View Full Version : Macca (and other musings...)

ImperialPurple
4 Jul 2004, 23:41
Did he do enough today to keep his spot?

I reckon - just...

That goal on the run was pure joy, gotta love it when someone with his guts and determination pops up with a ripper like that. And didn't he love it too.

Was pretty average around the ground, but certainly wasn't "bad" or "off".

Bit of pressure from beneath at the mo. Macca is going to have to keep up a pretty good standard - Luke Webster will be looking for a midfield spot within the next few weeks, and Browney looks like he will certainly be a regular from here on in...

Thornton slipped right back in - thought he showed poise and great maturity for someone who has only played a handful of senior games, and only a handful of games at any level since his illness. Wasn't convinced before today, but he's won me with just the one game! He's a great option for kick-ins - did better today than Haddrill has all year (no disrespect to Sir Robert...).

With Woods having a good game, Grover doing well - The Genius and Happy are going to have to play some real blinders for Souths to get a look in again (I don't mention McPharlap, Action Man or Sir Robert as they are the "untouchables" down back at the moment).

Polly... hmmmm. Clearly he's a class player - and still so young, but he is also clearly not happy up forward. He's a good CHB and will get better as he matures - but McPharlap is better. I am not of the "stick Pav at CHF" opinion. Pav is an awesome midfielder, and considering he's just 22, will only get better. McPharlap for CHF, Polly for CHB??? Have been thinking this all year, and we have seen CC has been keen to try this out. Maybe give it a bit more time and see how they go. Don't know though - would be a shame to lose McPharlap's drive from half back.

Clive and T-Lo look to be gorn... Clive should retire at season's end, and as much as I love T-Lo for his enthusiasm he isn't consistent enough to warrant a recall. Trade?? Poor T-Lo - gives his all, but you can't win games on enthusiasm alone.

Snake is starting to look good at FF. Ironic that he left Melbourne to get a regular No1 ruckman gig, but is now third in line behind Sandman and J-Lo. I think his rucking days are over, and he needs to grab the opportunity to reinvent himself with both hands. J-Lo is emerging - his marking today was fantastic and his work around the ground was terrific.

Hase, Bell, Pav, Schamm, Browney, Des (coming good!!!) - not a bad looking midfield! Taking out Belly, that's an average age of just over 21!! Imagine 3-4 years from now.

Medders - leave him alone! The guy is not going to play a blinder every week, but when he turns it on he is a fantastic talent. He's a opportunist - who needs opportunities to do what he does best. Monkey bashers - get back in your boxes! Same with the Wiz - no doubt he hasn't set the world on fire during his time at Freo, but he creates opportunities and works hard. He could probably stop trying to be quite as clever as he does, but isn't he bloody exciting when it comes off!

Hmm... this started off with wondering about Macca... I think I'll stop now. :D

Ripper
4 Jul 2004, 23:45
Very profound IP. Very good points all of them.

Unchanged lineup next week I reckon.

hoss
4 Jul 2004, 23:59
Good post IP - agree with most of it, but I'm not prepared to give up on T-Lo just yet. Was great in WAFL yesterday. Macca was alright, but took some time to adjust to the pace of AFL. Good enough to keep his spot though. I think CHF is still our problem area, but don't have the solution just yet.

masai
5 Jul 2004, 13:22
Macca was ok, limited game time?, played out of position?.

Pav around midfield drilling the ball forward.

Snake leading strong and creating crumbs for the midgets.

Give Polly a go at CHF again.

Darkjedi
5 Jul 2004, 14:33
Justin Longmuir was good, marking and effort in particular.
Hase was a bit quiet but still pretty good.
Headland did enough but still made a few too many errors.
Pav didn't really have a standout game but played ok.
Bell was great....
Simmonds is working well as FF.

error404
5 Jul 2004, 19:23
Great post IP. I spent the weekend down south touring the wineries (Gee the Commodore looked out of place next to all the Range Rovers:D ) and didn't see or hear any footy at all. A quick look at the stats doesn't tell me much, but Macca's stats didn't look to flash. How much game time did he get??

fitzmantle
6 Jul 2004, 15:40
Maccas goal may have saved his AFL career. Up to that point I thought he was gorn. His first kick was a shocker (wobbled along the ground), his next touch was holding the ball, then he gave away another free for in the back.

Roger Hayden might be bought back to pick up Wells. I think Rog gave young Wells a footy lesson last year Rnd 19.

masai
6 Jul 2004, 17:02
Originally posted by fitzmantle

Roger Hayden might be bought back to pick up Wells. I think Rog gave young Wells a footy lesson last year Rnd 19.

In essence it will come down to having Hayden or Woods, not both. Thornton was brought in for Hayden and in my eyes did very well, so that is the scenario.

Freo Hitman
8 Jul 2004, 04:51
Imperial Purple ,
I havent been here for a few weeks for good reason & one reason was casue of T Longmuir.
Alot of you guys for some reason had a fixation on him cause of WAFL form V inferior opposition.
Well I wanna say something , He is really a crap player & I am desperate for him to be picked for one game name running in to the finals so he can display how **** he really is.

It seems everyone has jumped off his bandwagon now , whilst I have been sayin give A browne his spot

What dya say evryone , is TLo worth it ????????????

Freo Hitman
8 Jul 2004, 04:54
Originally posted by fitzmantle
Maccas goal may have saved his AFL career. .

Dont kid yaself
we werent playing Brissy in round 20 at the Gabba whilst trying to secure a top 2 spot.

Poodle Head is playing career best games from now on or seeya later

Freo Hitman
8 Jul 2004, 05:08
Originally posted by masai
In essence it will come down to having Hayden or Woods, not both. Thornton was brought in for Hayden and in my eyes did very well, so that is the scenario.

You are on crack cocaine.
Masai you may disagree but I will take anyone on.

Why give up Woods or Hayden ??? especailly when Parker is nearing the end of his career. If you were smarter I think seigert s or tragically the PEEL Thunder overlooked in Danny haines would be more under pressure.

Giving up on Woods or Hayden right now would be the equilalent of giving up an emerging Mick Long in 92.

Masai I expected more from you. &sorry Fitzmantle I forgot to mention I watched Poodle head at the Dome on Sunday , Dani Haines is thrice the player of the ol' shiztu terrier

Freo Hitman
8 Jul 2004, 05:14
Originally posted by ImperialPurple
this started off with wondering about Macca... I think I'll stop now. :D

Macca out , Hayden in IMO

Kenny_01
8 Jul 2004, 05:24
Originally posted by Freo Hitman
Macca out , Hayden in IMO

Ditto.

Macca or Cook.

Hayden didn't play well in the WAFL but I'd bring him in anyway to play on Wells or Harding.

masai
8 Jul 2004, 11:47
You are on crack cocaine.
Masai you may disagree but I will take anyone on.

Why give up Woods or Hayden ??? especailly when Parker is nearing the end of his career. If you were smarter I think seigert s or tragically the PEEL Thunder overlooked in Danny haines would be more under pressure.

Giving up on Woods or Hayden right now would be the equilalent of giving up an emerging Mick Long in 92.

Masai I expected more from you. &sorry Fitzmantle I forgot to mention I watched Poodle head at the Dome on Sunday , Dani Haines is thrice the player of the ol' shiztu terrier

I get the idea you think I was talking about trading?. I was only talking about this weekend, where one or two changes may be required.

Hayden and Woods may be fighting for the same place this weekend as Thornton has cemented his place for at least one week.

fitzmantle
8 Jul 2004, 15:31
Freo Hitman, I gather you didnt take Portugals loss to well.

voodoo_86
8 Jul 2004, 16:54
What dya say evryone , is TLo worth it ????????????

Another thing you continually fail to take into consideration is the lack of opportunity he gets on the ground and the way he is played out of position. I'm a huge fan of his, but am now starting to doubt his position in the side as he is not very flexible as his out of position form shows.

I would actually like to see him up as trade bait, I think he'd do well at somewhere like the eagles who could use a good marking forward. I know a few eagles supporters that agree with me.

voodoo_86
8 Jul 2004, 16:57
Originally posted by masai
I get the idea you think I was talking about trading?. I was only talking about this weekend, where one or two changes may be required.

I thought that was obvious myself, considering what the thread was discussing.

I agree with FH on his players in danger of delisting though. I think Seigert and Haines, simply because of the lack of opportunity they've received and the time they've been around, are gone. If the rumours about Haines and his knee condition preventing him getting a game is true, its pretty sad.