View Full Version : Tasmanian Results - 26 June 2004.

Kingpin
26th June 2004, 17:46
AFL Southern Tasmanian Premier League
North Hobart 14.14.98 - New Norfolk 13.16.94 at North Hobart Oval
Clarence 26.20.176 - Kingborough 12.7.79 at Kingston Beach Oval
Glenorchy 21.13.139 - Lauderdale 6.4.40 at King George V Oval
Hobart 14.18.102 - Brighton 4.2.26 at TCA Ground

AFL Southern Tasmanian Regional League
Channel 6.6.42 - Cygnet 5.5.35 at Cygnet Oval
Huonville Lions 23.5.143 - Lindisfarne 6.11.47 at Anzac Park
Dodges Ferry 9.7.61 - Sorell 7.6.48 at Pembroke Park
Kermandie 18.5.113 - Claremont 8.16.64 at Geeveston Oval

Northern Tasmanian Football League
Launceston 8.13.61 - Nth Launceston 6.10.46 Att: 610 at Windsor Park
Latrobe 13.10.88 - Devonport 10.17.77 Att: 731 at Latrobe Rec. Ground
Ulverstone 15.12.102 - Smithton 8.12.60 Att: 432 at Ulverstone Rec. Ground
Sth Launceston 22.18.150 - Wynyard 7.10.52 Att: 220 at Wynyard Oval
Burnie 32.17.209 - East Devonport 7.2.44 Att: 360 at Girdlestone Park

Northern Tasmanian Football Association - Division One
Deloraine 24.19.163 - Bridgenorth 4.4.28 at Deloraine Racecourse
Longford 13.8.86 - Hillwood 8.9.57 at Longford Oval
Scottsdale 10.14.74 - George Town 8.7.55 at Scottsdale Rec. Ground
Bracknell 12.11.83 - Rocherlea 6.11.47 at Bracknell Rec. Ground

Northern Tasmanian Football Association - Division Two
Fingal 13.10.88 - Old Scotch 8.8.56
Perth 20.13.133 - Evandale 0.11.11
St Patricks 12.11.83 - Campbell Town 7.6.48
Tamar Cars 19.18.132 - Old Launcestonians 4.8.32 at Invermay Park

Southern Old Scholars Football Association
OHA 11.9.75 - Richmond 9.13.67 at Richmond Oval
University 16.15.111 - Friends' 10.6.66 at University Oval
St Virgils 14.9.93 - DOSA 14.5.89 at New Town Oval

Oatlands District Football Association
Mt Pleasant 14.8.92 - Oatlands 6.10.46 at Pawtella Football Ground
Triabunna 10.10.70 - Swansea 9.6.60 at Triabunna Rec. Ground

North West Football Association
Wesley Vale 16.23.119 - Turners Beach 5.8.38
Spreyton 22.13.145 - Forth 8.4.52
East Ulverstone 16.16.112 - Roseberry Toorak 11.7.73
Sheffield 9.17.71 - West Ulverstone 7.8.50

North East Football Union
Lilydale 46.28.304 - Scottsdale Crows 0.0.0
Ringarooma 23.8.146 - St Helens 12.10.82
Branxholm 16.8.104 - Winnaleah 14.5.89

Darwin Football Association
Yolla 12.14.86 - Natone 7.8.50
Cuprona 20.12.132 - Yeoman 11.8.74
South Burnie 14.22.106 - Somerset 8.6.54
Queenstown 15.32.122 - Myalla 5.6.36 at Queenstown Oval

Leven Football Association
Railton 10.14.74 - Saints 8.6.54
Castra 6.19.55 - Wilmot 3.4.22

Tigers_07
26th June 2004, 21:00
Northern Tasmanian Football Association - Division Two
Tamar Cars 19.18.132 - Old Launcestonians 4.8.32

GOOD ol' catters r back in from Back 2 Back Premiers this yr!!

Kingpin
27th June 2004, 01:01
By the looks of it, yes. BTW Tigers_07, what's the name of the ground they play at? I'm not totally sure of the ground names of all the lower division teams up there.

I went to the Hobart - Brighton game up at the TCA Ground today.
FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARK:(
A number of points from today's game have got me very, very concerned for the future of the Hobart Football Club, and the state of the game here in general.

1} Brighton, plenty of money out there, but can't attract any big names to play/coach them. Clearly the worst senior side I've ever seen in any Tier 2 or above level competition.
Only went forward about 8 times all day, and scored all 4 of thier goals at the 20, 22, 23, 25-minute marks of the second quarter, after Hobart had led 7.12.54 to 0.0.0.
Although they were bad, Hobart at times were even more woeful, and would not beat any other Premier League side on that display.
The Reserve Grade match was even worse, Brighton kicked the first goal of the game 3-minutes into the match, then Hobart proceded to pump the next 34. Hobart won 34.17.221 - 1.5.11 in dreadful, sloppy conditions.

2} Hobart, as a club would be the most bedraggled, dispirited as a club that I've ever seen them.
It was extremely sad to go to the club which I've followed my whole life and see it in the parlous state of which it now finds itself in.
The miserable looks on the faces, the factions within the club, old friends no longer talking, family members no longer talking, because of the club's move to become the Hobart Saints - it was gut wrenching to look at.
The St Virgils people that have come into the club have treated the old Hobart supporters with absolute disdain, and this has seen almost 90% of the club's faithful walk out.

3} A crowd of 169 people, of which almost all of that were players, umpires and support staff. I was talking to the gate keeper at half-time who told me that, only 31 people had bought general admission tickets as supporters. :(

4} Atmosphere was as dead as I have ever seen at a Hobart match in the 30 years I've watched them play.
Not ONE Hobart supporter yelled out or cheered a goal throughout the day - It was a weird and quite a chilling atmosphere.

5} Ongoing future a concern, the last three home matches at the TCA Ground have attracted crowds of 169, 174, 332 :(
The faithful are walking out by the week, the players are dispirited, thier are factions within the playing list - and thier seems to be no hope that club can ever come back as a power again.
The Club has a membership of just 52... FIFTY TWO.

I've been to many, many hundreds of football matches over the years.
I've been there through both good times and bad.
I've seen Hobart win the great Premierships and seen them wallow on the bottom of the ladder for years on end.
I've been there when the club has lost Grand Finals, and lost nail biting finals matches.
I unashamedly wept in 1997 when it played it's last ever game in the TFL Statewide League, and never won a game in either the Seniors or Reserves.
I stood there with 407 others on the Argyle Street terraces at North Hobart that freezing day in 1997 when Hobart copped a record defeat by 237 points by the Burnie Dockers.

But throughout all that - we had a spirit, and a hard edge to our club.
Today was the saddest day I've ever spent in football, today I witnessed first hand perhaps the slow demise of a once great football club.
I walked away from the ground feeling incredibly numb, knowing that my family have been involved in the club since day one, and knowing that our opinions are not valued, nor wanted, because private school corporate types feel that we are not "upmarket" enough

tt_eaglesfan
27th June 2004, 20:56
cats vs ols was played at invermay park (behind the northern goals @ yp ) after ols sold bethume park and no-longer play there

Tigers_07
28th June 2004, 11:53
AND!! The Tamar Cats home ground is Beauty Point Rec' ground!! :D :cool:

WCL
30th June 2004, 17:11
Well I hope Hobart get out of this mess that they have got themselves into. Firstly we need a nickname. We can't get the tiger back or our old guernsey, so why not try something different, go ahead with the saints alliance. It makes sense, your juniors are called hobart saints, because of your link with saint virgils school. We need to get some members back to the club,we need to put bums on seats, the crowds have been terrible this year, with the one exception of the New Norfolk game which drew 1200people. We need this every week and at the moment we are going backwards, It's our last chance, otherwise the mighty Hobart Footy Club will be dead and buried in 3years.

The Scarecrow
1st July 2004, 07:59
Maybe it's time Hobart decided to try their hand at becoming the "Saints" but, I hope they don't get that horrible yellow jumper that St. Kilda wore during thier Pura Milk sponsorship.

LFC
1st July 2004, 08:53
Originally posted by The Scarecrow
Maybe it's time Hobart decided to try their hand at becoming the "Saints" but, I hope they don't get that horrible yellow jumper that St. Kilda wore during thier Pura Milk sponsorship.

Well they cant do much else, otherwise they will have a very similar jumper to New Norfolk.

The Scarecrow
1st July 2004, 09:07
Yeah I forgot about that.

WCL
1st July 2004, 10:44
They don't have to go with the saints guernsey, just embrace the name and the emblem.

DraVen
1st July 2004, 11:14
Atleast Hobart might be able to find a few of the local St. Kilda supporters. Couldn't hurt I guess, what jumper would they wear?

Kingpin
1st July 2004, 15:15
Going with the Saints and adopting the Pura Light Start yellow St Kilda discard is exactly what Hobart SHOULDN'T do. This is why all the people have gone "walkies".

Honestly, what they ought do, is adopt the Panthers nickname and wear a Gold jumper with Black stripes with black numbers on the back (the black stripes go to under the numbers at the back), with a smaller olde English style HFC monogram on a crest on the front - As was designed by a financial member of the club in January, and which was liked by the players, but remained shelved.

I personally don't see the need for Junior teams to have to align themselves with same uniform as the seniors team.
Brighton Seniors-Reserves-Colts wear the Melbourne uniform, yet all thier Junior sides wear Adelaide Crows gear.
Sorell's Seniors-Reserves-Colts sides wear the old West Coast Eagles uniforms, yet thier junior sides wear the Dodges Ferry Sharks uniforms.
Glenorchy juniors continued on as the Magpies for some time after the Senior team changed to the Storm, and New Norfolk's remained as the Eagles after the NNDFC became the Hawks.
Sandy Bay's senior sides were always known as the Seagulls, yet their junior teams always wore the blue and white uniform but were called the Lions (most likely in reference to Hutchins School, where many of thier juniors came from)

The problems at Hobart are not solely "the colour issue". Many of the old Hobart supporters have an almost pathological hatred of a lot of the St Virgils people that have come into the club.
Reason being, that they are very unhappy about the way they have been treated, especially after doing so much to save the club in the first place, then to be spoken to in the way they have.

Basically if you want a short answer - the people in the club hate each other's guts. There are two clubs within the club, the St Virgils club, and the Hobart club - and nither will speak to one another. As far as I'm concerned they have stuffed around with things so badly that it won't be around for much longer.

But then again, what does it matter? Football's stuffed here, the general public won't have a bar of it (the SFL), they see it for the joke that it is. I think it's gone well beyond the point of saving to be honest.

WCL
1st July 2004, 16:58
something must be done, surely everyone can remember the good old days. if this is lost tassie will never be the same. People in Tassie have taken footy for granted and now they risk losing it forever. People like scott wade has ruined footy down there and as much as people think the devils are going great with membership and attendances, remember each club in Tassie used to have those kinds of figures.

by the way Southern Tiger, where did you get the panthers Idea, because I posted the idea on the aflst forum earlier this year and I don't know if you liked it or not.

Kingpin
2nd July 2004, 01:23
Devils - elitist snobbishness that has totally ruined the football landscape as we know it here.
Was talking to a few old players from different clubs at work tonight, and they don't go anymore. I asked why.
Thet said that "the standard was sh*thouse", "it was boring" and "having to watch sides like Brighton trailing 170-0 at a match was an utter joke". They also said that the Devils were murdering local football.

WCL (Cats Fan): I think Hobart Football Club, Kingborough Football Club, SFL and AFL Tasmania should sit down together and form a solution to this problem of Hobart losing its identity.

Instead of a dictatorial approach, the two clubs should be able to work together and be Country Tigers and City Tigers, organise joint promotions with Richmond etc.

But with the current spastic mentality of those who run football here, I can't see it happening. It will show just how fair dinkum these clowns are, or they WILL see another club disappear from thier leagues through lack of interest.

That's why I propose that in the interim, Hobart should choose the name Panthers, and make every intention to return to thier original mascot as soon as possible.
At least it gives the players something to call out on the field - However, I will NEVER call out Carn Panthers at a match.

WE WILL NOW SEE HOW MANY OF THESE F***TARDS HAVE LEARNED THIER LESSONS - my guess is with dopey mentality current associated with Southern Football, the answer will be none.

The Scarecrow
2nd July 2004, 15:51
Originally posted by SOUTHERN TIGER
Devils - elitist snobbishness that has totally ruined the football landscape as we know it here.
Was talking to a few old players from different clubs at work tonight, and they don't go anymore. I asked why.
Thet said that "the standard was sh*thouse", "it was boring" and "having to watch sides like Brighton trailing 170-0 at a match was an utter joke". They also said that the Devils were murdering local football.

I've spoken to a few supporters at games and they have said they won't go and see the Devils play. I haven't gone to see them play either, I don't like the jumper, the one before it was pathetic aswell. Right now all AFL Tasmania is doing is worrying about getting AFL games, and worrying about the Devils, leaving local footy to fight for it's own survival on it's own.

I know it's not right to keep bagging AFL Tasmania, and the guys that run it, but surly they have room to market local footy, I mean, where are they going to find the supporters when local footy fans, give it away? Where will they find the next batch of Devils players when all the kids start playing rugby, soccer, or another sport?

There are some good signs in the AFL Southern Tasmania Premier League, been some good games played, some of the games have had some good crowds. But I agree, watching Brighton get flogged is getting to be a joke.

Kingpin
3rd July 2004, 00:50
LOL - The Devils jumper looks likes two cats puking out each side of a bucket - It's a shocker :D

I wouldn't go and watch the Devils either, I hated the TV ads saying "The Devils - they're YOUR team" :mad: I always use to yell back "They're not my &@!#^#% team :D

I look at Devils supporters and to be honest, can't stand the sight of them - absolute ponces of the highest order, quite fitting that most of them used to barrack for Clarence really :o

I think it should be:
TFL - Hobart, North Hobart, Glenorchy, New Norfolk, Clarence, Lauderdale

And f**k the rest off - they can't cut it, at least the Bombers will negate Clarence being a second side from the East.

The other lot are NOT interested in being part of the big picture, not willing to improve - adios amigos/sod off/don't know know ya - never did it etc....lol :D

AFL Tas should promote a proper 6 team TFL comp, and leave the rest to run it how they see fit, because that's how they want it.

WCL
3rd July 2004, 16:20
Yeah, In agree, stuff Brighton, stuff the devils.

Long Live the TFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. any score updates from today's games in the AFL south.

The Scarecrow
4th July 2004, 17:38
Oh well I guess it's better then their first one, that looked like a retarded monkey designed it. If the REAL Tasmanian side was to come back and play SOO I'd go, I would of gone to the one in 1990 but couldn't get a ticket.

WCL
6th July 2004, 19:47
Thats another bad thing, we can't even play State Games because we don't have a state league. We would get thrashed at the moment anyway, because our best players are in those poofter Devils and they wouldn't be much chop against the SANFL would they, (FootballTas) pack of idiots the lot of them.