View Full Version : Is The 2004 TAC CUP All CALDER'S?

Hawks2008
12 Jul 2004, 18:14
what does everyone think?

Are Oakleigh good enough to beat Calder in the finals?

I cant see anyone else getting near them.

dasler
12 Jul 2004, 18:21
Originally posted by Hawks2008
what does everyone think?

Are Oakleigh good enough to beat Calder in the finals?

I cant see anyone else getting near them.
Wise to count chickens before they hatch

Deegle
12 Jul 2004, 19:28
i think oakleigh are good enough, they have been ravaged because of the 'private school season' but i think they have the talent to win it all.

Weaver
12 Jul 2004, 20:00
Calder play Oakleigh this week so we get a mini-preview. Can't see Oakleigh getting close to Calder. Oakleigh could field 2 teams almost as good as each other such is their depth, but lack genuine quality players. Calder aren't as deep this year but have a couple of quality players.

tige19
12 Jul 2004, 20:05
The TAC CUP should have a trophy for 2nd because there is no way on this planet that Oakleigh or anyother TAC side will get within 10 goals of a full strength Cannons outfit no hope on this world, we have more chance of discovering osama bin laden before Calder will lose this years Flag.

cheers

dasler
12 Jul 2004, 21:42
Originally posted by tige19
The TAC CUP should have a trophy for 2nd because there is no way on this planet that Oakleigh or anyother TAC side will get within 10 goals of a full strength Cannons outfit no hope on this world, we have more chance of discovering osama bin laden before Calder will lose this years Flag.

cheers
Geelong Falcons went pretty well against them.

footyfreak11
12 Jul 2004, 23:30
no team is unbeatable and which ever team finishes in the top four have a good chance of winning the flag. finals footy is a different game

Hawks2008
13 Jul 2004, 09:56
Does anyone know if the Metro players will play in the Oakleigh V Calder game this week. Without the teams stars in we may not get a true indication of who is the top team in 2004.

I tip Calder to win by 8 goals

Phaedrus
13 Jul 2004, 10:11
Originally posted by Weaver
Oakleigh could field 2 teams almost as good as each other such is their depth, but lack genuine quality players.

What about
Sharp, Bain, Murphy, Dowler?

These guys stood up better at the carnival than the Calder players(other than J W Smith). In fact they were unlucky not to have the first three selected in the AA side.

They also have a pretty good second string of players...

Sowersby, Gilham, Fitpatrick, Gibson, Hassett, Cain

If they can pull their best side together I think they have some chance come finals time.

Footymad
13 Jul 2004, 10:44
Calder clear favourites. Only other with a hope:

Geelong (best chance - have had a lot of players out with school and country responsibilities recently)
Oakleigh
Dandenong
Eastern (long shot bet)

in that order

tige19
13 Jul 2004, 17:37
Originally posted by dasler
Geelong Falcons went pretty well against them.

Wont happen again, Calder are a 8-10 goal better side than anyone else and it will be proven this week when they flog Oakleight.

cheers

footyman
13 Jul 2004, 22:21
Originally posted by Hawks2008
Does anyone know if the Metro players will play in the Oakleigh V Calder game this week. Without the teams stars in we may not get a true indication of who is the top team in 2004.

I tip Calder to win by 8 goals I reckon Calder rested their Vic Metro boys the following week last year but clubs don't have to do it.

wigboy
14 Jul 2004, 09:07
Oakleigh will rest their stste players this week.

Footymad
14 Jul 2004, 10:24
Teams will often rest the State players who had alot of game time.

You'll find blokes like May and Knights wil play.
Wigboy - You seem to be in the know, Dowler will play this week???

wigboy
14 Jul 2004, 12:52
Don't know. He did not train last night.

astro
17 Jul 2004, 15:12
Heard the result.

Anyone here feeling a little silly?

angry steve
17 Jul 2004, 18:27
hmmmm,

Oakleigh defeated Calder by 16 points today.

So, what are all the excuses??

Top Dog
17 Jul 2004, 19:31
Originally posted by tige19
Wont happen again, Calder are a 8-10 goal better side than anyone else and it will be proven this week when they flog Oakleight.

cheers

Ahem....

Sezzac1
17 Jul 2004, 19:37
One reason is possibly because about 10 of CC's normal players didn't play today due to playing in the U18 champs last week. Oakleigh were probably only missing 3.

Weaver
17 Jul 2004, 20:34
There was a huge wind blowing, so the game was pretty poor. Mostly a series of stoppages and very little constructive play in the open.

It was funny listening to the officials from both teams. They were both trying to play it down "neither team is at full strength" but also trying to make the point that "we are missing more than they are"

Calder missed - JD.Smith, JW.Smith, Betts, Jolley, Little and Limbach (season).
Oakleigh missed - Sharp, Bain, Hassett, Cain, Dowler, Murphy, Latham and Freeman ... perhaps Gibson, Krakouer and Fitzpatrick would also make the team if available.

Oakleigh would be happiest, not because they won but because they 'found' 2 new ruck-rovers. They put a couple of their fringe key defenders (Brittain and S.Roberts) into the centre and had the best of the clearances.

Rubbish conditions though.

wigboy
18 Jul 2004, 13:48
Spot on Weaver.

footyfreak11
18 Jul 2004, 20:20
if both teams were full strength i reckon calder would win. they have a good even spread of players

Footymad
19 Jul 2004, 10:03
Any thoughts on Bonaddio's game? Not in the games best but I thought he was fantastic early. Shocking conditions for a big bloke but presented and took a couple of great marks.

Sowersby was good too.

Kept and eye on Ronnie Davis as I had big wraps on him at the start of the year (as did many others) and just has not come on.
Is he carrying something or is it that he just hasn't come on?

cobey
19 Jul 2004, 10:37
Weaver was that all calder were missing?

Did Iacobucci play, I heard he was was injured? What about any other calder guys missing due to injury or school football (assumption col.)?

If Weaver's list is right that means more oakleigh definite starters were missing than calder. I still think calder are the flag favourites but count oakleigh in as a legitimate contender, this isn't a one horse race.

Weaver
19 Jul 2004, 12:43
Gets more interesting this week.

Oakleigh (1) v Dandenong (3)
Calder (2) v Eastern (5)

Should really sort a few things out.

tige19
19 Jul 2004, 19:50
Calder are just playing at the moment boys, give it 3-4 weeks before they start getting serious.

cheers

juDDa
19 Jul 2004, 21:50
both teams at full strength would be an awesome game! hope they are both playing for the flag come spetember!!!

footy000
22 Jul 2004, 12:07
i reckon the cups all calders!! sure both oakleigh and calder had there state players out last week but i reckon as it gets closer to the finals calder will start to come out and really start to get into it.
you just have to compare the state player from both teams and see which is the stronger.
should be an interesting couple of weeks...

wipeoff5
26 Jul 2004, 00:39
You are only as good as your bottom 6, not your top 6 players. Remember that. Oakleigh's form this year warrants more respect from some of their opposition and some of the people on this board.

Weaver
26 Jul 2004, 13:52
Originally posted by wipeoff5
You are only as good as your bottom 6, not your top 6 players. Remember that. Oakleigh's form this year warrants more respect from some of their opposition and some of the people on this board.

Well they used one of their get-out-of-jail-free cards on the weekend to inch past Dandenong. I'd be thinking Dandenong would be thinking that they are in the mix too.

Footymad
26 Jul 2004, 15:37
Sounds like you can throw Dandenong and Eastern into the mix after the weekend. Anyone got any thoughts on those games?

footyfreak11
26 Jul 2004, 20:39
It will be really close come the last week of september. I don't think there are any clear favourites for the flag this year after the weekends results