View Full Version : Everyone agrees: Carey a top-shelf coaching prospect!
Rocket Rudi
27 Jun 2004, 12:40
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,9938075%255E19761,00.html
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=156609
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2004/06/24/1087845040579.html
http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,9940930-23210,00.html
A couple of years as assistant to Matthews and then straight into the top job when Leigh gives it away. Let's get him!
SpecialBruce
27 Jun 2004, 12:47
Yeah.
Top Idea!
I'm for it.
SpecialBruce
27 Jun 2004, 19:38
Although Aker would have something to say about it.
Mr Ripper
27 Jun 2004, 22:49
Poison.
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Poison.
I'm with you ripper. Stupid to argue he's anything other than a superb footballer, but serious deep-seated character issues.
He had a couple of assault issues when he was younger which you could write off to experience, but his last debacle at North Melbourne....
That's not 2 seconds of white line fever (ala Rhys Jones, Libba)...
and it's not a 'regrettable mistake from a drunken lost weekend' (ala Danny Jacobs, David Neitz).
That's called a major character flaw - Coolly looking at your best mates wife and thinking "I don't have to work on everyone else's rules - I'm Wayne bloody Carey"
I wouldn't want him mentoring my son.
Eagle Eye
28 Jun 2004, 12:45
You're all being too judgemental - and I suppose we think that Kellie Stevens had no involvement in the whole issue. We will never know the full circumstances of how it happened or why.
A mistake it was and a big one at that, however he didn't commit murder or get involved in anything like what a potential inductee (former Geelong) into the "Hall of Fame" was.
By the way, he is not the first player or coach that has had a liason with a team-mates wife - he just got caught! He came (no pun intended) clean and took his medicine, it cost him his club, his best mates (Arch, Stevo, etc.) his captaincy, probably a 300 game mark, and almost his marriage. We and the media have had our "pound of flesh".
The whole thing counts for nothing as to whether he could be a good coach or not.
This dumb mistake cost him very dearly (probably more than we will ever know) and we should assume he has learnt his lesson.
It's time to move on and remember him for what an outstanding player and captain he was, and whether or not you are a Roos supporter he was a pleasure to watch when he played at his peak.
Possibly the greatest CHF that ever played!
I'm sure he could be a coach - a good one who knows, but if Leigh wants him, then we will have him and Akka will have to deal with it.
OldLion
28 Jun 2004, 13:12
He's got some redemption time to do - preferably somewhere else. Actually I find him pretty boring and boorish.
Originally posted by Eagle Eye
You're all being too judgemental - and I suppose we think that Kellie Stevens had no involvement in the whole issue. We will never know the full circumstances of how it happened or why.
You're right, we don't know the full circumstances. But there are some things that are beyond question.
He did it the first time, maybe drunk, maybe co-ersed, whatever. Then he did it again. And again. And again for over two months.
Yep, he's paid, and paid and probably deserves an opportunity, but his character is now set, and you need to recognise that fact when you are bringing any new employee into an organisation.
Lenny29
28 Jun 2004, 19:41
As a non-Lions fan, the thought of Carey coaching Jonathan Brown in any way, shape or form scares the living hell out of me.
SpecialBruce
28 Jun 2004, 20:35
Think of it from this angle.
Carey our forward coach.
The Guvna primed to be the next Carey. The Guvna idolised Carey when The Guvna was younger. The Guvna wants to try and have the same approach as Carey. Imagine how much better the Guvna will get.
LETS GET CAREY!
Dreams of Four
28 Jun 2004, 21:44
We would have to pay him an absolute bucketload.
Can't see anything taking him away from Melbourne where the media will pay him heaps. I just can not see it happening.
One of the articles had Carey staying on with the Crows in a coaching capacity. I think that is where he should stay, obviously depending on who gets the senior gig. He has started to re-build himself there and should continue. He'll always be remembered for the affair mostly because the level of betrayal and because of the leadership role he had. But he might be able to push some of that back if he works out as an assistant coach.
I don't think the Lions actually need him either.
Originally posted by L-Nizzy
As a non-Lions fan, the thought of Carey coaching Jonathan Brown in any way, shape or form scares the living hell out of me. Another Wayne 10 yrs of tearing the guts out of the Bummers and Eddiewood.I would love to see that
Bobby Beecroft
30 Jun 2004, 08:42
& who do you believe ha should replace then ?