View Full Version : Campbell consigns to not being a premiership player

1980GFVideo
29 Jun 2004, 02:10
From the Age.

Miller said yesterday: "We've only met on process and a criteria but we've not actually talked about coaches." First among them is the acknowledgement that the club is not in immediate premiership contention and has to rejuvenate its list, a process that will take several seasons at least.

Richmond captain Wayne Campbell said as much yesterday when he discounted the possibility of being a part of a Richmond premiership side.

Whoever replaces Frawley must be prepared to endure one or more losing seasons. It is understood members of the subcommittee believe that in those circumstances, an experienced coach will be better equipped to withstand the scrutiny and criticism of the years of rebuilding.

This would seem to count against the assistant coaches-in-waiting such as Mark Harvey, Gary O'Donnell and Frawley's lieutenant, Darren Crocker.

I wonder if Campbell is considering doing what Stan Alves in his playing day and giving himself a chance of playing in a premiership at a more successful club.

Must be enticing and I couldnt say I would blame him. The club tried to convince him that things were on the upturn when he decided not to go some years back.

Solomon must be kicking himself for not coming over now.

I wonder what they told him in regards to where the club was last year.

oxx
29 Jun 2004, 02:25
As sad as it would be to see Campbo playing for say,Brisbane next year in a granny,I would still feel happy for the guy.

All personal attacks aside,he really has been a true leader in a time where there has not been much to lead.

He deserves some kind of reward so whay not let it be a flag with someone else.

He may even make coach one day cos u know his heart will always bleed Y&B.

Let him do what he wants i say.

heartbroken
29 Jun 2004, 09:52
to think at the start of the season, Campbell said he expected Richmond to finish in the top 4. Does that mean he is not going to come out with any more outlandish comments next season?

Good to see the reality has finally caught up with him

itsintheblood
29 Jun 2004, 11:42
Originally posted by oxx
As sad as it would be to see Campbo playing for say,Brisbane next year in a granny,I would still feel happy for the guy.

All personal attacks aside,he really has been a true leader in a time where there has not been much to lead.

He deserves some kind of reward so whay not let it be a flag with someone else.

He may even make coach one day cos u know his heart will always bleed Y&B.

Let him do what he wants i say.

Not sure i agree with you on this one oxx. I reckon he's the worst captain in the AFL by a mile.

DirtyDogTiger
29 Jun 2004, 12:16
Originally posted by 1980GFVideo

First among them is the acknowledgement that the club is not in immediate premiership contention and has to rejuvenate its list, a process that will take several seasons at least.

Well that's good.
I'm happy we are starting from the ground up with the right coach

Although I thought that was what we did when frawley came in.

The first mistake he made was trading 2 draft picks (hahn and hargreaves) for leon Cameron.
Now all 3 are at the westernbulldogs.

if we are rebuilding...I hope we draft accordingly and just go for kids. Get Deledio!!!

let's forget trading picks for used players.
Young(Hilton) or old (Hudson) or in between (blumfield)

winning anymore games this year will not be in our best interests draftwise but I'll always barrack for the tigers to win when the ball is bounced.

1980GFVideo
29 Jun 2004, 13:08
Originally posted by DirtyDogTiger
Well that's good.
The first mistake he made was trading 2 draft picks (hahn and hargreaves) for leon Cameron.

Its interesting how now that Hahn and Hargreaves have come on, people see the Cameron deal in favour of the Western Bulldogs.

Whenever Bulldog supporters used to get into Terry Wallace about getting rid of Cameron to Richmond he would just say "judge me in a couple of years".

He has done the right thing by the club even if he is not there to enjoy the rewards for knowing the Dogs had to rebuild after better finals appearances than the one we made.

Im not sure where we rate as far as most draft choices given up but I reckon we would be pretty high up there. Unfortunately there is only one successful season to justify that approach.

oxx
29 Jun 2004, 14:25
Originally posted by itsintheblood
Not sure i agree with you on this one oxx. I reckon he's the worst captain in the AFL by a mile.

He is mate!
Im just trying to give him something before he quits:D

oxx
29 Jun 2004, 14:33
LMAOOO - I HOPE NOT

Players owe 'Spud': Campbell
Sportal

Richmond captain Wayne Campbell says the players are keen to give outgoing coach Danny Frawley a 'send off that he deserves'.

Frawley resigned on Monday afternoon but will remain as coach until the end of the season, which has nine games remaining.

Campbell, who sat alongside his coach and friend during the announcement at the club's board room at Punt Road, said he was privileged to have a great relationship with Frawley.

"What he's done for me and my career has been greater than what anybody else has ever done, so personally, I can only thank him wholeheartedly for that," Campbell said.

"I'll take out of footy that we're going to be friends for a long time and he helped me become hopefully what I wanted to become."

"One of the great things that I'll take out of footy, and it won't be a premiership unfortunately, but it'll be the relationships that I've built up with people and probably at the top of that list will be my relationship with Danny."

"I think anyone that's known Danny, from probably when he was five years of age, and has been in contact with him has realised pretty early on he is a pretty special sort of person."

Campbell believes the ending of continued speculation regarding the coaching position, which has engulfed the club in recent weeks, will help everyone concentrate on ending the season on a positive note.

"The players were pretty disappointed today upon hearing the news but I suppose it just allows the whole club to focus on the next nine weeks and hopefully we can give him the send off that he deserves from the Richmond Footy Club."

"The club is bigger than any individual, there's no doubt about that, and certainly he's shown that today."

The team has won five games from its last 27.

"If one bloke deserves to play in a premiership, it's Wayne," Frawley said of the club's skipper.

Coach Required
29 Jun 2004, 15:27
Campbell should be sacked for even bringing up such a thing, what an insult to the coach, what now that the guy has come out and quit, the team will start playing for him?

thankgod we play the lions this week.

what a load of rubbish.

itsintheblood
29 Jun 2004, 15:37
He truely is a disgrace for coming up with all this crap.

See ya later campbell.

JohnF
29 Jun 2004, 15:50
If Campbell doesn't think he can play in a premiership then he may as well retire at the end of the year. What's the use of him playing on?

Any help he can give to the youngsters at the club should be in an off-field capacity.

If we had let him go in 1998 we would have been much better off. We would have sooner realised what a rabble we are, sooner rebuilt and we could have been in a pretty decent position by now.

Players like Campbell have held us back. He was ready for a premiership but he had nothing but duds around him. He and the club should not have been as deluded as to think we could win one.

1980GFVideo
29 Jun 2004, 15:53
Players will be playing for thier careers not to give Danny a send off.

Truetiger
29 Jun 2004, 22:09
Yeah i really do feel for campbell he has given his all to the RFC. I liked the fact that he said well i wont win a p'ship however I have made a long life friend in frawley that was nice...

1980GFVideo
30 Jun 2004, 00:59
Originally posted by Truetiger
Yeah i really do feel for campbell he has given his all to the RFC. I liked the fact that he said well i wont win a p'ship however I have made a long life friend in frawley that was nice...

No doubt Frawley is the type of bloke who is good for footballers and he has a place in a football club but the overall package that is needed for a coach these day he wasn't.

Supporters are the backbone of a club and its hard to feel good about comments like that when the success that is so badly needed for Richmond isn't there.

its a complete opposite relationship to the one Campbell had with Gieshen when Gieshen went out and sprayed Cambpell and Knights at the end of the last game.