View Full Version : So close but no cigar............:(

skylark18
26 Jun 2004, 23:02
Yes we lost tonight.....BUT...........I was very proud of the boys , they never gave it away at any stage.

I still think we are a very outside chance to play in September , but if we lose next week its goodbye.

Rocket23
26 Jun 2004, 23:11
Originally posted by skylark18
Yes we lost tonight.....BUT...........I was very proud of the boys , they never gave it away at any stage.

I still think we are a very outside chance to play in September , but if we lose next week its goodbye.

Unfortunately Skylark I think it's wishful thinking!!!

I would be happy if we win more games than we lose for the rest of this year.

skylark18
26 Jun 2004, 23:32
True............at least we should get rid of some dead wood at the end of year clearance sale....lol , eg. Davis and Kinnear , maybe O'Bree too

rychenroller
26 Jun 2004, 23:40
The biggest pity is that we were our spearhead away from 2 wins in the last 2 weeks. Sydney and Melbourne are our bitch with Taz roaming the forward line.

Alas we are consigned to lower ladder oblivion, while those 2 will probably play finals footy. Thanks to the tribunal, justice is served :rolleyes:

morgues
27 Jun 2004, 00:23
goddamnit :(

the most painful game to watch this season i reckon

so close, yet so far

swans rebound from defence was too quick :(

ah well, mathematically still a chance, but realistically i doubt it :(

if only we had tarrant - rocca was nearly dead the whole game, his fitness seemed to be non-existent

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh it hurts

*deep breath* its just a game, its just a game, its just a game *deep breath*

:(

bucksisbest
27 Jun 2004, 01:48
Yep we lost and definitely lacked Tazza's prescence and Rocca was still extremely limited , but that's the hand we've been dealt .
Don't even worry about slight possibility of finals because it definitely won't happen.
Now we've Just got to give some guys some experience at senior level and see who is and who isn't up to it , in and attempt to reload for 05.

Syd
27 Jun 2004, 09:48
Commiserations.

Well played and hard fought throughout.

Your boys were a credit to your club yesterday and it was one of the most enjoyable games I've been to in ages.

Good luck for the rest of 2004.

shuveradda
27 Jun 2004, 10:09
Originally posted by Syd
Commiserations.

Your boys were a credit to your club yesterday and it was one of the most enjoyable games I've been to in ages.

Good Man.. Your comments aree exactly on the ball.

Good Stuff.

Last nighty we played good, But now seeing as everyone knows we are out of it. Why don't we just blood more young players. Mullins, Shackleton, Maxwell ETC.

PJ Power
27 Jun 2004, 11:56
You may be "out-of-it" and there is no doubting that mathematically it will be tough, but I expect that you will only finish 1-2 games or even just percentage outside the eight, and you will certainly be the best side outside of September action.

I have a strong feeling that you will stretch and certainly disrupt the run-home for several of the other top eight sides in the last 9 weeks - my mob especially.

Matches against Freo in the west (I think) and Brisbane (albeit in Victoria) will be possibly the two games that prevent your finals involvement.

The last two weeks were very impressive. Melbourne have been superb this year as highlighted by their beating Essendon comfortably. You made them sweat as you did with Sydney last night.
Port (MCG), Essendon and Geelong, you will take it right up to, if not get over them.

I have no doubt that Collingwood will shape the Finals and maybe still give it some sort of a shake.

NICK THE PIE MAN
27 Jun 2004, 13:42
Originally posted by Syd
Commiserations.

Cheers Syd.

Disappointing but we gave it a crack. Guess that is all you can do.

Well done to your lot.

grayza
27 Jun 2004, 16:13
what a shattering loss

oh well sydney wanted it more in the end and they got what they deserved the 4 points

the thing that buggered me the most was Leon Davis, in the side to kick goals, and lets face it needing to kick a few big bags soon or it could be lights out, he misses a set shot from 20 metres not much angle, and if he kicked that it would have been a huge difference

im not confident bout next saturday either, i can see sundays papers now and its not pretty
hopefully im very wrong....hopefully

PS. Cheers Syd, good luck with your boys also

Rocket23
27 Jun 2004, 19:34
Originally posted by Syd
Commiserations.

Cheers Syd, I know I will prob be on the Swans for the Finals unless a minor miracle occurs and the Pies sneak in!

Good Luck!!

skipper kelly
27 Jun 2004, 19:38
Originally posted by Syd
Commiserations.

cheers mate:D :D :D

MarkT
28 Jun 2004, 12:04
I'm happy that we fight these games out but at the end of the day we weren't good enough. We should have won by a couple of goals but once again we kicked ourselves out of it when we should have pressed. Rocca missed to getable shots for him and then the Swans took the ball the length of the ground and goaled. There is game right there. We kicked something like 4 - 11 in the second half, that's just not good enough. When O'L had a difficult shot to win it he nailed it. When we had those shots we missed. We can't kick and if you carry too many oplayers that can't kick you can't win when it counts.