View Full Version : Trade No One!
Docker_Brat
8 Jul 2004, 02:26
I might be out of touch with the reality of the AFL, but there seems to be this culture that you have to do a trade, sometimes it's apples for apples and there is no change in the status quo.
Well I reckon that Fremantle need do no trades at all. Stuff it. Show loyalty to the blokes we have on the list now and keep them together for a couple of years. I really believe that we have the playing stock to be a genuine premiership threat.
Let Port make their demands for Carr if they like. I would love to see him on the Freo list, but if we have to give up ONE player then the price is too high.
Freo Hitman
8 Jul 2004, 04:28
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I might be out of touch with the reality of the AFL, but there seems to be this culture that you have to do a trade, sometimes it's apples for apples and there is no change in the status quo.
Well I reckon that Fremantle need do no trades at all. Stuff it. Show loyalty to the blokes we have on the list now and keep them together for a couple of years. I really believe that we have the playing stock to be a genuine premiership threat.
Let Port make their demands for Carr if they like. I would love to see him on the Freo list, but if we have to give up ONE player then the price is too high.
Docker Brat who is making the noise for J Carr ??? I suspect the pooofs ot shockerland.
Well we dont need him , & you are 100% correct in saying we have to show faith in the guys we have. If Jcarr wanna come to Freo , Port better show what they have to off for us to take Carr on board.
Kenny_01
8 Jul 2004, 05:23
I don't know about not trading anyone but trading someone like Polak for an above average midfielder is suicidal IMO.
funky_monk
8 Jul 2004, 11:02
Originally posted by Kenny_01
I don't know about not trading anyone but trading someone like Polak for an above average midfielder is suicidal IMO.
Agree that we shouldn't trade Polak and I also agree we shouldn't get too excited and that if the trade doesn't happen it doesn't happen... but.... I think that getting a physically mature tough nut in our midfield would help promote development in our squad.
How many other teams have lost to Hawthorn this year? And they beat us by simply being tougher and harder.
Originally posted by funky_monk
. I think that getting a physically mature tough nut in our midfield would help promote development in our squad.
I agree that we shouldn't trade for the sake of it.
I am waiting for the new Mesiah Luke Webster to return.
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
I agree that we shouldn't trade for the sake of it.
To blow out another knee like one with the same initials LW? 3 knee recons at 22-23 years old isn't a good sign.
Originally posted by dasler
To blow out another knee like one with the same initials LW? 3 knee recons at 22-23 years old isn't a good sign.
The knee blow out of the two LW's may be something to do with a North Perth Royal jinx?.
Get Luke to a decent WAFL club, I mean just because his old man and grandfather played for the team, is there any reason for him to stay at Leederville?.
sabre_ac
8 Jul 2004, 18:11
I agree trade no one.
Sign polak offer the power our first pick and another player, if they dont want that then stuff em.
error404
8 Jul 2004, 18:39
If Polly leaves the purple it will be because:
A: Wants to join his mate, Croad at Hawforn.
B: Wants to much money and we have to trade him to keep under the cap.
wrennyboy
9 Jul 2004, 12:17
From an outsiders point of view i think that T.Longmuir will be going.
Eagles4Ever
9 Jul 2004, 13:25
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
They only return if you treat them right Rip!!
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=159272
The West Australian: Fremantle defender Luke Webster is considering suing the club after failing to receive any injury payments since having a knee reconstruction last year.
Cheer Red Blood
9 Jul 2004, 17:45
I'm sure you will have to trade one of your ruckmen, Longmuir,Sandilands and that other bloke is too much, but that's just my view.
Originally posted by Cheer Red Blood
I'm sure you will have to trade one of your ruckmen, Longmuir,Sandilands and that other bloke is too much, but that's just my view.
Is that other bloke Snake?.
Snake is FF and can be used in the ruck, but then that great Black Duck export, Mr Ball is so much better!!!.
I don't think trading ruckmen will be the go this year.
Otto's ladder
9 Jul 2004, 18:07
I'm a supporter that believes trade everyone on our list (no need to start getting into me about Richmond, I know we're a laughing stock), but to say trade no-one at Freo is absolutely dillusional. When your team has won three premierships in a row and gunning for a fourth, only then can you make rash calls like this. Your team is far from a force, and I for one will be surprised that even if you make finals action, that you will be competitive at all.
Eagles4Ever
9 Jul 2004, 18:12
Originally posted by masai
I don't think trading ruckmen will be the go this year.
Not with the way ruckmen have been going down the last couple of years. Just look at us and you will see the importance of having a couple of spare ruckies if one goes down injured. The lanky buggers dont heal quickly either.
Originally posted by sabre_ac
I agree trade no one.
Sign polak offer the power our first pick and another player, if they dont want that then stuff em.
Trade no one, but offer another player?
huh?