats just cheap shot and Gary is NOT the only person to blame for this. A lot of others have to take the blame including Reidy, Sanders et al.

As for Triggy I think he has done a reasonable job so far and his contract comes out at the end of next year so we will reasses that one next year. This will be a big test for Trigg and co. in naming the new coach.

jc67
Originally posted by spindoctor

he wont drop the lawsuit.

Kane McGoodwin

Would be great to get Rehn or Pitto as ruck coaches to talk some football smarts into our current stock.

Tyson20
21 Jun 2004, 22:16
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I will also be very annoyed if Craid is appointed for the 2005 season, but I still will renew my membership. True supporters will back the club regardless of whether we like all their decisions - though we have the right to voice our disapproval.

totally agree...

but watch the advertiser under "for sale" coz there will be sooooooooooooo many crows season tix in there...the trolls will jump off which really f***s me off about some of the jonny cum lately footy supporters! watch them jump back on as soon as there's a hint of success coming the AFC's way...

some of our supporters are starting to sound like Richmond supporters...or should i say followers...i use the term "supporters" loosely!

Stiffy_18
21 Jun 2004, 22:16
Would love to Jackson to join AFC. However, think he may be more interested in a Board position - preferably the Colonial's job. I agree re Jacko being more interested in board position. I would live Jacko to be the chairman.

Football Operations Manager is not the position Jacko would be interested in. There must be someone out there who can step up into this position.

brucetiki
21 Jun 2004, 22:37

Did ya see the 3rd quarter of the Centrals v West game on Saturday. That's perfectly explains why he won't be considered for a coach. You can't play that defensively and win football.

Gravel
21 Jun 2004, 22:41

Bill Sanders, John Reid, Peter Curran, Darren Jarman, Mark Mickan, Neil Craig and possibly James Fantasia must also go.

Please elaborate why you think Sanders should go - he is in his first year as Chairman. Thanks

Stiffy_18
21 Jun 2004, 22:48
Originally posted by Gravel
Please elaborate why you think Sanders should go - he is in his first year as Chairman. Thanks Because his leadership this year has been p|ss poor to say the least ;)

Wayne's-World
21 Jun 2004, 22:51
Because his leadership this year has been p|ss poor to say the least ;)
Majority of his performance would be behind closed doors. Financial performance unknown till years end.

I'll assume your talking about his "public" performances:confused:

Kane McGoodwin
21 Jun 2004, 22:53
Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Majority of his performance would be behind closed doors. Financial performance unknown till years end.

I'll assume your talking about his "public" performances:confused:
Yeah, the Chairman of leaks & undermining.

Humphry B Bear could make a decent profit if he were Chair of AFC!

Wayne's-World
21 Jun 2004, 22:55

Humphry B Bear could make a decent profit if he were Chair of AFC!
Appoint him to the board then:p

Gravel
21 Jun 2004, 22:59
Can you cite a few examples.
Your posts always seem balanced and objective so I was surprised to read that you have concerns with him.

Wayne's-World
21 Jun 2004, 23:03
Can you cite a few examples.
Your posts always seem balanced and objective so I was surprised to read that you have concerns with him.
Concerns with who?

Gravel
21 Jun 2004, 23:12
The Colonel

Stiffy_18
21 Jun 2004, 23:16
Yeah, the Chairman of leaks & undermining. What Kane said.

I am extremely disappointed in Sanders' leaks to the media. He first went to Rucci with the Wayne Carey has to weeks to prove his worth or will be dropped. Thats a pathetic thing to say as a chairman as he has no input in the selcetion and nor should he. He has been leaking left right and center. I was one of the people on this board who have been in favour of appointing him as a chairman but this year he has proved to me that he is a very ordinary one. Bring back Bob Campbell. While I don't like him that much either at least he led the club behind the scenes and did not make a fool of himself in the media. The club doesn't need the crap that BS has brought us this year in trying times.

Unfortunately, he has that position for as long as he wants it now because he is a member of the boys club down at West Lakes. I would get the broom out and start with a chairman. A fish stinks from its head and BS would be the first one I would show the door.

macca23
21 Jun 2004, 23:19
The Colonel

I think the main concern with him is that he appears to be one of Rucci's "singing canaries" as he referred to them last week - the source of leaks out of West Lakes.

At least 2 comments made behind closed doors have apparently been tracked back to him - or so the story goes.

Gravel
21 Jun 2004, 23:21
If you are sure it is Sanders who is leaking then your comments appear to be spot on.
Reason - ego ?

Stiffy_18
21 Jun 2004, 23:29
If you are sure it is Sanders who is leaking then your comments appear to be spot on.
Reason - ego ? I don't think I have ever been surer about anything as I am sure that Sanders is one of the singing canaries. He even admitted that he did make the comments about Gary.

I am sure I am not the only one when I say that I am bitterly disappointed with Bill Sanders' leadership this year. When a club is going through its lowest period in history it needs a strong leader. The one that will keep things in house and not leak them in the media. Bill has been completely the opposite of that.

Wayne Jackson would make infinitely better Chairman than Bill Sanders.

macca23
21 Jun 2004, 23:33

Wayne Jackson would make infinitely better Chairman than Bill Sanders.

If only we could get him as Chairman - he would be outstanding.

Kane McGoodwin
21 Jun 2004, 23:41
If only we could get him as Chairman - he would be outstanding.
Would be a better "member choice" board member!

Gravel
22 Jun 2004, 00:20
The members need to seek amendment to the rules governing the committee.