View Full Version : ex afl players in local leagues.

Blue Red and Gold
31 Aug 2004, 10:53
On the weekend I was at the GSFL (SA) match between Encounter Bay and Langhorne Creek and watched Tony Modra tear the game apart with 10 goals. He was kicking em from everywhere and brought down a couple of nice grabs.
The crowd was huge not just because it was a final but because I feel Modra was there. The atmosphere was great and the game was a beauty with it going to extra time only for Modra to kick his 10th with a dribbled goal to seal the match.
I was just wondering if there are any other ex AFL players playing in a local league who is just tearing it up and bringing in the crowds just to watch him play.
I hope there is because it is great for grassroots footy seeing superstars like Modra coming out and playing a local league I really take my hat off to him.

Tyson20
31 Aug 2004, 12:11
Kym Koster and Jarrod Cotton are playing for Col Light Gardens in the Amatuer League and by all reports hve dominated. Trent Ormond-Allan is playing with SMOSH West Lakes in the Amatuer League, he won the Division 3 medal (with two other players).

Im pretty sure that Brayden Lyle was playing with Port Districts as well, but he only played a handful of games tho i think...

It is great to see ex-AFL/SANFL players out in the local comps, they do draw extra people to games, and it is excellent to see them still playing footy...

Blue Red and Gold
31 Aug 2004, 12:16
I saw Troy Bond a few years ago playing for Goolwa against Victor I think where he kicked 7 goals playing out of the middle, he was awesome. He didnt pull in the crowd as much as Modra but just watching him play was great. Is he and his brother now playing somewhere in the amatuers?

goaldrush1977
31 Aug 2004, 12:20
Scott Cummings plays for Bungaree in the CHFL. Also Jamie Lamb plays for Springbank.

CrowMuncher
31 Aug 2004, 12:45
Rodney "Rocket" Maynard is playing for Lameroo in the mallee football league and last week picked up his 6th Mail medal, those long grey locks are carving up out there, and for a fact he's still as fit as he's ever been..

Which is hard to believe but true...

goaldrush1977
31 Aug 2004, 12:52
Rodney "Rocket" Maynard is playing for Lameroo in the mallee football league and last week picked up his 6th Mail medal, those long grey locks are carving up out there, and for a fact he's still as fit as he's ever been..

Which is hard to believe but true...who? Sorry for my ignorance but who did he play for?

NICK THE PIE MAN
31 Aug 2004, 13:27
Andrew and Paul Dimatina are playing for the Southport Sharks up here in QLD.

Blue Red and Gold
31 Aug 2004, 14:02
who? Sorry for my ignorance but who did he play for?

He was one of the original Crows.

Blue Red and Gold
31 Aug 2004, 14:05
Andrew and Paul Dimatina are playing for the Southport Sharks up here in QLD.

Southport are an amazing club I was on their website the other day, they seem to be very sucessful and obviously financially strong but when I look at their player list and the games played there is barely anyone who has played over 100 games. Its a credit to the football club that they are able to get people to go up there and play for a season or two and still be such a force in the competition. My best mate at the moment is up there doing exactly that and loving it.

Blue Red and Gold
31 Aug 2004, 14:06

Which is hard to believe but true...

Thats amazing that he is still kicking on and playing good footy, I cant imagine the competition is that strong but still, its a great effort.

Tyson20
31 Aug 2004, 14:31
I saw Troy Bond a few years ago playing for Goolwa against Victor I think where he kicked 7 goals playing out of the middle, he was awesome. He didnt pull in the crowd as much as Modra but just watching him play was great. Is he and his brother now playing somewhere in the amatuers?

Troy Bond was playing at Salisbury North this yr, but he injured himself and hasnt played for most of the season. Injured himself in the first trial game, then came back and injured himself again if my memory serves me correctly.

Not unlike Troy Bond to be injured :D i think Shane was out there as well but im not sure...

Blue Red and Gold
31 Aug 2004, 14:33
Troy Bond was playing at Salisbury North this yr, but he injured himself and hasnt played for most of the season. Injured himself in the first trial game, then came back and injured himself again if my memory serves me correctly.

Not unlike Troy Bond to be injured :D i think Shane was out there as well but im not sure...

haha good to see he has carried on his form from the AFL into the Amatuers :D

goaldrush1977
31 Aug 2004, 15:10
He was one of the original Crows.Thanks

CrowMuncher
31 Aug 2004, 16:59
The comp is actually pretty good, Rocket is great out there helps all the young kids with their skills and is involved with the league heavily, and he's great to play against, even if they have to run out the walking stick at 3 quarter time, and when we play them we have to get 4 21 yr olds just to tag him for the game....

Thats how fit and highly regarded he is.....

Tigers_07
31 Aug 2004, 17:12
Trent Bartlet, Justin Plapp, Ben Beams...play 4 TASSIE in the VFL Comp

CrowMuncher
31 Aug 2004, 17:19
Greg Whittleseas is another short stint afl player that was a sturt legend who just hung up the boots for Yankalilla, who actually won their first game for the season on his retirement game, in the GSFL

WCL
31 Aug 2004, 18:31
ACTAFL: AFL Club:
Brent Heaver (Ainslie) Carlton, Port Adelaide
Brett Knowles (Ainslie) St. Kilda
Mark Armstrong (Queanbeyan) Sydney
Nathan Clarke (Eastlake) Brisbane
Sean Clarke (Eastlake) Brisbane
Darren Denneman (Belco Coach) Geelong & Sydney
Matthew Mansfield (Eastlake)
Steve Mahar (Belconnen)

wellsy
31 Aug 2004, 18:37
Mark Merenda and Richard Taylor are both playing amatuers here but i dont know which club... :D

Blue Red and Gold
31 Aug 2004, 18:43
Greg Whittleseas is another short stint afl player that was a sturt legend who just hung up the boots for Yankalilla, who actually won their first game for the season on his retirement game, in the GSFL

I was there when he announced his retirement when they lost to Myponga.
He is a top bloke, tough as nails, so Im glad they got up for him.

McAlmanac
31 Aug 2004, 22:00
David Bourke (Richmond, Kangaroos) turned out for Vermont in the Eastern Footy League this year. Injured in the first game then injured again when he came back later in the year. I believe Paul Broderick (Fitzroy, Richmond) plays in this league too.

Simon Minton-Connell (Carlton, Sydney, Bulldogs) plays for someone in (I think) the Essendon league.

Brad-clare
31 Aug 2004, 22:17
Shane Ellen the hero from the 97 afl GF has been playing for Moonta in York Penisula league in SA

ben.carbonaro
31 Aug 2004, 22:51
Aaron James plays in DVFL division 2 for Lalor.

John Barnes plays for East Keilor in the EDFL.

footyfan77
31 Aug 2004, 23:05
damian monkhorst plays for woori yallock in the yvmdfl along with nicky winmar silvan, derrick kickett worowa, and ex umpire bryan sheenan

ben.carbonaro
31 Aug 2004, 23:08
Is Bryan Sheehan actually playing or is he back at the grass roots level umpring because I know some ex-afl and vfl umps go back to where they started ?

yikes
31 Aug 2004, 23:09
Phil Murton - Hawthorn
Brent Williams - Adelaide and Melbourne
Craig Jacotine - Collingwood
Shane Burgman - Melbourne

All play for Noble Park in the EFL i think there are a few more that for NP and there are more fot other teams.

The Scarecrow
31 Aug 2004, 23:13
Scott Allen - Western Bulldogs, is playing down here in the AFL Southern Tasmania Premier League for Lauderdale, he is also their coach.

bee dee
31 Aug 2004, 23:17
Rayden Tallis and Kris Barlow will be at Vermont in 2005

ben.carbonaro
31 Aug 2004, 23:23
Interesting, EFL division 1 always seems to attract some pretty high profile ex Afl and Vfl players.

How can you confirm this, do you have the inside word on all things EFL if you do, I look forward to talking to you some more ?

Lenny29
31 Aug 2004, 23:34
In the AFLSQ Premier Division

Mark Roberts & James Cook play for Coolangatta (Roberts is coach), Matthew Febey plays for Burleigh, and Rick Olarenshaw played a few games earlier in the year for Palm Beach. As well, Mark Perkins (former Pie) coaches Sandgate.

Bomber Spirit
1 Sep 2004, 00:04
There's a few in the Sydney AFL. Troy Luff (ex Sydney) is captain-coach of Balmain, Daniel McPherson (ex Sydney) at North Shore, Jason McPherson (ex Sydney) at Wests, Nick Trask (ex Brisbane & Adelaide) at East Coast.
Several others who were on the rookie list at Sydney but never made a senior game are also playing - including Mark Livy & Tom Hill (North Shore) and Peter Dugmore (St George). Dugmore also plays first grade cricket for Steve & Mark Waugh's Bankstown club.

Adrian Shelton
1 Sep 2004, 14:46
Simon Minton-Connell racked up another 100 goals this year at Moonee Valley, may be retiring but i believe the club is trying to talk him out of it. Danny Del-Re plays for East Kelior too.

LFC
1 Sep 2004, 15:15
Andrew Lamprill - Kingbourough - AFL ST Premier League
Danny Noonan - Dodges Ferry - AFL ST Regional League
Scott Allen - Lauderdale - AFLST PL
Gavin Cooney - Clarence - AFLST PL

Not sure of any others I don't think.

dogman22
1 Sep 2004, 15:24
Rayden Tallis and Kris Barlow will be at Vermont in 2005

Interesting one. Barlow I can understand, as he was drafted from Vermont, but bringing Tallis with him would be very interesting. Try having Tallis, Ryan "Schwarter" Cassidy, Brad Cullen and Simon Frankish in the same midfield. There'll be some bruised opposition players after coming up against those guys!!!

goaldrush1977
1 Sep 2004, 16:05
Rayden Tallis and Kris Barlow will be at Vermont in 2005Stop spreading false rumours. You're a nut

goaldrush1977
1 Sep 2004, 16:06
Interesting one. Barlow I can understand, as he was drafted from Vermont, but bringing Tallis with him would be very interesting. Try having Tallis, Ryan "Schwarter" Cassidy, Brad Cullen and Simon Frankish in the same midfield. There'll be some bruised opposition players after coming up against those guys!!!I wouldn't take much notice of what bee dee says. It is all rubbish.

goaldrush1977
1 Sep 2004, 16:07
Is Bryan Sheehan actually playing or is he back at the grass roots level umpring because I know some ex-afl and vfl umps go back to where they started ?Bryan Sheehan is retired from all forms of umpiring. He doesn't play footy because he is a bleeder.

dogman22
2 Sep 2004, 09:36
Stop spreading false rumours. You're a nut

Actually, bee dee's rumour mightn't be all that far off the mark, as I actually heard the same thing again last night, from my uncle who follows Vermont closely.

Remember, Tallis has retired, and Barlow was dropped for the last two games for Hawthorn.

killer
2 Sep 2004, 10:38
ronnie burns is supposed to be playing for nightcliff this season coming.

raboyle
2 Sep 2004, 12:57
Clay Sampson is playing at South Adelaide, Tony Brown is still at Port Magpies and Adam Heuskes at North Adelaide.

goaldrush1977
3 Sep 2004, 11:34
Actually, bee dee's rumour mightn't be all that far off the mark, as I actually heard the same thing again last night, from my uncle who follows Vermont closely.

Remember, Tallis has retired, and Barlow was dropped for the last two games for Hawthorn.Barlow was only Dropped and not DELISTED you fool

CrowMuncher
3 Sep 2004, 11:48
Another Matthew Dent is playing/coaching for edwardstown in the SAAFL, but I heard he has dropped the playing part due to age and injuries... ex bulldog player

dogman22
3 Sep 2004, 11:51
Barlow was only Dropped and not DELISTED you fool

Did I say anywhere that Barlow has been delisted, Suzi? Perhaps you should open your eyes and read the posts before you get all defensive. Or can't you read?? Methinks you're the fool.

I'm only passing on information that has been passed to me from inside the Vermont match committee.

CrowMuncher
3 Sep 2004, 12:00
Yeah i agree with dogman22 here, me thinks u a fool as well, he only got dropped not delisted, just in case u didnt know there is a difference, but then again who knows where he'll end u we'll just have to wait and see

goaldrush1977
3 Sep 2004, 12:14
Did I say anywhere that Barlow has been delisted, Suzi? Perhaps you should open your eyes and read the posts before you get all defensive. Or can't you read?? Methinks you're the fool.

I'm only passing on information that has been passed to me from inside the Vermont match committee.You did agree with bee dee didn't you? Because that means you did say that he was DELISTED.:rolleyes: Are you blonde?

Vermont may be interested in Barlow but he has to be DELISTED or retire first you dumb fool.

dogman22
3 Sep 2004, 13:55
You did agree with bee dee didn't you? Because that means you did say that he was DELISTED.:rolleyes: Are you blonde?

Vermont may be interested in Barlow but he has to be DELISTED or retire first you dumb fool.

You'll notice, again, if you can read, that I didn't actually agree with bee dee. My first statement was that it was an interesting rumour, and weighed up the options of having Tallis in their midfield. My second statement was that I had also heard the rumour from a very good source at Vermont.

I have never stated that these two players will be at Vermont, I've just debated the rumour, provided my opinion, and then confirmed that I'd heard the rumour elsewhere. Kris Barlow actually comes from Vermont, and still has a lot of mates at the club, so when I heard this rumour, naturally I raised some issues regarding it.

Perhaps you should actually read posts before you run your mouth. I understand you're passionate about Hawthorn, but that's no reason for making yourself look like a fool, which, by your reputation, looks like it's a common occurence.

bee dee
3 Sep 2004, 15:04
Settle down, Barlow to be assistant coach and another AFL player to don the eagles colours next year, just can't tell you as yet waiting for the great no 33 to fill me in.

goaldrush1977
3 Sep 2004, 15:28
Settle down, Barlow to be assistant coach and another AFL player to don the eagles colours next year, just can't tell you as yet waiting for the great no 33 to fill me in.More rubbish. Please stop it because you are looking like a fool

ben.carbonaro
3 Sep 2004, 15:45
Yes, correct stop getting carried away anything can happen between no and then.

Wavell
3 Sep 2004, 20:06
Ex AFL Players in EFL
Tim Hargreaves East Ring
Andrew Nichol East Ring
Adam Slater East Burwood
Paul Broderick East Burw
Steven Sziller East Burw
David Bourke Vermont
Phil Murton NP
Kristen Bardsley Scoresby

May be more, that is all I can remember.

Have heard the same rumour about Barlow back to Vermont if he gets delisted, Tallis will play there as well from what I have heard as his best mate Jason Disney plays at Vermont as well.

Vandal
3 Sep 2004, 23:34
In WGFL we got Ash Green at Warragul (played for Brisbane and Essendon) and i think Dean Rice plays for Leongatha or Wonthaggi.