View Full Version : best of the best

Noel Mugavin
15 Jul 2001, 06:08
my best fitzroy home and away game ever was against collingwood in 1993. (even more enjoyable than record score day)

7 goals to 1 in the first quarter. heaps of magpie supporters about, so once we were fully lubed up by about the 15 min mark of the first quarter, the spray they received was truly the most enjoyable tirade that has been produced. we were rolling around in the rain laughing as dunstan slotted through the seventh for the quarter. (listen to mckenna's commentary as he gives the boy a wrap on his kicking, and dunstan proceeds to do pete's commentary justice and slot a tight one through, right over our heads. delightful....) lynchberg at full forward was a powerhouse, sending a chill down my spine like i hadn't felt since days at the junction when you wondered just how many bernard francis was going to kick each saturday against the opposition that day..

anyway, the pies supporters were ropable, hence as the game progressed, to their credit, the maggies clawed their way back and got within a kick or so in the last. this even despite the one fisted salutes from dundas (nara). pies supporters were all over us like a rash, as they now merely needed a goal to get in front in the dying, minutes of the last quarter.

i remember it vividly to this day, the pies came out of half back line, handball towards a running mark fraser however it dropped short, pounced on by gunga, and he slotted it down a leading lynchberg's throat. 45 out on the angle, and she sailed through post height.

collingwood beanie covered mullets headed for the gates, as we gave them a bit of final curry on the way out.

what a game. all aboard the dennis commetti emotional rollercoaster.

Mobbenfuhrer
19 Jul 2001, 06:49
i remember this match! very wet for the first quarter, and that was when we set up victory. Dundas and Lynch kicking goals.

FitzroyRamone
20 Jul 2001, 08:51
The game you're talking about was on May 22nd, 1993. I remember because not only was it the last time Fitzroy ever defeated Collingwood, but also, well, FitzroyRamone was no longer a boy come the end of that evening. Cannot think of a better way to celebrate a win over the Pies!

Cheers,
FitzroyRamone

Chicago Boy
20 Jul 2001, 14:58
Thats a pissa FitzroyRamone. A great way to celebrate a Fitzroy win over Collingwood.

I hope you were singing the Fitzroy theme song during the process of cumming a man.

muckraker
20 Jul 2001, 22:13
I made a point of attending this game after missing the 1992 match at Princes Park won by Paul Roos with the last kick of the day. I remember in '93 that Lynch was fantastic in the wet conditions. I walked with a mate from Princes Park to the club's hotel in Northcote, wearing abuse from Collingwood supporters along the way. I was arrogant then about our potential for success and gave them heaps!

Olmy
26 Jul 2001, 19:04
That was also the day that M.Armstrong did his knee.

Mr Ripper
26 Jul 2001, 19:10
Wasn't that 1990, Olmy?

Where ya been, btw?

Olmy
26 Jul 2001, 19:29
Yeah, he didn't it badly in 1990, but also again in 1993, in the particular game in question. I'm not sure how many weeks he missed though, but after a brilliant start to the year, his performances tapered off slightly.

Was this also the game that J.Baldwin got done for 4 weeks for tripping K.Butcher and breaking his leg??

Mr Ripper
26 Jul 2001, 19:35
Correctamundo! Butcher's debut that was too.

Best bit of that '90 game was Johnny Ironmonger's spear tackle on Graham Wright! ;) Was a bit of nastiness in the crowd after that!

Roylion
27 Jul 2001, 17:01
That spear tackle of Johnny's happened right in front of us. A perfect view too, as I was sitting on the fence. I suppose applauding the tackle wasn't the best thing to do in the circumstances.

Some of my best memories of Fitzroy were when we beat Collingwood.

The best however still remains the 1 point victory over Essendon in the Elimination Final.

Noel Mugavin
28 Jul 2001, 03:58
final vs the swans in '86 was great. warm and dry under a blanket in the southern stand, bernie harris set us on our way. after the first two goals against hawthorn the following week, i thought that we were on our way, and that in some way we were destined to win the big one, after be robbed of it in 83 when we were the best team in the comp.