View Full Version : AFLST Finals

WCL
28 Aug 2004, 18:43
Any news, hope the Pies got up, if so a Premiership beckons!

The Scarecrow
28 Aug 2004, 18:54
New Norfolk def. Glenorchy
Clarence def. Kingborough

Regional league
Sorell def. Kermandie

WCL
28 Aug 2004, 19:02
Ahhhhhh, that's no good, oh well, big showdown next week again, with Glenorchy V Clarence, this time on neutral gound, should be a beauty, every magpie supporter should get out there and support these guys and get them into the GF. Hope the Devils lose so we can be at full strength next week.

Any idea what the scores were.

The Scarecrow
28 Aug 2004, 19:04
Not sure of the scores, but I think we lost close to 42points, Clarence were up against Kingborough, not sure what the final score there was.

WCL
28 Aug 2004, 19:12
That's not good 42pts, I wonder what would of happened if Norfolk played away from the fortress.

The Scarecrow
28 Aug 2004, 19:52
From what I have worked out..

KGV Oval - loss
NHO - loss
Bellerive - win
KBO - win
TCA - win

Pretty good chance that the Magpies could beat New Norfolk away from Boyer.

WCL
30 Aug 2004, 23:00
Any idea what sort of crowds they got on the weekend. Sux the Devils won, oh well looks like we will just have to beat the roos not flog them.

P.S How many do you reckon they will get to the Reg League GF, taking into consideration that the Glenorchy V Clarence Block buster is also on.

The Scarecrow
30 Aug 2004, 23:34
Probably about 600, we also have the Devils playing at Bellerive Oval, so that will take a few people away from the games this weekend.

Kingpin
31 Aug 2004, 02:28
Sorell vs Cygnet - I tip 2200 for the Grannie.
Two years ago Cygnet and Lauderdale played in the final and there was 2100-odd with 90% of the crowd barracking for Cygnet.
Sorell's got a small following like Lauderdale has so it will probably be about the same.

The Premier League has Clarence and Glenorchy meeting up again - that'll be a pearler, on the Sunday.
From what I saw on the news, there weren't many at Bellerive for the Clarence - Kingborough match.
Apparently there were a heap up at Boyer.
Poor form putting the Devils up against the local finals - they'll get blanket coverage, the local stuff will get nothing.

WCL
31 Aug 2004, 09:27
That really sux about the Devils, the way the SFL Prem League is going at the moment if we didn't have the devils and we had a larger salary cap, it would be up tthere with the best leagues in the country. I didn't think the Clarence V Kingborough game would draw much, but I read a newspaper article and it said that Grandstand at New Norfolk was packed to capacity and there were many up in the hill and around the ground, Glenorchy would have recieved a pretty hostile reception. It really is an underatted part of our game.

LFC
31 Aug 2004, 10:17
Sorell's got a small following like Lauderdale

Wonder why that is :rolleyes: :D

Crowd will be big, around 3000-3500, I'll give you the tip, and here's why: People that go to Regional League footy go because they love to watch a hard, skilful, tough at the body and the ball brand of football, so they tend to shy away from the more flashy and silky Premier League, and the even flashier Devils style of game.
People from Cygnet and the Huon area are salt of the earth, they live on local football, and don't care what happens in the city leagues, they are absolute ferals down there when it comes to footy, and they make it great to watch. Cygnet have fans that are as iconic in the area as the players, such as the bugler, the red head lady that threatens every opposing player with violence etc.

Sorell is much the same in their municipality, and the whole place will get behind them. Was at the Sorell V Dodges game the other week, you couldn't move in front of the clubrooms there it was that full.

Two very strong and patriotic communities will make this one of the best grand finals you'll see.

That said, Cygnet will win the game, but only after a Lauderdale Regional League like fade out from Sorell in the third Quarter. So the Port by 56 points.

WCL
1 Sep 2004, 20:09
I'm pumped for this years finals series, so far it hasn't disappointed, Glenorchy def Clarence at Bellerive and Sorrel def Kermandie at NHO are my highlights. Looking forward to the GF's, couldn't care less about how the devils are going, I like the real stuff.