View Full Version : What's the collective noun for a group of Clokes?

Pages : [1] 2

Lidge
6 Aug 2004, 10:33
which one is it?

Murray
6 Aug 2004, 10:42
A 'class' of Clokes
Think about that for a minute

Lidge
6 Aug 2004, 10:43
Thought about it. Remedial Class. I like it!

kelman
6 Aug 2004, 10:45
A joke.

Wojee
6 Aug 2004, 10:46
A plod?

larrikin
6 Aug 2004, 10:47
A hatrack?

Murray
6 Aug 2004, 10:47
A gift

Pointy Birds
6 Aug 2004, 10:50
A clanger
A turnover
A fumble
A Jelena

itsintheblood
6 Aug 2004, 10:51
Originally posted by Lidge
which one is it?

Clokingwood.

But don't go there Lidge. There's a lot of ultra sensitive magpie fans on this board.

Neutral Pussy
6 Aug 2004, 10:52
A bench?

Baldrick
6 Aug 2004, 10:53
A coven.

Higgs Boson
6 Aug 2004, 10:54
A wardrobe of Clokes

MarkT
6 Aug 2004, 10:57
I think the answer is obvious.

An Obsession of Clokes.

Maybe more and obsession with Clokes.

I'm sure that is a queue for Zeke

I prefer a spine of Clokes though myself.

kuepper
6 Aug 2004, 11:04
Originally posted by MarkT
And my bet is the clokes themselves would like one as well.

MarkT
6 Aug 2004, 11:06
Originally posted by kuepper
And my bet is the clokes themselves would like one as well. Ah, so not only can they not play but they are gutless as well?

Joffaboy
6 Aug 2004, 11:07
Ah, so not only can they not play but they are gutless as well?

A scapegoat of.....;)

MarkT
6 Aug 2004, 11:13
Originally posted by Joffaboy
A scapegoat of.....;) Not sure what Shannahan, Alves, Watson & Blight have to do with it all Joffa.

I still like spine myself but that will trun into premiership in a few years.

Jabber
6 Aug 2004, 11:17
A cast is the correct term for a group of crabs.

Joffaboy
6 Aug 2004, 11:17
Not sure what Shannahan, Alves, Watson & Blight have to do with it all Joffa.

lolol - no prizes for second Mark.....as Collingwood have found out in the past two seasons :p

kelman
6 Aug 2004, 11:18

A dream.

Joffaboy
How about a dagger.

grayham
A Waste of

Bresh
6 Aug 2004, 11:24
A Yearly Delisting Minimum Requirement of Clokes...

Too long?

JeffDunne
6 Aug 2004, 11:25
A draft penalty of Clokes?

larrikin
6 Aug 2004, 11:28
An epedemic?

JeffDunne
6 Aug 2004, 11:30
Originally posted by Joffaboy
A scapegoat of.....;)
More like a ScapeHerd of . . . . ;)

smilingassassin
6 Aug 2004, 11:38
Hatrack by Larrikin - no one's gonna beat that

Falchoon
6 Aug 2004, 12:00

I'm sure that is a queue for Zeke

This is the queue for Zeke ;)

http://www.csmonitor.com/2003/0709/csmimg/p10a.jpg

Docker_Brat
6 Aug 2004, 12:03
A 'hack' of Clokes.

A 'wadd' of Clokes (in reference to the porno moustache of the father).

Mong
6 Aug 2004, 12:06
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
A 'hack' of Clokes.

A Hack-trick?

Mong

Bresh
6 Aug 2004, 12:14
A 'tripe' of Clokes?

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 12:21
An unfortunate of Clokes

A wooden spoon of Clokes

A cruskit of Clokes

A Maguire of Clokes

A Malthouse of Clokes

A neverending supply of Clokes

and my favourite........

A DADDO OF CLOKES!!!

mocaholic
6 Aug 2004, 12:27
Are these collective nouns also to be used for the Shaws?

And I'm trying to fit in an "Inanimate Carbon Rod of Clokes" but I just can't seem to do it. But hey, I gave it my best shot.

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 12:38
An Un of Shaws (Unshaw).

A Fatal of Shaws.

Choota
6 Aug 2004, 12:43
A 'Williamstown' of Clokes.

ViperV10
6 Aug 2004, 12:44
A "Joke" of Clokes

Dean3
6 Aug 2004, 12:47
An Invisible (of) Clokes
A Zone-off of Clokes
A 'One full brain' of Clokes

Rooosterboy
6 Aug 2004, 12:48
yawn
more anti collingwood tripe, this board is populated with schoolkids

itsintheblood
6 Aug 2004, 12:49
Originally posted by Rooosterboy
yawn
more anti collingwood tripe, this board is populated with schoolkids

Then dont bother posting. Simple really.

itsintheblood
6 Aug 2004, 12:49
Originally posted by mocaholic
Are these collective nouns also to be used for the Shaws?

And I'm trying to fit in an "Inanimate Carbon Rod of Clokes" but I just can't seem to do it. But hey, I gave it my best shot.

Great attempt though

Lidge
6 Aug 2004, 12:51
Here's some more suggestions for the Clokes & Shaws:

An abandonment
A Bevy
A Blur
A Burden
A dole
A dropping
An embarrassment
A geek
A litter
A mauling
A mess
A plague
A stench
A bluff

mocaholic
6 Aug 2004, 12:51
Originally posted by Hit And Rum
A Fatal of Shaws.
Good on yer. Very funny.

The ball....his groin.....it works on so many levels...

(A George Bernard of Shaws??)

Qsaint
6 Aug 2004, 12:54
A crutch of clokes?

Zeke
6 Aug 2004, 12:57
A Coup.

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 12:57
Originally posted by mocaholic

(A George Bernard of Shaws??)

Tee Hee, I like it!!

A Flaw of Shaws

Rik E Boy
6 Aug 2004, 13:04
A bubkus of Clokes....

regards,

REB

Ramma
6 Aug 2004, 13:19
A Damir of Clokes....
A clade of Clokes..... (look it up)
A clonk of Clokes....
A clique of Clokes.....
A coven of Clokes.....

Gotta love alliteration.

Adrian Shelton
6 Aug 2004, 13:22
I like the spine of Clokes, but if they all had the yellow stripe on their backs......

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 13:25
A Costanza of Clokes/Shaws
A Gump of Clokes/Shaws
A Fumble of Clokes/Shaws
Another missed opportunity of Clokes/Shaws
An anti-climax of Clokes/Shaws

A Cloke of Shaws

A Shaw of Clokes

How apt!

LightTower4
6 Aug 2004, 13:26
A crock (of Clokes)

NathanD
6 Aug 2004, 13:31
A facade of Clokes

Joffaboy
6 Aug 2004, 14:12
A feeble....

Lidge
6 Aug 2004, 14:15
a Morgoth of Clokes and a Jim Main of Shaws.

afc9798
6 Aug 2004, 14:16
A bogan of Clokes
A Crying shame of Clokes
An incestry of Clokes

Mead
6 Aug 2004, 14:24
A choke of clokes

thehardaway
6 Aug 2004, 14:27
A pack of milk duds

Becker
6 Aug 2004, 14:41
A FART of Clokes.

Ricketts
6 Aug 2004, 14:50
a 'rhyce' of clokes.

Dravid's in
6 Aug 2004, 15:15
A mullet of Clokes.

pazza
6 Aug 2004, 15:17
In 3 years: Coburg! (could have said Richmond, but, they wouldn't get a game there)

Joffaboy
6 Aug 2004, 15:20
A porno moustache of....

Black Thunder
6 Aug 2004, 15:20
a reserve grade team :)

Runknisse
6 Aug 2004, 15:27
A Craphouse of Clokes.
A joke of Clokes.
A "Meh" of Clokes.

itsintheblood
6 Aug 2004, 15:39
I'm amazed this thread hasn't had the usual infestation of collingwood posters coming on and bagging the crap out of anyone who dares say anything derogatory about the pies.

Anybody know where I can buy one of those nathan buckley sook dolls on the footy show last night? You know, it was brought on the show by a collingwood fan and proudly paraded on national tv. Eddie was so impressed.

MarkT
6 Aug 2004, 15:48
Originally posted by Rik E Boy
A bubkus of Clokes.... What's a bubkus?

understudy
6 Aug 2004, 15:51
Originally posted by itsintheblood
I'm amazed this thread hasn't had the usual infestation of collingwood posters coming on and bagging the crap out of anyone who dares say anything derogatory about the pies.

Anybody know where I can buy one of those nathan buckley sook dolls on the footy show last night? You know, it was brought on the show by a collingwood fan and proudly paraded on national tv. Eddie was so impressed.

www.collingwoodfc.com.au

smasha
A bank of Clokes

Clackers69
A clan of cloke(s) will do me....(although I'd rather a stubby of VB!).

smasha
6 Aug 2004, 15:55
A dungheap of Clokes

smasha
6 Aug 2004, 15:56
A braincell of Clokes

smasha
6 Aug 2004, 15:57
A Hollow of Clokes

Ricketts
6 Aug 2004, 15:58
a 'run around with no opponent' of clokes

a 'third man up' of clokes

a 'chest mark' of clokes

a 'fist' of clokes

harry_hawka
6 Aug 2004, 16:25
A wash-up of Shaws

A third round of Clokes

arrowman
6 Aug 2004, 16:27
Some brilliant stuff here!

At Adelaide we casrate our club champions after they've had their second son. Saves future embarrassment for the recruiting department.

Hornet
6 Aug 2004, 16:54
A...LARRY, CURLY and MOE of Clokes

Captain Blood
6 Aug 2004, 16:56
$hitbox

topdon
6 Aug 2004, 17:06
A 'Showbag' of Clokes

Tim56
6 Aug 2004, 17:17

As long as they are playing for Collingwood, and not my team, it's fine by me.

My suggestion:

A slow of Clokes.

MarkT
6 Aug 2004, 17:24
How about:
A Footy Show of Clokes.

That one must be true. I saw it last night.

Can't wait until round 1 next year:

welcome to the The Footy Show. bla bla bla big week bla bla bla
Our penalists tonight, ...Jason Cloke....Cameron Cloke....Travis Cloke...bla bla bla. Our special Guest tonight is player manager extraordinaire, David Cloke OA.

smasha
6 Aug 2004, 18:03
A cloke of Clokes

TheSheik
6 Aug 2004, 18:06
Originally posted by Dravid's in
A mullet of Clokes.

That was the one I was going to use !! :mad:

However, a 'gump' of Shaws might work ??

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 18:20
Originally posted by Hit And Rum
A Costanza of Clokes/Shaws
A Gump of Clokes/Shaws
A Fumble of Clokes/Shaws
Another missed opportunity of Clokes/Shaws
An anti-climax of Clokes/Shaws

A Cloke of Shaws

A Shaw of Clokes

How apt!

A "gump"!! To slow Chicken Marango!!

milo
6 Aug 2004, 18:23
An Un of Shaws

or

A Footsteps of Shaws

smasha
6 Aug 2004, 18:33
A dagger of Clokes

smasha
6 Aug 2004, 18:36
A splif of Clokes.
:D

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 18:59
Originally posted by milo
An Un of Shaws

or

A Footsteps of Shaws

Had an Un as well!!

Footstep is nice!!

A Father and Son of Clokes

scout
6 Aug 2004, 19:29
a premiership of Clokes......maybe not

Lidge
6 Aug 2004, 19:32
Originally posted by scout
a premiership of Clokes......maybe not

A spoon of Clokes:D

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 19:34
A spoon of Clokes:D

Had a wooden spoon of CLokes!!!

Come on guys lets get some new stuff happening!!

A mistake of Clokes

An Omarosa of Clokes

Lidge
6 Aug 2004, 19:40
* A breach of Clokes
* An accident of Clokes
* A merkin of Clokes

Hit And Rum
6 Aug 2004, 19:42
* A breach of Clokes
* An accident of Clokes
* A merkin of Clokes

A Merkin!!! Sensational!!!:D :D :D :D

Lidge
6 Aug 2004, 19:51
If anyone needs an explanation of what a merkin is (and wants a good laugh) - check out this page.

WTF is a merkin? (http://www.straightdope.com/classics/a3_232.html)

:D

Wojee
6 Aug 2004, 19:53
A swindle of Clokes.
A panic of Shaws.

storrma29
6 Aug 2004, 19:58
so how about a merkin of fevolas?

OldLion
6 Aug 2004, 20:01
A boat of Clokes
A ship of Shaws

storrma29
6 Aug 2004, 20:07
A "Protective father" of Clokes
A"Protective uncle" of Shaws

mellowyellow
6 Aug 2004, 20:23
A sheltered workshop of Clokes.

An asylum of clokes.

Cookie
6 Aug 2004, 20:46
Nepotism

Tangodown
6 Aug 2004, 20:59
A 'Cloke of invisibility' ... coz they always go missing when needed most...

londontiger
6 Aug 2004, 21:14
A reject shop of Clokes

A Not Quite Right shop of Shaws