View Full Version : How will we go against the Hawks this week?
onslaught
2 Aug 2004, 15:34
Interested to see how confident we are about getting the 4 points this week against Hawthorn?
Maybe I am being overly pessimistic, but I find it difficult to see us winning this game. My confidence in the side this season is well and truly shot.
BulldogMike
2 Aug 2004, 15:41
I think we might win this game. I won't be to worried if the Hawks win.
davo dog
2 Aug 2004, 15:54
they should be favourites:confused:
I'd like to think we will win but going on the last few performances there's a distinct possibility we will get thumped by Hawthorn.
BloodyRedHead!
2 Aug 2004, 16:08
I made my honest opinion and voted without fear or prejudice.
I then looked at what the voting said...:eek:
Is it over 5 wins that get rid of priority picks, or is it 5 wins that eliminate the priority picks.... That is a key factor in whats going to happen.
In a strange way, the pyschological advantage is with the Hawks.
They have nothing to lose, a new (temporary) coach and had a real dip against the current top team.
We will be tired returning from Perth and oddly enough I wonder if as they watch the Hawk tapes from over the season they get just a hint of complacency?
Biggest question, of course, is how the club reacts if we lose. And if we do lose it means 8 wins out of 42 games, with the prospect of 3 more losses to end the season versus the Power, North and the Dons.
8 out of 45 = 17.7%
BloodyRedHead!
2 Aug 2004, 16:13
Donald Mcdonald. Name from the VFL past for weribee as winning coach of a premiership fro weribee. And one against Weribee.
Re-occuring theme = trouble.
Actually we can see if Rhode can outcoach the VFL coach.
HMMMMM...I now have a reason for watching...:rolleyes: :D
I hate to admit this, but on recent form, I just can't see us winning.
Aquamarinejewel
2 Aug 2004, 20:54
I am not sure either way..Hawks will see it as a chance to get a win against a team similar to themselves, then I think the Doggies will see it as possibly their last win for the season..tough one. :( Heart says the Doggies, head says the Hawks.
Scroater
2 Aug 2004, 21:53
Lose:eek: But can win if young Bobby plays in the middle and doesn't spend 3/4 of the game chasing either LONIE or BARLOW, because RHODE considers them to be game breakers. RHODE you have half a brain use it.
flamethrower
2 Aug 2004, 21:58
Anyone see the Hawks against the Kangaroos last week?
If that Hawthorn team shows up, we will win by 5 goals.
The Hawks were better yesterday, but I think having a change of coach had a lot to do with that. And they did still lose by 44 points.
Having said all that, we would have to improve heaps to play at a level that is acceptable at AFL level.
onslaught......im stunned......i didnt know you followed the doggies?....after all this time i thought you were a roo and borough fan!...oh well doggies are my 2nd.....so its cool! ...ha..ha
onslaught
3 Aug 2004, 01:51
A bit of history!
I followed Camberwell, like my father, and his father before him, until they folded in 92.
I then started going to a few Port Melbourne games just to get out of the house in 1994, it was the year after a Grand Final loss (Remember Jack Aziz hitting Paul Barlow in the goalsqure?), and I wanted to get back into passionately following footy.
So from 94 I found signed up, who had a great tradition and jumper. Camberwell had rarely met Port due to the 1st and 2nd Divisions of the VFA, so I had no feelings of hate that I had for clubs like Box Hill.
I also began following Fitzroy (where I lived), until the AFL put a stop to that.
I wanted to get involved with a working class footy club at AFL level, and a mate (Cyberdoggie) convinced me to get a long to a few games. Soon enough I bought myself a membership (in a good season to get on board 1997) and have been going to all the Doggies games that dont conflict with getting down to Port Melbourne ever since.
I'm 30 years old now, and was too young to really remember Camberwell's premierships in 1979 and 1981, and am beginning to wonder if I will ever see a Grand Final win. The Borough look pretty good this year, but they have done so for the past few seasons without winning the flag... so Im not getting too excited.
Anyway.. Im rambling now.. Lets hope the 'scraggers turn it around in 2005 :)
onslaught
3 Aug 2004, 02:01
So far its 82% predicting we will lose this week.
Hopefully the the playing group don't read this (unless its the motivation they need :)
It's Time
If we improve we may win a 1 to 2 quarters. But I hope we loose
because the heat win increase on Rhode. If we win then there is a better chance we will have this bloke for another season with the best we could hope for with a dud coach is another 4/5 wins
The other factor is if the Hawks announce their new coach by the end of the week, it may have the effect giving them a real lift.
Very concerned about this game as any shred of credibility we have left will be completely shot if we lose it.
Cyberdoggie
3 Aug 2004, 11:54
it's a dilemna isn't it.
you want to win but we all want to see the end of rohde.
and another priority pick is tasty as well.
Something tells me rohde will never walk and we'll be stuck with him because we are too tight for cash to pay him out.
They must see that they are going to get even less members next year if he is still the coach.
We need change.
GOALden Hawk
3 Aug 2004, 13:20
Originally posted by Dogs 13
The other factor is if the Hawks announce their new coach by the end of the week, it may have the effect giving them a real lift.
Very concerned about this game as any shred of credibility we have left will be completely shot if we lose it.
We won't be announcing a new coach before the end of the week.
It's a strange feeling, knowing I'll be going to the game on Saturday with actual hope. It's been a while.
Which will make a loss to you guys even more disappointing. It would sew up a priority pick however.
We can't kick enough goals to win I reckon, but I still like our chances, especially if we get a sniff - the Dogs don't seem to know how to stop a run-on.
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
We can't kick enough goals to win I reckon, but I still like our chances, especially if we get a sniff - the Dogs don't seem to know how to stop a run-on.
Your kidding GH. Our forward line is completely inept at the moment. This is going to be one of the worst games of footy ever. 10 goals will be enough to win the match.
whythelongface
3 Aug 2004, 13:42
Originally posted by Dogs 13
Do we still have credibility left???
footscray1973
3 Aug 2004, 13:49
Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
Something tells me rohde will never walk and we'll be stuck with him because we are too tight for cash to pay him out.
They must see that they are going to get even less members next year if he is still the coach.
We need change.
Looks like it - doesn't it? He won't walk and we can't afford to pay.
Less members = less cash = greater reliance on AFL CB Fund = greater obligation to AFL = can't speak out about issues if our stance would contravene the AFL line = we are an AFL satellite team
Change must happen, or the club is stuffed, in more ways than one....