View Full Version : Poll to make Stocka a moderator on this board. Seems things need to be fairer to all
NoelMugavin
27 Jun 2004, 20:00
I think Stocka would make a great moderator here. I know he has been around a long time and makes a great contribution with well thought out points and takes most things into consideration.
I dont know if its only me but i sense a few people getting power hungry on this board. Maybe with Stocka as a moderator a more reasoned and fair approach might be achieved?
SpecialBruce
27 Jun 2004, 20:16
What about me?
Dodongo
27 Jun 2004, 20:19
Dodongo remembers when there was a topic about Dodongo for moderator a few years back.
Originally posted by NoelMugavin
i sense a few people getting power hungry on this board.
Huh?
How do you get power-hungry on an internet posting board?
And how would one ever exercise this power?
Unless you're referring to the current moderators????
Maybe it's just ME, but they seem to do a fair and reasonable job.
No offence intended to Stocka but what would adding yet another moderator actually achieve...specifically?
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
What about me?
To qualify as a moderator one would need to be........well........moderate.
SB......is this you?:D ;)
burgerfats
27 Jun 2004, 20:27
What about me?
Thankyou Shannon Noll.
NoelMugavin
27 Jun 2004, 21:56
Stocka is very fair and reasonable..been here a long time and an all round good bloke..also a die hard lions supporter
I say give him a go!!
Mr Ripper
27 Jun 2004, 23:34
I thought it was BigFooty policy to have two moderators per board. There appears to be a vacancy here.
Vote 1: Stocka!
Who's gonna be the stereotypical evil character that tries to beat him? Do we have another runner?
I'm looking at Luthor, seeing that he will not be busy walking naked to the MCG.
SpecialBruce
27 Jun 2004, 23:40
Originally posted by Homer
Who's gonna be the stereotypical evil character that tries to beat him? Do we have another runner?
I'm looking at Luthor, seeing that he will not be busy walking naked to the MCG.
He wouldn't have done it anyway coz he's chicken.
You wanna be the evil one?
If all else fails... I will be begrudgingly evil:(
Any of the higher-ups of BigFooty got anything to add to this?
SpecialBruce
27 Jun 2004, 23:44
I'm not evil. Not at all.
Who's been plucking the threads from obscurity? Only a purely evil genius would litter our board with old news. :eek: :p
SpecialBruce
27 Jun 2004, 23:49
The man in the moon!
NoelMugavin
28 Jun 2004, 00:00
moon face?
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
I thought it was BigFooty policy to have two moderators per board. There appears to be a vacancy here.
Vote 1: Stocka!
Oops!
I actually missed the fact that we now only have one mod.
So, fair 'nuff......Stocka is OK by me.
What about the nominee himself?..........you want the job Stocka?
I wouldn't have done it anyway because Mercuri was never going to out-poll Richo:D
NoelMugavin
28 Jun 2004, 19:45
A little bird from another board tells me another little bird from this board with multiple aliases (with the same Ip address) is voting like crazy against Stocka being a moderator here.
Paranoia must be creeping in. This is very sad.
SpecialBruce
28 Jun 2004, 20:31
A little bird from another board tells me another little bird from this board with multiple aliases (with the same Ip address) is voting like crazy against Stocka being a moderator here.
Who the hell wouldn't want Stocka moderator?
I hate being evil.
He is fine.
Knowledgable footy brain and doesn't go causing trouble. He qualifies too by that criteria.
Well I know that there are 4-5 names at this IP address.
Me
My Younger Bro (whom supports Freo)
Mum
Dad
One alias
It can happen, but maybe its just everyone jumping at shadows. :confused:
Who the hell wouldn't want Stocka moderator?
You look like you are trying to cover some tracks, SB. ;)
NoelMugavin
28 Jun 2004, 22:07
I think Stocka would be a breathe of fresh air as moderator here!!
I want to know who the other candidates are before I vote
NoelMugavin
28 Jun 2004, 23:36
Stocka, stocka, & STOCKA
I reckon we have Stocka myself.
He's a good bloke. Give him a go!!!
campbell
29 Jun 2004, 11:40
Why do we need another Mod.
Essendon,Freo,Hawthorn,Melbourne,St Kilda,Eagles and Fitzroy Boards only have 1 moderator.
The Sydney has NO Moderator.
campbell
29 Jun 2004, 11:43
The fixed IP adresses is a myth.All dial ins have grouped IP's eg if you are with BigPond then you have the same grouped numbers.Even BigPond Cable have different Ip's.
So stop causing trouble whoever you are.
lioness
29 Jun 2004, 14:29
Well I think it'd be good to have a moderator from each side (Bears and Roys) for unity and all that. :p
If Stocka wants the job then I'm happy with that, and this is meant in no offence at all to him, but are there any other candidates who might want to put their hand up for the job?
Originally posted by campbell
Well what are we hanging around here for? The Sydney Board is obviously the place to be . . . sex, drugs, booze . . . well it is the Sydney Board after all.
SpecialBruce
29 Jun 2004, 14:50
Take a look at the Sydney board before you make statements like that.
It's a graveyard.
NoelMugavin
29 Jun 2004, 15:16
Originally posted by lioness22
Well I think it'd be good to have a moderator from each side (Bears and Roys) for unity and all that. :p
If Stocka wants the job then I'm happy with that, and this is meant in no offence at all to him, but are there any other candidates who might want to put their hand up for the job?
That is excellent to hear Lioness.great attitude..me says Stocka would be the best candidate from the Fitzroy side of frequent board visitors.
The other person I would nominate would be Ripper. He is great value too!
I hope he is cool with doing it.
Good sh i t!!
NoelMugavin
29 Jun 2004, 15:17
and SB people know its you with the aliases voting against Stocka. Grow up dude.
The other person I would nominate would be Ripper. He is great value too!
I hope he is cool with doing it.
I'd be happy to be a mod, on the Lions board, as long as there is not too much work involved. There isn't too much trouble on here, so it'd be a pretty cruisy job, I reckon.
I also reckon Ripper would be a good candidate, or even someone like Roylion or CJWalkley (amongst other 'Fitzroy' people).
However, I don't think either Ripper or myself would get the gig, as we don't seem to be too popular around here, for whatever reasons.
SpecialBruce
29 Jun 2004, 15:31
and SB people know its you with the aliases voting against Stocka. Grow up dude.
FYI - I happen to be a good friend of Stocka's and I never voted against him. I have voted for him.
NoelMugavin
29 Jun 2004, 15:33
I agree with all your candidates Stocka. All good people but I think more so you or Ripper are the ones probably spend most time actually online.
I agree with you about there not being too much trouble on here. Maybe Special Bruce being a bit painful but most of us are used to that and humour him.
As to not being too popular. That is just malarky. You are the other side of the coin and you are a lions supporter from the Fitzroy merger. I reckon thats an important part.
I know lots of us would welcome you here as moderator now that Lioness has opened the door.
Hope to see it happen soon.
I agree with all your candidates Stocka. All good people but I think more so you or Ripper are the ones probably spend most time actually online.
With a new job, I'm not spending as much time on-line as I used to (despite being on holidays atm).
I agree with you about there not being too much trouble on here. Maybe Special Bruce being a bit painful but most of us are used to that and humour him.
Nah, he's alright. People haven't cottoned on to his sense of humour yet. ;)
NoelMugavin
29 Jun 2004, 15:56
Stocka, youve been around bigfooty a long time..it dont matter if you aint online 24/7...you have a great understanding of the workings of how everything works, politics and are very fair minded..i think they are admirable qualities for the other Moderator spot on the Brisbane Lions board.
Im sure a lot of the Fitzroy people who crossed over and frequent this board as well as Brisbane Lions regulars here would be rapt with your appointment.
Lioness?
campbell
29 Jun 2004, 16:02
I repeat, why do we need 2 mods.Is there a problem at the moment with the 1 we have or what.Please explain?????
SpecialBruce
29 Jun 2004, 16:03
LL is doing a wonderful job at the minute I must say.
NoelMugavin
29 Jun 2004, 18:52
yes agreed, yet very quiet on this topic...
Lady Lawrence
30 Jun 2004, 11:21
Thought I would leave this to see where it went. But it went nowhere. Does anyone have a problem with the way I moderate this board? Please advise if there are any issues.
Originally posted by Lady Lawrence
Thought I would leave this to see where it went. But it went nowhere. Does anyone have a problem with the way I moderate this board? Please advise if there are any issues.
You're doing a great job. Continue.
not me ,you are going just fine please continue !!
NathanD
30 Jun 2004, 14:14
What's it with NoelMugavin pumping up Stocka's tyres - smacks of the old Maverick and his many aliases?
Bobby Beecroft
30 Jun 2004, 14:26
I put on a thread earlier today that about 4 ppl responded too, & totally agreed with what I had said. I am curious to know where this vanished too?
'I don't who removed it', but some type of explanation would be nice, as it was in no way offensive, & as I said everyone had agreed with me.
If the explanation does not suffice (which I seriously doubt it could) perhaps it is time for a change.
campbell
30 Jun 2004, 14:57
Roll on the end of the holidays and the start of play this weekend,then hopefully we can get back to some normality around this place.
Bobby Beecroft
30 Jun 2004, 15:22
Roll on the end of the holidays and the start of play this weekend,then hopefully we can get back to some normality around this place.
With ya there;)
NoelMugavin
30 Jun 2004, 15:26
sounds to me lots of people have issues. Posts disappearing and a lot of people not really having a proper voice. I know a lot people feel the past moderating style here in the Brisbane Lions board has smacked of bias and ouch. I for one would hope you could be open enough to accept someone from the Fitzroy side of the merger and the other side of the coin. Stocka is a long standing member that posts consistantly in both the Fitzroy and Brisbane Lions forums. He is quite well respected by all and always has a common sense approach to his discussions.
This post is not meant to be having a go at you Lady Lawrence but more looking to make this board better for all concerned.
NoelMugavin
30 Jun 2004, 15:28
Originally posted by Bobby Beecroft
I put on a thread earlier today that about 4 ppl responded too, & totally agreed with what I had said. I am curious to know where this vanished too?
'I don't who removed it', but some type of explanation would be nice, as it was in no way offensive, & as I said everyone had agreed with me.
If the explanation does not suffice (which I seriously doubt it could) perhaps it is time for a change.
I know this sort of thing bothers me too at times.
NoelMugavin
30 Jun 2004, 15:35
Originally posted by NathanD
What's it with NoelMugavin pumping up Stocka's tyres - smacks of the old Maverick and his many aliases?
I have no idea who Maverick is. And Im certainly not pumping up Stocka's tyres. Its all about addressing what could make this board a better place for all. No one should feel threatened its really just about adding another person to have a say in moderation. This should be a good thing and certainly will be welcomed by the Fitzroy end of the Brisbane Lions merger.
I know theres a lot of people who are in hope that this board is big enough to accept another moderator from the Fitzroy side of things come in to make the board stronger and more united.
tapestry
30 Jun 2004, 15:38
sounds to me lots of people have issues. Posts disappearing and a lot of people not really having a proper voice. I know a lot people feel the past moderating style here in the Brisbane Lions board has smacked of bias and ouch. I for one would hope you could be open enough to accept someone from the Fitzroy side of the merger and the other side of the coin. Stocka is a long standing member that posts consistantly in both the Fitzroy and Brisbane Lions forums. He is quite well respected by all and always has a common sense approach to his discussions.
This post is not meant to be having a go at you Lady Lawrence but more looking to make this board better for all concerned.
Seeing as nearly all the stupid posts made by the potstirrers in the last few days have disappeared maybe that is why the the brisbane board going downhill post went too, I saw it there this morning too.
But hold up too Noel. Who said LadyLawrence is Bears or isn't Fitzroy? I thought she was Brisbane Lions with no tie to either background. More than qualified to moderate this board. And what's with the sudden influx of wanting Fitzroy influence on this board too. Time for some people to take a big chill pill.
NoelMugavin
30 Jun 2004, 15:46
no one is having a go at Lady Lawrence per say and Im not saying she is pro Brisbane but if other boards have two moderators wouldnt you think it would be good if boards like Brisbane Lions especially had two moderators - one from each merged entity sitting alongside each other. To me it makes good sense and shows good-will to all who frequent the board who follow the Brisbane Lions. Kinda like the BB and FFC side side by side on the back of the jumper.
You tell me is Lawrence a Fitzroy supporter? Theres no problem if she is not (or post merger Brisbane Lions supporter) but to be pro active and bring in a Fitzroy person would be a posiitve thing to make this board better and more complete in respect and moderation.
Shouldnt be about anyone feeling threatened.
campbell
30 Jun 2004, 16:15
Why do we need a Fitzroy or Bears supporter, we are the mighty Brisbane Lions now, LL is a Brisbane Lions lady, so we have the correct person doing the job. Go to the Fitzory Board if you have a problem and leave us Brisbane Lions alone.
Go away all of you stirrers.
Lady Lawrence
30 Jun 2004, 16:24
I am a Brisbane Lions Supporter, not Bears or Fitzroy - not that that makes a difference. My moderating is not biased either way. All opinions are valid and none are removed. The only posts I do remove are ones that become abusive or turn into a personal attack. When this happens parties are told of the removal. If they have been warned about something before, had a post removed and they then proceed to do it again, no explanation necessary just removal of post.
To Noel directly: I don't see what your issue is. If you have issues with my moderation of this board please raise them. Having a bears moderator and fitzroy moderator makes not the blindest bit of difference as both opnions from both sides are valid. I am slap bang in the middle with no leanings either way. How would my Bears or Fitzroy slant make a difference to moderating. A moderator is not about an opinion, it is about being fair and equitable and making sure the board stays a clean and friendly place to be, where people can express an opinion and debate a topic freely.
If we were to go with your way of thinking we would need 3 moderators.
What is this boolsheet about Fitzroy/Bears. When has this ugly head risen. Anyone still not able to accept Brisbane Lions I have two words for you.
Phukk off.
If DHL has been able to move on, we here at BF can do the same.
If Stocka wants to be moderator he should be on the bases that he is a Brisbane Lions supporter and suitable to do the job. The fact that he also comes with a Fitzroy baggage should have no bearing on his suitability. If he still holds on to the Fitzroy identity and he is doing the job because somehow he feels a Fitzroy balance is needed, than he is not suitable for the role.
Lady Lawrence is doing a fine job. If she needs assistance than lets get another moderator, but not because someone says we need a Fitzroy moderator.
We re all here because of the BRISBANE LIONS. If you are here pursuing other motives please find the exit and shut the door behind you please.
So can we get back on track and discuss issues relating to our club The Brisbane Lions and wining another premiership.
NoelMugavin
30 Jun 2004, 17:03
A moderator is not about an opinion, it is about being fair and equitable and making sure the board stays a clean and friendly place to be, where people can express an opinion and debate a topic freely.
exactly L L exactly this is why Stocka would make a perfect second moderator here.
Give him a go. Do the right thing!!!
lioness
30 Jun 2004, 18:42
Geez, I'm seeing a LOT of bull**** here, and not from those who are wanting Stocka as a moderator!!
I think most people have lost the point of all this. A second moderator is obviously going to be handy to keep the board crap-free at all times, and eases a bit of the load on LL, since she can't be on here all the time. I can't speak for everyone, but in my own case I am not saying LL is doing a bad job at all and I hope that my posts in this thread didn't imply that.
I also said that a second moderator should be chosen from ANY suitable candidates, if anyone wants to put their hand up then perhaps we could have a thread where people could state their case and then the rest of us could decide who might be suitable. The reason so many people are pushing Stocka's name is because regardless of who he supports, he is fair-minded and intelligent and would make a good moderator.
And I think the most important point that has to be made here is that having two moderators gives people a choice of who they contact in regards to problems on the board, if they aren't comfortable with one person handling their issue, then there is a choice of another. And I don't see that as a bad reflection on LL at all, it's just the way life is and I'm not sure why so many people are opposing it. :confused:
How about we just keep personal agendas out of it and discuss the idea properly?
Appleyard
30 Jun 2004, 18:48
OK, about 60% say "No", so "No" it is.
In any case I don't think this board needs a second mod at the moment. When it does, then I'll accept e-mails (Note: E-MAILS) nominating people. All of the mods will have a discussion about the nominations, with me making the final decision.