View Full Version : Dockerland

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Farrand
7 Aug 2004, 19:45
Now, as Freo supporters I'm sure we've all been to Dockerland before, and I have to say posting on the forum there is a pain in the neck. The majority of the posts are cut to avoid controversy, and I have to say, its more then slightly annoying when you're emotional and want to voice your opinion, yet the posts is deleted and this just inflames the anger. Shane runs one hell of a dictatorship. Am I just being overly sensitive?

festivus
7 Aug 2004, 22:36
Agreed, Dockerland is becoming very lame. It was OK last season but lately has become over-moderated by Shane and Mission Man.

Time to switch I reakon.

purplesoul
7 Aug 2004, 22:50
Great site with a lot of wit. I didn't know that MM was a moderator at the site Festivus. Is this an anon role?

Anyway he is one of the few regular contributors that make it such a great witty read without the childish banality of other sites.

By the way error,, is there an age limit to contribute to wehavethepassion?

error404
7 Aug 2004, 22:52
not at all, it's not my site but no posts are deleted.
why do you ask

Balip
7 Aug 2004, 22:58
Originally posted by purplesoul
Great site with a lot of wit.

Thats true Purplesoul but it does get inordinately frustrating that heaps of posts disappear for no apparent reason.

purplesoul
7 Aug 2004, 22:59
Originally posted by festivus
Agreed, Dockerland is becoming very lame. It was OK last season but lately has become over-moderated by Shane and Mission Man.

Time to switch I reakon.

Does over-moderating include correcting spelling errors such as "reakon"?

And yes, I make a lot of spelling errors thanks to a dodgey keyboard, and of the approx 5 times I have made a contribution to Dockerland have had one deleted. I love reading the threads and Shane's articles each week though (for the last 2 years) and can't understand why you guys need to bag the site on another forum! Just don't go there!

purplesoul
7 Aug 2004, 23:00
Originally posted by error404
not at all, it's not my site but no posts are deleted.
why do you ask

Simply because you hold it up as an alternative and I don't rate it. I am not bagging, it is just not for me.

purplesoul
7 Aug 2004, 23:05
Originally posted by Balip
Thats true Purplesoul but it does get inordinately frustrating that heaps of posts disappear for no apparent reason.

Yep, but from what I have read from the regular contributors, they get the same treatment. My point, why whinge about it here. Don't go there if you don't like it. Or, if like me, would find it difficuilt to contribute, but enjoy the read.....well just go there and have a read!

You would have seen some regulars from here such as IP and Kenny making great contributions there recently. And vice versa with MM and in particular Pope on BF.

error404
7 Aug 2004, 23:12
This has been done a thousand times before and the solution is simple. If you don't like a site, don't go there.

purplesoul
7 Aug 2004, 23:24
This has been done a thousand times before and the solution is simple. If you don't like a site, don't go there.

Spot on error. That is all I have said - other than I don't think this is the forum to bag another site, as you say, just don't go there!

error404
7 Aug 2004, 23:31
Simply because you hold it up as an alternative and I don't rate it. I am not bagging, it is just not for me.

The thread started with one unhappy camper and I showed him a alternative site. I wasn't bagging but you obviously were not happy, got huffy and got the thread moving.

purplesoul
7 Aug 2004, 23:38
The thread started with one unhappy camper and I showed him a alternative site. I wasn't bagging but you obviously were not happy, got huffy and got the thread moving.

Not huffy at all mate. The thread gave an opinion on another site, you gave an alternative and I gave an opinion on that.

error404
7 Aug 2004, 23:40
By the way error,, is there an age limit to contribute to wehavethepassion?

:rolleyes:

purplesoul
8 Aug 2004, 00:31
:rolleyes:

you got me with the rolleyes dude.

Farrand
8 Aug 2004, 01:00

And yes, I make a lot of spelling errors thanks to a dodgey keyboard, and of the approx 5 times I have made a contribution to Dockerland have had one deleted. I love reading the threads and Shane's articles each week though (for the last 2 years) and can't understand why you guys need to bag the site on another forum! Just don't go there!
Mate, if I tried voicing my concern on the actual site I'd just get my post deleted. But apart from 'iron fist' Shane's method of moderating, he writes some funny articles.

Ripper
8 Aug 2004, 01:05
Just quietly , I am glad (in the cold light of day) that some of the drivel I posted last night on DL was deleted ;)

Excellent site.

purplesoul
8 Aug 2004, 01:08
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Just quietly , I am glad (in the cold light of day) that some of the drivel I posted last night on DL was deleted ;)

I can only wish that someone had done that for me here at times Rip!

Donkey
8 Aug 2004, 12:25
i like dockerland as a website, but i have all but given up posting on the board nowadays, only on very rare occasions, but i do still read the messageboard regularly. i just find it ridiculous the way that we're not allowed to disagree with dockerland's elite without our posts being deleted. freedom of speech completely out the window! i also hate the double standards, if i wrote half the stuff which the elite crew get away with it'd be straight into the garbage. and the lack of respect shown for the opinions of posters who are outside the regular crew is unbelievable. they actually believe that they represent their views reflect those of all dockers fans! not the case i can assure you, we have 30 000+ members, plenty of whom would not post on dockerland.

i'd love it if the dockers could just have one site where all dockers fans go are free to express their opinions. dockerland has become too big for that to ever happen.

Freo Hitman
8 Aug 2004, 12:59
Now, as Freo supporters I'm sure we've all been to Dockerland before, and I have to say posting on the forum there is a pain in the neck. The majority of the posts are cut to avoid controversy, and I have to say, its more then slightly annoying when you're emotional and want to voice your opinion, yet the posts is deleted and this just inflames the anger. Shane runs one hell of a dictatorship. Am I just being overly sensitive?

How many times have I said it.
Dockerland is "not" the voice of Fremantle fans . Shane and his henchman delete or edit your views so they fit into there scheme of things . It really annoys me when people think what is said on the pathetic site is gospel of what a Docker supportter wants to beleive.
Farrand your right , Shane does do excellent articles but the politcs on his board have a horrible stench.
18 months ago dockerland made it into a story on the "Inside Sports" magazine where Australian Sports Fans websites got rated . Inside Sports gave a very real view on what they thought of the site & it really was something they shouldve taken to heart & corrected quickly. IS said the sites moderator was edit happy who manipulted what was posted on the site to express the sites views. Beleive it or not when that story came out on the mnagazine someone posted it on the site & it was deleted & since then nothing has changed..

fitzmantle
8 Aug 2004, 14:39
If you want to winge and bitch ring 6PR, I am sure they would love to hear from you. Reading pathetic posts calling for everyone to be sacked or dropped everytime we lose a game gets a bit tiresome. Good on Shane for trying to keep Dockerland the humerous lighthearted site that most people love.

Kenny_01
8 Aug 2004, 14:39
I read it and occasionally post... but it does get annoying when I spent a fair bit of time writing a post, only to have it deleted.

Moo
8 Aug 2004, 18:10
Said before but its Shane's sites so Shane's rule.

Personally I love it and it is still my primary choice. I get posts deleted but I can live with it and if I couldnt I'd not go there.

Freo Punisher
8 Aug 2004, 19:36
I read it and occasionally post... but it does get annoying when I spent a fair bit of time writing a post, only to have it deleted.

turn it up kenneth
this may be my 1st post on the board, but fair dinkum how is anybody goin to take you seriously when its publicly known that you are 1 of shane's pathetic moderators.
Fair Dinkum- what have I got myself into listening to this verbal mud

Freo Hitman
8 Aug 2004, 20:07
turn it up kenneth
this may be my 1st post on the board, but fair dinkum how is anybody goin to take you seriously when its publicly known that you are 1 of shane's pathetic moderators.

Welcome aboard Punisher.
You beat me to it. Kenny really what possessed you to write that crap.

Scarborough
8 Aug 2004, 20:53
Dockerland:
'Iron fist' Shane's editing gives every one the sh*ts. The elite are treated differently to others. The unmerciful attacks on Docker Dave is disgraceful

Bigfooty:
Full of garbage, to many kids, DO NOT HIT REFRESH

Wehavethepasion:
Started by a disgruntled dockerland poster. To negative. Not enough quality posters. Not enough posters.

Did I miss any thing?

ImperialPurple
8 Aug 2004, 22:32
Wehavethepassion:
Not enough posters.

so why don't we all head there and then there will be more posters. chris, the guy running it, seems like a decent bloke and doesn't have a heavy handed editing fist.
And yes, DL peeves me at times - bit of a boys club, in with the in crowd sort of thing, but hey if it annoyed me that much I'd just not go there... but the humour is pretty good, Shane and greg write very good, tongue in cheek, almost satirical articles that i look forward to with much anticipation each week.
I post there fairly regularly, sometimes i get deleted, sometimes i get edited, usually I can guess when it's going to happen. Often I think I've posted something perfectly acceptable and don't quite get why the removal. sometimes it's quite amusing just to see how long you can get something left there when you know its going to get removed soon enough. Like the time MM said he would rather staple his knob to a passing speed boat than support the toasters in any way shape or form. :eek:
but at the end of the day it's shane's site - just cos its in cyberspace doesn't mean every person who goes there should be able to tell the owner how he should run it.
but if you don't like DL - try WHTP... it's only quiet cos there aren't many posters - but everyone from here who signs up is an extra voice and an extra poster and the commun ity will grow. instead of complaining, do something proactive. :)

Kenny_01
8 Aug 2004, 22:49
turn it up kenneth

I am? First I've heard of it.

voodoo_86
8 Aug 2004, 23:37
Laugh..

Turn it down kenneth..
If Kenny is a moderator at DL he's never said anything to me about it and i'm his mate n go to the footy with him every dockers game.. must be a very secretive society.

Freo Hitman
9 Aug 2004, 00:07
I am? First I've heard of it.

I have seen it at dockerland

[edited by Kenny 01]

so are you telling me you have an imposter ???

Moo
9 Aug 2004, 00:11
Hitman ...you sure it wasnt on one of his own posts?

Freo Hitman
9 Aug 2004, 00:13
Hitman ...you sure it wasnt on one of his own posts?
I dunno , but obviously I am not the only person to have seen it.

Kenny_01
9 Aug 2004, 00:15

[edited by Kenny 01]

I think I have posted on Dockerland 30 times in my life if that... and barely visit it more than once a day. Have no idea what you and that other bloke are going on about.

Eagles4Ever
9 Aug 2004, 13:50

Excellent site.So your post count must be pretty low over there on DL then Ripper? ;)

Ripper
9 Aug 2004, 14:18
So your post count must be pretty low over there on DL then Ripper? ;)

I love you too. ;)

festivus
11 Aug 2004, 21:16

Congratulations Purplesoul, thats the first time I've seen anyone bother pulling up someone for their spelling on a discussion board. Wow you really hammered your point home with that one.

Perhaps because of your obvious superior intellect you could proof read the other posts, and just make sure they got their spelling right to.

Thanks Champ

Au_Blue#24
11 Aug 2004, 22:57
I dunno , but obviously I am not the only person to have seen it.

freohitman - did any of the following happen to you

(1) you were dropped from a great height as a baby
(2) your parents took copious amounts of drugs at your unfortunate conception
(3) your parents were brother and sister
(4) all of the above

Freo Big Fella
11 Aug 2004, 23:36
But...

[edited by shane]

Wait...

[edited by Dockerland]

But I...

[Edited by Mish]

Freo Hitman
11 Aug 2004, 23:47
freohitman - did any of the following happen to you

(1) you were dropped from a great height as a baby
(2) your parents took copious amounts of drugs at your unfortunate conception
(3) your parents were brother and sister
(4) all of the above

AuBlue#24
(5) I hope your missus washed he mouth out before she kissed you today. Boy she can swallow alot ;)

doppo
12 Aug 2004, 00:22

[edited by Kenny 01]

Think about it for just a second before you go off your head at poor Kenny.

What do you think shows up when a poster edits their post after its been posted?

Find me one post at dockerland that has Kenny editing a post that's not is own.

pav_is_god
12 Aug 2004, 10:51
But...

[edited by shane]

Wait...

[edited by Dockerland]

But I...

[Edited by Mish]

:D :D

dockertor
12 Aug 2004, 12:44
But...

[edited by shane]

Wait...

[edited by Dockerland]

But I...

[Edited by Mish]

I think you will find that Mish, like Kenny, is not a moderator. Try to get the facts right guys. The editing may be over the top but the site is pretty good overall

festivus
12 Aug 2004, 13:25
I know,

I have a novel idea, why dont one of you just ask via a post on Dockerland, who the moderators actually are. (I have tried - the post was deleted without reply within about 1 minute). :confused:

Given the local media turn to Dockerland as the voice of the people, its seems fair we find out who the controls the voice.

Perhaps one of the more popular posters over there would have more luck.

Freo Shark
12 Aug 2004, 18:10
Tends to be a fairly cliquey site, some get by unscathed and others get deleted for hardly anything. I visit there quite often and find my comments deleted\edited every once in a while, which to be honest p*sses me off.

But it's probably the most popular site and therefore a site where you will get the most discussion bout Freo. Shane does delete and edit posts alot almost excessively which if asked he probably wouldnt deny. Its his trademark and what hes famous for, if you dont like it dont go there, simple.

ThePope
12 Aug 2004, 22:28
Unlike here, if you post about the board, about the policies, about very non-football or non-freo ideas, it will probably be gone.

If you start insulting people or players then you'll probably be cut too. It sticks to the footy... with a bit of a strange angle at times, but generally if you stick to the footy, and not turn it into a chat room, then you'll be fine.

tico
15 Aug 2004, 12:15
fair dinkum what is wrong with that bloke ?
dockers supporters come in every shape and form from people who know nothing to people having a joke and everything else in between.
if he wants to cut everyones posts he might as well just post by himself and thats it !
at least we all can voice our opinions here!
ALL hail bigfooty!!!

Docker_Brat
15 Aug 2004, 14:33
if he wants to cut everyones posts he might as well just post by himself and thats it !

Well said.

Geoff
16 Aug 2004, 10:20
I was surprised that the posts on the Kangas game and the BWR were allowed to go as long as they did. There was a lot of anger post the Kangas game and the BWR fiasco had a number of negative slants on it. One by myself. Freo Football is more than the FFC, it covers deep history and psyche. It would appear a number of the regular posters on DL either don't understand or care about the history or psyche and have only lived Freo Football since the inception of the Dockers. The contribution of the long standing Freo Football community gets short shift at times.

Total Package
16 Aug 2004, 15:44
I was surprised that the posts on the Kangas game and the BWR were allowed to go as long as they did. There was a lot of anger post the Kangas game and the BWR fiasco had a number of negative slants on it. One by myself. Freo Football is more than the FFC, it covers deep history and psyche. It would appear a number of the regular posters on DL either don't understand or care about the history or psyche and have only lived Freo Football since the inception of the Dockers. The contribution of the long standing Freo Football community gets short shift at times.

Get your hand off your ******** mate. I mean seriously... to try and say this current Fremantle Dockers side has anything to do with the history of the East and South Fremantle clubs... hahaha honestly. You know how you make history? You create your own in your own jumpers. Nobody outside of Port Adelaide thinks that old SANFL really has anything to do with them yet you expect people to think you have some kind of history. Your history started in 1995 and has been pathetic. To try and cling to some semblence of a side that has nothing to do the WAFL is laughable. You don't even play your games in Fremantle.

fitzmantle
16 Aug 2004, 16:40
To try and cling to some semblence of a side that has nothing to do the WAFL is laughable. You don't even play your games in Fremantle.

Well you dont play your bloody games in ummm arghh, Well where the hell do you actually come from?

Subi only has one team and they go by the name of ummm, Subiaco.

purplesoul
16 Aug 2004, 17:01
Get your hand off your ******** mate. I mean seriously... to try and say this current Fremantle Dockers side has anything to do with the history of the East and South Fremantle clubs... hahaha honestly. You know how you make history? You create your own in your own jumpers. Nobody outside of Port Adelaide thinks that old SANFL really has anything to do with them yet you expect people to think you have some kind of history. Your history started in 1995 and has been pathetic. To try and cling to some semblence of a side that has nothing to do the WAFL is laughable. You don't even play your games in Fremantle.

Fremantle, that is FREMANTLE, representing the rich football heritage of the FREMANTLE region, to do the egirls by 4 goals.

In answer to your question frank, I think you create history by a clubs supporters sitting at home and watching the games on TV. You should really support RL, it suits your armchair style a lot more.

Rob
22 Aug 2004, 21:09
BUMP

Dockerland now appear to be Connolly's number one fan.

All posts calling for CC's head (or even suggesting it) are being deleted. Give bigfooty credit, at least we can generally say what we like here.

Boomhauer
22 Aug 2004, 21:10
I don't get the Dockerland thing.

I don't post there, but find it weird that people endlessly criticise it here, yet still go there.

Doesn't make sense.

dasler
23 Aug 2004, 10:06
Dorkerland, it's owners and moderators are disgraceful. A discussion invites people of all sorts of opinions to post their feelings and thoughts on certain issues. Dorkerland promotes selective editation or for that matter deleted thought inviting groupthink. The disturbing trend is a lot of the supporters on Dorkerland are vastly overrating their team's capabilities, their trade value and so on.

Btw, for those that aren't intelligent enough to realise it, this is not a dig at Fremantle, it's players and it's supporters, it is only a dig at Dorkerland and all it encompasses.

funkyfreo
23 Aug 2004, 12:55
I don't really see a difference? Ok so the odd edited post, but I have seen many posts bagging CC, the Billy Walker Room thingy (which is a non-issue anyway WHO CARES!), players etc...

Totally off topic posts go, as do those that personally attack players for non-footy related issues - because it is not a slag off personal lives board.

If you mean that Dockerlanders are generally a bit more positive about the team and don't all thrive on laying in with the boot about everything and anything, then that is probably true I rekon.

I read BF for the wider footy views, but Dockerland is certainly a great spot for Freo related discussion, the match reviews are top notch, and the previews. Some people don't get it when they are overly optimistic, but it is all just a bit of gamesmanship and excitement building.

So it is not perfect, but is Big Footy?

dasler
24 Aug 2004, 10:15
I don't really see a difference? Ok so the odd edited post, but I have seen many posts bagging CC, the Billy Walker Room thingy (which is a non-issue anyway WHO CARES!), players etc...

Totally off topic posts go, as do those that personally attack players for non-footy related issues - because it is not a slag off personal lives board.

If you mean that Dockerlanders are generally a bit more positive about the team and don't all thrive on laying in with the boot about everything and anything, then that is probably true I rekon.

I read BF for the wider footy views, but Dockerland is certainly a great spot for Freo related discussion, the match reviews are top notch, and the previews. Some people don't get it when they are overly optimistic, but it is all just a bit of gamesmanship and excitement building.

So it is not perfect, but is Big Footy?
Dockerland is a disgrace. The Dockerland motto should read

"Dockerland.....telling you your opinion since 1995"

funkyfreo
24 Aug 2004, 11:02

Dasler, wow I'm really shocked that as a Toaster you don't like Dockerland!! Stop the f'n press!

Shove it up yer clacker you yellah and blue tosser.

dasler
24 Aug 2004, 11:33
Dasler, wow I'm really shocked that as a Toaster you don't like Dockerland!! Stop the f'n press!

Shove it up yer clacker you yellah and blue tosser.
Firstly dockerland moderator, I am a South Fremantle follower through and through, moreso than AFL. Secondly, yes I do support the Eagles. Thirdly, I am a WA football supporter so I would like to see the Dockers do well.

Do some reasearch before you start telling people their opinions again Shane

funkyfreo
24 Aug 2004, 14:55
ha ha That is great - I think I am one of Shane's least fave posters actually!! Different name but my name was already gone on BF. I can gladly say I'm not shane. Sure it ********es me off sometimes but usually it just removes total drivel and a wide range of views are allowed so long as they are reasonably well founded.

i) I'm a Dockers fan - I quite like the current eagles list and the way it plays and see the potential, but that doesn't mean I support them one iota. Don;t pretend you like to see Freo do well just so you can justify anything you say against them. There is no fence to sit on.

ii) Because you are a sowfs man should I think you are more Freo Dockers than a Dockers fan from Mongolia. No you are a toaster and that's that. I see now that you dislike Freo because you havre a latent WAFL sowfs love - don't be so bitter and move with the times.

ii) You are a west coast fan = don't like Dockerland - other than Carneagles level headed guru of blue and gold he is.

iii) I didn't tell you your opinions, I told you to shove it up yer clacker! You're not shoving hard enough I think? Try again.

Ripper
24 Aug 2004, 15:36
BUMP

Dockerland now appear to be Connolly's number one fan.

All posts calling for CC's head (or even suggesting it) are being deleted.

Good. DL is the board where all the lazy journo's go for a story.
All the anti CC posts then get regurgitated in the media as "Freo supporters are upset etc" . This then gets read by non DL readers and taken as fact and repeated ad nuaseum to the players & coaches .
The end result is our coaching staff and player group are under more pressure and less confident than they should be.

Entirely counter productive IMO.

Sometimes Freo supporters are their own worst enemy.

dasler
24 Aug 2004, 15:41
ha ha That is great - I think I am one of Shane's least fave posters actually!! Different name but my name was already gone on BF. I can gladly say I'm not shane. Sure it ********es me off sometimes but usually it just removes total drivel and a wide range of views are allowed so long as they are reasonably well founded.

i) I'm a Dockers fan - I quite like the current eagles list and the way it plays and see the potential, but that doesn't mean I support them one iota. Don;t pretend you like to see Freo do well just so you can justify anything you say against them. There is no fence to sit on.

ii) Because you are a sowfs man should I think you are more Freo Dockers than a Dockers fan from Mongolia. No you are a toaster and that's that. I see now that you dislike Freo because you havre a latent WAFL sowfs love - don't be so bitter and move with the times.

ii) You are a west coast fan = don't like Dockerland - other than Carneagles level headed guru of blue and gold he is.

iii) I didn't tell you your opinions, I told you to shove it up yer clacker! You're not shoving hard enough I think? Try again.
Keep dreaming sunshine.....keep dreaming. There is a thing called SEARCH, try typing South Fremantle AND dasler into it.

voodoo_86
24 Aug 2004, 15:51
Good. DL is the board where all the lazy journo's go for a story.
All the anti CC posts then get regurgitated in the media as "Freo supporters are upset etc" . This then gets read by non DL readers and taken as fact and repeated ad nuaseum to the players & coaches .
The end result is our coaching staff and player group are under more pressure and less confident than they should be.

Entirely counter productive IMO.

Sometimes Freo supporters are their own worst enemy.

Very good point actually, and is probably the reason DL is so heavily editted.

funkyfreo
24 Aug 2004, 15:58
Keep dreaming sunshine.....keep dreaming. There is a thing called SEARCH, try typing South Fremantle AND dasler into it.

I don't get it?

As for the previous post - the same could be said for BigFooty - you could get the same stories off this site.

It is more a problem about having the web in general - what is essentially a fans site can be quoted out of context to make it seem as though a dodgy media angle has some credibility. It is not DL alone.

dasler
24 Aug 2004, 16:08
I don't get it?

As for the previous post - the same could be said for BigFooty - you could get the same stories off this site.

It is more a problem about having the web in general - what is essentially a fans site can be quoted out of context to make it seem as though a dodgy media angle has some credibility. It is not DL alone.
I thought I was a ii) Because you are a sowfs man should I think you are more Freo Dockers than a Dockers fan from Mongolia. No you are a toaster and that's that. I see now that you dislike Freo because you havre a latent WAFL sowfs love - don't be so bitter and move with the times

My point with Dockerland was, Shane deletes ALL posts resembling anything other than positive feedback on the club. You cannot say as an opposition supporter Luke Webster wasn't ready to play in the derby as he had just come back from a 3rd knee recon, it's the business end of the season and he is tagging one of the inform midfielders of the competition is a poor tactical decision. Deleting a comment like that, makes no sense when it is the truth and NOT detrimental to anyone, just an opinion?

As for dodgey journalists, well I would agree in entirity, just dont question my motives as a supporter of South Fremantle, West Coast and to a lesser extent Fremantle, which encompasses WA Football.

Ripper
24 Aug 2004, 16:10
Dasler usually has some insightfull comment.

purplesoul
24 Aug 2004, 16:12
Dasler I hadn't visited DL this week so far. Just had a look then and can assure you they are not all positive posts. In fact there seemed to be quite healthy debate.

funkyfreo
24 Aug 2004, 16:25
Editing aside, DL's benefit is that you can actually discuss Freo with Freo fans, without every thread being trolled though by other fans, and notably toasters, who sidetrack the issue with what is basically an anti-docker attitude rather than anything constructive.

As for Webster, it would be just as valid to say that he needs game time, and the future and not Finals 2004 will benefit from him playing in the game, as he is a genuine star for the future - however I take your point that what you said was not particularly inflammatory. But I'm surprised as I think DL has many views that are against the Freo hierarchy.

As I say I've had many posts deleted on DL, and think it is insane, but I just like the place.

A big example is Jeff Farmer, now I am a big Farmer fan, but when the incident earlier in the year was all over The West, as a Freo fan I was interested to find out what was going on rather than innuendo. Fair enough deleting inflammatory posts (see the BF farmer thread for an example of tripe), but I was totally supportive of Farmer I guess. When it became clear that any post referring to Farmer was being deleted, I posted that maybe DL could run a Factual editorial on the issue, and point out that all posts would be deleted to avoid ugly exchanges about what was essentially a private issue. To this day I'm still dissapointed that DL chose to bury its head in the sand.

But it does not make it an evil anti-free speech site, it just tries to keep it to footy.

Maybe you have a rep on DL as being a WCE loving sowfs troll? That was a joke btw.

Streaker
24 Aug 2004, 16:26
How many of those "healthy debate" posts have [edited by Dockerland] underneath them? Criticism is one thing, but edited criticism is propaganda. You are welcome to Dockerland and the one eyed opinion it offers, after all it is a Docker site for Docker supporters.

funkyfreo
24 Aug 2004, 16:54
I know that at least half of [edited by...] posts of mine have been purely correcting spelling, or the like. most of the rest have been maybe removing a line that in hindsight was either off the topic of footy (remember it is not a general site - just a dockers site), or basically stupid.

Anything racist goes, and generally inflammatory goes.

So "CC should think of rotating so and so, I think he spends to much time at sowfs" is ok, but

"CC is a total tool and Freo are crap" to start a thread well that would be deleted I think.

You west coast fans - I have no idea what your other eagles sites are like because why in the world would I want to go there??? Why do you want to be at Dockerlandm if not to troll for trouble?

Moo
24 Aug 2004, 22:42
I mean posts by morons like Yakusa and Luke are just pure gold here, who could forget the ever clever "You Suck" or the wimsical and cutting "Dockers are Shockers".

For the record -

I dont like brussel sprouts therefore I do not buy or eat them.
I dont like A Current Affair therefore I do not watch it

Do you get the drift, dont go there? or if you can do better I look forward to your site (only Q can can mock me on this one)

& Finally ......

Me I like Dockerland but there are a lot of sites around, but when you line them up together DLand wins hands down.

For the record I aint Shane either

YAKUZA
25 Aug 2004, 08:54
For the record I aint Shane either

And I aint Yakusa!

voodoo_86
25 Aug 2004, 15:33
And I aint Yakusa!

Streaker
25 Aug 2004, 15:52
You west coast fans - I have no idea what your other eagles sites are like because why in the world would I want to go there??? Why do you want to be at Dockerland if not to troll for trouble?

Ahhhh the old "if you go there you must be a troll" argument. You really are brainwashed aren't you. I bet you even giggle at every egurls reference.

Boomhauer
25 Aug 2004, 16:01
I know that at least half of [edited by...] posts of mine have been purely correcting spelling, or the like

Get off the grass.

If Shane (you?) has the time to edit so many posts simply to correct spelling, he must have the single worst life ever.

The guy must be a total hermit.

purplesoul
25 Aug 2004, 16:09
Get off the grass.

If Shane (you?) has the time to edit so many posts simply to correct spelling, he must have the single worst life ever.

Well he probably has some time on his hands simply by not worrying and whinging about other sites.

I respect the fact that you can read threads on DL that are coherent, well structured and lacking spelling errors.

Of course, I deeply offended one of my fellow Freo supporters earlier in the thread when I pointed out that some of the editing appears to be cleaning up spelling errors. So I can see why DL is not for everyone.

Ripper
25 Aug 2004, 16:17
Well he probably has some time on his hands simply by not worrying and whinging about other sites.

I respect the fact that you can read threads on DL that are coherent, well structured and lacking spelling errors.

Of course, I deeply offended one of my fellow Freo supporters earlier in the thread when I pointed out that some of the editing appears to be cleaning up spelling errors. So I can see why DL is not for everyone.

A lot of editing is just removing the dreaded smilie's and "Go Freo's" as well. Once that happens a few times the penny drops and you don't use them.

Mr Q
25 Aug 2004, 16:40
Dockerland can be clever at times, but I really don't like the way it moderates out any opinion that doesn't match its own.

For instance, prior to the first derby, some DL poster reposted my weekly match preview from eaglesflyinghigh.com. Then launched into a personal attack on me because I was an Eagles fan who dared to suggest that I really thought the Dockers were more likely to win. What was interesting was that a whole stack of other DL posters jumped on with their personal attack, yet most posts made by me (or another EFH regular) were deleted. Apparently personal attacks were OK as long as they targeted an "e-girls" supporter.

A mate of mine (who is dyed in the wool purple and an occasional DL poster) even stated he thought they'd gone way too far. He also said that he didn't bother posting his opinion as he knew it would get deleted.

I know quite a few of you purple people here frequent EFH, and you'd know I don't delete much of what you have to say unless you get personally abusive. If someone gets stuck into you personally I'd give you the right of reply, certainly something I'd have appreciated on DL.

purplesoul
25 Aug 2004, 16:57
Mr Q, I have looked at your site a couple of times though never posted, and agree there is very light moderation. It may seem unfair to you how DL is edited and understand that posting your review, then personally attacking you is pretty poor form especially if you are not given a right of reply.

But DL is a different forum. It is for Freo supporters and makes no excuses for the way it is run. If you go there you know what to expect. If you choose to allow your posters to express their opinion whatever it is, and allow trolls to have a go, that is your decision - it is your forum.

I just don't get why DL is constantly raised at this site. The solution just seems so obvious.

milo
25 Aug 2004, 17:04
A lot of posters, both Freo and Weagles, go on there with a Big Footy mentality. I guess you’d liken it to what you term a ‘newbie’ here. As with newbies here, get used to the tone of the site (DL or BF) or one of the following will happen. At Dockerland you’ll get deleted and/or edited, won’t understand why and come here and moan about it. At Big Footy you can continue to post carp whether it makes you look like a tosser or not. Not saying all posts are like that.

Like His Holiness said, it’s not a chat room.

Some like it both ways.

And I'm not shane either.

Mr Q
25 Aug 2004, 17:28
Mr Q, I have looked at your site a couple of times though never posted, and agree there is very light moderation. It may seem unfair to you how DL is edited and understand that posting your review, then personally attacking you is pretty poor form especially if you are not given a right of reply.

But DL is a different forum. It is for Freo supporters and makes no excuses for the way it is run. If you go there you know what to expect. If you choose to allow your posters to express their opinion whatever it is, and allow trolls to have a go, that is your decision - it is your forum.

You've got the core of my grievance (such as it is). If [shane] and co had had the decency to delete the abuse as well as my replies, I wouldn't have a problem with DL. It wasn't me that started it after all.

Of course if Mission Man is actually one of the moderators there then I'm not surprised as he was one of the abusive people IIRC. Certainly he got stuck into me, I replied, my reply was deleted and the thread was promptly locked. Since MM had challenged me to reply in his post that was particularly unfair.

sabre_ac
25 Aug 2004, 20:46
Why is this thread still going?
Dockerland is heavily moderated...some posters like it that way..others dont....
Its like your own preference in music...if you dont like a song u dont listen to it, use the same mentality for websites.
I dont edit like shane, but he has his reasons and he gets more posts so what does that say?
The only thing not tolerated is over the top abuse and blatant trolling the rest is let slide.
Surely its time to move on?
I mean we have more pressing issues like the state of our side and coach.

funkyfreo
26 Aug 2004, 12:08
Get off the grass.

I assume he is? Behind every cheer squad and supperter bulleting board there is someone with a serious lack of social skills - but they do what they can to make the world a better place I think.

blockerhall
3 Dec 2004, 16:17
You know, I just find this stuff amazing. Missed all this away with work most of this year, but I still want to add something.

Couple of points.

i) Dockerland is still the resource for Fremantle information. The media knows, everyone knows. You don't have to post, just read, and you might even have a laugh along the way. I honestly don't have a problem with the moderating or editing. Name me one information resource that isn't and I'll show you garbage.

ii) People who complain about being deleted or edited are being a bit precious. So you didn't get heard. If it was valid and worth saying you it would have stayed in, or should have found another way to phrase it. Unless it went in with some other stuff, it should still be on there.

iii) I fired off an email to Shane once very disappointed after making what I thought was a hilarious reference to Croad needing fluffers in the changerooms to get him fired up, which was of course deleted. It is the only deletion that I can recall, honestly. He very promptly replied that whilst he agreed it was funny, it was not appropriate. And fair enough. It is HIS website.

iv) I really think some of you need to take another look at Dockerland without the blinkers. It can be so much more, even under the current format. But if it truly isn't for you, try the alternatives, but how about a bit of respect for those that make it what it is. Shane doesn't ban dissenting thought, unless it is truly combative, I believe he asks for considered positions, and we all try to have a laugh along the way.

v) IP, I'm a bit worried about you. Craig Turley was awfully girlie, even for an Eagle. (Smilie, etc.)

Exeter
3 Dec 2004, 16:40
a hilarious reference to Croad needing fluffers in the changerooms to get him fired up, which was of course deleted.

bloody funny!

an unforgettable image.

ImperialPurple
3 Dec 2004, 18:12
v) IP, I'm a bit worried about you. Craig Turley was awfully girlie, even for an Eagle. (Smilie, etc.)

I was young and into the blonde surfie types at the time. What else can I say??? Except that maybe you should be more worried about Ex that he still has the mask. (smilie, etc... oh and wink too.)

raffrox
4 Dec 2004, 10:45

I agree completely.

The net is about freedom of speech and hearing the opinions of others (even if you don't agree with them).

If its about footy in some way shape or form and doesn't vilify any one it shouldn't be deleted.

Dockerland for Shane is like a big sports car for a man with a small penis.

raffrox
4 Dec 2004, 10:53
ii) People who complain about being deleted or edited are being a bit precious. So you didn't get heard. If it was valid and worth saying you it would have stayed in, or should have found another way to phrase it. Unless it went in with some other stuff, it should still be on there.

So know says what is valid and what is not? Not the smartest of comments.

iii) I fired off an email to Shane once very disappointed after making what I thought was a hilarious reference to Croad needing fluffers in the changerooms to get him fired up, which was of course deleted. It is the only deletion that I can recall, honestly. He very promptly replied that whilst he agreed it was funny, it was not appropriate. And fair enough. It is HIS website.

Thats because you are one of the golden few. You are very much in the clique and you kow it.

iv) I really think some of you need to take another look at Dockerland without the blinkers. It can be so much more, even under the current format. But if it truly isn't for you, try the alternatives, but how about a bit of respect for those that make it what it is. Shane doesn't ban dissenting thought, unless it is truly combative, I believe he asks for considered positions, and we all try to have a laugh along the way.

Shane asks for nothing but the regurgitation of the same stereotypes and carticatures of footy and really doesn't add much to actual footy discussion.

This post would have definitely been deleted on Dockerland.

sabre_ac
4 Dec 2004, 12:06
Comon people say it with me.....
"EACH TO THEIR OWN!"

ThePope
4 Dec 2004, 12:10
Shane asks for nothing but the regurgitation of the same stereotypes and carticatures of footy and really doesn't add much to actual footy discussion.

This post would have definitely been deleted on Dockerland.
Of course it would. Because, he tries to keep the topics on football. Not about websites (his own or comparisons with others), not about people having an online friendship/chatroom.
If you sometimes see what he deletes, then you would be very thankful.
You don't get the Luke Logan/'s of the world asking stupid questions. You don't get the teenagers/younger fans saying "I love Pav, who's your favourite player" or "Where do you think we'll finish next year".
Apart from the obscure from lemon, a pun or two from Oos or some ranting from MM, it's generally pretty straight down the line footy talk.
Yes, some might feel he's a bit too precious about the MOB, and he probably is, but he manages to have about the only flame free/stupid comment free site around. He also generally limits the criticism of players, fair enough in my mind.
All this crap about the Web being about freedom of speech - sure it is. But find the right forum. Email the club, make your own website, use this one or WHTP or whatever. DL has it's own rules, some aren't obvious/clear to those more used to the free for all that occurs here, but when you realise what they are, we can all live happily ever after in purple together.

blockerhall
4 Dec 2004, 14:47
Thats because you are one of the golden few. You are very much in the clique and you know it.

Hooray for me. Other that a couple of people who knew who I was from footy and my name, I don't know the Dockerland crew from a bar of soap. Still haven't met any. Might one day. Yes, there is a comaraderie that comes from posting over a few years, but really, that doesn't count for diddley-squat. If I posted complete rubbish it would get nuked.

Rather than referring to it as a clique, how about considering it as (heaven forbid) a group of mainly like-minded fremantle supporters, and showing it a bit of respect. I certainly don't expect every Docker supporter to be like me or share my perspective. Probably the opposite- I certainly want constuctive thought. The purple encompasses a veritable plethora of stereotypes, probably more so than most clubs, and I still believe Dockerland gets dissent on a range of relevant issues. Very Healthy, Intelligent Dissent.

Anyway, I reckon Dockerland has a fair bit going for it, and that's why I contribute occasionally. Though the demographic suits my outlook more that BigFooty I guess, and Sabre_ac is sort of on the money with "Each to his own", -I still reckon give it another look, and consider it as another part of what it means to be purple.

docker_azza
4 Dec 2004, 14:51
Blockerhall, can you explain this bitter and unwarranted divide dockerland is trying to create against the Freo MOB. Something that I definitely call bemusing.

docker_azza
4 Dec 2004, 15:06
Like many others, I visit DL on a regular occasion and I post when I have something to say, and I get along with everyone well there so far. And I get very frustrated with posts getting edited and deleted. Total Package, dasler and MrQ have made some very valid points about that site that I have to agree with.

Anyway, theres one side where you can say anything you like without the editing and moderating of DL. Its on my signature. LOGIN NOW!!!!!

110 members at present, we need more.

goalsneek
4 Dec 2004, 15:49
The simple fact is that DL and BF are two different social environments. One is Shane's Speakeasy and the other Appleyards Alehouse. The Alehouse is a place where people can be loud and obnoxious, have a big night out, and do it all over again with a hangover the next day. Of course Fred at the door kicks out the worst of the trash, but no thread is immune from some stumbling fool on his way back from the bar with a tray of Cougars he inadvertently bought.
The speakeasy is a somewhat quiet, reserved place that appears to be a public bar but in reality is owned by one of the drinkers. On the front door there is a sign

"Here at the Message Board you can talk about the Dockers, the AFL or just bag the Eagles. Please don't say anything that will get lawyers involved and remember that the message board is for everyone so leave the bad language out. Any messages criticising Brad Dodd will be removed.

Dockerland.com takes no responsibility for what is posted. "

But the reality is that there are other rules that are not spoken of. There is no reputation on show, no post counts... it is only by attending a few times you realise the in-jokes and the in-crowd. There are lanyard bedecked citrus fruit, valedictory writers and philosophers. There is also a sense that Brad Dodd must have many guises or that lawyers have extremely wide interests because of what gets typed then disappears. Just like lab rats, you learn very quickly which posts will bring you food and which the electric shock. Despite what it says on the door, it's Shane's house, Shane's rules.

So if you want a boisterous night out on the town and don't want to think too hard about what you say, or don't care who you offend (or even who you want to offend) then drink at the alehouse. If you want measured conversation and strictly policed conduct rules... head to the speakeasy. Just depends on the company and sort of entertainment you're after

docker_azza
4 Dec 2004, 16:17
One more question. Wheres the members list on Dockerland?

fat wombat
4 Dec 2004, 16:53
But the reality is that there are other rules that are not spoken of. There is no reputation on show, no post counts... it is only by attending a few times you realise the in-jokes and the in-crowd. There are lanyard bedecked citrus fruit, valedictory writers and philosophers. There is also a sense that Brad Dodd must have many guises or that lawyers have extremely wide interests because of what gets typed then disappears. Just like lab rats, you learn very quickly which posts will bring you food and which the electric shock. Despite what it says on the door, it's Shane's house, Shane's rules.

You're darn right there! His rules are more complex than the womens rules for men floating around. You can find this printed on some household fridges and/or surely you've received this in an email at some point!

I'm convinced the guy must be related to the soup nazi! :D

raffrox
4 Dec 2004, 17:02
I was a dockerland person for longer than I've been a bigfooty person.

But I got majorly dis-illusioned with it. The media unfortunately does seem to go there for the "official" members view and its as one sided as the "Worst" when it comes to comment. Its an extremely one sided view of all that is purple. Bigfooty is closer to a real slice of dockers members. Teenie boppers, tools, fanatics and casual fans alike.

Dockerlands elitist attitude (We are the hardcore so we are better) is as twisted and bias as the people that it takes pot shots of (media, eagles fans, any one with an alternative opinion etc... etc...).

But of course good luck to those that want to go there.

Rant over.

goalsneek
4 Dec 2004, 17:46
You're darn right there! His rules are more complex than the womens rules for men floating around. You can find this printed on some household fridges and/or surely you've received this in an email at some point!

I'm convinced the guy must be related to the soup nazi! :D

I think the problem is that people mistake a forum thats open to the public for a public forum... the sort where everyone can have their say. Clearly this is not the case. For example Lemon started a thread called "Ocean Views" comparing Dockers players to Real Estate ie "211=Ocean Views"

I posted one "Coaching Position = Tenant vacating premises next September" and it was deleted. And yet look what has managed to survive:

Mission Man ****Posted: 03-Dec-04**12:57
Re: ocean views
"Close to colourful Northbridge identity - Cousins, Gardiner"

Now you tell me which one is more likely to "get the lawyers involved"

(Oh and I pasted it here rather than a link just in case the evidence was 'cleaned')

YAKUZA
4 Dec 2004, 20:12

That's a copout and a decidedly weak one at that. I thought we lived in a democracy?

docker_azza
4 Dec 2004, 22:42
I was a dockerland person for longer than I've been a bigfooty person.

But I got majorly dis-illusioned with it. The media unfortunately does seem to go there for the "official" members view and its as one sided as the "Worst" when it comes to comment. Its an extremely one sided view of all that is purple. Bigfooty is closer to a real slice of dockers members. Teenie boppers, tools, fanatics and casual fans alike.

Dockerlands elitist attitude (We are the hardcore so we are better) is as twisted and bias as the people that it takes pot shots of (media, eagles fans, any one with an alternative opinion etc... etc...).

But of course good luck to those that want to go there.

Rant over.

Your spot on there. And so is goalsneek. Well said.

doppo
4 Dec 2004, 23:26
I thought we lived in a democracy?

That's also a copout and a decidedly weak one at that.

Fact is, dockerland is an unofficial dockers fansite, it is Shane's site and if he wants to moderate the forum in the manner he does, then good on him. Whatever floats your boat. Shane doesn't owe anyone anything.

Anyone complaining about dockerland is completely free to go and start their own site and forum and say what they want, how they want, which seems is the general idea of wehavethepassion.com.

Billy Hunt
5 Dec 2004, 18:26
That's a copout and a decidedly weak one at that. I thought we lived in a democracy?

Look Pa! Git the the gun Pa! A kangaroo hopping down South street.