View Full Version : Frawley on the footy show
As a panelist - and slagged off at the club in the first 5 minutes.
two more days !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cairo tiger
26 Aug 2004, 23:17
what did he exactly say?
i cannot wait for this coaching moron to go away.
what did he exactly say?
i cannot wait for this coaching moron to go away.
Bitching about the Wallace appointment. Claims the club did him wrong be not waiting until the end of the season.
The guy has no brain.
hotdogandsauce
26 Aug 2004, 23:43
poor old danny hard done by, well what about the supporters and the club mate.
i used to at least have some semblence of respect for you but mate you are nothing but a sook, you had your time and failed miserably so move on.
have you ever thought that you are not cut out to be a coach, considering you have failed with us and collingwood as an assistant, you should be grateful we as a club gave you an opportunity to at least have a crack at it.
i would have thought at least finishing the year off looks better on you resume than been sacked you flog!!!!!!!!!!!
i think i remember you actually stating the club had to go after the candidate they thought could do the job for them well if they had left it till the end of the season we would have been left scrapping the bottom of the barrell thats why we ended up with you!!!!!!!
soory mate you have lost me, pack up your cliches and get the hell out of our once proud football club and take your stkilda losing mentality with you.
geez i reckon you would have to be cherry ripe to head back to linton street with that bozo thomas.
cairo tiger
26 Aug 2004, 23:55
i am the first to say he is a great bloke
but equally he is a dumbe arzze coach, he has taken the club back 15 years
1980GFVideo
27 Aug 2004, 00:46
Somebody please make this man go away.
Rodgerramjet
27 Aug 2004, 03:48
2 days, It can't come quick enough can it?
Tigerland
27 Aug 2004, 08:42
Hello Danny! Hello! Hello! - is there anyone home? Fair dinkum this guy can't be serious. He puts the club in an absolutey shoking position during his absimal reign - leaving very little hop for short term success with his idiot recruiting of has beens - Then is upset when the Club tries to pick up the pieces of the absolute disasterous shambles you've created at Punt Road.
OK Danny lets wait until the end of the year and let all the good available coaches go elsewhere and players decide to leave because there is no hope in sight - just because of your ego? - you must be even more of a moron than I thought.
I must say I had a bit of respect for Danny as a person ( certainly not as a Coach ) up until this point. Richmond need to rebuild the mess you created Danny. You were lucky not to have been terminated on the spot mid year.
Just remember one thing Danny when you're being boed of the MCG with spoons waved at you. NO-ONE IS BIGGER THAN THE RICHMOND. Certainly not a idiotic dud of a coach whose legacy of medioricty will take some time to rid!
If there are any cheers or claps after our 14th straight defeat on Saturday - don't mistake them for acknowledgement of an end - it will be because it will herald the start of a begining.
itsintheblood
27 Aug 2004, 10:07
Bitching about the Wallace appointment. Claims the club did him wrong be not waiting until the end of the season.
The guy has no brain.
ROLMFAOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!
The guy is a twit. LOSER!!!!
FARRK OFF BACK TO LINTON ST YOU HACK.
Punt_Road_Roar
27 Aug 2004, 13:02
LOL
thats the funniest thing I have heard!! :D
shame i never watched it
How can he say the club treated him wrong when they fed his family for the past 5 years while he fed us garbage!!
what a loser
get lost you dud
BulldogMike
27 Aug 2004, 13:24
I think he is going to give the Tigers a baking in the media once he is finished officially. He wants a little publicity for himself.I would say he might attempt to be special comments. :mad:
itsintheblood
27 Aug 2004, 13:28
I think he is going to give the Tigers a baking in the media once he is finished officially. He wants a little publicity for himself.I would say he might attempt to be special comments. :mad:
So I guess that gives the club the right of reply for his inept coaching and disgusting recruiting?
Bring back tony jewell. He was spot on about this useless hack.
Darth_Tiger
27 Aug 2004, 13:41
i would love to hear his 'special comments'.
D.F. - 'brisbane are just under using the ball, this long kicking into the forward line is just too risky. i would be using more short kicks to a free player and holding it up to slow the play down, i cant tell what is going on if they move it too fast'.
<brisbane goal>
D.F. - 'oh a lucky one there, if lynch hadnt have knocked it to ground and aker not swooped on it then it would have rebounded pretty quick and then you are in trouble. better to short kick it to a free player'.
<brisbane goal>
D.F. - 'another lucky goal, brisbane are such a lucky side arent they?'
tiger of old
27 Aug 2004, 14:59
where exactly did he slag the club over the appointment of TW?
all he said was it made it difficult once TW was appointed and would have preferred the club to wait until after the season.but acknowledged that under the circumstances[hawthorn]the club had no choice.
while i understand alot of posters on here have it in for spud for obvious reasons the fact of the matter is you are way off the mark in this case!
cheers!
So much for Danny being a nice guy?
The informed opinion is that the only reason we kept him this year, and Miller argued last season to extend his contract into 2004, was so we didnt enhance our reputation for sacking coaches.
Maybe if we'd sacked Frawley in 2003 we would have scared off Wallace to coach us. As it turns out, we got best available coach and the price we paid was a wooden spoon in 2004.
As far as I'm concerned, if you want to go out there Danny and be like Robert Walls, go. But dont forget the club gave you an extra year when you were already in breach of your contract for not making the finals in 2 consecutive years, winning 14 games over the entire 2 previous seasons, and you repaid the club with a wooden spoon.
Bungaree is not far enough away from Punt Rd. Go to hell
itsintheblood
27 Aug 2004, 15:19
all he said was it made it difficult once TW was appointed and would have preferred the club to wait until after the season.but acknowledged that under the circumstances[hawthorn]the club had no choice.
while i understand alot of posters on here have it in for spud for obvious reasons the fact of the matter is you are way off the mark in this case!
cheers!
Gee TOO, we didn't know you had such a soft spot for a man that has obliterated any hope our club has of playing finals within the next three or so years. He deserves eveything he cops and more. :mad: :mad:
tiger of old
27 Aug 2004, 18:52
Gee TOO, we didn't know you had such a soft spot for a man that has obliterated any hope our club has of playing finals within the next three or so years. He deserves eveything he cops and more. :mad: :mad:
As far as spud,s coaching i have no problem with what he cops.
its just a pity that for those who didnt see TFS got only half the story.
cheers!
Tigerrific
27 Aug 2004, 21:29
As far as spud,s coaching i have no problem with what he cops.
its just a pity that for those who didnt see TFS got only half the story.
cheers!
You are spot on TOO! I saw TFS and you gave a pretty accurate account of what happened. I actually thought he was still being very supportive and positive towards the club.
Don`t stick up for spud over that fukcing stupid comment . Could you imagine if we were all sitting here still not knowing (100%) who our coach was ? We would have torn down the punt rd. stand by now.
Not announce the new coach to protect Danny`s feelings ? Just goes to show what a moron the bloke is . If he had of pi..ed off when he should of it would have saved a lot of people a hell of a lot of embarrasment .
To sum it up he said in the age ( i kid you not ) when asked how he viewed his performance at Richmond that he had some good success innitially but it just peterred out a little ................................ for fukcs sake , a tool to the end
Darth_Tiger
28 Aug 2004, 00:08
he had some good success innitially but it just peterred out a little ................................
is this not THE understatement of all time? i hear adolf hitler said the same thing....
tiger of old
28 Aug 2004, 12:57
Don`t stick up for spud over that fukcing stupid comment . Could you imagine if we were all sitting here still not knowing (100%) who our coach was ? We would have torn down the punt rd. stand by now.
Not announce the new coach to protect Danny`s feelings ? Just goes to show what a moron the bloke is . If he had of pi..ed off when he should of it would have saved a lot of people a hell of a lot of embarrasment .
To sum it up he said in the age ( i kid you not ) when asked how he viewed his performance at Richmond that he had some good success innitially but it just peterred out a little ................................ for fukcs sake , a tool to the end
Get over IDGAF geez.the club would have approached it exactly the sameway if TW wasnt in our sights and spud said that himself that he understood why it happened.would have been easier for him to slag the club for doing it.
if anything the club has came out of this with its "new reputation" intact and spud can take alot of credit for that.
As a person he has my respect!
cheers!
Get over IDGAF geez.the club would have approached it exactly the sameway if TW wasnt in our sights and spud said that himself that he understood why it happened.would have been easier for him to slag the club for doing it.
if anything the club has came out of this with its "new reputation" intact and spud can take alot of credit for that.
cheers!I agree TOO , as a bloke he has my respect as well , top bloke , but he is stupid , and he says stupid things . And to say that he wished they could have waited until the end of the year to announce TW was stupid . Having said that , i do agree that there was not any malice in it.
After seeing the way this has been played out , it was no wonder they gagged him after the first couple of seasons .
I reckon the biggest question that has to be asked out of all this is ..... Who were the people who were actually interviewed him and hired him ? And are they still at Richmond ?
Danny Frawley is who he is , but by his own admission he said that he never thought in his wildest dreams that he would be a senior coach . And the majority of the footy world new that as well . Who at Richmond thought otherwise ?
One of the greatest footy " stings " of all time . Danny Frawley is going away to re-introduce himself to Danny Frawley (quote unquote)
If you really read into that statement i think it says it all
cheers!
Seeing as i started this thread, let me answer this.
He said he was disappointed the club made the appointment when they did. Yes he said the club and no choice, but surely as the current coach at the time (thursday night) he should have not said this. As a paid employee of the club, if you don't say anything positive about the club then you shut up. And if you say he was goaded by eddie, then he is sillier than i thought.
So, the current coach saying that he was disappointed the way the club handled the coaching appointment is slagging off as far as i am concerned. He did not bag Wallace he just made a fool of himself.
Having said this may i say that he clearly is a great bloke (from where i sit at a distance) but a coaches toenail.
TOO, I'd be really interested to know why exactly he has your respect?
Not being provocative here, but I can understand why ppl say he's a good bloke, but its way beyond me how anyone can respect him.
The last person I could ever find any respect for is someone that doesnt know his limitations.
Colonel Matrix
30 Aug 2004, 15:12
I rate any guy who puts in 110% effort, and the spud certainly gave it his all. However having said that, I've never seen such a bewildered bunch of players in a game of footy, kicking the ball backwards more times than forwards, not knowing what to do with the pill. I think Spud's hard work will be more suited for the potato fields that have been left unattended back in Ballarat....
PS: You're a top bloke spud, please don't find me and kill me..... :eek:
tiger of old
30 Aug 2004, 15:28
TOO, I'd be really interested to know why exactly he has your respect?
The last person I could ever find any respect for is someone that doesnt know his limitations.
why like have said in the past.Danny got most out of his ability.he didnt have the flair as a player but got the job done through hard work.
His limtiations has been found as a coach and its fair to say and he knows it that as a senior coach he hasnt got what it takes.instead of blaming the man how about blaming our culture of sacking coaches.thats where the problem started and finished.
Sacking him 2yrs ago would see that culture return and end up with another sub standard coach.
at least now we have someone who is well respected in the football world as far as his coaching ability goes.
cheers!
itsintheblood
30 Aug 2004, 15:35
I think frawley should reappear on the footy show and instead of giving us cliches and excuses, he should humbly apologise the richmond faithful for screwing up the team and making us the laughing stock of the AFL. He should line up with his ex coaching team and apologise.
tiger of old
30 Aug 2004, 15:43
Seeing as i started this thread, let me answer this.
He said he was disappointed the club made the appointment when they did. Yes he said the club and no choice, but surely as the current coach at the time (thursday night) he should have not said this. As a paid employee of the club, if you don't say anything positive about the club then you shut up. And if you say he was goaded by eddie, then he is sillier than i thought.
So, the current coach saying that he was disappointed the way the club handled the coaching appointment is slagging off as far as i am concerned. He did not bag Wallace he just made a fool of himself.
Having said this may i say that he clearly is a great bloke (from where i sit at a distance) but a coaches toenail.
why shouldnt he say it?he was asked the question and anybody would realise what a tough situation it would be.if you were in spuds shoes you would feel the sameway and even TW acknowldged that he felt awkward about it all.
we were forced and spud knows this.bad situation yes.understandable yes slagging off far from it.
cheers!
why like have said in the past.Danny got most out of his ability.he didnt have the flair as a player but got the job done through hard work.
His limtiations has been found as a coach and its fair to say and he knows it that as a senior coach he hasnt got what it takes.instead of blaming the man how about blaming our culture of sacking coaches.thats where the problem started and finished.
Sacking him 2yrs ago would see that culture return and end up with another sub standard coach.
at least now we have someone who is well respected in the football world as far as his coaching ability goes.
cheers!
So you respect him because he is a hard worker? Fair enough.
FWIW, I dont respect him because he is the one person that deep down will not admit to himself that he wasnt up to this job. If they gave him another 5 years, he would have taken it.
tiger of old
30 Aug 2004, 16:10
FWIW, I dont respect him because he is the one person that deep down will not admit to himself that he wasnt up to this job. And you know this how?
cheers!
He was pushed. Or are you saying he jumped?
You respect him for hard work and never giving up, dont you? Guys like that dont jump.
The funniest thing I've heard from Frawley was that he was going to show everyone they were wrong after the Tony Jewell article. If up to him, he'd spend another 5 years trying to prove us all wrong.
tiger of old
30 Aug 2004, 16:47
He was pushed. Or are you saying he jumped?
You respect him for hard work and never giving up, dont you? Guys like that dont jump.
Its fair to say it was a mutural decision for all concerned.
cheers!
1980GFVideo
30 Aug 2004, 17:03
Its fair to say it was a mutural decision for all concerned.
cheers!
Im not sure it was mutual. I think Danny understood the decision but lets say he had two more years of his contract left. I dont believe he would say to the club, look guys im not working, we better call it quits. Wed be stuck with his just stick fat mentality for another two years.
The 'I dont quit' attitude might sound like a good thing but usually its a persons pride before the club.
What Tony Jewell said was spot on. There were some positives about Danny in there and it was a very non malicious honest measured article and yet Danny felt the need to go balistic over it and call a crisis meeting.
I get the feeling Frawley is a bit ********ed with Wallace. He said in the Herald Sun when asked whether he would sit down with Wallace. -
i think Greg Miller can do that.
He isnt keen then again Wallace doesnt need Frawleys assessments.
Im not sure it was mutual. I think Danny understood the decision but lets say he had two more years of his contract left. I dont believe he would say to the club, look guys im not working, we better call it quits. Wed be stuck with his just stick fat mentality for another two years.
Or to put it another way, he could have said last year, "look guys, I've had 4 years, I've worked hard and done my best, but why dont I save all of us a lot of trouble and give someone else a go".
Instead, he coached another year and gave us a wooden spoon.
I'd respect him if he went to the club after 4 years in charge and resigned, not hanging on to the bitter end.
Or to put it another way, he could have said last year, "look guys, I've had 4 years, I've worked hard and done my best, but why dont I save all of us a lot of trouble and give someone else a go".
Instead, he coached another year and gave us a wooden spoon.
I'd respect him if he went to the club after 4 years in charge and resigned, not hanging on to the bitter end.Hit the nail on the head 1980 , should have seen the writing on the wall last year . I believe he was selfish to go on . The constant Rhetoric , " It`s un Frawley like to walk away " etc. The way he constantly would say " We`ve got to draw on the positives from this " When he should have been saying " This is not good enough and there will be changes "
I believe he was always trying to put a positive spin on things to try and save his own bacon .
Bojangles17
30 Aug 2004, 23:46
Hit the nail on the head 1980 , should have seen the writing on the wall last year . I believe he was selfish to go on . The constant Rhetoric , " It`s un Frawley like to walk away " etc. The way he constantly would say " We`ve got to draw on the positives from this " When he should have been saying " This is not good enough and there will be changes "
I believe he was always trying to put a positive spin on things to try and save his own bacon .
im filthy on frawley for that..left us wither rather than do anything to make us thrive
I agree 100% with this which is why I think he doesnt deserve respect. Recognising him as a good bloke is one thing, but receiving respect for holding on for dear life to do a job which he knows as much as the rest of us he wasnt up to, is another thing altogether.
Geischen at least told the club he wasnt up to it at the end of his tenure.
There are several levels of social intelligence.
90-100
75-90
50-75
0-50.
Frawley falls under the 0-50 catergory.
He did indeed mention at his retirement press conference that he thought he would be at the club for another 5 years.
Strange thing to say when you're supposedly retiring.
LMAOOOOOOO@The fukwit playing the "I quit" card but the whole world knowing he got the big A.
Good Riddance Pea Brain