View Full Version : SANFL - Team of the Decade - the 80s

Portmagpies
19 Aug 2004, 12:05
Sorry, Fatty, but I couldn't wait any longer. Here's my two cents worth...

F: Neville Roberts (WT/N), Tim Evans (PA), Mark Naley (SA)
HF: Paul Weston (G), Stephen Kernahan (G), Andrew Jarman (NA)
C: Craig Bradley (PA), Garry McIntosh (N), Greg Anderson (PA)
HB: Martin Leslie (PA), Greg Phillips (PA), John Riley (NA)
B: Peter Motley (S), Tony Burgess (WA), Peter Bubner (CD)
R: Peter Carey (G), Michael Aish (N), John Platten (CD)
Int: Chris McDermott (G), Bruce Lindsay (WT)

Adelaide Hawk
19 Aug 2004, 12:45
That's pretty good. The only players I can think of who could be considered are Tony McGuinness. Tony Hall, Danny Jenkins, Rick Davies, Darel Hart, Greg Whittlesea, Mark Mickan, Kevin McSporran, Craig Williams, Darren Jarman.

I offer these names as a discussion point only. As a Norwood fan, I've often regarded Danny Jenkins as possibly the most under-rated player in the game from the mid 70s to the mid 80s. He would regularly take skyscraper marks in packs, but the cameras were never there to capture the image. Regularly I would return home from a Norwood match having seen another Jenkins screamer, open the paper next day to see a picture of a Cornes mark, but no Jenkins. Just a little whinge there :)

Ford Fairlane
19 Aug 2004, 13:04
This is an interesting one for Port supporters, cos of the big transition of the side between the early and late 80s. Greg Phillips was a survivor with a stint in the VFL. Surely tho Bruce Abernethy would have to be in the side?

Russell Ebert was still pretty handy player for part of the 80s too (won his fourth Magarey in 1980).

Oh yeah, Russell Johnston rucked right thru the 80s for Port, and the side needs a second ruckman.

Would Mark Williams be considered? I guess he really only played in 1980 in the SANFL (came back in 1990).

FattyLumpkin
19 Aug 2004, 13:45
Platten, Beythein, Jonas, Aish, Fielke, Copping, McDermott, Redden (a must for 2nd ruck), Clisby, Hart, Delaney, even Blight to be thrown in the mix.

I reckon Mark Williams was unlucky to miss out on the 70's team - but so were alot of other folk (John Murphy). Actually, the 70's team may be a bit light on for Port players - they did do ok in that decade.

I'm going to bow to greater knowledge for the 80's & 90's.

Adelaide Hawk
19 Aug 2004, 14:35
Graham Cornes would think he was the best coach in the 80s, but the coach of this team has to be John Cahill.

Premierships won:
John Cahill 1980, 1981, 1988, 1989.
Neil Balme 1982, 1984.
Graham Cornes 1985, 1986.
Neil Kerley 1983
Mike Nunan 1987

Portmagpies
19 Aug 2004, 15:21
Jack would have to be the coach, I reckon.

Considering that the 80s was when the departure's of our stars hit hardest, what about adding a State-of-Origin side to the debate?

That way, we could include players like Mark Williams, Matt Rendell, Phil Maylin, Malcolm Blight, Robbert Klomp, Danny Hughes and others who played their best footy in the VFL during this time.

McAlmanac
19 Aug 2004, 23:36
Is Peter Bubner worthy?

Portmagpies is a couple of interchange players short - I'll nominate Blighty first. Only played three years in the 80's, but those 126 goals and All Australian selection in his last year are pretty good form.

The other interchange would be Redden or Johnston as the other ruck. Dead heat.

No full backs other than Tony Burgess? Decent player, just doesn't live in the memory.

Leaping Lindner
20 Aug 2004, 00:54
Darren Jarman is a must have on the half forward flank. Don't remember Weston being a forward only a defender maybe move him down back. I have to say that Burgess and Bubner don't shine in my memories of the 80's either but then again I didn't see a lot of them.
Carey and Redden dominated the rucks in the 80's for mine.

Adelaide Hawk
20 Aug 2004, 02:29
To help those searching for a full-back, here are the Advertiser Team of the Year selections for FB:

1980 Keith Kuhlmann (G)
1981 Keith Kuhlmann (G)
1982 Danny Hughes (PA)
1983 Craig Williams (WA)
1984 Phil Brooksby (SA)
1985 Peter Bubner (CD)
1986 Paul Arnold (NA)
1987 Paul Arnold (NA)
1988 Des O'Dwyer (W)
1989 Tom Warhurst (N)

Adelaide Hawk
20 Aug 2004, 02:38
Don't remember Weston being a forward only a defender

Weston started his career in 1974 as a HF flanker, but by the 80s had developed into a centreman/defender. He actually lined up in the 1982 GF at CHF. In his final season for Norwood 1989 he spent some time at CHF, and kicked over 200 goals in his SANFL career.

Portmagpies
20 Aug 2004, 10:48
I deliberately kept it to two on the bench because, as you all know, that's all they had in the 80s.

Paul Weston could slot in at full-back but this was where he starred for Essendon rather than Glenelg. I think we have to find a spot for him somewhere.

Danny Hughes didn't really come into his own until he left Port.

Darren Jarman was a star of the 90s more so than the 80s IMO.

Ford Fairlane
20 Aug 2004, 11:10
Trouble is D Jarman didn't play SANFL in the 90s (well 1 year) so he's really only going to qualify for the 80s. He did play some pretty good footy in the late 80s.

Nothing too outstanding in the FBs. I guess Ben Harris and Roger Delaney could be considered.

Portmagpies
20 Aug 2004, 12:05
Ben Harris is a very long stretch.

Roger's a shoe-in for the 90s team.

Docker_Brat
20 Aug 2004, 14:35
I'd have Peter Motley on a half forward flank. Total waste of talent having him in a back pocket.. apart from that, not bad.

Portmagpies
20 Aug 2004, 14:45
That was the great thing about Mots - his versatility.

How did we let him go?

Actually, I do know why we did BUT...

Gravel
21 Aug 2004, 10:09
I am not so sure about the inclusion of Carey. He was a good player that played many games but my memory is Redden and Johnston being better ruckman of the era.

McAlmanac
21 Aug 2004, 13:18
I am not so sure about the inclusion of Carey. He was a good player that played many games but my memory is Redden and Johnston being better ruckman of the era.I was going to say something similar, but erred on the side of caution. I don't believe Carey would have been much of a success in the VFL. :eek:

Adelaide Hawk
21 Aug 2004, 19:01
From a Norwood point of view, Carey and Redden caused us far more problems than Johnston ever did. I couldn't rate Johnston ahead of those two.

Ford Fairlane
21 Aug 2004, 21:59
Johnno wasn't a great knock ruckman - David Hynes was probably better with his athleticism - but he was great at reading the play across half back as a road block and setting up play.

FattyLumpkin
1 Sep 2004, 17:47
Difficult task this - particularly with SOO coming in to cloud things a bit. FF's initial team pretty good - here's another for good measure!

FF: P Carey, T Evans, M Naley
HF: P Jonas, S Kernahan, A Jarman
C: C Bradley, G NcIntosh, G Anderson
HB: P Motley, G Phillips, M Leslie
FB: D Tiller, D Hughes, P Beythein
1R: M Mickan, M Aish, J Platten
2R: P Carey, P Beythein, M Naley

Others: G Fielke, P Maylin, B Abernethy, D Kappler, G Whittlesea, M Redden, M Blight, C McDermott, T McGuiness, R Hawkins, A Jakovich, Bomber Clifford, R Champion.

A little unsure of the eligibility of Jonas & Beythein (I think they were 80's??). Back pocket of Dave Tiller ?? - who else was there (Stick Whittlesea there??). A bit of a debate re the rucks, however we forgot all about Mark Mickan!!

Go for it!!

Fatty

McAlmanac
2 Sep 2004, 00:30
Difficult task this - particularly with SOO coming in to cloud things a bit. FF's initial team pretty good - here's another for good measure!

FF: P Carey, T Evans, M Naley
HF: P Jonas, S Kernahan, A Jarman
C: C Bradley, G NcIntosh, G Anderson
HB: P Motley, G Phillips, M Leslie
FB: D Tiller, D Hughes, P Beythein
1R: M Mickan, M Aish, J Platten
2R: P Carey, P Beythein, M Naley

Others: G Fielke, P Maylin, B Abernethy, D Kappler, G Whittlesea, M Redden, M Blight, C McDermott, T McGuiness, R Hawkins, A Jakovich, Bomber Clifford, R Champion.

A little unsure of the eligibility of Jonas & Beythein (I think they were 80's??). Back pocket of Dave Tiller ?? - who else was there (Stick Whittlesea there??). A bit of a debate re the rucks, however we forgot all about Mark Mickan!!

Go for it!!

FattyMaylin went to Carlton in 1980, so he's out. Champion's best footy was in the 90's. Robb Hawkins is out of his depth. Hogavich doesn't have the claims of Evans or Blight. I'd have McDerrmott ahead of Beythien.

Adrian Shelton
2 Sep 2004, 11:48
Justin Scanlon in the BP maybe, didn't know 'skater' played down there much to be honest.

mickyj
2 Sep 2004, 16:24
When some posted about Weston they forgot he was aplaying coach at West Torrens !
And ruckmemn back then were the Rendalls still playing here or the VFL
and how about Geoff Saru and on the h/b line robbie muir

McAlmanac
2 Sep 2004, 21:30
When some posted about Weston they forgot he was aplaying coach at West Torrens !
And ruckmemn back then were the Rendalls still playing here or the VFL
and how about Geoff Saru and on the h/b line robbie muirMate - you left out Daryl Schimmelbusch! ;)

Ford Fairlane
2 Sep 2004, 21:59
Mate - you left out Daryl Schimmelbusch! ;)

How long b4 we get to Steve Jacquier? ;)

McAlmanac
2 Sep 2004, 23:47
How long b4 we get to Steve Jacquier? ;)I used to know Steve! ;) Nice skills but slower than, er, Daryl Schimmelbusch.

SuperChook
3 Sep 2004, 10:53
Sorry, Fatty, but I couldn't wait any longer. Here's my two cents worth...

F: Neville Roberts (WT/N), Tim Evans (PA), Mark Naley (SA)
HF: Paul Weston (G), Stephen Kernahan (G), Andrew Jarman (NA)
C: Craig Bradley (PA), Garry McIntosh (N), Greg Anderson (PA)
HB: Martin Leslie (PA), Greg Phillips (PA), John Riley (NA)
B: Peter Motley (S), Tony Burgess (WA), Peter Bubner (CD)
R: Peter Carey (G), Michael Aish (N), John Platten (CD)
Int: Chris McDermott (G), Bruce Lindsay (WT)

Only 2 Roosters? No D Jarman? No Michael Redden? Roberts better than Grenville Dietrich? I am one eyed I know but....

Adelaide Hawk
3 Sep 2004, 18:49
Roberts better than Grenville Dietrich? I am one eyed I know but....

Well, Roberts played more footy, kicked more goals, played in 2 premierships, captained the state team, played VFL footy .... apart from that, no he isn't better than Dietrich.

Ford Fairlane
3 Sep 2004, 21:57
Well, Roberts played more footy, kicked more goals, played in 2 premierships, captained the state team, played VFL footy .... apart from that, no he isn't better than Dietrich.

What have the Romans ever done for us? ... ;)

Adelaide Hawk
4 Sep 2004, 00:28
What have the Romans ever done for us? ... ;)

The aqueduct?

All right ... all right ... but apart from better sanitation and medicine and education and public health and roads and a freshwater system and baths and public order ... what have the Romans done for us .... ?

Oh yes ... they brought peace. :)

Ford Fairlane
4 Sep 2004, 10:47
The aqueduct?

All right ... all right ... but apart from better sanitation and medicine and education and public health and roads and a freshwater system and baths and public order ... what have the Romans done for us .... ?

Oh yes ... they brought peace. :)

You got it. It just came to mind straight away ... :D