View Full Version : Fremantle Vs Western Bulldogs

BulldogMike
29 Jun 2004, 18:04
We have you at the Telstra Dome on Sunday in what shapes as a good game. Who are your likely ins and players under the hammer?
We have Brian Harris out but we have Chris Grant who can be damaging.
Who will you guys have for B Johnson,West,Murphy?
I might get someone to put the likely sides up later otherwise i might do it. Who do you guys think are the players you will need to watch and who we need to watch?

voodoo_86
29 Jun 2004, 21:45
My biggest concern would have to be Johnson, easily the best bulldog in my opinion and if he pulls out another 30 possession 3 goal game he seems to do so often he'll make your life easier.

Harris will be missed if snake can hold on to a few. As for ins and outs I cant see many if any changes.

I like watching the bullies they play a good style of game, looking forward to this game, think we might win this one but obviously it won't be as easy a game as last year.

fitzmantle
29 Jun 2004, 22:13
Rohan Smith is the main serial pest. Maybe Matthew Carr will get the job. I can probably see the Chicken Farmer have a blinder against us as well.

Kenny_01
29 Jun 2004, 22:57
Yep... and Giansiracusa usually plays really well against us. West has to be negated as well.

Rob
30 Jun 2004, 00:11
In: McManus
Out: Cunningham

I don't think most people realise just how critical this match is. If we lose we could be out of the 8, and completely destroys any chance we had of making top 4. Win and we could be 5th, one game out of the top 4 with 5 very winnable games next.

Interesting round with 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th playing 9th, 10th, 11th and 13th. Could either create a logjam in the ladder or create a huge chasm between 8th and 9th. Pity we don't play on Friday night, I don't know who to barrack for in the other games! ;)

And on the game: Harris out is a huge bonus for us. Really been impressed by what he's done at full back, and gives our very 2nd rate forwards (i.e Simmonds, and the away form Medhurst and Farmer) a chance to actually kick goals in Melbourne.
To be honest, Johnson, Smith and West don't overly concern me. They always play well and the Bulldogs still usually lose. Its more the 2nd tier players that we need to control to win the game.
I'm sure some other hack will step up and play a blinder though, as usual. :rolleyes:

Kapow!!!
30 Jun 2004, 09:52
Just going through everyone's tips on the AFL board and apparently we're expected to get thrashed :confused:

masai
30 Jun 2004, 10:50
Originally posted by Kapow!!!
Just going through everyone's tips on the AFL board and apparently we're expected to get thrashed :confused:

Ouch underdogs, that's something new for Freo .....

Macca's back!!!!!.

Kenny_01
30 Jun 2004, 15:16
Who cares what they think.

The bookies know best and they have us favourites. Having said that, we have been favourites in most our games this year.

voodoo_86
30 Jun 2004, 16:50
I've always been under the impression, that aside from intial odds, bookie's odds are based on the money that gets plunged. Thus these odds would also be decided by the punting public, not the bookies themselves. Could be wrong though.

BulldogMike
30 Jun 2004, 16:59
M. Boyd A .Morgan? S Koops

R.Smith C.Grant B.Harrison

R.Murphy S. West N. Eagleton

J. Mcmahon P. Bowden M. Hahn

M.Robbins J. Rawlings S. Power

L. Darcy D.Giansiracusa B. Johnson

Interchange from?
J.Mcmahon, A.Cooney, P. Street,W. Minson,L.Gilbee,C.Faulkner,R.Hargraves,D.Cross

viper60
30 Jun 2004, 17:36
Who cares what they think.

Said it best Kenny, I prefer when the odds are against us.

mike2j7 you have koopsy lined up in the back pocket, would love to see him on the Wiz or Medhurst.

One of those teams for us as a club we could play well & smash them or rollover for them.

Early but I'll tip us by 26 with the Wiz kicking a bag.....

BulldogMike
30 Jun 2004, 18:01
Originally posted by viper60
Said it best Kenny, I prefer when the odds are against us.

mike2j7 you have koopsy lined up in the back pocket, would love to see him on the Wiz or Medhurst.

One of those teams for us as a club we could play well & smash them or rollover for them.

Early but I'll tip us by 26 with the Wiz kicking a bag.....

I have a feeling Boyd or Koops might get Farmer.

Kapow!!!
30 Jun 2004, 18:39
Originally posted by voodoo_86
I've always been under the impression, that aside from intial odds, bookie's odds are based on the money that gets plunged. Thus these odds would also be decided by the punting public, not the bookies themselves. Could be wrong though.

No, you're right. Odds are created by how much people bet on one side. The initial odds are $1.80 for both sides and then they go opposite ways when money has been put on one side.

So we must be favourites

viper60
30 Jun 2004, 18:39
This game should have some great match-ups in the forward & back lines. Our midfield should get on top but the old dogs (Smith & west) are always dangerous.

Ripper
30 Jun 2004, 21:21
I expect a closer game than the last 2.

Freo by 98 points. ;)

Kenny_01
30 Jun 2004, 23:22
Yeah, only the initial odds are made by the bookies. The rest is determined by the market.

rchowell
1 Jul 2004, 16:54
G'day folks. I'm a Lions fan but living in southern Tassie I don't get to see too much AFL, so whenever I get the chance I make sure I take it. So I'm gonna be in Melbourne on the weekend and as a show of Non Victorian Solidarity I'm heading along to Docklands on Sunday to see the mighty Dockers give the Bulldogs a good old fashioned pantsing!

Anyway I'm here to find out from any of you guys if you know where are good places to sit i.e. where all (3 of the) Docker fans normally sit. I know most of you are Western Australians but if any of you are Victorians or are heading over for the game can you please give me a hand :) I'm sure Bulldogs fans aren't as vicious as the Pies but still I don't want to be spat on :o

So yeah GO FREO! and hopefully they don't play that goddamn awful basketball style of game that they played against Port! :eek:

Darkjedi
1 Jul 2004, 17:33
As a signed up member I normally just sit in the 3rd tier...
In the General Admission section....

Eagles4Ever
1 Jul 2004, 17:37
Along with the other 3 Freo supporters there.

BulldogMike
1 Jul 2004, 18:02
Originally posted by Darkjedi
As a signed up member I normally just sit in the 3rd tier...
In the General Admission section....

We will be there in force at the Dome Fremantle supporters. We should outweigh you by a few thousand.

viper60
1 Jul 2004, 18:09
We will be there in force at the Dome Fremantle supporters. We should outweigh you by a few thousand.

Only a few thousand, they will be dissapointed:D

Along with the other 3 Freo supporters there.

Never ceases to amaze me, yeah & they will witness what interstate Toast supporters dont a win.

masai
1 Jul 2004, 19:41
Originally posted by mike2j7

Yes the Bullies are such great crowd pullers ......

bluey17
4 Jul 2004, 18:03
I felt your best players were Troy Shammer and Roger Hayden....

Freo Big Fella
4 Jul 2004, 18:04
Good win, bring on the Roos next week!:D

Kenny_01
4 Jul 2004, 18:04
Heh ;)

viper60
4 Jul 2004, 18:07
Cant wait for the Roo's game, fly in just in time to watch my 1st game this year.:)

voodoo_86
4 Jul 2004, 18:14
Originally posted by bluey17

Laugh, gold.

Kenny_01
4 Jul 2004, 20:21
How clean were JLo's hands today? I reckon that's the best he has been marking for about a year.

masai
5 Jul 2004, 12:50
Originally posted by bluey17

Yep brilliant commentary, I wonder if Channel Packer has heard the word professionalism.

Studying the teams you are going to call prior to the game would be a handy start.

Darkjedi
5 Jul 2004, 14:29
Originally posted by Kenny_01
How clean were JLo's hands today? I reckon that's the best he has been marking for about a year.

I was at the game and I couldn't believe how good he was.
And then I checked the fremantle website to read the match report and he didn't even rate a mention in the best category.