View Full Version : He's finally GAAWWWNNN
Just read it on sportal.com
http://www.sportal.com.au/football.asp?i=news&id=52808
Goodbye Dud and thanks for leaving the club in a position even further behind than when you arrived.
And for that matter, say goodbye to ever being a senior coach again.
5 wasted years.
Time for the club to rebuild from the ground up. Onwards and Upwards from here!
What a gutless person you are... getting on the Internet and bagging a guy who has put everything he has into the RFC.
What have you done in life that makes you so great? Clearly you lack something in life considering you need to cowardly degrade someone on an Internet Forum where nobody knows who you really are.
Take a look at yourself...
rfctigerarmy
28 Jun 2004, 16:06
2001 wasnt wasted.
Well seeing as you know so much about Frawley - what would you be doing to win games? He got you guys into the finals in 2001 - so what has he done obviously wrong since & what else should he have done?
I don't want things that could have gone either way and went against him... I want obvious errors he made that have lead to you being where you are now.
Originally posted by yetsla
What a gutless person you are... getting on the Internet and bagging a guy who has put everything he has into the RFC.
What have you done in life that makes you so great? Clearly you lack something in life considering you need to cowardly degrade someone on an Internet Forum where nobody knows who you really are.
Take a look at yourself...
Well maybe you've enjoyed watching him set our club back over the last 4 1/2 years. Maybe you enjoyed watching our players clap the St.Kilda team after they belted us last year. Maybe you thought his drafting of players like Hudson were masterstrokes.
I took a look at myself and decided that what I've done that makes me so great is pay for a membership every year for the last 5 years.
A guy that put everything he has into the RFC? What a joke. More like a guy that knew once the RFC gig was up, he would never coach again and tried to make it last as long as possible.
Its ppl like you that keep ppl like Frawley in 5 years contracts. No wonder we're the St.Kilda of old. On the park and off it.
GhostofJimJess
28 Jun 2004, 16:27
Originally posted by 1980
Just read it on sportal.com
http://www.sportal.com.au/football.asp?i=news&id=52808
Goodbye Dud and thanks for leaving the club in a position even further behind than when you arrived.
And for that matter, say goodbye to ever being a senior coach again.
5 wasted years.
Time for the club to rebuild from the ground up. Onwards and Upwards from here!
How about a bit of respect.
It's easy to be derogatory in the comfort of your anonymity.
Maybe you enjoyed watching our players clap the St.Kilda team after they belted us last year.
I was at that game & in fact I did enjoy seeing a club paying their respects to a guy who had just retired after playing 300+ games of AFL football. Any team in the AFL would do this regardless of the games result. This just shows how moronic & short sighted to the game you really are.
Picking up Hudson at the time was fine - someone else was needed to help Richardson & he was still playing good footy (I recall him kicking around 8 goals one day the year before he went to Richmond).
You pay your money... which makes you a SUPPORTER. Doesn't give you a licence to go public and get into the team.
I bet the majority of Richmond people would be ashamed of how your acting.
Most people would congratulate Frawley on realising the club needs a change & feel sorry for him that he put in so much work to see it fall through.
Clearly your name being '1980' shows you were spoilt growing up with a team who always won - well in the modern day it won't happen. Someone has to go badly & it will always even up.
I was at that game & in fact I did enjoy seeing a club paying their respects to a guy who had just retired after playing 300+ games of AFL football. Any team in the AFL would do this regardless of the games result. This just shows how moronic & short sighted to the game you really are.
Picking up Hudson at the time was fine - someone else was needed to help Richardson & he was still playing good footy (I recall him kicking around 8 goals one day the year before he went to Richmond).
You pay your money... which makes you a SUPPORTER. Doesn't give you a licence to go public and get into the team.
I bet the majority of Richmond people would be ashamed of how your acting.
Most people would congratulate Frawley on realising the club needs a change & feel sorry for him that he put in so much work to see it fall through.
Clearly your name being '1980' shows you were spoilt growing up with a team who always won - well in the modern day it won't happen. Someone has to go badly & it will always even up.
I just realised you're not even a Richmond supporter. Unless you've watched more than a handful of games over the past 5 years dictated by defensive tactics, poor match-ups, teams lacking confidence and afraid to lose games, good players becoming mediocre players, a total loss of basic skills like kicking to a target, then you're not qualified to comment on how ppl like myself that have endured all this feel.
Its cold in Melb this week. Shouldnt you be off skiing somwhere?
The famous last words of somebody clearly outsmarted by a Melbourne supporter... And anyhow - having a go at somebody for being well off? Doesn't make too much sense to me buddy - you have a lot to learn about society! I'd bet my bottom dollar you'd kill to be at the snow yourself.
Must you know the major earner in my household is a Richmond member & I go to Richmond games as well as watching almost all of them.
Your players being no good you can't blame all on the coach - and regardless if he was good or not he still had a great crack and doesn't deserve the kind of stuff you have said.
Funky Colin
28 Jun 2004, 17:05
As a Hawthorn supporter, I feel our clubs are currently in similar situations, and can empathise alike.
1980 - I feel sorry for you that you're unable to appreciate that the difference between a good, ordinary or bad season is a combination of several factors, of which the coach is only one. Thankfully, other Richmond supporters are more mature and balanced in their understanding of the situation.
Richmond were fantastic in 2001, and 8 rounds into 2003 were on fire. Since then, like Hawthorn, things have dropped away and it's clearly time for our clubs to make some changes.
It needn't be dealt with in the manner that 1980 has chosen. A bit of decorum and respect for people (Frawley & Schwab) who have given their all over their tenure wouldn't go astray.
Tigerrific
28 Jun 2004, 17:06
The famous last words of somebody clearly outsmarted by a Melbourne supporter... And anyhow - having a go at somebody for being well off? Doesn't make too much sense to me buddy - you have a lot to learn about society! I'd bet my bottom dollar you'd kill to be at the snow yourself.
Must you know the major earner in my household is a Richmond member & I go to Richmond games as well as watching almost all of them.
Your players being no good you can't blame all on the coach - and regardless if he was good or not he still had a great crack and doesn't deserve the kind of stuff you have said.
Go away Yetsla, we are not interested in anything you have to say here. Stick to the Melbourne board you fool:mad:
Originally posted by Tigerrific
Go away Yetsla, we are not interested in anything you have to say here. Stick to the Melbourne board you fool:mad:
Sorry for bringing some sense and saying things not feral like the majority of the members here...
I bet there are heaps of Richmond supporters who read this who agree with what I've had to say.
Tigerrific
28 Jun 2004, 17:14
Sorry for bringing some sense and saying things not feral like the majority of the members here...
I bet there are heaps of Richmond supporters who read this who agree with what I've had to say.
I actually agree with what you said but also I know you are pathetic little troll. Go away, we don't want your opinions here.
5 years is more than enough time to get rid of underperforming players and more than enough time to recruit and develop new ones. Frawley has done neither and despite all the goodwill and sentiments on the day he resigned, this will be his legacy.
Sorry mate. Nothing to do with class warfare. More to do with the passion levels of supporters at the respective clubs. And Demon supporters are famous for both their lack of passion and for being dilletantes.
Anyway, I checked your profile. Ernst & Young employees hardly qualify as the well to do, Tax boy.
Never once claimed to be 'the well to do'.
Why would anyone on here what club I support if I am making valid points about issues relating to Richmond?
Tigerrific
28 Jun 2004, 17:46
Why would anyone on here what club I support if I am making valid points about issues relating to Richmond?
Why do you come here? This is the Richmond board. Go and troll on the main board.
You have trolled here in the past so no-one takes your opinions seriously anyway.
Why do you come here? This is the Richmond board. Go and troll on the main board.
You have trolled here in the past so no-one takes your opinions seriously anyway.
I do actually like the RFC but in the past have just been getting people going - I'm dead serious about this and nothing I have said is out of line.
Take my posts for what the contain...
No one? I take his opinions seriously, tigerrific. He has made a few valid points.
Tigerrific
28 Jun 2004, 18:06
Originally posted by Pirate
No one? I take his opinions seriously, tigerrific. He has made a few valid points.
Pirate, have you seen his previous posts? Initially he was on this board under the name of Alstey and was banned. He came back as Yetsla and comes on with ficticious stories to get everyone wound up.
As I said I actually agree with him this time but would prefer not to hear from him here. His next post will probably be ficticious nonsense.
Tigerrific is a good bloke with many friends... and is not married to a wharfie named Gerogiava.
Woops I think your right!!
Just take my serious stuff seriously ok!!
tiger of old
28 Jun 2004, 18:27
1980 you were quick enough to rubbish spud no end. now and in the past.its a pity that all the football world would see spud,s decision as something good for both the club and himself.if spud came on today and said he would love to continue as coach beyond 2004 you.ll be the 1st to jump down his throat.
he,s going out with dignity yet you couldnt bring yourself to acknowledge that very fact.
cheers!
Gee whiz......... i just had this amazing dream!!!!!
I dreamt that i had this really amazing job where i was payed hundreds and thousands of dollars to do this job even though i wasn`t really good at it , and they let me do this job for an extra 2 and a half years longer than they should have but you know why they let me do it ?? Because i was a good bloke and they liked me !!!!! Lifes good isn`t it.
But the reaaly amazing part of this dream was i should never have got the job in the first place . It was only because no-one else wanted it.
You see, i used to play for the shytest team going around . I was just a good ordinary player , but i tried hard . We never won much but gee we used to have some good times out on the turps . I used to tell lots of jokes and all the boys liked me, i was a good bloke
When i was to old to play any more i rang my mate Tony Shaw at Collingwood and asked if he had a job for me and he said ...... No worries spud . 4 years we coached Collingwood and we turned them into a pack of rabble ( not that they weren`t already) but you know what ? we were all mates and we had lots of good times out on the turps
Just for a bit of a joke with me mates one day i applied for the job at Richmond and guess what ? I got it.
Hang on ............... I`m waking up ................. feeling drowsy ......... did that just happen? .........or was i dreaming? .............please tell me that was a nightmare
Numpty Tiger
28 Jun 2004, 21:49
Danny Frawley has chosen to go out in a way that shows his class.
Here is a bloke who put his hand up to coach at AFL level, took on the job no one else wanted, and did not succeed. Where is his crime?
It's not his fault no-one better than him wanted the job 5 years ago. He coached at a club with poor and unstable administration, a list that unfortunately we all over-rated, and a supporter base renowned for 'eating its own'.
Spud can be blamed for our poor performances over the past few years. We all can.
Whatever he does next, I wish him all the best...
Go Tigers!!!
diggler
28 Jun 2004, 21:55
Yes Spud has gone out with dignity, but the facts are that after 5 years he has left the club in a far terrible situation than when he arrived.
If he wasnt so deluded, he would of walked 18 months ago.
Frawleys negative coaching and terrible draft choices have sent our club to within a grasp of insolvency.
I for one say good riddans and hopefully the club will appoint a ruthless coach.
Even today on fox footy, to see him so matey and chummy with the players at training, is pathetic.
And to be so blindly loyal to his loving players at his press conference, who by being absolutely pathetic on the field, have shown Spud their respect, by ultimately be responsible for his demise.
Its any wonder we are soft and a rabble, putting up with crap for so long.
Too little, too late.
Frawley has sent the club backwards for years.
Numpty Tiger
28 Jun 2004, 22:06
Diggler, not much to argue with in your post - except to say Frawley didn't appoint himself and did ther best he could while there. Can't blame him for having a go - after a Preliminary Final who could blame him for thinking he would do well.
As supporters with the reputation we have, the way we react at times like this may we be (certainly has been in ther past) a factor in a potential new coach deciding whether or not they want to come to us.
To all u people who think he went out with class..get over it.:rolleyes:
He was pushed FFS....HE DIDN'T WALK OF HIS OWN MIND!!
The guy thought he was gonna be around for ten years (as he said in the press confernece).
Many people on here were calling for him to fall on his sword as far back as one year ago so i have no idea where the sudden change of heart comes from now.See it for what it really is.
He had no idea how incapable he was but because he was such a nice guy it didn't seem to matter.
He is the worst coach in the AFL and was unfortunately Richmonds coach.
Spare a thought for the players whos careers he has decimated with his coaching and long lasting psychological effects and think of the money he was paid - very good money - and for what ?
No thanks,I'm with 1980 !
The sooner he gets his spud ars out of the joint the better.
Scram Yetsla!
Originally posted by diggler
Yes Spud has gone out with dignity, but the facts are that after 5 years he has left the club in a far terrible situation than when he arrived.
If he wasnt so deluded, he would of walked 18 months ago.
Frawleys negative coaching and terrible draft choices have sent our club to within a grasp of insolvency.
I for one say good riddans and hopefully the club will appoint a ruthless coach.
Even today on fox footy, to see him so matey and chummy with the players at training, is pathetic.
And to be so blindly loyal to his loving players at his press conference, who by being absolutely pathetic on the field, have shown Spud their respect, by ultimately be responsible for his demise.
Its any wonder we are soft and a rabble, putting up with crap for so long.
Too little, too late.
Frawley has sent the club backwards for years.
Here Hear Diggly Doo,
I too acknowledge the judas-like betrayal the players displayed after spuds announcement as they rolled and frolicked on the grass with their soon to be crucified leader.
Spud - without don't one of the nicest guys you could ever meet. Honest, loyal, dignified and a real classly person.
But he was a cr@p coach.
But he isn't a pr1ck like Walls, Bartlett, Sproule,Northey and some others we have had
1980GFVideo
28 Jun 2004, 23:40
Leigh Mathews, Kevin Sheedy or Dennis Pagan and Mick Malthouse dont look like the type of guys that players would would want to socialise with
but then again neither did Ken Judge
so that is not the true test of what to look for in a coach.
GhostofJimJess
28 Jun 2004, 23:52
You talking on-field or off-field, digs ?
Cause if you mean off-field, that's hardly Frawleys doing.
And if you mean on-field, well that's questionable too. However badly we're currently travelling, I don't remember 1999 as a bed of roses either. In fact, wasn't that about the stage we had all of those supposed "Big 4" - Daffy, Gale etc.. locked into 4 year monster-paycheck contracts?
I realise Danny's a bit of a minibus, but he's no worse than Geischen and Walls were.
diggler
29 Jun 2004, 01:02
You talking on-field or off-field, digs ?
Both Ghost.
Playing negative, ugly and uninspiring football, where kicking 12 goals in a match is exceptional, does not trangress to higher attendances, membership and sponsorship.
GhostofJimJess
29 Jun 2004, 01:17
Playing negative, ugly and uninspiring football, where kicking 12 goals in a match is exceptional, does not trangress to higher attendances, membership and sponsorship.
Fair comment, digs.
Even when we have won during the last 4 years, it's been pretty ugly stuff (except maybe the last two against the Bulldogs and last two against Collingwood).
RexHill
29 Jun 2004, 01:55
There's a smell of shelltox pest strip in the air. He hasn't gone till the end of the year 1980, so back to Coburg you go and stay true to your word. I hope you don't mix up your kool mints with the mothballs when you're looking to get rid of the taste of the lemon you sucked while starting this thread.
This has been a good thread... it has shown there are some level headed RIchmond people in the world.
I just don't understand the mentality of giving stick to someone on a public Forum after they have done their best for your club.
corporal
29 Jun 2004, 10:32
This has been a good thread... it has shown there are some level headed RIchmond people in the world.
I just don't understand the mentality of giving stick to someone on a public Forum after they have done their best for your club.
Your right, as long as someone has done there "best" who cares about winning or success
Now back to your cardboard box under the West Gate
itsintheblood
29 Jun 2004, 10:53
At least spud said in the media yesterday that the team will be playing a more free-er style of football over the next nine weeks.
Ummm spud..... WHY THE F^&K HAVEN'T YOU DONE THIS OVER THE LAST 3 FRIGGEN YEARS????
Proves to me the guy is totally clueless in the coaches role and tony jewell was absolutely spot on.
Originally posted by itsintheblood
At least spud said in the media yesterday that the team will be playing a more free-er style of football over the next nine weeks.
Ummm spud..... WHY THE F^&K HAVEN'T YOU DONE THIS OVER THE LAST 3 FRIGGEN YEARS????
Proves to me the guy is totally clueless in the coaches role and tony jewell was absolutely spot on.
I think you'll find that he is meaning they have less hangin over them pressure wise and can just be free to play footy...
itsintheblood
29 Jun 2004, 11:39
I think you'll find that he is meaning they have less hangin over them pressure wise and can just be free to play footy...
Not the way i read it.
1980GFVideo
29 Jun 2004, 11:46
Originally posted by itsintheblood
Not the way i read it.
Nor do I.
Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams made the comment last year that they had come over to just clog the game up and asked why they didnt come over and try to win.
They seemed to play the brand of football that is winning football against Hawthorn in the first quarter and then shut up shop. If they were cricketers they would be accused of playing for draws.
Originally posted by 1980GFVideo
Nor do I.
Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams made the comment last year that they had come over to just clog the game up and asked why they didnt come over and try to win.
Which is wonderfully ironic because that is EXACTLY how Port Adelaide play the game as well! The key difference is that they have excellent skills and can move the ball slowly through the middle with confidence!
Originally posted by RexHill
There's a smell of shelltox pest strip in the air. He hasn't gone till the end of the year 1980, so back to Coburg you go and stay true to your word. I hope you don't mix up your kool mints with the mothballs when you're looking to get rid of the taste of the lemon you sucked while starting this thread.
His dream of being reappointed is now over. The players will now play to impress a new coach, so reasonable to assume that we wont be seeing the negative tactics, insipidness and lack of confidence that made this team so painful to watch under Frawley earlier in the year any more.
Who cares what you smell in the air anyway? Even when you try to be funny you're still boring.
Originally posted by tiger of old
1980 you were quick enough to rubbish spud no end. now and in the past.its a pity that all the football world would see spud,s decision as something good for both the club and himself.if spud came on today and said he would love to continue as coach beyond 2004 you.ll be the 1st to jump down his throat.
he,s going out with dignity yet you couldnt bring yourself to acknowledge that very fact.
cheers!
Yes that is a valid criticism. However, any goodwill I had towards Spud was used up a long time ago. If he had announced his resignation much earlier in the year when it was clear to everyone but himself that his time was up and even you referred to him as dead man walking, we made have had the opportunity to have a proper go at recruiting coaches like Sheedy. Instead, it was reported today that Miller made a half hearted attempt to call Sheedy's manager last nite on the same day Frawley finally resigned, and was told it was too late. Reminds me in 1999 when they left it too late to speak to Malthouse because Geischen was still coach and when they got around to it were told sorry but I'm off to the scum because they managed the exit of their coach much earlier and better.
So now we're looking at coaches like Eade one level down from Sheedy for next year because Spud held on for as long as he could. If he'd resigned 2 months ago, Miller would have had more time to have a proper go for Sheedy. Unlikely he would have got him, but at least his hands would not have been tied behind his back and forced him to leave it until the very last minute.
julzqld
30 Jun 2004, 09:19
The message we are getting up here is that Sheedy is dithering around with signing his contract. Everyday for the last week we hear how close he is to signing. We also hear that Richmond have made no formal contact with Sheedy. It's as if each side is waiting for the other to make the first move. If Richmond were earnest in getting Sheedy that should have been making approaches as soon as talk of renewing Sheedy's contract came up as everyone knew that there was no chance in hell that Spud's contract would be renewed.
Watch the ferals blame Miller for not going after Sheedy.lol.
GhostofJimJess
1 Jul 2004, 12:40
Originally posted by oxx
Sheedy was never leaving Essendon.
And as soon ar these people wake up to the fact that it's not 1980, and that the world is not this wonderfully sentimental place where football people make decisions purely based on some misconceived sense of romance, and move on, then we'll all be much beter off.
Sheedy is an Essendon person, despite the fact that I wore his Number 10 on the back of my oversized Richmond footy guernsey for the better part of the 1970's.
He has no obligations to Tigerland.
I'll whinge if i wanna lol
Besides, i only want the best for this club and you'd think the club would too. So, regardless if he's a bummer or not, was worth an effort to try and get him.
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Sheedy was never leaving Essendon.
And as soon ar these people wake up to the fact that it's not 1980, and that the world is not this wonderfully sentimental place where football people make decisions purely based on some misconceived sense of romance, and move on, then we'll all be much beter off.
Sheedy is an Essendon person, despite the fact that I wore his Number 10 on the back of my oversized Richmond footy guernsey for the better part of the 1970's.
He has no obligations to Tigerland.
Yes he has no obligations to Tigerland but whether Sheedy was going to leave or not we'll never know for certain. But most supporters would argue Miller should have gone all out and tried.
If it was 1980, Graeme Richmond would have gone all out for him. That's why we're being sentimental about 1980.
And I'd rather be sentimental about Sheedy coaching us in 2005 than sentimental about Frawley's resignation after the past 3 disastrous years and some were arguing about showing him respect despite his atrocious coaching record. Forgeting his coaching record just because he finally resigned is also a misconceived sense of romance.
And guess who is today using Frawley as an excuse today for not speaking to Sheedy earlier?
read the link
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10006679%255E19771,00.html
GhostofJimJess
1 Jul 2004, 23:22
Yes he has no obligations to Tigerland but whether Sheedy was going to leave or not we'll never know for certain. But most supporters would argue Miller should have gone all out and tried.
But we do know for certain ... he was not going to leave.
Surely you don't think that Sheedy only found out about Spud resigning when we did ?
What compelled Sheedy to sign to Essendon by yesterday? Why did he feel the need to hurry through the process of re-signing at Windy Hill immediately in the wake of the Frawley departure at Tigerland? What did he have to lose from allowing a little time to pass before chopping any Tiger approach off at the knees?
Simple fact of the matter is ... Sheedy never intended leaving Bomberland. He is an Essendon person through and through.
Thankfully, by not extending the wait time, he's had the decency to minimise the torture folks such as yourself, who honestly and naively harbored hopes of a return that never had a chance, would inevitably endure when he ultimately knocked back the Tiger offer.
Please don't try and throw the blame at Miller etc.. for this one.
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
But we do know for certain ... he was not going to leave.
Surely you don't think that Sheedy only found out about Spud resigning when we did ?
What compelled Sheedy to sign to Essendon by yesterday? Why did he feel the need to hurry through the process of re-signing at Windy Hill immediately in the wake of the Frawley departure at Tigerland? What did he have to lose from allowing a little time to pass before chopping any Tiger approach off at the knees?
Simple fact of the matter is ... Sheedy never intended leaving Bomberland. He is an Essendon person through and through.
Thankfully, by not extending the wait time, he's had the decency to minimise the torture folks such as yourself, who honestly and naively harbored hopes of a return that never had a chance, would inevitably endure when he ultimately knocked back the Tiger offer.
Please don't try and throw the blame at Miller etc.. for this one.
You're right. He was never coming back.
But why did Miller bother calling Sheedy's manager the same day Frawley resigned if. If it was a slam dunk, he shouldnt have even done this. Is he naive too?
I hope we appoint a caretaker coach and get Mick Malthouse.
I hope your kidding... if not you are even more stupid than I first thought.
corporal
2 Jul 2004, 14:02
I hope your kidding... if not you are even more stupid than I first thought.
yawn