View Full Version : Travis Cloke= Collingwood Bound

wrennyboy
23 Jun 2004, 21:48
My mate in melbourne has just told me watching white line fever that travis is pretty much collingwood bound now so that we cant get him. I am pretty cut about it because he is a 1st round prospect who is already AFL ready and is a great player and a prospect FF and Ruckman. But oh well..

1980GFVideo
23 Jun 2004, 22:17
I dont think Richmond and David Cloke are on good terms.

Apparently they didnt part on great company when he left in 1990, which is suprising as we gave him an extra couple of years. Im Not sure what his beef was about but I would say that his preference for his son would be Collingwood with his brothers.

The only hope is if Mick Malthouse odd sense of humour ie ("played better in last years grand final") puts the Clokes offside.

itsintheblood
23 Jun 2004, 22:18
F*&KEM wrenny. I'd like to see how the hell they'll fit 3 clokes in the same team. One dimensional duds IMO.

Stog
23 Jun 2004, 22:22
Until he signs on the dotted line, he ain't collingwood bound. Greg Miller might just pull one out of the hat! :D

GhostofJimJess
23 Jun 2004, 22:34
I was having an in-depth conversation with one of his Ranges teammates about two months ago who was absolutely convinced, beyond a shadow of a doubt, no question whatsoever, that Travis was going to Collingwood in 2005.

Whatever David has told the media regarding "Travis still considering his options" can be taken with an even larger grain of salt than the one Sheeds dispenses whenever he "considers his future options".

There has never been any doubt on Travis' AFL playing direction and ambitions. It's plain black and white.

Weaver
24 Jun 2004, 04:45
Originally posted by wrennyboy
I am pretty cut about it because he is a 1st round prospect who is already AFL ready and is a great player and a prospect FF and Ruckman. But oh well..

Rubbish. Pick 25-40 range. Not one of the top-5 key position players in Victoria, let alone the country, and at 195cm with little athleticism no chance to ruck in the AFL. He is a Ben Holland style full-forward who won't really be able to play anywhere else.

Sure we want him, but if we don't get him? <shrug> who cares.

DirtyDogTiger
24 Jun 2004, 07:36
cheers weaver...sounds like we can do better

Supertiger
24 Jun 2004, 10:27
I agree with Weaver. Ive seen cloke...he may turn out ok...but hes no way a top 10 selection. Id reckon hes between 30 and 50 also- At best. Many better kpp prospects than Cloke!

cherryripe
24 Jun 2004, 11:01
yeah

I'm still spewing over Cogs instead of Jason Cloke.

24 Jun 2004, 15:15
He was always going to play with his brothers. His mum said so.

But I still find it encouraging that regardless it was a slam dunk, Miller still tried to persuade him. That says a lot about the way he goes about things.

I just hope he's doing the same with prospective coaches like Sheedy that are 99% sure to re-sign with their clubs, but he's still trying to persuade them.

David Cloke has no reason to hold grudges against RFC. He left us, we didnt kick him out. I hate him and his ugly sons.

TheFoxhat
24 Jun 2004, 16:01
Yes it's Julie Cloke that's pushing him to go to Collingscum , the reason she was always a SKUNKS supporter & her brother ,former umpire Peter Cameron got the flick from the Richmond 2nds & has always been a Richmond HATER..:mad: :mad:

Otto's ladder
24 Jun 2004, 16:32
Originally posted by TheFoxhat
Yes it's Julie Cloke that's pushing him to go to Collingscum , the reason she was always a SKUNKS supporter & her brother ,former umpire Peter Cameron got the flick from the Richmond 2nds & has always been a Richmond HATER..:mad: :mad:

LMAO at Julie having say as to where the sons are going to play. The funniest thing I have heard since Warnie blamed his mum for taking a diet pill. At least they listen to her before they go on the field...

"Now boys, don't play too hard and don't get your clothes dirty".

tiger of old
24 Jun 2004, 18:04
Originally posted by 1980

David Cloke has no reason to hold grudges against RFC. He left us, we didnt kick him out. I hate him and his ugly sons.
didnt he crack it when he didnt make our team of the century?

cheers!

24 Jun 2004, 18:44
Originally posted by tiger of old
didnt he crack it when he didnt make our team of the century?

cheers!

I dont know. Did he? He's also a sook then. Should he have made the team at CHF ahead of Royce Hart?

I cant see all 3 Clokes starting and ending their careers at the scum together. They all seem too similar in style. At some point one of them will want to leave for another club to get a game.

Father David should stay on good terms with us, and Jules should learn to let grown boys make their own decisions

1980GFVideo
24 Jun 2004, 21:12
I cant think of a single reason why David would be on bad terms with the club but apparently he is.

Not sure if that is affecting where his sons play football. Never forgave him for leaving us even though i enjoyed his last years of football with us.

For a captain to want to leave the club is unforgiveable unless he is really getting a raw deal from the club in some area.

Bojangles17
25 Jun 2004, 00:09
My mate in melbourne has just told me watching white line fever that travis is pretty much collingwood bound now so that we cant get him. I am pretty cut about it because he is a 1st round prospect who is already AFL ready and is a great player and a prospect FF and Ruckman. But oh well..

stop kicking around the sand wrenny, he is anythign but a first rounder from all reports.....and I tell you, he'd want to be a darn sight better than his brothers , theyre average joes if Ive ever seen one

IDGAF
26 Jun 2004, 11:55
if collingwodd wants a team that reads like this

B: Shaw, Cloke , Cloke

HB: shaw , Cloke , Shaw

C: Shaw , Buckley , Shaw

HF:Shaw , Rocca , Cloke

FF: Didak , Cloke , Shaw

R: Cloke , Cloke , Shaw

Int from: Shaw , Cloke , Cloke , Shaw , Picken , Shaw , Cloke

Then let em knock themselves out , Pack of in-bred scum .The Clokes , since 1983 have done nothing but shaft Punt rd. Miller, don`t waste any more of our time with these people

Crumden
26 Jun 2004, 17:00
Gotta admit that's a pretty good centreline the pies have there though. Only let down by the wings.

GhostofJimJess
26 Jun 2004, 21:56
Originally posted by Crumden
Gotta admit that's a pretty good centreline the pies have there though. Only let down by the wings.

You don't sound two Shaw about that, Crum.

heartbroken
27 Jun 2004, 00:48
Originally posted by Bojangles17
stop kicking around the sand wrenny, he is anythign but a first rounder from all reports.....and I tell you, he'd want to be a darn sight better than his brothers , theyre average joes if Ive ever seen one

As much as I hate to admit it, both clokes are the type of players that Richmond desperately need. Despite the huge bagging that Cloke no.2 got/still gets, he is the "big gorilla" that Richmond so desparately need. If he already plays the "big gorilla" roll now, in a couple of years time, he will be an excellant player who will be able to wreak damage at CHB or CHF.

Yes its easy to bag the clokes...the reality is however that most people on this site would have been jumping for joy if we could have snagged any of the clokes under the father son rule.

Fishfinger
27 Jun 2004, 02:08
I've been hoping for Travis to come to Richmond while expecting him to go to Collingwood for family ties.
I felt that him coming would mean David likely taking an interest in the development and well being of our young players, something that everyone seems to agree our club has not been particularly good at for a while.
More than David being around, I also rate Travis. I'm certainly no talent scout but it strikes me he may play more like Anthony Rocca. He kicks the ball 60 mtrs+ easily, and I think he's in the younger group at Eastern Ranges eligible to play there again next year so would count on a lot of improvement.

I suppose I shouldn't mention he's another left-footer.

wrennyboy
27 Jun 2004, 13:26
RICHMOND'S head-hunters can start the crucial review of its coaching department after learning Essendon's Kevin Sheedy is off the market.

And in more bad news for the Tigers it appears Travis Cloke will join his brothers, Jason and Cameron, at Collingwood.

The Magpies are confident the youngest of the Cloke football family will take up their offer for all three of them to play in the AFL together.

Defender Jason is also set to sign a new contract after a switch in management from Ricky Nixon's Flying Start organisation to join father David's new agency.

"It was in the best interests of the three boys that they be with their father," Nixon said.

Talent scouts from the Magpies and Richmond will monitor Travis's performances in the national under-19 championships, which start next week.

Richmond football director Greg Miller said he would get together soon with former coach David Parkin and Tiger president Clinton Casey to review Richmond's coaching positions.

Miller said there was one criterion already set down – applicants would have to have experience.

Miller said senior coach Danny Frawley would remain in charge of the Tigers for the rest of the home-and-away season, adding "there's never been any doubt about that".

But Frawley's position is in jeopardy and Richmond will look at the availability of several other people including former Sydney coach Rodney Eade and Sheedy's long-time assistant Mark Harvey, who could decide to move from Windy Hill now that his mentor will be there for another three years.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,9964778%255E19771,00.html

IDGAF
27 Jun 2004, 22:50
RICHMOND'S head-hunters can start the crucial review of its coaching department after learning Essendon's Kevin Sheedy is off the market.

And in more bad news for the Tigers it appears Travis Cloke will join his brothers, Jason and Cameron, at Collingwood.

The Magpies are confident the youngest of the Cloke football family will take up their offer for all three of them to play in the AFL together.

Defender Jason is also set to sign a new contract after a switch in management from Ricky Nixon's Flying Start organisation to join father David's new agency.

"It was in the best interests of the three boys that they be with their father," Nixon said.

Talent scouts from the Magpies and Richmond will monitor Travis's performances in the national under-19 championships, which start next week.

Richmond football director Greg Miller said he would get together soon with former coach David Parkin and Tiger president Clinton Casey to review Richmond's coaching positions.

Miller said there was one criterion already set down – applicants would have to have experience.

Miller said senior coach Danny Frawley would remain in charge of the Tigers for the rest of the home-and-away season, adding "there's never been any doubt about that".

But Frawley's position is in jeopardy and Richmond will look at the availability of several other people including former Sydney coach Rodney Eade and Sheedy's long-time assistant Mark Harvey, who could decide to move from Windy Hill now that his mentor will be there for another three years.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,9964778%255E19771,00.html Have i missed something or has sheedy agreed to terms ?? We were still in the hunt to my knowledge :confused: If he has then i would go for either Eade or Harvey , I know they have publicly stated that they want to go for experience but it would be foolish not to examine all options , in any case , i would go after Harvey just to **** sheeds off . Shut the door on him this time i say if he knocks us back this time around i reckon he is just an ageing man drifting in the comfort zone , happy to meander in the safe confines of Windy Hill without really testing himself . It would be sad not only for punt rd . but for the game of footy in melbourne if he won`t take up the challenge and ressurect the once great tigers to thier former glory , to which if he really looks within himself , he owes a huge debt . Without Richmond there would be no Kevin Sheedy.
C`mon Sheeds , time to give a bit back

Fishfinger
27 Jun 2004, 23:28
Originally posted by IDGAF
. It would be sad not only for punt rd . but for the game of footy in melbourne if he won`t take up the challenge and ressurect the once great tigers to thier former glory , to which if he really looks within himself , he owes a huge debt . Without Richmond there would be no Kevin Sheedy.
C`mon Sheeds , time to give a bit back I don't agree with this bit. I pretty much agree with the rest of your views.
When Sheedy was taken from Prahran by Richmond I doubt it was as a favour. I'm sure the club saw something in him that would benefit them so gave him an opportunity. It turned out they were right and he was fantastic. Kevin Sheedy made Kevin Sheedy and I fail to see how he owes the club anything. I would like to think past players should come back to the club because they want to.

1980GFVideo
28 Jun 2004, 06:21
Originally posted by Fishfinger
Kevin Sheedy made Kevin Sheedy and I fail to see how he owes the club anything. I would like to think past players should come back to the club because they want to.

Yes,I think its been Richmonds failing in that they used that line to Sheeds when trying to lure him last time.

That of returning something to the club he began with, rather than offering him whatever he needed around him to be successful. Collingwood sold the excitement of Olympic park training facilities to Malthouse and if all we had to flog off was - Mick, you used to play here - return something to the club no wonder he wasnt even thinking of us

Sheeds knows that whatever romance there would be in his return would drop off quickly if he was not able to be successful. He's been in the caper too long to know that even he would be limited with

Becks Dud conveyor belt .

and the

leaky administration

Tigerrific
1 Jul 2004, 11:33
David Cloke was on SEN today. He said "Travis has not committed to the Pies and is still weighing up his options."

tiger of old
1 Jul 2004, 11:36
Originally posted by Tigerrific
David Cloke was on SEN today. He said "Travis has not committed to the Pies and is still weighing up his options." just heard the samething.not holding my breath tho.more likely they will wait to a thursday night for it to be announced on the collingwood footy show:rolleyes:

cheers!

The Clokes
1 Jul 2004, 12:07
David Cloke’s just bored and loves seeing/hearing his name in the paper/radio
Travis will be at Collingwood

corporal
1 Jul 2004, 12:20
He would have been nice however by the sound of it there are plenty of KKP's in this years draft, besides I'm glad we don't have David Cloke putting his two cents in about everything that happens at the club (he would never shut up about Richmond)

best of luck to him (even if this dad is really Damir Dokic in disguise)