View Full Version : Marc Murphy
Marc MURPHY 19/07/87 179 cm 75kg Oakleigh/Beverley Hills
Young gun heading to the Lions under father/son rule.
Son of John Murphy (Fitzroy).
Selected in the Metro squad. He is only 16 therefore not eligible for the 04 National Draft. He will be eligible next year.
Currently plays forward pocket and is blessed with speed.
Apparently tossing up between Footy and Cricket, as he is also a
talented cricketer.
The brains trust at the Lions need to do some work and put some time into this young gun.
Does anyone else know more about Marc? He will be on show during the National Under 18 championship. Anyone able to watch and give us a report?
I believe the TAC Championships are being telecast on Fox Footy. I don't have it. Those that do can give us a report on Marc.
I've got Fox, so I'll do what I can.
Didn't Johnny Murphy go around for the Swans in the late 70's too? ( And the Kangas too I think but couldn't have been more than a handlful of games there).
He'd have to have played 100 games for the Swans for them to get the option on him, right?
cjwalkley
1 Jul 2004, 11:18
I'm going down to the Vic C v Vic M game at the G on Sunday, so I'll give a report on Murphy and other likely types after that. Is there anyone in the Queensland squad or NT squad that people think I should keep an eye on?
Originally posted by xplo
I've got Fox, so I'll do what I can.
Didn't Johnny Murphy go around for the Swans in the late 70's too? ( And the Kangas too I think but couldn't have been more than a handlful of games there).
He'd have to have played 100 games for the Swans for them to get the option on him, right?
Only the Lions can pick him up under F/S rules. John Murphy did not play sufficient number of games for the Swans and North.
Ah, it's all good then.
Cheers!
MSB ROYS
1 Jul 2004, 14:10
If he's a good player then I hope he wants to play with the Lions!
keatings_gal
1 Jul 2004, 23:19
QLD players
James Page & Austin Lucy - both played for the suncoast lions & earned their place with the scorpions through their hard work playing for us so if you get a chance have a look @ them.....
really excited about Michael West (maybe #25???) hes a great kid.. tall & can take a great mark - absolutely lives & breathes footy its just so exciting....
scotty harding another champion player with silky smooth skills... (so has to get picked up)
Lee Spur -this is his 1st year in the 18 but impressed me through his time in the 16s as well.... shows great leadership & gets in there in the middle
daniel fletcher is a champion player as well
Cheynee Stiller - brother of our rookie list champion jeremy.. great
Jake Weller - also gonna be great, luke's brother (quite obviously)
i like andrew browning as well, oh & tyson Upton..... (hes a ressies kid from a couple of years back)
beau tanton - fast little dude - did well last year & hopefully he can step up again this year being a 2nd year 18s player.....
i could go on about most of the players but it could got forever so heres the link a story about the scorpions which also includes a team list
http://www.aflq.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=29367
cjwalkley
4 Jul 2004, 23:32
Marc Murphy was ultra impressive today against Vic Country. He has good speed, reads the play well and is a one touch player. He began on the wing and played forward all day. His work as a link player and around the packs was first rate.
Not surprisingly he needs to work on his strength to hold a tackle, but he is about 18 months younger than a lot of the others out there. He takes a nice over head mark and has plenty of courage. Foot and hand skills are good and his decision making is first rate.
Originally posted by cjwalkley
Marc Murphy was ultra impressive today against Vic Country. He has good speed, reads the play well and is a one touch player. He began on the wing and played forward all day. His work as a link player and around the packs was first rate.
Not surprisingly he needs to work on his strength to hold a tackle, but he is about 18 months younger than a lot of the others out there. He takes a nice over head mark and has plenty of courage. Foot and hand skills are good and his decision making is first rate.
OK!!! He can play a bit, but will he look good in the Maroon, Blue and Yellow?:D
Here's a report on the championship;
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10040851%255E19742,00.html
Marc Murphy again amongst the best in the Vic Metro Vs WA
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=158794
OldLion
10 Jul 2004, 14:54
He's a terrific player - we'd be mad not to bust a gut to get him.
Just watched the final of U18 championships - Vic Metro vs SA. Vic Metro were up by 40 points just before halftime but SA kept coming till they tied the game up with about 2.5 minutes to go. Ball pinged around a lot before Marc Murphy controlled a loose ball just forward of the centre, handballed to a kid called Sharp running through, who lived up to his name by steadying from 50 and slotting it.
Siren went seconds later.
Onballer called Jarred Moore for the Vics was best on ground by a mile. Kid called Little kicked 5 from full forward. Heaps of very sharp kids out there.
Murphy was probably in the mix for the best 6. Probably plays most like the 2003/2004 onballer version of Lukey Power, I reckon.
Very well balanced whether running flat out or bending over the ball. Not lightning over the ground, but very sharp with his hands and both feet. Luke was very slight when he came to the club. In terms of physical development Marc looks to me to be about the size Luke was when he was about 22.
All up, as they say in the classics, looks a very likely type.
Caught the tail end of an interview with John Murphy and Kevin Bartlet on SEN116 the other day. Mostly about John's career and other things but they did also talk about his son Marc as well and the possibility of him coming to Brisbane.
John did say that Brisbane have been talking to Marc and although Marc has been supporting the Kangas, of late he has switched his allegiance to the Lions for obvious reasons. He also did mention that other clubs have also been in Marc's ear trying to dissuade him of coming to the Lions.
Wonder who those obvious clubs would be?
Anyone caught the entire segment and enlighten us with a more comprehensive outline?