Leven Football Association
Grand Final
Mole Creek 11.6.72 - Railton 10.10.70
Tigers_07
4th September 2004, 20:07
Uni-Mowbray will WIN the NTFA Div 2 Grand Final Next week @ York Park
WCL
4th September 2004, 22:11
Any idea of the attendance at North Hobart. Will the Devils be on TV next week, if so they should be shot because the will ruin any hope of the SFL GF getting a decent attendance.
Go Pies!!!!
Kingpin
5th September 2004, 00:10
A mate of mine called in here after the match and said that were about 2000-2500 up there.
Devils vs Sandringham game will be on a Sunday next week apparently. Not sure if it will be shown on Channel 2 though - probably will.
Kingpin
5th September 2004, 18:29
It'll be a New Norfolk vs Clarence Grand Final in the Premier League.
WCL
5th September 2004, 18:37
Oh, that really sux. The Pies looked destined for the GF earlier on in the year and now it is all over. Should draw a reasonable crowd as I wouldn't expect any supporters to go to Melbourne, probably around the 6000 mark hopefully, mainly bacause they arn't up against anything, No AFL No VFL and no Reg League.
P.S Lets make this the last time Clarence make the GF for a long time, I hate them so much. They will probably lose a few more players to Lauderdale next year which will be good for footy, plus Coone and Winter would be near the end.
Kingpin
5th September 2004, 18:45
Yes, I think they'll get probably 5500-6000 at the Grand Final, New Norfolk has a huge following, but like I say, Clarence hasn't anymore.
Last year, Hobart and North Hobart drew 4289 on a fine day, with North still not having its proper jumper which from speaking to many old Demon supporters, p*sses them right off, and of course Hobart - well we all know the situation there.
Two clubs in their proper jumpers, might drag a few out of the woodwork - hard to say really.
WCL
5th September 2004, 18:53
Yeah last year if I remember correctly was tipped to draw 7000, they got no where near it, then again a Hobart Tigers (proper strip) V North Hobart Demons (Proper Strip) might have got it.
If Glenorchy had made it ti would have draw well over 7000 in my mind, I also believe that people may be sick of seeing Clarence in the GF, even so I would expect many old Clarence supporters would turn up considering the Devils arn't playing.
I reckon the league would be much better off if it looked like this:
Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
North Hobart Demons (Melbourne Strip)
New Norfolk Eagles
Lauderdale Bombers
Hobart Tigers (Richmond Strip)
Kingborough Seagulls (Old Sandy Bay from the late years)
Huonville Lions
Kingpin
6th September 2004, 17:26
AFL Southern Tasmanian Premier League - Preliminary Final
Clar: 2-6, 7-10, 14-13, 21-15-141
Glen: 3-0, 5-4,....8-9,..13-14-92
Reserves New Norfolk 13.8.86 - North Hobart 10.10.70
Colts Clarence 10.4.64 - New Norfolk 9.8.62
Attendance: 1893 at North Hobart Oval.
2004 Grand Final:
Seniors New Norfolk vs Clarence
Reserves New Norfolk vs Clarence
Colts Glenorchy vs Clarence
At North Hobart Oval.
AFL Southern Tasmanian Regional League - Grand Final
Cygnet: 4-3, 8-7, 14-13, 21-15-141
Sorell:...3-3, 4-6,...6-9,....9-10-64
Reserves Cygnet 11.12.78 - Channel 5.7.37
Colts Huonville Lions 15.7.97 - Dodges Ferry 5.11.41
Attendance: (Figure Not Posted) at North Hobart Oval
WCL
6th September 2004, 18:25
That's a very poor turnout(1893) at North Hobart, hope it improves for the GF. Still it probably has been the best attended finals series since the TFL.
Kingpin
7th September 2004, 07:13
That's a very poor turnout(1893) at North Hobart, hope it improves for the GF. Still it probably has been the best attended finals series since the TFL.
Preliminary Final: Glenorchy v Clarence - 1893
2nd Semi Final: New Norfolk v Glenorchy - 1700
1st Semi Final: Clarence vs Kingborough - 900
Qualifying Final: Clarence vs Glenorchy - 1200
Elimination Final: Kingborough vs Hobart - 900
That's what somebody involved in the SFL told us the other night.
I still reckon the best attended non TFL finals series was the 2000 SFL finals.
It had no competition from either the AFL or TFL because of the Olympics.
I remember Hobart had finished minor premiers and hosted New Norfolk and Cygnet at the TCA Ground in consecutive weeks in front of very big crowds (for the SFL anyway). Both games had over 1700 at them and the atmosphere was really good. New Norfolk beat us by a point in the 1st Qualifying Final on a hot day, then we gave Cygnet a 70-point touch up the following week.
I remember Cygnet Captain Coach Wayne Lamb went stupid, when he knew his side was beaten, and eventually got sent off - it was a funny sight to see one side of the Hobart Stand run down to the fence and give it to him (and I mean there were only about 10 people that didn't run down to the fence :D )
The following week we lost to Kermandie out at Pontville by a kick :mad: in front of a big crowd also.
Kermandie ended up beating New Norfolk in the Grand Final in front of 5419-people - we were up at The Den celebrating our Colts premiership, by the time we got back to North Hobart, most of the crowd had left as it was absolutely pouring with rain, and the then Bushrangers had it won.
That was an enjoyable finals series - even though we bowed out early, it was still an exciting one.
Pity it's never really kicked on.
WCL
7th September 2004, 08:29
Yeah, looks like the Clarence ground staff got it wrong (2809), oh well, with some more promotion we will get their and this week their is no competition from any sport so I am expecting a big turnout. Really we arn't going to draw big crowds unless nothing is competing against us every week. Therefore if the Devils fold or something the SFL will really take off (of course). I love local football and one day I hope that their is a new TFL constructed and it to be as viable as the SANFL, if so we know we have succeeded, at the moment while the devils are still around we will not be as good as the SANFL, but signs are good and if we get 6000+ to the GF on the weekend it will certainly be a step in the right direction, each year we must keep improving,
so next year the league goals should be:
Get every team competitive i.e get rid of Brighton and bring a Huon team in
Get a finals attendance of 8000 (this year 6593)
Get a Grand Final attendance of 8000
Get Hobart and North Hobart back in their origional strips i.e make Kingborough something else or accomodate both.
Lift Premier League salary Cap to 60,000 (40,000 now)
with these changes our competition will be much better and I reckon that we can do it to.
Kingpin
7th September 2004, 09:05
True.
The TFL needs to be brought back, and quickly.
People hear the name SFL (or AFLST) and the instant look of disinterest, or disgust, or pity is instantly recognisable.
It needs to have a settled number of teams, playing in their community recognised strips.
It needs to have an increase in playing standard, the current standard won't drag in the discerning football fans here.
It needs to be properly publicised, the level of publicity it gets is less than local netball.
It needs to be broadcast on either radio or television.
25-years ago Clarence and Glenorchy played in a Grand Final at North Hobart Oval in front of a Tasmanian record 24,968-people. Even in 2001, the same teams played in a Grand Final in front of 4802-people. Only 1893 were there on the weekend, with only Port vs Geelong on the television to compete against it.
Something's going very wrong - maybe the local fans have decided enough's enough.
Even the Devils playing in a major final in the VFL could only drag in 8460, so it would seem that people are either A) becoming AFL snobs - AFL football only, refuse to recognise the existance of local football or, B) turned thier backs on the game altogether.
If they don't set things up properly, they've got no hope.
My prediction for the Grand Final? I tip the crowd will be 5052. :)
WCL
7th September 2004, 09:15
If we bring back the TFL who do you suppose is in it and what would make it a great comp. If so I will put our ideas together and send them by e-mail and letter to the SFL and FootballTas.
LFC
7th September 2004, 10:58
My Thoughts.
TFL
Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
North Hobart Demons
New Norfolk Eagles
Hobart Tigers
Kingborough Seagulls
Lauderdale Bombers
Huonville Lions
SFL
The rest
The teams stay the same, but Brighton is replaced by Huonville.
Final four, instead of final five.
Kingborough becomes the Seagulls, and plays 3 'Home games' at Queenborough Oval, against New Norfolk, Lauderdale, and Glenorchy.
Anzac Week/Weekend, all games related to a local RSL club, with Old Diggers toss the coin, lap of ground, etc. Banner for both teams to run through, last post plays etc.
Radio coverage of a match each round, with each team to feature at least 5 times per year, if that fits. Edge Radio or 936ABC is a logical choice.
Footy show style program on TV, Win or ABC or Southern Cross, doesn't really matter, some of the higher profile players would feature, along with some of the younger brigade. The thing they would have to do, is make sure John X is nowhere near the studio for this, it would turn into a farce.
Heavy radio advertising, players and coaches in the studio/on the phone for interveiws etc.
Mercury run a weekly local footy lift out, similar to the TV Guide, in addition to heavy promotion of the league, where each match is featured, and players from each side do some interveiws etc.
TFL website to be up to date all the time, live scores on-line even.
SMS score updates of other games if possible, not sure how much that would cost.
Salary Cap to increase to $60,000, with the SFL Regional League cap to be $30,000. Twice as much $$ in the Prem, means better players get more for their services.
Coaches not included in the Cap.
Devils can stay, but their games must NOT take precedence over TFL games.
Cheerleaders - Seriously, South Adelaide have them, whats wrong with Clubs aligning with a local dance studio/club to have something going on?
When I think of more points I will put them up
WCL
7th September 2004, 15:48
Agree with absolutely everything LFC, Devils can stay they will get rid of themselves.
Agree with the Teams, they just about represent every populated region in the South.
Final 4 great idea
I believe Kingborough should always have been the Seagulls and if they want to become a viable team in the future they need to make this change, plus the traditionalists would love a couple of games at Queenborough.
Possibly a Double header for Anzac day at North Hobart Oval, maybe with North Hobart V Hobart Tigers and Glenorchy V Clarence
Radio Coverage is a must and heavy promoting is needed, all ideas fine for this, maybe for the TV show they can look at mixing some the Fox Footy Channels shows into one for the TFL with some SFL on it.
Yeah the Mercury could put in a lift out each week or we could have a Mag similar to Inside Footy.
Live scores would be beaut, maybe not SMS but a Hotline similar to the Sanfl one which gives you an updated score every 10 mins plus crowd figure.
salary Cap $60,000 therefore clubs won't go bankrupt and will also have the Best Players in the south and more.
Cheerleaders is good.
Maybe each TFL club could align themselves with a SFL club and use the SFL as a breeding Ground for Young talent.
LFC
8th September 2004, 09:04
If clubs aligned it would look something like this I reckon:
New Norfolk - Brighton
Glenorchy - Claremont
Hobart - Lindisfarne
Lauderdale - Dodges Ferry
Kingborough - Channel
Clarence - Sorell
North Hobart - Cygnet
Huonville - Kermandie
Doubt that this would work though, there is just too much happening in the league at the moment, and I don't think certain clubs would be open to this happening.
Glenorchy and Lauderdale already have an agreement with the RSL over their ANZAC Day clash, but a double header is a good idea.
Yep, I think the salary cap should be about 60k, as a lot of clubs can't make enough $$ to be able to finance their list. $60,000 works out about $140 a week for each player if your team plays two finals, which is pretty good money.
Another Idea, is to have Senior players from the SFL doing clinics at schools instead/along with Devils players. I know that Matthew Barry and Paul Johnstone from Lauderdale (only because I live there) have done some clinics at primary schools around the area with Kane Richer from the Devils. Think this would be a good way to get young kids to identify with a local club and in turn, come along to games and/or start playing junior footy.
You are right about the traditionalists and Queenborough, I was thinking mainly get as much footy away from Kingston as possible because the ground is terrible, and the teams that I said would be good to play their won't have to travel as far to get to the game.
North V South game should be compulsory, Dr's Cert required for you to miss selection trials.
The Scarecrow
8th September 2004, 18:00
Claremont used to players from Glenorchy, most of which were on the verge of retirement, they have had some younger players make their way to Claremont (Gavin Styles, Todd Struthers, Peter Barwick, Craig Horne, and a few others)
Here's a few ideas, I have.
Junior footballers to play at Half time, be it a quick game, or training drill.
Junior footballers to train with the senior club once a year (we did it when I played, we also had some pies, and coke, it was great.)
Return Club songs before and after the game.
Grand Final banners, used to be great seeing them at the Grand Final.
That's about it right now.
WCL
8th September 2004, 18:36
all fantastic ideas, i think the main thing that should happen is that the Junior Clubs form a closer bond with the Senior Club, therefore at least they will know that these teams exist. At the moment it is getting to a stage where younger kids don't even know that the SFL exists.
P.S Good to see ya back crowy.
The Scarecrow
8th September 2004, 19:04
The main thing is, that some of the junior clubs are struggling to find the numbers, as are some of the Colts sides.
It's good to be back on-line, stupid cold
WCL
8th September 2004, 19:29
New Norfolk and Clarence are fired up for this weekends Grand Final, don't expect any punches pulled, a lot of history between these clubs and with a big prize and a big crowd, I reckon it could be one to remember.
The Scarecrow
8th September 2004, 19:31
Go The Eagles!!! ....never thought I would say that, stuff Clarence, would never support them...
WCL
8th September 2004, 19:32
True, unbelieveable that anyone could support them. You going, how many do you think they will get there.
The Scarecrow
8th September 2004, 19:37
Nah, I'm not going, I would, but I have things I have to do, I think there would be a decent crowd there, probably 1,700+
One thing you will see, that you wouldn't of seen all year, would be a huge amount of Clarence supporters.
stokesy
8th September 2004, 20:10
Stevie Wright got told that he won't be offered another contract for next season at Nth Ballarat, he was told 24 hours after the loss to Tassie...
A bit harsh to say the least.
The Scarecrow
8th September 2004, 20:14
Real harsh, he was a good coach down here, played some good games for Clarence aswell. Copped a big hit from Rober Guarlay one day aswel.
Kingpin
8th September 2004, 20:58
It'll be a great game this weekend, it'll be interesting to see how New Norfolk can handle the pressure of the Big Day.
New Norfolk has a very poor finals record, and haven't won a premiership since Robbie "Slugger" Dykes led them to the 1982 TANFL Premiership over Glenorchy, the last one before that was in 1968 over North Hobart - so if they win, it will be only the third flag in the Eagles history in "top division" football since they joined the TANFL in 1947.
Clarence seem to have the occasional wobbles to me, just when they look like they are going to run away with things they crash, they've done that a couple of times this year.
But they have an enviable finals record, Premierships in 1993-1994-1996-1997-2000-2001-2002, runner-up in 1995-1998, Preliminary finallists in 1990-1999-2003. The Roos last missed the finals in 1989, and it would be well back into the early 1970's when they last missed out before that.
They have an arrogance and a culture of success unparralelled in this state.
If the Eagles don't get sucked into the rough stuff by Clarence, then I think that they'll be right - but you just never know.
Clarence demolished New Norfolk in the 1994 TFL Grand Final 13.16.94 - 8.4.52 under Stevie Wright, in front of 14,230-people that day.
The Roos also beat the Eagles 15.23.113 - 13.10.88 back in 1981 in front of over 22,000 that day.
And Crowy, you are right about seeing Roo fans out on Grand Final day, that would be the only day you'll see teeming hordes of middles class young people with gelled up hair and Red & White parachute jackets talking into thier mobile phones trying to impress every girlie within a 200m radius, namedropping Devils players and Matty Armstrong :p
My tip is New Norfolk to win by 25 points - GO EAGLES. :)
Pretty rough of North Ballarat to sack Stevie Wright after he took them from the basement to deep into the finals, I think the Roosters would've won that match had it been held on the mainland.
Good to see you back on board Crowy, and get better soon.
The Scarecrow
8th September 2004, 21:11
It'll make my day to see the old Roos get a belting handed out to them, I can see Clarence going for the biff early on in the game. As they have done so, for a few years now, that is what I guess happened to the Pies last week, young side coming up against guys like Clarence, got bashed out of it.
WCL
8th September 2004, 21:47
I wish I could go to the game but obviously I'm a fair way away, should be a corker. Stevie Wright actually coached my team the Weston Creek Lions (then Wildcats) and they didn't win a game, although he has a great coaching record with ready made teams.
You going to the game this week TIGER.
stokesy
8th September 2004, 21:53
I live next door to Stevie, he called around earlier to get a cup of flour lol.
He was really disappointed - he just took the team to the finals, and although they never went to good in the finals, it was still a stellar season.
Seemingly the club made up their mind before the finals, so even if they won the grandfinal, he still would have been told he was no longer wanted.
WCL
8th September 2004, 21:57
Geez, that is harsh, I mean he's only been there a year, it's not like he has had his time.
I hate clarence fans they think they are above everyone else, when they clearly look like idiots.
Kingpin
8th September 2004, 22:35
Yeah WCL, the girlfriend and I might pop up the road for a look if we can, if she can't I might see if a mate of mine's heading around the corner.
I might even cheer New Norfolk on. :p
Stokesy, I remember Wright when he was at Clarence, a very good in & under player, always got the hard ball when they needed it. A very good tactician with good cattle at his disposal.
Has every right to be narked at the way he was treated at North Ballarat.
The Scarecrow
9th September 2004, 11:23
Glenorchy need a reserves coach, Stevie can take the job if he wants it...Darren Clark is the worst coach the reserves has ever had....and there are a few bad ones we have had..