View Full Version : bob murphy must be named skipper
murphy2bedabest
27 Aug 2004, 18:18
the time is now for bob murphy he is our best player coming in to his 6th year and 60 game under him its the change needed
now with eade coaching it just looks the right thing 2 do
nothing agenst grant he is a champion but times come
look at players like carey ej voss sticks hird champion players and young captains even look at cam white for vic only 21
just my thoughts like to see yours
Walsh Bay
27 Aug 2004, 18:27
We know you're getting bored Bob being injured and all but pushing your own barrow on bf is going a bit far.
Ipaidmy200in89
27 Aug 2004, 18:28
Has some Merit. I think one more year under Grant.
Palace03
27 Aug 2004, 18:36
I think Johnno deserves his chance, he bleeds red, white, and blue and must be given the captains job with Bob as his vice or perhaps co-captains??
dogsbody
27 Aug 2004, 18:47
I think Johnno deserves his chance, he bleeds red, white, and blue and must be given the captains job with Bob as his vice or perhaps co-captains??Cooney for Captain.
Disagree. Bob is not yet our best player. He may have the best potential but will need to fulfil this under Eade in the next season or so.
I like to see Darcy to be the next captain
Gilbee9
27 Aug 2004, 19:21
Whilst Murphy is a great up and coming player, and a player of our future. He is no way near ready to be captain, He has hade few BOGs, and hasnt really taken a game by the scruf fof the neck and turned it. However in saying that by the age of 25, she should be ready to take over.
It should be out of Johnson and Darcy. Johnson bleeds the red white and blue and is a match winner. Darcy has that mongrel in him, and can dominate a game.
Dogs 13
27 Aug 2004, 19:49
I think his ISIB column on the Dogs web site proves he is no where near mature enough to captain an AFL team.
IF Granty steps down, it has to be out of Darce or Johnno.
Dog Town
27 Aug 2004, 19:57
Murf isn't ready just yet and may never be.Darcy is the man who should replace Grant IMO.Next year isn't a bad time to do it.Better to give a guy a year of experience while the former captains still going so he can just ease into the role.
StevieG
27 Aug 2004, 20:11
Darcy is the man to lead us next year. He is good both on and off the field. Here is one from left field and it won't happen for 4-5 years at least but I reckon Big Will Minson has leader written all over him. He is articulate and doesn't mind trying to kill the opposition. How will it be when Big Will has a few years under his belt and the opposition start to shudder in the centre square. Our blokes will walk alot taller. I just love his attitude (we just need to keep the Crows and the Power - a possible Primus replacement - away from him).
BloodyRedHead!
27 Aug 2004, 20:15
Cooney :D
Sooner or later he will be a young captain that will take over for quite a few years, starting from scratch without being through years of waxing it could be the way to go, and put more players out of their comfort zones!
Aquamarinejewel
27 Aug 2004, 20:18
If Grant was to hand over the reins...Darcy or Johnno woud be great captains after them Murphy next in line.
Dog Town
27 Aug 2004, 20:19
Darcy is the man to lead us next year. He is good both on and off the field. Here is one from left field and it won't happen for 4-5 years at least but I reckon Big Will Minson has leader written all over him. He is articulate and doesn't mind trying to kill the opposition. How will it be when Big Will has a few years under his belt and the opposition start to shudder in the centre square. Our blokes will walk alot taller. I just love his attitude (we just need to keep the Crows and the Power - a possible Primus replacement - away from him).Yeah heard him speak on triple m a few weeks ago.Very impressive young man.It depends largely on how he develops.We tend to think the kid is a sure thing and he has been very impressive so far but realistically he still has alot of work to do.Would barely have played 120 minutes of senior footy so far.
skooshtamart
27 Aug 2004, 23:10
[QUOTE=StevieG]Big Will Minson has leader written all over him. QUOTE]
Agree for the longer term (5-6 years)when he is 24-25.
I believe grant should step down, allowing him to concentrate on his own game without the adittional pressure of inspiring others around him.
johnno,west and darc are only short term options as captain 2-3 years max
My preferred leader is Mitch (the Ghan) Hahn he can inspire with a fifty plus bomb and a pack splitting crunch. Never saw EJ or Charlie play but he seems to fit the mould, from the inspirational stories told.
He needs a new nickname, something that has similarities
"cos he goes straight through the middle"
http://www.touradelaide.com/adelaidenews/ghan/ghan_launch.html
OldSchool
27 Aug 2004, 23:47
If Grant is not to captain the team next year then it should be out of Darcy or Johnson.
I think the senior group should be rounded out with Rawlings, Murphy and Hahn.
Murphy is not ready just yet.
Red White Blue
28 Aug 2004, 17:59
Darcy should be elevated to Captain for 2005.
He is probably our most inportant player, experienced, confident, strong and
has the presence, even air of arrogance that good leaders need to have.
He is good in the media, well spoken, again confident and represents himself & the club well.
I think that Darc would take on the position with enthusiasm and vigour.
To be honest I think Granty would be happier and play better footy without the additional responsiblility.
The Doctor
28 Aug 2004, 19:09
There is no way Robert Murphy is ready for captaincy. He's a long way off.
I wouldn't give it to Brad Johnson either. He doesn't strike me as leadership material.
I would give it to Scott West. There is no one at the club who deserves it more.
I also like Rawlings and Darcy as the alternatives.
There is no way Robert Murphy is ready for captaincy. He's a long way off.
I wouldn't give it to Brad Johnson either. He doesn't strike me as leadership material.
I would give it to Scott West. There is no one at the club who deserves it more.
I also like Rawlings and Darcy as the alternatives.
I tend to agree with your sentiments. Whilst I like Johnson as a player and what he puts himself through, he amkes too mant mistakes at critical times during a game and is one of the major waxing culprits at the club.
I think in 2 to 4 years time Cooney could be ready for the captaincy. He has a presence that I have not seen with a junior footballer at our club since a young skinny number 29 lined up against St Kilda at th western oval in 1990
stefoid
30 Aug 2004, 17:26
Like I said in another thread, Darce himself could improve if given the captaincy. I read somewhere that his pre-game habit is to sit by himself with headphones on. thats great, but captains need to go around slapping backs and talking it up, especially to the youngsters.
stmookeyj
30 Aug 2004, 17:28
For me, Darcy to be captain if Granty gives it up. Murphy should be given about 1-2 more seasons in the leadership group before getting the C next to the name on the teamsheet.
Also, just because you may be the best player as some have suggested doesn't necessarilly mean that you make the best captain. (i.e: Adam Simpson, Kouta)
Gilbo_Fan
30 Aug 2004, 17:55
Like I said in another thread, Darce himself could improve if given the captaincy. I read somewhere that his pre-game habit is to sit by himself with headphones on. thats great, but captains need to go around slapping backs and talking it up, especially to the youngsters.
I agree that Grant might benefit from giving up the captaincy.
And Darcy is probably the best choice HOWEVER I strongly disagree with the stuff about the headphones. The best way a captain can lead is by playing well, nobody cares whether Darcy is slapping them on the back during warm up, they care about him being a big physical presence on the ground.
Performance is all that matters in this game. Whoever the captain is they need to be themself. Bobby has rightly stated that he doesn't believe he is ready and Eade will have his own ideas about who should be captain.
murphy2bedabest
30 Aug 2004, 18:24
yes i would love to see west darcy or johnno given their chance at being captain even if it was for 2-3 years then one of murph or cooney takes over.
but i think that this is a risk that has 2 be taken, the time is now!!(new coach, new way of thinking)
he can captian this side for the next 10+ years and grow with the team
ps dont look at his or any other players media stuff and think thats what their like on the park!!!
stefoid
30 Aug 2004, 18:41
I agree that Grant might benefit from giving up the captaincy.
And Darcy is probably the best choice HOWEVER I strongly disagree with the stuff about the headphones. The best way a captain can lead is by playing well, nobody cares whether Darcy is slapping them on the back during warm up, they care about him being a big physical presence on the ground.
Performance is all that matters in this game. Whoever the captain is they need to be themself. Bobby has rightly stated that he doesn't believe he is ready and Eade will have his own ideas about who should be captain.
its part and parcel of the captainship I reckon. On field leadership is fantastic, but thats not all - the captain fronts the media more often and is often the public face of the team. and to say that nobody cares if the captain has any pre-game involvement with the yougner players... well, lets just say I would want my captain to lead both on and off the field. We really need to bridge the gap between the senior players and the rest, and isolating himself before running onto the field is not the way to go about it.
Dog Town
30 Aug 2004, 20:32
its part and parcel of the captainship I reckon. On field leadership is fantastic, but thats not all - the captain fronts the media more often and is often the public face of the team. and to say that nobody cares if the captain has any pre-game involvement with the yougner players... well, lets just say I would want my captain to lead both on and off the field. We really need to bridge the gap between the senior players and the rest, and isolating himself before running onto the field is not the way to go about it.Pikey said in Inside Footy last week that Voss barely ever talks its just when he does everyone takes notice.It probably isn't ideal to have someone with a pre game routine like that but at the same time he would be doing that during the time that every player has to get ready.I am sure during warm ups and speeches he is as vocal as anyone.On field is where leaders make there names.
Bulldogchick76
31 Aug 2004, 09:13
I think that Chris Grant should step down as captain next year, and be left to enjoy his last season(s) of football.
Scott West is the man that should be rewarded with the captaincy for several reasons:
- he shows good leadership
- he has performed consistently well during an unsuccessful period for the team
- when dropped as vice-captain, he acted with dignity, and let his on-field performance do the talking
Le Westy be captain for the last few years of his career- by the time he is ready to retire, there should be several willing candidates standing in the wings, such as Murph, Mitch and (hopefully) Cooney
stefoid
31 Aug 2004, 11:16
Pikey said in Inside Footy last week that Voss barely ever talks its just when he does everyone takes notice.It probably isn't ideal to have someone with a pre game routine like that but at the same time he would be doing that during the time that every player has to get ready.I am sure during warm ups and speeches he is as vocal as anyone.On field is where leaders make there names.
Its obvious that brisbane plays as a united team, whereas we seem to play as 'the top 6, then everyone else'. We have to change that, and get everyone playing together.
Gilbo_Fan
31 Aug 2004, 11:49
its part and parcel of the captainship I reckon. On field leadership is fantastic, but thats not all - the captain fronts the media more often and is often the public face of the team. and to say that nobody cares if the captain has any pre-game involvement with the yougner players... well, lets just say I would want my captain to lead both on and off the field. We really need to bridge the gap between the senior players and the rest, and isolating himself before running onto the field is not the way to go about it.
I agree that the captain must do a lot more than on field. He should be having the young fellas over for dinner etc and doing all that great clubman stuff. However, on game day, each and every player should be going through the warm up routine that is best for them and will see them play at their best. Regardless of what player they are in the team.
Our group still does an on the ground warmup so its not like Darcy is locking himself away from the team for hours before the game. What he does is take a bit 'own time' which is well recognised in Sport psychology as good practice.
scoreboardend
31 Aug 2004, 15:07
I think his ISIB column on the Dogs web site proves he is no where near mature enough to captain an AFL team.
IF Granty steps down, it has to be out of Darce or Johnno.
Agreed on both counts and lets face it, to be captain of any AFL team you not only need be very articulate (Neitz the exception) but the person also needs the right image which I think Murph "sorry mate" will struggle with on both counts.
Johnno for mine.
Cyberdoggie
31 Aug 2004, 15:24
I think Johnno deserves his chance, he bleeds red, white, and blue and must be given the captains job with Bob as his vice or perhaps co-captains??
i think johnno does deserve a shot.
grant would probably be better off next year without the extra burden, but it's up to him really.
murphy needs another year or so to show us what he's got,
dont' want his performances to squander from the extra burden of leadership.
Matty01
31 Aug 2004, 15:48
Ever since I first saw Murph play I thought he would (eventually) be captaincy material. Probably needs a year of dominanting in the middle first before taking over as captain, therefore I think give it to West (short term option) and Murph to be next in line.
murphy2bedabest
1 Sep 2004, 19:32
I think that Chris Grant should step down as captain next year, and be left to enjoy his last season(s) of football.
Scott West is the man that should be rewarded with the captaincy for several reasons:
- he shows good leadership
- he has performed consistently well during an unsuccessful period for the team
- when dropped as vice-captain, he acted with dignity, and let his on-field performance do the talking
Le Westy be captain for the last few years of his career- by the time he is ready to retire, there should be several willing candidates standing in the
wings, such as Murph, Mitch and (hopefully) Cooney
granted west johnno or darcy would be good choices for the captaincy and any other time even any other team i would want one of them as captain
but it is now with a new coach that we need to change the way we are going, and the way we think.
so with this said murph should be it, yes he could be protected for 2-3 (till hes ready) but the time is now!
for all those ppl who have said he isn't focused enough, dosn't talk up enough dont underestermate :confused: how much the captaincy can change you.
i played with a player sum time ago he was always picking fights being slack and all that, then 1 year he was named captain, everyone was shocked, ''he won't make a good captain'' was much of the word. but let me tell you he was one of the best captains i have played under