View Full Version : how not to attrack membership and crowds

auste1234
11 Jul 2004, 00:07
I don't care whether or not anyone agrees with me, But its **** CC keeps on building up every game as a final and then the team and his coaching lets EVERTYONE DOWN!

Letting down people who pay $300 for membership and $40 for a ticket is not the way the build membership and a club. CC needs to get tough and fair dinkum and not just his light hearted self.

GET FAIR DINKUM AND TOUGH CC OR GET OUT. WE NEED A COACH NOT A WALKING ADD!

I know thats abit hard but we got out coached at key times and the players showed little heart and interest in the last term, when things got tough they mentally switched off. No doubt about it this is the perfect chance to drop medhurst and farmer, clive has got to get a game.

The last 4 games at home is not the way to get a membership base and attrack a 40+ crowd!

Rob
11 Jul 2004, 00:36
The supporters most definitely don't deserve the crap put on display tonight.

If we can't even beat middle of the road sides at home, what chance are we to even make the finals, let alone win any?

hoss
11 Jul 2004, 00:52
I wanna know why we play games at Subi at NIGHT in the middle of WINTER. Are we purposely trying to recreate Melbourne weather at home and in doing so hand all of our home ground advantage to the opposition. We play terribly in the cold and Vic teams tend to run out of legs in warmer conditions. Is this an AFL plot or do we actually ASK for these night games?????:mad:

voodoo_86
11 Jul 2004, 02:46
I have no doubt we ask for these night games. You saw the crowd - 37k. That's huge for a Freo game especially against a team like the Kangas that doesnt have the biggest support in WA unlike your Essendons/Collingwoods/Carltons. The people who make the fixturing requests care about money.

The game as a spectacle was alright for the first 3 quarters, although it felt the umpies where giving us a hard time. 4th we went to sleep and the rampant kanga's blew us out of the water. These are not the sort of efforts that will attract membership (and when the crowds are big, you want them leaving happy cause there's obviously some bandwagoners there). The 17 point margin yet again flatters us and fails to expose the true problems. We still crumble when the game is hard.

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 12:26
Originally posted by hoss
I wanna know why we play games at Subi at NIGHT in the middle of WINTER. Are we purposely trying to recreate Melbourne weather at home and in doing so hand all of our home ground advantage to the opposition. We play terribly in the cold and Vic teams tend to run out of legs in warmer conditions. Is this an AFL plot or do we actually ASK for these night games?????:mad:

omg :rolleyes: ...LOL its a WINTER....YES WINTER GAME :p omg:p

hoss
11 Jul 2004, 14:14
Originally posted by PortProudWA

:D Yes I realise the winter bit is not negotiable - night games in winter however are a lot different to day games (has something to do with the Sun)

Docker_Brat
11 Jul 2004, 14:18

omg :rolleyes: ...LOL its a Freo Forum....YES Freo Forum :p omg:p

F*** off.

ImperialPurple
11 Jul 2004, 14:44
Originally posted by Docker_Brat

F*** off.

:D

voodoo_86
11 Jul 2004, 16:08

F*** off.

Gold :)
Beat me to it.. this person is a moron.
Like a bad smell, which they probably emit, just wont go away.

nearlyblonde
11 Jul 2004, 18:35
OMG.......all of this invective from the very same lot who break all speed limits getting over to our board to cast pearls of what they consider hilarity whenever the Eagles come a croppa.

Dish it out, you`ve gotta be prepared to receive it.

voodoo_86
11 Jul 2004, 19:12
Who might I ask?

Cant say I read the eagles board so i'm not being patronising, honestly, who does it?

However, by pointing out the hypocricy, you yourself are being hypocritical. You have two of the worst in your mob - MV and that matera idiot.

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 19:45

F*** off.

Is Connelly talking The F word this year:D

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 19:46
Originally posted by voodoo_86
Gold :)
Beat me to it.. this person is a moron.
Like a bad smell, which they probably emit, just wont go away.

Like your House Of Pain Term;)

Docker_Brat
11 Jul 2004, 19:53
Originally posted by nearlyblonde
OMG.......all of this invective from the very same lot who break all speed limits getting over to our board to cast pearls of what they consider hilarity whenever the Eagles come a croppa.

Dish it out, you`ve gotta be prepared to receive it.

Not everyone, idiot. How many posts do I have there?

Coming here is just as bad and makes your whinge invalid. Now you may fornicate off as well.

error404
11 Jul 2004, 20:03
Is Connelly talking The F word this year:D

:D :D :D God invented beer so ugly people like Porky could get a root as well :D :D :D
:D :D :D grunt :eek: squeal:eek: :D :D :D

Docker_Brat
11 Jul 2004, 20:05
Originally posted by error404
:D :D :D God invented beer so ugly people like Porky could get a root as well :D :D :D

Not enough beer in the world for that.

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 20:21
:D :D :D grunt :eek: squeal:eek: :D :D :D

PMSL....thats so funny :p .....If you only knew;) ....Funny how Freo people are a bit like collingwood and cant keep on the topic of Football and have to try and Insult and get personal....But I follow a winning team, so thats all that matters. I wouldnt lower my self to get Personal...only here to hang **** on YOUR CLUB, NOT YOU.....but thats ok, if it gets you off, more power;) to you!!

Farrand
11 Jul 2004, 20:52
Obviously you have a lot of time on your hands Port. Does bitterness drive you to this board? And is this because, while Freo aren't final contenders and haven't been close, Port have been close so many times only to get a thrashing in the semis. It would hurt me worse to get so close, only to fall down at the last hurdle. With Freo, atleast you can see where you're going.

hoss
11 Jul 2004, 20:54
PMSL....thats so funny :p .....If you only knew;) ....Funny how Freo people are a bit like collingwood and cant keep on the topic of Football and have to try and Insult and get personal....But I follow a winning team, so thats all that matters.

A winning team until Finals Time . Now go away and choke on your verbal diaroehha.

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 21:02
A winning team until Finals Time . Now go away and choke on your verbal diaroehha.

At least my team will be there......choke or not....Will yours?????
Or will you have to wait another 9 years to clap your team off for losing their first final??????

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 21:04
Originally posted by Farrand
Obviously you have a lot of time on your hands Port. Does bitterness drive you to this board? And is this because, while Freo aren't final contenders and haven't been close, Port have been close so many times only to get a thrashing in the semis. It would hurt me worse to get so close, only to fall down at the last hurdle. With Freo, atleast you can see where you're going.

No not really.....I work full time, and a mum so no......but it is the weekend, and sunday so i guess I must.

No bitterness dosent drive me hear.......Rubbing your noses in your own teams pathetic performances does!! Yes we have been close, a lot closer than Freo, and you've been there longer.

And yes sure can see where Freo is going:D

hoss
11 Jul 2004, 21:06
At least my team will be there......choke or not....Will yours?????
Or will you have to wait another 9 years to clap your team off for losing their first final??????

I'd be delighted to see Port win another McClelland trophy then choke in the finals. Not much use being there if you can't deliver come Sept.

I will not apologise for Freo supporters being loyal and not fickle. We don't like to spit at our players like Power and Tiger supporters.

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 21:10
I'd be delighted to see Port win another McClelland trophy then choke in the finals. Not much use being there if you can't deliver come Sept.

I will not apologise for Freo supporters being loyal and not fickle. We don't like to spit at our players like Power and Tiger supporters.

When did a Port Supporter ever SPIT at there team????

Geoff
11 Jul 2004, 21:12
PortProudWA

I wouldn't sound off too much. Both Freo and Port have relativities which are pretty close. I reckon it's these likes that drive the passion of both clubs. The advise is save all the agro up for he ones that deserve it because we might need each other one day.

Farrand
11 Jul 2004, 21:13
It's better to develop and get there solidly rather then collapsing at the end of the raise after leading for so long. You say you that you haven't got time on your hands, yet you are here rubbing our faces in it when we are down, not something I've ever done to an opposition supporter (barring All Blacks and England supporters). Why don't you go pay your kids the same amount of attention. Or are you an unhappy housewife, who hopes to spark up somekind of fling over the internet?

error404
11 Jul 2004, 21:17
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
oik oik grunt squeal

**** off porky

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 21:17
Originally posted by Farrand
It's better to develop and get there solidly rather then collapsing at the end of the raise after leading for so long. You say you that you haven't got time on your hands, yet you are here rubbing our faces in it when we are down, not something I've ever done to an opposition supporter (barring All Blacks and England supporters). Why don't you go pay your kids the same amount of attention. Or are you an unhappy housewife, who hopes to spark up somekind of fling over the internet?

PMSFL......Yer, see you just cant help your self can you. So what are you doing on here, my daughter is at and I work 55 + hours a week mate!

why cant you people stick to football, or is that to hard to talk about. And hell yer, I'll rub your face in it, just like it gets rubbed in mine!! You've been developing for the last TEN Years, and of course Freo supporters never rub it in to other teams do they.....NO Never!!!

PortProudWA
11 Jul 2004, 21:18
oik oik grunt squeal

**** off porky

Why should I loser :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Farrand
11 Jul 2004, 21:56
I said I've never rubbed it in with any opposition supporters, but I can't account for everyone else.
Anyway, what do you expect it to become other then something personal. You will find, that you are hardly sticking to the subject of football by being here. Pragmatically. If you quoted stats, talked up players, then I'd have some belief in general banter. However, you know your team has one, ours has loss, and thats all you need to know. Being as you are a mother, you should have a little humility and should behave your age. Hey, lets not make it personal though, I can't tell you how to live your life. But congratulations on Port's win, I'm sure they'll go far this year. Godspeed eh?

theferrett
11 Jul 2004, 22:16
I have always had a liking to Port because like us they were the 2nd side from their state and they would have had to put up with alot of crap from the Crows. They have also had to put up with alot of crap from the Victorian supporters and I never really realised why.

Along comes PortProudWA and a 9 year mindset has changed.

PortProudTart let me guess you dont work as a diplomat do you

hoss
11 Jul 2004, 22:41
Originally posted by theferrett
I have always had a liking to Port because like us they were the 2nd side from their state and they would have had to put up with alot of crap from the Crows. They have also had to put up with alot of crap from the Victorian supporters and I never really realised why.

I felt the same - both "second" teams, both from working-class, port backgrounds/areas. It's amazing how a person can change your mindset.

Docker_Brat
11 Jul 2004, 23:54
Originally posted by theferrett

It's great that people like her are bringing to the rest of the Australian football supporting public what South Australian's have known for years.