View Full Version : New Norfolk V Clarence: Grand Final
WCL
11th September 2004, 13:00
If anyone could update scores during the day that would be great.
Also:
Results from Colts
Results from Reserves
The Weather
Kingpin
11th September 2004, 13:23
Might not be able to get you updates of Colts and Reserves until tomorrow.
The current weather conditions are a little nasty.
Expected maximum temperature: 11C
Current Temperature: 8.4C and dropping.
Wind Strength: 65kmh
Precipitation: 3.7mm to 9am, Since 9am: 0.2mm.
The sun is out at the moment but, it could be a cold, nasty, wet, blowy afternoon ahead.
I might go around for a look and a pie and beer.
WCL
11th September 2004, 13:30
Thanks mate, I hope that doesn't turn to many people away, probably will. These weather patterns tend to favour Clarence it would seem, but if the sun stays out long enough anything could happen.
Kingpin
11th September 2004, 13:40
Yes it certainly looks to be getting worse as the showers are starting to tumble down now, and the wind is ripping through the area.
The dark clouds are starting to roll in pretty heavily now, but the wind may blow the crappy weather away, so it could be a good thing.
One thing with this wind, it might provoke some nastiness out on the field (if there wasn't going to be a bit already), the wind will prove some frustration today.
Not quite sure as to what the crowd might be so far, back in the old Statewide days, this street (which is only 500-or so metres from the ground) would be chockers with cars, only about 5 in the street so far, and Federal St looks pretty sparse as well.
Certainly not like the good ol' days :p
WCL
11th September 2004, 13:45
Yeah, I'd say the weather may cause havoc with the crowd. Hopefully the wind blows it away
It would be a shame if they didn't get at least 5000 there, I reckon it would be a cracker. I think their may be an "all in" at 1/4 time. I'd like to see what Clarence would do with the likes of Carver and Burdon.
Do you think you will go.
P.S Kepp us posted.
Kingpin
11th September 2004, 14:05
Yeah mate, I'm just about to head around there now.
It is a rainy, sleet falling at the moment, but at least the sun's shining......sort of :D
Should be a cracker of a game - and **** it's cold outside :eek:
WCL
11th September 2004, 14:10
thanks cobber, I'll hear from you after the game. Hope the sun stays out for ya. Go Eagles.
The Scarecrow
11th September 2004, 18:17
It was a fairly decent day today, very cloudy, wasn't really that warm today.
Kingpin
11th September 2004, 18:18
AFL Southern Tasmanian Premier League Grand Final
Clarence 17.12.114 - New Norfolk 12.9.81
After a tight first three and a half quarters Clarence raced away, kicking 7.2 to 2.1 in the final quarter to win the Grand Final by 33-points in front of 6801-people at North Hobart.
In very cold and blustery conditions, the mercury hovering around 7C during the match, not much more than a goal seperated the two sides until the middle stages of the final term in what was a tight, but very poor standard game of football.
New Norfolk were extremely disappointing, they failed to man up, failed in attack far too often, and played negative and conservative football when the game was up for grabs.
The expected fireworks between the two sides failed to eventuate, in fact there was more going on off the ground than on it, with a brawl breaking out on the terraces on the wing in the last quarter, involving drunken New Norfolk and Glenorchy youths, who were eventually handcuffed and led away from the ground by the local constabulary.
Roos coach Darren Winter pulled a surprise by playing, and was a very disciplined leader all day. The upshot of the day was, that the Roos shut down the Eagles matchwinners who were extremely disappointing.
As yet another premiership goes to Bellerive, and yet another premiership escapes from the Valley of Love.
Reserves game saw New Norfolk defeat Clarence by 4-points, after leading by 42-points at three quarter time, the Roos booted 6-5 in the final term.
The ball was on the ground in the goal square, the siren sounded and a Clarence player soccered it off the ground and through for a goal, but it was seconds too late.
The Colts game was won by Glenorchy over Clarence.
The Scarecrow
11th September 2004, 18:27
Looks almost like the last time they met in a grand final, you'd have to wonder if they will ever be able to win a flag. Out in straight sets last year, beaten in 1994. Lost the STFL grand final I think to Hobart (?)
Good to see the Glenorchy colts get up, have had a good year this year, and really deserved to win the grand final.
Kingpin
11th September 2004, 18:53
Yep, just like '94, only New Norfolk held on for longer this time, before once again choking in a big match.
I really wonder when the Eagles will ever win a Premiership, they have a "We're gunna wiiiin, we're gunna wiiiiiiiiin" mentality up there, the whole town lives and breathes Red, White and Black and the pressure up there is enormous on the team.
Clarence on the other hand, haven't got a great deal of support anymore, although they had quite a few there today (the only game they've been to all year, most of them) - so the pressure wasn't as great on them.
New Norfolk losing the SFL Grand Final to Kermandie in 2000, proved that they are BIGTIME chokers in big matches.
The Scarecrow
11th September 2004, 19:03
Clarence supporters seem to only show up when they make it to the Grand Final, there aren't many that show up week in and week out these days.
Kingpin
11th September 2004, 19:17
No, they have very few that go every week it seems. :cool:
The Scarecrow
11th September 2004, 19:24
I was thinking that in the final roster game of 1999 there weren't many Clarence supporters there, but then in the Finals, they were every where. The same with the '95 Grand Final.
I don't know how many regulars they have, but they have a lot that only pop-up during the finals.
WCL
11th September 2004, 22:45
Was the atmosphere good, almost 7000 is a great crowd. Pity about the standard, still it must have brought back memories from the old days, hopefiully more will come next year.
Bad luck eagles.
The Scarecrow
11th September 2004, 22:55
By the look of it, it was a rough early on in the game, really on the news it didn't look like many were there. Must have been in the stands.
irish
11th September 2004, 23:06
its a shame most people down here hate clarence with passion !!
poor old eagles would have been good to see them win
The Scarecrow
11th September 2004, 23:09
its a shame most people down here hate clarence with passion !!
poor old eagles would have been good to see them win
They have given us a lot of reasons to hate them.
Darren Winter helps the arguement along.
Bee
12th September 2004, 16:44
They have given us a lot of reasons to hate them.
Darren Winter helps the arguement along.
Ain't that the truth. I can remember years ago, long before I ever moved to live down here, Clarence where a nothing club! But everyone still seemed to hate them. North Hobart hated them, and Glenorchy hated them with a passion. Now it seems because they have won 8 (I think) premierships since 1993 the sports media think they are wonderful! Big fat hairy deal! Where's their history. Where's the tradition? Where's the fame and glory that clubs like North Hobart and Glenorchy have? That's why people hate them!
Hey Scarecrow, just on the subject of the media's orgasmic ramblings about Clarence check out the back page of today's Sunday Tasmanian. I believe it reads "Two in a row for Clarence"! Ummm, what two in a row? Correct me if I am wrong, but I do recall being at the Grandfinal last year and it was won by North Hobart. Clarence were not even playing in it!
Two in a row my arse! Stupid media. Perhaps they should get out of bed with Clarence!
WCL
12th September 2004, 19:03
just on the subject of the media's orgasmic ramblings about Clarence check out the back page of today's Sunday Tasmanian. I believe it reads "Two in a row for Clarence"! Ummm, what two in a row? Correct me if I am wrong, but I do recall being at the Grandfinal last year and it was won by North Hobart. Clarence were not even playing in it!
This is stupid, the media loves Clarence and half of the journalists don't even attend the games, I mean surely there was at least one at the game, I mean why can't we get some decent exposure, 6,801 is a good crowd figure and it shows that there are many people down in tassie that like this sort of footy.
Just comparing some crowd figures from recent years:
2000 SWL 6,000approx
1997 TFL 9,053
2003 AFLST 4,200approx
2002 AFLST 5,000
2003 VFL Tassie Devils Semi Final 11,000
2004 VFL Tassie Devils Semi Final 8,400 perfect conditions
2004 AFLST New Norfolk V Clarence 6,801, 7 degrees and blowing a gale
SWL, exact same as TFL except not Bankrupt! AFLST is the old TANFL that became the TFL statewide league in 1986, give or take a few teams.
we are heading in the right direction, a well attended finals series although we need to get more through the gate during the roster games. People seem to have lost a bit of intrest with the Tassie Devils(even though they are in a prelim final). Anyway I think this has been a major step forward in the rebuilding process of Tasmanian Football.
In very cold and blustery conditions, the mercury hovering around 7C during the match, not much more than a goal seperated the two sides until the middle stages of the final term in what was a tight, but very poor standard game of football.
Tiger, sometimes it doesn't matter whether it is a spectacle or not, if it is a contest then people get excited, e.g. Essendon V Melbourne 1st elim final 2004 some good passages of play yet many mistakes were made(still people loved it), maybe it was because of the pressure that the game yesterday was of poor standard but I am sure there was some good passages of play and some good skills on show and it surely was exciting half way through the last quater when there was a goal in it.
Kingpin
13th September 2004, 12:22
According to the ground announcer at North Hobart, the attendance was 6801. Now we read in the Mercury that it was 6132, so I wonder which it was.
Still a very good crowd, and the biggest for a local match at North Hobart since the 1999 TSFL Grand Final.
When I say the standard was poor, I'm not referring to it being a tight, man-on-man contest where players aren't being given any latitude to exhibit great skills.
It was a strange contest, there were players loose everywhere, very little niggle, just turnover, after turnover, after turnover all day.
I felt it strange for a Grand Final between two teams that hate each other, that it wasn't a tighter, more physical match to be honest.
Didn't really appear to be the usual Clarence v New Norfolk passion involved there, some of the efforts from the New Norfolk players for much of the game appeared very half-hearted - that's what I found kind of unusual.
Bee - great pickup from the paper, I only just noticed that.......dear oh dear oh dear. :rolleyes:
WCL
13th September 2004, 15:58
Fair enough, I agree for a New Norfolk V Clarence game I would of expected a tough encounter, with a fair bit of niggle, so are you saying it didn't feel like the finals heat was on?
P.S what do you think of this statement of a Hobart Vlub officalIDENTITY: It never ceases to amaze a lot of us at the Hobart Football Club, that people seem so concerned with our lack of identity. 60 years of history, too many players to name who have played VFL/AFL football, at least 10 Premierships surely equates to our very unique identity. We cannot understand why the fact that a logo means more to some people than this wonderful history. Those of you who have been on Boards of Football Clubs will know that we have our good times and our lean times. What you all need to know is that the Hobart Football Club is here today as it will be for the future. We are at the brink of a wonderful future with our junior football teams and their parents. Did you see our U17’s fight to win that 2004 Grand Final!!!? Anyone can throw negatives. We at the Hobart Football Club choose not to catch them.
Interesting, is this one of the St. Virgils people.
Bee
13th September 2004, 16:12
Bee - great pickup from the paper, I only just noticed that.......dear oh dear oh dear. :rolleyes:
Well the article was written by David Stockdale. You can't really expect anything better from the "be-wigged one"!
WCL
13th September 2004, 16:39
According to the ground announcer at North Hobart, the attendance was 6801. Now we read in the Mercury that it was 6132, so I wonder which it was.
I know who I'd put my money on, half of the journalists that write for the mercury about the SFL don't even go to games, at least the Ground announcer wa at the game.
Kingpin
13th September 2004, 17:25
Fair enough, I agree for a New Norfolk V Clarence game I would of expected a tough encounter, with a fair bit of niggle, so are you saying it didn't feel like the finals heat was on?
P.S what do you think of this statement of a Hobart Vlub offical
Interesting, is this one of the St. Virgils people.
Yeah it felt kind of like watching a roster match, only that there was a big crowd. Even the crowd was quiet and subdued all day, there was polite applause, not a lot of booing or shouting at all.
I reckon 25 of us on the terraces back in the Statewide days made more noise than the 6000+ did on Saturday - quite strange.
Yeah I heard about that statement when I got to the ground the other day, a mate and I hunted around for a program but couldn't find one - so that's the first time I've read it.
It was written by a female HFC board member who, despite being a hard worker, is an absolute trouble maker of the worst kind. Been involved at Hobart for about 18 years, refuses to realise that there are those of us that know more than she does (because we've been around longer). And was pro-tiger, but was "got at" and became pro-saints (she's a St Kilda supporter).
In my opinion, anyone involved with that incompetant gaggle of disorganised grass munchers (HFC Board) should be shown the door ASAP.
With McGregor gone - that's one troublemaker out of the way.
He was the reason we lost players like Kirk, Pacey, Burgess, Stewart, Quinn Bros and about 7 or 8 others. The people in the club hated his guts.
A Senior coach's job is to coach the players, and to look after the interests of all players within the club. He was involved with a small clique group only, was curt and abrupt to supporters - and was eventually hounded out of the club for involving himself in the Club's politics.
WCL
13th September 2004, 17:32
Some one should have fired them up or something(the crowd that is), could you run me through what entertainment was provided at the start of the match, was it made out to be a big deal with you know kicking contests and things like that, like made it to be a day out instead of just a footy game. The upiring must have been good if there was no noise, see now we know we need bad umpires, to get the crowd involved.
Next year I think will be a very even year and am thinking the big improvers will be North Hobart, Kingborough and Lauderdale, while Glenorchy and New Norfolk will still be there although I believe Clarence and Hobart may slip and Brighton will be as terrible as ever.
Hobart should be the Panthers in my book, except Yellow and Black still, not the Lions.
David Votoupal
13th September 2004, 17:51
According to an article The Advocate's website http://ta.harrisgroup.com.au/news.cgi?type=1&storyID=137247 a record GF crowd for the NTFL is expected.
Just wondering, as an outsider, am I right in saying that the game in the northern half of Tasmania is generally in far better shape- crowds, playing standards and administration-wise - than in the south?
I'm just hopeful that throughout the country we could be starting to see a revival of interest in local football competitions, perhaps this year we're seeing some signs of it.
WCL
13th September 2004, 18:12
Just wondering, as an outsider, am I right in saying that the game in the northern half of Tasmania is generally in far better shape- crowds, playing standards and administration-wise - than in the south?
Yeah I would say so, but I think that the GF crowds are better in the south, certainly this year I would. But standard wise it would be, as many players in the south get poached for the VFL, because all the southern teams are quite condensed, if a player gets approached they will play. Whereas in the North places like Burnie, still have a lot of statewide league players plaing for them, because of the travel to training in Launceston, hence why North Launceston has gone downhill ever since the Devils came in. The standard in the South is improving all the time and crowds are getting stronger, so we are heading in the right direction, things that must be improved are the Salary Cap up to 60,000(at least), competitive comp and more exposure. I believe that people might be getting board after Clarences decade of dominance and I think that a lean patch may be around the corner, which will be good for the comp. With more publicity and without the Devils, I would rate the Southern TFL up there with the VFL and WAFL.
Around australia it certainly is improving, 11,800 is a great crowd at the SANFL finals double header last weekend and some teams i.e Centrals, North Adelaide and Sturt are regularly getting crowds of 3-4,000 in the roster. WAFL is definatley not as strong as it used to be, but it is improving, VFL, is okay although I still believe it is a Glorified AFL reserves comp with traditional teams. The ACTAFL is going well with a good finals series so far attendances are up and the intrest of the game is spreading, Sydney AFL is the same as always and will continue to struggle in the big smoke. QAFL is going well and the standard is exceptional. The NTFL(Northern Territory) is as strong as ever.
Kingpin
13th September 2004, 19:41
Some one should have fired them up or something(the crowd that is), could you run me through what entertainment was provided at the start of the match, was it made out to be a big deal with you know kicking contests and things like that, like made it to be a day out instead of just a footy game. The upiring must have been good if there was no noise, see now we know we need bad umpires, to get the crowd involved.
Next year I think will be a very even year and am thinking the big improvers will be North Hobart, Kingborough and Lauderdale, while Glenorchy and New Norfolk will still be there although I believe Clarence and Hobart may slip and Brighton will be as terrible as ever.
Hobart should be the Panthers in my book, except Yellow and Black still, not the Lions.
Yeah in regard to pre-game entertainment, I only caught the final moments of it, as I was stuck in a small, but fairly slow moving queue in Argyle Street.
It was the Derwent Valley Concert Band I think.
In regard to firing the crowd up, that sometimes isn't the best thing to do, I remember the 92 Grand Final (Hobart v Nth Hobart) and current Glenorchy Council Alderman Nigel Jones, was the ground announcer that day (he was the fulltime announcer up at Boyer back then), I swear, never got off the PA for more than 5 minutes at a time all day.
During each break, he would be telling the crowd to yell out a huge "Chiiiiiiiickenfeeeeeed" :D
I remember the crowd eventually in unison yelling at him to "shut the f up" in the end. :p
WCL
13th September 2004, 21:17
Yeah I do that was terrible, how were we supposed to watch the game with that idiot going on like that. You know some one at the start or something yelling out something trying to fire up the crowd. I still think that the best part of any final is when the anthem is sung and the whole crowd gives up one huge cheer. Still even though it the crowd was quiet 6,801 is great, it must have been good to see the "old girl" filled up again, that would just about be the biggest crowd at North Hobart since 99, including Devils games. Hopefully it will spur people on to get along to a few more games next year and I hope that we will get almost 8,000 next year and keep improving each year. Really this is a fantastic result for footy, with 13,333 patron coming through the gate in this years finals series(inc Grand Final), I think now it is worth giving the SFL some notice and exposure, because people seem to still like this league a bit so we have to make them like it full time, I think that the timing of the GF was good, still on a traditional saturday and with nothing coming up against it(VFL, AFL ect). I hope that next year someone else but Clarence wins it, hopefully Lauderdale will pinch some more of their players (hin, hint LFC).
Bring on 2005, Tasmanian Football has been re-born!!!!!!!!!!
The Scarecrow
13th September 2004, 21:23
Ain't that the truth. I can remember years ago, long before I ever moved to live down here, Clarence where a nothing club! But everyone still seemed to hate them. North Hobart hated them, and Glenorchy hated them with a passion. Now it seems because they have won 8 (I think) premierships since 1993 the sports media think they are wonderful! Big fat hairy deal! Where's their history. Where's the tradition? Where's the fame and glory that clubs like North Hobart and Glenorchy have? That's why people hate them!
Hey Scarecrow, just on the subject of the media's orgasmic ramblings about Clarence check out the back page of today's Sunday Tasmanian. I believe it reads "Two in a row for Clarence"! Ummm, what two in a row? Correct me if I am wrong, but I do recall being at the Grandfinal last year and it was won by North Hobart. Clarence were not even playing in it!
Two in a row my arse! Stupid media. Perhaps they should get out of bed with Clarence!
Maybe they are in late after they won '01 and '02?
After all, they have only won 12 Premierships, Glenorchy has 14 (plus 6 State Premierships) and North Hobart has 28 Flags, but 12 State Premierships.
So I really don't see what the big deal about Clarence is...
WCL
13th September 2004, 21:27
Clarence have performed very well over the last decade,so they probably(as much as it pains me) deserve some media, but not that much that it makes them look better than what they really are.
Kingpin
13th September 2004, 21:44
Yeah I do that was terrible, how were we supposed to watch the game with that idiot going on like that. You know some one at the start or something yelling out something trying to fire up the crowd. I still think that the best part of any final is when the anthem is sung and the whole crowd gives up one huge cheer. Still even though it the crowd was quiet 6,801 is great, it must have been good to see the "old girl" filled up again, that would just about be the biggest crowd at North Hobart since 99, including Devils games. Hopefully it will spur people on to get along to a few more games next year and I hope that we will get almost 8,000 next year and keep improving each year. Really this is a fantastic result for footy, with 13,333 patron coming through the gate in this years finals series(inc Grand Final), I think now it is worth giving the SFL some notice and exposure, because people seem to still like this league a bit so we have to make them like it full time, I think that the timing of the GF was good, still on a traditional saturday and with nothing coming up against it(VFL, AFL ect). I hope that next year someone else but Clarence wins it, hopefully Lauderdale will pinch some more of their players (hin, hint LFC).
Bring on 2005, Tasmanian Football has been re-born!!!!!!!!!!
It was great to see the old girl with a big crowd in her again, great to see a wall of people on the wing, the Cazaly, Gorringe and Ryde Street Stands jam packed.
It was a bigger crowd than the Evils have ever got there, so that's a good sign, but by crikeys they need to get their acts together in media coverage for the league, it would've had 10000, had it been marketed properly.
It's s.....l.....o......w.....l.....y getting back there, but there's a lot of things that they could be doing, but instead they are sitting on thier hands.
I agree, it will be an interesting year next year.
By geez Norfik's credibility has been shot to bits, so they'll be pretty hungry, North'll be hungry, Glenorchy will be competitive, Kingborough could go either way, the Dale will continue to improve (it will take them a little time), Hobart could be in the middle again, Brighton...............um yeah.
WCL
13th September 2004, 21:50
Glenorchy will recruit well in the off season and will be a premiership force + a full season out of Matty Bernes "99" GF hero will put us in fine form for another Premiership assult, Lauderdale may suprise some people and I reckon they could slip into the finals at the expense of either North, Kingborough or Hobart. Clarence will go backwards, I tip Winter, Macullum and Cooney to retire, if not they are being selfish + more players to the Dale, leaves a very young list. Norfolk may not recover and Brighton should be kicked out as their presence is as good as a bye.
The Scarecrow
13th September 2004, 21:51
What is the record down for not winning a game? Brighton should almost be close to that if they go next year without a win.
Kingpin
13th September 2004, 21:57
Clarence have performed very well over the last decade,so they probably(as much as it pains me) deserve some media, but not that much that it makes them look better than what they really are.
As much as I strongly dislike them, you have to hand it to 'em - they are a good side.
Clarence's record in the last 35 years is outstanding.
Premiers in 70-79-81-84-93-94-96-97-00-01-02-04
Runner Up in 71-85-95-98.
Finallists 70-71-72-73-74-75-76-78-79-80-81-82-83-84-85-86-87-88-90-91-92-93-94-95-96-97-98-99-00-01-02-03-04. (Missed the finals twice in 35 years)
Numerous Colts and Reserve Grade premierships. If the rest of the clubs here had that professionalism, it would be an enormous league.
Yes, they are arrogant pricks though :D
WCL
13th September 2004, 22:00
Yes, they are arrogant pricks though
Not wrong. Why don't clubs adopt the same proffesionalism, you are right it would be an enourmous league and really their is no reason why it shouldn't.
The Scarecrow
13th September 2004, 22:01
And it's always great to beat them, the game I loved was the QF 1999, still brings a smile to my face when I think of them going around saying "WE are going to take out Kappler" and he didn't show up until half way through the first quarter, gotta love it :D
10 goals to nothing first term helps :D
Bee
14th September 2004, 11:05
As much as I strongly dislike them, you have to hand it to 'em - they are a good side.
Finallists 70-71-72-73-74-75-76-78-79-80-81-82-83-84-85-86-87-88-90-91-92-93-94-95-96-97-98-99-00-01-02-03-04. (Missed the finals twice in 35 years)
Numerous Colts and Reserve Grade premierships. If the rest of the clubs here had that professionalism, it would be an enormous league.
Don't forget the fact though that Clarence were the only club from the Eastern Shore. For a long, long time they had a vast recruiting area. They virtually had all the young football talent from that area at their beck and call for recruitment. With the exception of Hobart who had a small zone around the Lindisfarne area.
Apparently Clarence where none too impressed when Sorell entered the competition and from what I've been told by a couple of Sorell officials they went out of their way to make sure any decent players Sorell may have had defected to them (Clarence). Obviously Sorell did not last long in the premier league after that. The same apparently happened when Lauderdale joined the premier league.
Bee
14th September 2004, 11:37
Why just include the record of the past 35 years? What were they before that?
If they were formed in 1884, then it took them almost 100 years for success!
And it has really only been since the 90's that they have been a real powerhouse. This is the reason why a lot of people hate them. Clubs like North Hobart, Glenorchy and Hobart had the tradition, history and pride long before Clarence emerged.
Anyway give me the record of the mighty Dees - The North Hobart Football Club over Clarence's any day! :)
1902, 1905, 1908, 1914, 1920, 1923, 1928-29, 1932, 1934, 1936
1938-39-40-41, 1945, 1947, 1957, 1961-62, 1967, 1969, 1974, 1987, 1989, 1991-92, 2003
The Scarecrow
14th September 2004, 16:51
Don't forget the fact though that Clarence were the only club from the Eastern Shore. For a long, long time they had a vast recruiting area. They virtually had all the young football talent from that area at their beck and call for recruitment. With the exception of Hobart who had a small zone around the Lindisfarne area.
Apparently Clarence where none too impressed when Sorell entered the competition and from what I've been told by a couple of Sorell officials they went out of their way to make sure any decent players Sorell may have had defected to them (Clarence). Obviously Sorell did not last long in the premier league after that. The same apparently happened when Lauderdale joined the premier league.
Clarence got their own back though, went a lot of their players decided to join Lauderdale.
WCL
14th September 2004, 18:18
Lauderdale are going to be a very strong team in the future, they also have the makings to start a huge rivalry with Clarence and come the future I reckon that a Lauderdale V Clarence game will have the same drawing power as a Glenorchy V Clarence match. The Premier League is set up well and a few changes will see it perfect, for starters get rid of Brighton.
Good to see a few more Tasmanians getting involved in these threads, we have a person basically representing each team in Prem League.
The Scarecrow
14th September 2004, 18:37
Yep, for the league to have any credibility they need to dump Brighton, to keep them in the league is a joke. I would like to see Huonville, or Cygnet climb up into the Premier League.
Lauderdale had a respectable first year in the Premier League, they would of hoped to have made the finals, or have won a few more games then they did.
North Hobart should have a better year next year, I guess they were suffering from a premiership hang over. Glenorchy needs some depth, they really haven't got much to choose from in the Reserves, and it showed come finals time, and when they suffered injuries to some of their better players.
WCL
15th September 2004, 11:55
Saw the pictures on www.southernfootball.com.au of the Grand Final, looked like a good day, You're right about the stands, the Cazaly, the Gorringe and the ryde st stand all looked filled up, a good amount of people on the wing, so a reasonable effort by the Hobart Football Community to get many people along considering the effort by FootballTas and the Media was very poor. I think you're right TIGER they may have got 10,000 along if it was better publisized.
P.S Do you think it would be worth buying a copy of the Grand Final.
Bee
15th September 2004, 12:10
Do you guys think the standard of football in Tassie will get back to what it was 10 or 12 years ago? Admittedly I only ever attended a handful of games then and only ever when I was visiting the rellies down here. But I can remember being at the 91 and 92 GF's when North Hobart went back to back premiers and the standard of football was top notch.And the atmosphere was electric. I don't doubt that any of the die hard supporters have lost that passion for their club, but with the way football has been adminsitered here a lot of supporters have lost interest in going to matches. Also with the Devils taking any decent players that the local clubs have has also had a detrimental effect on the standard of the football.
So can you see it getting back to what it was and the crowds being like they used to be?
The Scarecrow
15th September 2004, 14:06
There have been some good games this season, and a few decent crowds (Glenorchy Vs New Norfolk, and Glenorchy Vs Clarence had good crowds) next season should be a better one. From the sounds of it the finals have been well attended, I would have to say that it's still a long way off being like it used to be.
The league is on the right track though, this would of been the best season for awhile.
LFC
15th September 2004, 14:50
P.S Do you think it would be worth buying a copy of the Grand Final.
No wouldn't bother. Wasn't much of a spectacle.
Good game until 3 quarter time, but wasn't that much like a GF for mine.
Regional one would perhaps be a good buy though. Pretty rough and tumble, with some good footy displayed ( By Cygnet ).
WCL
15th September 2004, 15:43
No wouldn't bother. Wasn't much of a spectacle.
Fair enough, I was going to get a copy if Glenorchy had made it, but won't bother now. TIGER said it wasn't much of a spectacle and the crowd didn't seem involved, did it seem that way to you.
How do you rate this season LFC? As a Lauderdale supporter how do you like Prem League compared to the reg league.
The Scarecrow
15th September 2004, 16:13
I was going to go if the Magpies had made, probably would of gone anyway if I had the money at the time. Judging by the final scores, I wouldn't order it, well unless the scores were reversed anyway ;)
LFC
15th September 2004, 16:27
Yeah I was at the ground too, bit of noise from about 50-100 people when Clarence kicked goals, not much else though.
TIGER was pretty spot on...
Obviously the season could have been better down at Bomberland, but 4 wins and 4 games that they could/should have one, not a bad start.
Think that what people don't realise is that Lauderdale had no intention of going straight into the league and dominating it, and buying x amount of footballers for big dollars.
They went and got themselves a good coach, with a proven record of success in NSW, and has played the game at the highest level. Recruited fairly well, probably missed out on two or three players that they targeted early on which hurt them a little.
Don't expect the Bombers to go out and throw the chequebook at any superstars from other clubs though, it just isn't the mentality of the board or the club as a whole. What you can expect is for Lauderdale to approach players that are capable of playing good quality football in the Premier League for the next 7-10 years. The players that played senior footy at Lauderdale this year need to be looked after, and I think thats what will happen down there, if they lose their 'young guns' in Perkins, Franckombe, Hyland, Wade, Johnstone, Morgan etc, they will end up like Brighton and Sorell, who tried to buy sides when they came into the league, and failed dismally.
I would think that one D Winter has angered a few young players at Clarence, who wouldn't mind playing at Lauderdale next year, I know of three already that will definitely make the move.
You can expect them to be more competitive next season, especially in the reserve grade, and the seniors will take care of themselves I would imagine.
The change in standard wasn't really evident until they played Glenorchy at KGV, and got walloped by about 130 points. I spoke to a young guy, who's name is mentioned above, who was in and out of the seniors this year, and also last year, and his main reaction to the difference in the league is that the PL was a far more skillful game, and many more physical clashes would take place over the course of a game. He said that the game was harder to play in the dry weather mainly, because your skills have to be so much more slick than they were in the regional, where if you stuffed up a kick, it would be ok, especially for Lauderdale, who were a class act in the Reg, as your better players would mop up for you. But stuff up a kick to position in the PL, and you can almost mark down another goal for the opposition, especially against Glen, NN, and Clar.
All in all, a pretty long season, but you can expect a fired up unit next year. :)
The Scarecrow
15th September 2004, 16:47
I hope they can do well next year, I'm hoping to get to more games next season, would of gone to Lauderdale to see the game, between Glenorchy and Lauderdale, but the stupid rain stopped any plans of that. Should be a better season next year for the Bombers, how far away from making the finals do you think they are?
irish
15th September 2004, 23:01
hey guys i am a big north hobart man , last year every thing went our way and we won the flag but this year has been very poor what can we expect from next year ya reckon ?
The Scarecrow
15th September 2004, 23:08
Should be able to sneak into the finals next year, I think the Demons are a young side, so they should finish just insde the 5, if not just outside of the five.
Kingpin
16th September 2004, 02:37
Good to see a few others posting about the local game now.
In predictions for next year, it's probably too early to tell.
Be interesting to see what goes on over the summer.
I think at this stage, that things will be pretty much the same as this year, Hobart might do better with a new coach, as the previous one created a lot of unrest in the club, Hobart are apparently after a non-playing coach next year.
North will be looking to rebound after a poor year, New Norfolk will always be strong while they play up at the fortress at Boyer.
Clarence always seem to be able to cover thier losses well, Kingborough will have a make or break year, will they improve on a good year, or fall in a heap?
Glenorchy, need more depth by the sounds of things, and Lauderdale will continue on thier learning curve, and might snap a few more wins off next year.
Brighton - who knows.
PS: LFC, why dont Lauderdale play night matches down there anymore?
They used to get big crowds down there for those matches. Although the lighting wasn't good in some areas, they'd be able to fix that pretty easily.
I went to a night match there five years ago (Lauderdale v Hobart) and it was a great atmosphere.
The Scarecrow
16th September 2004, 02:46
Yep, we haven't got much depth at Glenorchy, which was exposed when we lost good players to injury towards the end of the season. We had no one to replace Damian Mciver, and Ben Sweeney. Shane Piuselli should be good to go this year, I hope we can get him out on the ground with no hassels.
By the look of some the young kids in the Colts, I would say that Glenorchy has some decent players coming though, the one's that I have seen so far in the Reserves has been Dave Heath, and in the Seniors Luke Horne.
Horne looks like he will be a decent ruckman, atleast we will have someone to fill a spot if Lang is injured again, or poached by the Devils. We also need to get our forward line to talk more when leading. They both seem to lead in the same direction, many times this year I was worried that Millhouse and Salter would smash into each other.
It would be great if we get Ling, and Longman back, Bennetts should step up next year, was roasted pretty bad at Brighton, bounced back well.
I think Kingborough might fall away, away from Kingston Beach Oval I cannot see them winning many games. Down there this year if the Magpies had of kicked straight (and if Bennetts hadn't handed them 2 goals) Kingborough could of lost that game. Watching them at KGV they played the first quarter hard, and then really did nothing for the rest of the game. Which tells me their fitness is the same as Brightons.
LFC
16th September 2004, 09:01
PS: LFC, why dont Lauderdale play night matches down there anymore?
They used to get big crowds down there for those matches. Although the lighting wasn't good in some areas, they'd be able to fix that pretty easily.
I went to a night match there five years ago (Lauderdale v Hobart) and it was a great atmosphere.
It stopped in the last year in the Regional, when no one wanted to play them because their was an 'unfair advantage' which is tripe, because everyone trains under lights anyway, so they are all used to it.
Think they probably need another light on each pole (6 more) and they'll be right to go again.
LFC
16th September 2004, 09:05
Should be a better season next year for the Bombers, how far away from making the finals do you think they are?
Three games, evidently.
Probably a full season from Scott Allen at FF, a quality key defender, and perhaps two outside runners would see them into the finals.
They probably only need to recruit a defender, maybe two.
The running types could come from within the club, just need to develop some fitness of a couple of younger blokes that I mentioned in an earlier post, their skills are spot on, so just need to be able to carry the ball a bit further.
Think they should really target a defender from interstate.
WCL
16th September 2004, 18:58
Lauderdale are a team that seem to be going places, I wouldn't be suprised if they make the finals earlier than expected. Great location and it would be a buzz for the players to play against a top notch team underlights in front of a big crowd at the "Dale". I reckon eventually they will take Clarences' title of being the dominant team on the eastern shore, they certainly have more heart than Clarence.
The Scarecrow
16th September 2004, 20:22
It stopped in the last year in the Regional, when no one wanted to play them because their was an 'unfair advantage' which is tripe, because everyone trains under lights anyway, so they are all used to it.
Think they probably need another light on each pole (6 more) and they'll be right to go again.
I reckon it would be good to see some night games, some of these grounds need to get some decent lighting for the grounds, other then that I cannot see why some night football couldn't be done.
WCL
17th September 2004, 18:15
what do you guys think the best game since the demise of the TFL was.
My Tips would be:
Glenorchy V Clarence round 6 KGV I think the roos won be 3 pts 2004
Clarence V Glenorchy Elim Final Bel Maggies by 14pts crowd 1,500
No Grand Finals spring to mind.
2001 was a shocking year with the 16 team comp very uneven.
2002, was better although can't remember back that far
2003, same story.
The Scarecrow
18th September 2004, 11:00
I am pretty sure we lost that game by 7 points, we were up by 26 going into the final quarter and lost. Still was a good game, would of been better if we won it.
My TIp:
Glenorchy/Clarence KGV last season, not sure the round, it was when Glenorchy re-opened the Hall of Fame. Last year we struggled, but in this game we almost pulled it off. It came down to the wire, but sadly the Maggies went down.
Kingpin
18th September 2004, 11:54
Best SFL game I've seen:
2003 Preliminary Final - Hobart v Clarence.
The Real Tigers got up over the Roos by a point in possibly the most thrilling finals match I've ever seen Hobart play in at North Hobart.
Ebbed and flowed all day, the Roos looked set to run away with, and back came Hobart and hit the front with five minutes to go, Clarence peppered thier forward line, got great assistance from the white maggots and still, couldn't score in that last five minutes....when the siren went - the whole stand exploded - awesome game to watch.
2000 First Qualifying Final - Hobart vs New Norfolk
New Norfolk got up in the dying seconds of the match to beat Hobart by a point at the TCA on a hot day.
In front of a huge crowd, over 1700 (huge for the SFL) both set of supporters traded verbals all day, the two sides went at each other all day, and it was a thrilling finish. It more than likely cost Hobart back-to-back premierships, which was the worst part about it.
The Scarecrow
18th September 2004, 15:52
It would be good to see some close games like that next year, instead of all these one sided one's we have had this season,
Kingpin
18th September 2004, 16:02
Another rumour I heard from around the grapevine as well, Lindisfarne may be set to join the Old Scholars Football Association within the next couple of years.
Not sure how much basis there is to that one, but yeah, very interesting.
WCL
18th September 2004, 17:34
That is interesting about Lindisfarne, they should just concentrate on building the prem league up to what it was and let the reg league do their own thing.
We have had a few close games this season, although it seemed that towards the end of the season there were more and more one-sided ones.
The Scarecrow
18th September 2004, 17:40
Another rumour I heard from around the grapevine as well, Lindisfarne may be set to join the Old Scholars Football Association within the next couple of years.
Not sure how much basis there is to that one, but yeah, very interesting.
Basically that league will suit their team, they will probably win more games, and might even get a better supporter base.
LFC
20th September 2004, 09:34
I went and watched the OSFA GF, and if thats any reflection of the weekly standard, then Lindisfarne will win the flag straight away, no doubt!!
The Scarecrow
20th September 2004, 10:44
Atleast they would break their losing streak :D
Many people go?
LFC
20th September 2004, 10:54
Yeah somewhere between 1500-2000, was hard to tell really because they really spread out once the rain came, most stands were resonably full while it was raining though.