View Full Version : Singing at the footy... opinions please
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:24
OK, someone asked me for some songs to sing at Brissie games... I'd like some opinions on them please...
DISCLAIMER: These songs are mainly ripped off from the Brisbane Strikers' BANANA ARMY. All credit for these songs must go to them for these, apart from some slight adaptations.
Sbagman.
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:26
To the tune of "You are my sunshine"
You are my Lions
My Brisbane Lions
You make me happy
When skies are grey
One half from Brisbane
One half from Fitzroy
Please don't take our Lions away
Nah nah nah nah nah.... OOH!
etc etc etc....
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:28
Don't know the tune of this one but it's pretty easy...
HELLO! HELLO! We are the Lions boys
We're Brisbane's famous football fans
We come from near and far
If you can't hear us singing
You'll find us at the bar
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:29
To the tune of "Oh When the Saints"
Alastair Lynch
Is wonderful
Alastair Lynch is wonderful
He's not so bad for an old Tasmanian
ALASTAIR LYNCH! (Alastair Lynch)
IS WONDERFUL! (Is wonderful)
He's not so bad for an old Tasmanian
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:31
When the opposition are losing and their fans have become a bit quiet..... for example, Hawthorn....
Can we hear Hawthorn sing, oh-oh! oh-oh!
Can we hear Hathown sing, oh-oh! oh-oh!
Can we hear Hawthorn sing
We can't hear a bloody thing
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh!
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:34
To the tune of the old Bears song, apparently....
The mighty Brisbane Lions went to Rome to see the pope
And this is what he said
Glory glory Brisbane Lions
And the lads go marching on! on! on!
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:36
Away in a manger
No crib for a bed
The little Lord Jesus
Stood up and he said
BRISBANE! *clap clap clap*
BRISBANE! *clap clap clap* etc etc etc
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:37
(When we're up?)
And it's Brisbane Lions
Brisbane Lions FC
We're by FAR the greatest team
The world has ever seen
(Repeat)
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:39
(when the opposition is struggling for goals... for example, if Sydney had only scored two....)
To the tune of "It's a long way to Tipparary"
It's a long way
Back to Sydney
It's a long way to go
It's a long way back to Sydney
When you've only scored two goals
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:41
Another anti-Sydney one.... to the tune of "daydream believer"
Cheer up Sy-d-ney
Oh what can it be
You're a pack of useless bastards
With a crap footy teeeeee-e-e-eam!
(that was cleaned up)
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:42
When we're home and hosed....
To the tune of some nursery rhyme I can't remember
We're gonna win the flag
And now you're gonna believe us
We're gonna win the flag
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:44
When the opposition miss an easy shot.... to the tune of "Go West"
How big do you want the goals?
etc etc etc
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 11:47
And its Brisbane Lions
Brisbane Lions
We'll SUPPORT you ever more
(repeat)
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 12:01
One liners... (repeat all)
Boring, boring (name the team)
Its just beacuse you're losing
What the bloody hell was that
etc etc etc....
Originally posted by sbagman
When we're home and hosed....
To the tune of some nursery rhyme I can't remember
We're gonna win the flag
And now you're gonna believe us
We're gonna win the flag
The farmer in the dell maybe?
Beausgirl43
16 Jul 2001, 12:27
hehehe
SPAG BOL THEY ARE ALL BRILLIANT :p
COME AND SIT WITH US IN THE CHEER SQUAD AND SING THEM
WE LOVE TO SING DOWN THERE :D
cheers....
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 12:47
Originally posted by Danni
The farmer in the dell maybe?
That's the one. Congrats on the 1000 btw, Danni... are they enough songs to start off with???
Sbagman.
sbagman
16 Jul 2001, 12:48
Originally posted by Beausgirl43
hehehe
SPAG BOL THEY ARE ALL BRILLIANT :p
COME AND SIT WITH US IN THE CHEER SQUAD AND SING THEM
WE LOVE TO SING DOWN THERE :D
cheers....
Ah but will someone sing them with me, BG? This seems to be the problem...
Beausgirl43
16 Jul 2001, 15:37
YOU BET WE WILL SPAG BOL
cheers...
CDFCLad
21 Jul 2001, 19:10
Originally posted by sbagman
Don't know the tune of this one but it's pretty easy...
We're Brisbane's famous football fans
We come from near and far
If you can't hear us singing
You'll find us at the bar
I know the tune to this one.......
It's called Follow Follow and is a battle song of Protestant Northern Irish Loyalists that is used by Glasgow Rangers FC in Scotland. Most English clubs adopted it to their own use as well. (Dad's from Belfast so I know this!!)
I won't print the original lyrics, a little bit sectarian for unprepared eyes :D
DrPepper
22 Jul 2001, 00:18
LOL thats too funny.
great songs!
Big Marsh
22 Jul 2001, 03:09
sbagman, so glad to see that you are a other one of us who'd love to sing like a St George flag-bearing skinhead. The only problem is you can't do it unless everyone knows the song, and if you stand up to try to start it, and no one gives an arse, you look a complete muppet.....
Still, I'd love to see it. Some of those songs are bloody brilliant. I think think the Lynch Mob are into it a bit, I reckon we should be too.
sbagman
22 Jul 2001, 10:18
Originally posted by Big Marsh
sbagman, so glad to see that you are a other one of us who'd love to sing like a St George flag-bearing skinhead. The only problem is you can't do it unless everyone knows the song, and if you stand up to try to start it, and no one gives an arse, you look a complete muppet.....
Still, I'd love to see it. Some of those songs are bloody brilliant. I think think the Lynch Mob are into it a bit, I reckon we should be too.
Thanks Big Marsh, but I'm not sure I like the comparison with a St George flag-bearing skinhead. Its kinda sad that singing at the footy has those connotations, but there you go.
Well, as to looking like a muppet, I did so last night, but hopefully more people will join in... my girlfriend came along and sung with me... what a gal! Danni got into it too.... we just need a critical mass of say 10 voices in the same spot....
Wait till I introduce the Italiian chants!!!!!
Sbagman.
Peter P
22 Jul 2001, 11:52
Not enough singing at Australian sporting events full stop. In the SANFL Central Districts with their mainly pommy supporter base from Elizabeth city have been singing for 25 years. It creates a great atmosphere - especially in the GF when they won their first flag last year.
Be great if the Brisbane Lions fans could get a move on. Get some of those old Strikers supporters along if need be to get it going.
sbagman
23 Jul 2001, 12:26
Got a new one...
"Are you Freo, are you Freo, are you Freo in disguise?"
Big Marsh
23 Jul 2001, 23:51
Which ones are we talking? Milan, Internazionale, AS Roma etc?
What you're saying is completely true, it doesn't take a heap of guys to make a song work. 10-15 people in the same spot singing in the same tune (always sounds better) will work really well. If the cheer squads learn the songs well, it would seriously kick ass.
"OLE OLE OLE OLE! HELLAS! HELLAS!"
"SOUTH MEEEEELBOURNE, SOUTH MEEEEELBOURNE! OLE OLE OLE!"
;) Sorry guys, had to.
sbagman
24 Jul 2001, 11:00
Originally posted by Big Marsh
Which ones are we talking? Milan, Internazionale, AS Roma etc?
Forza Grifo, Forza Grifo, eh! eh!
;)
Passmore
26 Jul 2001, 22:38
Here's a suggestion for when Brisbane are getting done:
'Are you Fitzroy in disguise?'
It worked a treat Prelim Final night in 99:p :p :p
sbagman
27 Jul 2001, 11:30
Originally posted by Passmore
Here's a suggestion for when Brisbane are getting done:
'Are you Fitzroy in disguise?'
It worked a treat Prelim Final night in 99:p :p :p
Yeah pissa... how many premierships have Fitzroy won again?