View Full Version : SEN - Non footy season

Mr X
20 Sep 2004, 13:57
Interesting to see how SEN goes over the footy off season.

If anything, the breakfast show has gotten worse the longer the year has gone on.
The fact that today they had "Jason from Boronia" co-hosting was baffling to say the least. I am not sure if they were trying to be funny having him on or what.
Either way, poor radio, and something has to change, because this show is terrible.

The whole station relies heavily on football, some more than others, but the breakfast and drive time shows will struggle when the footy season is over.

Liked the station to begin with, but listen to it less and less. The content is boring and repetitve, commerical breaks are about the same 4 on rotation, the talkback callers all sound the same.....

Challanging times for the station if you ask me. Only been on the air 9 months, and already time for a clean out and freshen up.

Lidge
20 Sep 2004, 14:40
Can only hope the cover the domestic cricket this summer (Victorian games in Pura Cup & 1 day format - whatever it's called these days).

That should fill a fair chunk of the summer.

Contra Mundum
20 Sep 2004, 15:27
Did somebody say bank? - Hi I'm Jacque from Xenium Mortgages" - O LORD JESUS MAKE IT STOP, MAKE IT STOP!!!

I don't think jason from Boronia is all that bad and the Morning Glory have an unforced chemistry which is quite good unlike the faux camaraderie on FM radio shows like that bloody awful Cage.

Fwoy
20 Sep 2004, 16:39
I would dare say there will be a lot of talkback in the next three weeks, with rumours of trades that are "dead-set certainties" according to "my source" ;)

And cricket will keep it going too...I guess :cool:

w00dy
20 Sep 2004, 16:46
i think sen will be okay over summer... there's the GF this week, then there's trade time, followed up by the drafts... you're already into december, then you have january, and pre season matches start in feb... so there'll still be plenty of footy to talk about...

Mog
20 Sep 2004, 16:54
I don't think jason from Boronia is all that bad and the Morning Glory have an unforced chemistry which is quite good unlike the faux camaraderie on FM radio shows like that bloody awful Cage.

Yes, the production meeting for the Cage feature the order "Laugh like bastards at EVERYTHING". Poor radio.

If they move over to cricket I hope they get some former cricketers to be involved. I'm sick of frigging Dermott thinking he is a world class player because he had a hit when he as 17.

mattyc2422
20 Sep 2004, 17:15
Did somebody say bank? - Hi I'm Jacque from Xenium Mortgages" - O LORD JESUS MAKE IT STOP, MAKE IT STOP!!!
Did someone say "Lose the house?"

"I never knew maths could be so much fun!!!"

Contra Mundum
20 Sep 2004, 17:19
I have heard that Xenium add about four hundred times and I still can't get it right ....Jefferson, Jefferson, Jefferson Ford - EIYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

puddingfactor
20 Sep 2004, 17:37
SEN should be okay over summer. They started in January this year and got off to a reasonable start. But yeah, their breakfast show is pretty lame - their knowledge of sports other than AFL is very poor.

As for their ads, the constant ads for KFC during Kevin Bartlett's show has challenged my will power to resist the offerings of Colonel Sanders.

wagstaff
20 Sep 2004, 17:46
The breakfast show is in serious trouble. If it can't improve its ratings during the footy season (when it only talks about footy), then it's got not hope in the spring/summer period. It's a garabage show anyway.

'The Run Home' on the other hand I think it will do quite well. The trio is a good mix and Anthony Hudson's contribution can't be underrated - he manages to keep the show and his two co-hosts from the self-indulgence that has destroyed the morning show. It's ratings have continued to increase with every survey and is the one big success story of the network this year.

As for SEN overall, whether they can develop some interesting cricket content during the summer will be a big factor in how well they do in this period. That sport is the one area where they could develop a summer niche audience if they get it right.

However, considering the cricket knowledge of the current personnel seems very limited, it doesn't look promising.

BB gun
20 Sep 2004, 18:33
Did anyone see D Brereton on stingers last week. I think dermie will be working on his acting over the summer

puddingfactor
20 Sep 2004, 20:16
However, considering the cricket knowledge of the current personnel seems very limited, it doesn't look promising.

Mark Doran has had Darren Berry and Rodney Hogg on as semi-regulars on a Tuesday night around 10 pm, and they've been talking a bit of cricket including Aussies playing county cricket and a bit of other international cricket news.

If they did do international or state cricket they could also get someone like Tim Lane to do some commentary. Maybe even Mark Doran or Huddo could help out.

They may test the waters and do a Boxing Day or a couple of one dayers. Hopefully they give it a go.

Dingster
21 Sep 2004, 02:08
Interesting to see how SEN goes over the footy off season.

If anything, the breakfast show has gotten worse the longer the year has gone on.
Have to agree with that. Hopefully they get all get a DCM. That Morning Glory jingle is annoyingly addictive though!

Quite like KB and the Leach. Never get to listen to the Run Home.

demon_dave
22 Sep 2004, 03:29
Yes, the production meeting for the Cage feature the order "Laugh like bastards at EVERYTHING". Poor radio.

If they move over to cricket I hope they get some former cricketers to be involved. I'm sick of frigging Dermott thinking he is a world class player because he had a hit when he as 17.
agree on the cage, worst radio ever.....Dermott is a pain because of the way he talks, he uses so many words out of context to what he is trying to say, takes half an hour to say something that should take a minute. he sounds like he swallowed a dictionary and is spitting the words out not knowing what they mean :confused:

demon_dave
22 Sep 2004, 03:30
The breakfast show is in serious trouble. If it can't improve its ratings during the footy season (when it only talks about footy), then it's got not hope in the spring/summer period. It's a garabage show anyway.

'The Run Home' on the other hand I think it will do quite well. The trio is a good mix and Anthony Hudson's contribution can't be underrated - he manages to keep the show and his two co-hosts from the self-indulgence that has destroyed the morning show. It's ratings have continued to increase with every survey and is the one big success story of the network this year.

As for SEN overall, whether they can develop some interesting cricket content during the summer will be a big factor in how well they do in this period. That sport is the one area where they could develop a summer niche audience if they get it right.

jason from Boronia is a pain and so is billy brainless with all his talk about 'frothies' :cool:

Supermercado
22 Sep 2004, 16:05
Never before have I found a board where people agree that,

A) The Cage is unfunny rubbish
and
B) Brett Lee can't bowl.

I love you Big Footy.

Daytripper
22 Sep 2004, 16:54
jason from Boronia is a pain and so is billy brainless with all his talk about 'frothies' :cool:

This morning they had the sports editor of the Qld Courier Mail on. They were grilling him why the Lions don't get so much coverage.

After the editor pointed out that they were on both the back and front page today, he also stated that Brisbane is basically a 3 team football code town so its hard to give the Lions that sort of coverage every day.

Billy Brainless then asks what are the other codes and Lyon and Watson both started laughing.

You would think he would think twice about appearing on the program again after that sort of reaction.

I have also noticed that it seems to be the same callers every day. Thats what happens when you concentrate on the same sport every day.

Jason from Boronia needs to be put on hold for a while too.

KB and Francis Leach are good when I get to listen to them and both shows have a bit of variety to them.

I really enjoy The Run Home. Dermie irritates me sometimes but he is held in check by the other two.

Am a big fan of Mark Doran and his Night Watchman program.

I would get rid of Billy, put Mark Doran in his place and get another PROFESSIONAL broadcaster/journalist to do the Night Watchman program - Andrew Maher/Bruce Eva come to mind.

You cannot have 3 ex footballers doing a 3 hour daily show in such an important time slot. There has to be straight man there to hold it together otherwise it starts falling apart.

And the whole days ratings is reliant on breakfast. Get that wrong and its a hard slog back.

Normally I wouldn't give a stuff about this but SEN is such an important concept and if done properly it will work.

I would hate to see it tossed in the bin after a couple of years.

Still Crowing
22 Sep 2004, 22:22
Do they spend much time on soccer?

If they did I would imagine it would mostly be the EPL. When the APL kicks off in January 05 I would imagine SEN would cover the Melbourne team and the comp as a whole.

For mine it is too much a 'footy' station and not enough a 'sport' station.

Mog
22 Sep 2004, 22:30
Francis Leach talks about soccer a lot, and they did have a soccer show on Saturday nights (I think) called the Three Diego's.

Catman
22 Sep 2004, 22:45

It probably is but you have to remember it is Melbourne and footy is number 1, there is bound to be a bias towards it.

They showed at the start that they had no problems with finding suitable material before the footy season started. There was the Cricket, Tennis, Golf etc.

puddingfactor
22 Sep 2004, 22:53

If they did I would imagine it would mostly be the EPL. When the APL kicks off in January 05 I would imagine SEN would cover the Melbourne team and the comp as a whole.

Plenty of soccer.
Francis Leach on his daily afternoon show talks EPL and European football most days of the week.

Theres Soccer SENtral (get it!) on Saturdays at 7-9, a BBC International Soccer Show 9-10 and The Four Diegos 10-12.

Soccer SENtral has a pre-recorded interview with Mark Viduka on this week. You can find out more about the Diegos at www.fourdiegos.com

There have been reports that SEN has been negotating to get the EPL rights but that hasn't really seem to have progressed for some time.

They did a good job broadcasting the Turkey matches in Australia earlier in the year, and are currently in negotiations to see what it would take to do a broadcast from the Solomon Islands qualifier.

Lowie01
23 Sep 2004, 15:47
They did a good job broadcasting the Turkey matches in Australia earlier in the year, and are currently in negotiations to see what it would take to do a broadcast from the Solomon Islands qualifier.

Hope they do at least the home game, as SBS are only doing a delayed broadcast at 10pm. They showed during the Turkey games they are very capable.

They also did the Melbourne Tigers' playoff game last season, so they might pick up some NBL broadcasts.

As a semi-regular listener, I've had to turn off this month. Even as a footy nut, too much of a good thing is possible. There's only so much to talk about. Their "celebrity" broadcasters bring the station down IMO - rather someone like Francis Leach who is very knowledgable about most sports than a washed-up superstar who has no idea about anything apart from football.

MRobbo
23 Sep 2004, 16:20
Can only hope the cover the domestic cricket this summer (Victorian games in Pura Cup & 1 day format - whatever it's called these days).

That should fill a fair chunk of the summer.

I hope they will do the domestic cricket. I would like to SEN cover each Victorian home game with ball by ball coverage. It works well in WA and QLD, why not here.

Baby Blue
23 Sep 2004, 18:12
KB and Francis Leach are good when I get to listen to them and both shows have a bit of variety to them.

I really enjoy The Run Home. Dermie irritates me sometimes but he is held in check by the other two.

Am a big fan of Mark Doran and his Night Watchman program.

I would get rid of Billy, put Mark Doran in his place and get another PROFESSIONAL broadcaster/journalist to do the Night Watchman program - Andrew Maher/Bruce Eva come to mind.

You cannot have 3 ex footballers doing a 3 hour daily show in such an important time slot. There has to be straight man there to hold it together otherwise it starts falling apart.

And the whole days ratings is reliant on breakfast. Get that wrong and its a hard slog back.

Normally I wouldn't give a stuff about this but SEN is such an important concept and if done properly it will work.

I would hate to see it tossed in the bin after a couple of years.

I think thats why the run home works well is because they have the mix of a comedian, ex-footy player and journo (same as the footy show). Doran is excellent and he covers all sports not just footy but lets face it, most of us would rather hear about footy most of the time.

Dingster
23 Sep 2004, 21:22
A new soccer show will take over from Colby, Hird and Crawf's show on Thursdays from next week. Mostly EPL I think.

topdon
23 Sep 2004, 21:58
Did someone say "Lose the house?"

"I never knew maths could be so much fun!!!"

"Its the bank ... they're chasing me for money"

"Did somebody say 'Money' and 'Bank'?"

You fuken deaf?? ARGHHHHHH!!!! :mad:

Pessimistic
24 Sep 2004, 11:03
"When I bought computer tutor for my daughter she loved it so much it took me 3 hours to get her off it"

THEN WHY BUY IT YOU SILLY BITCH !

plus they obviously need a computer tutor for spoken english as it is diabolical

Sports Capital
24 Sep 2004, 12:19
"I never knew maths could be so much fun"

Doesn't the kid sound excited when he says that lol

Captain Sensible
24 Sep 2004, 13:30
"Tell 'em Scotty says hellllooooooo"

Thats the only bit of the ad I can understand.

mcphee_is_a_gun
24 Sep 2004, 13:30
Another idea is they do Melbourne Tigers basketball games they did the finals last year and i really enjoyed there coverage and they should continue this season.

Supermercado
25 Sep 2004, 20:50
They used to give a fair amount of coverage to South Melbourne and the Melbourne Knights. I presume they'll follow the APL team for about as long as the rest of Melbourne do. And five minutes later they'll go onto something else.

Wormburner
30 Sep 2004, 07:49
Warren Glen, something something something...

Karbassiyoon
30 Sep 2004, 23:55
argh francis leach is taking a 2 week holiday as of monday.

i don't think i'll be able to put up with 2 weeks of david culbert.

music station rotation it is.

Mog
1 Oct 2004, 06:03
argh francis leach is taking a 2 week holiday as of monday.

i don't think i'll be able to put up with 2 weeks of david culbert.

music station rotation it is.

Dave Culbert is pretty good I reckon. A bit self important at times, but streets ahead of half the tools on there.

Karbassiyoon
1 Oct 2004, 12:02
Dave Culbert is pretty good I reckon. A bit self important at times, but streets ahead of half the tools on there.
he's better than gary lyon and nicole livingston but that's about it.

lihei
1 Oct 2004, 16:39
Surely now that the Olympics is over so too is Nicole Livingston?? God I'm sick to death of her and that damn attitude. :mad:

Karbassiyoon
1 Oct 2004, 16:54
Surely now that the Olympics is over so too is Nicole Livingston?? God I'm sick to death of her and that damn attitude. :mad:
i agree she is a bitch and i can't stand her.

she would make a good match with humphrey smith.

Mog
1 Oct 2004, 17:07
he's better than gary lyon and nicole livingston but that's about it.

How the hell does Livingstone get a run. She is without a doubt the worst broadcaster I have ever heard. There are hammered teenagers on uni radio stations at 3am who are better than her.

mulhollanddrive
1 Oct 2004, 19:45
Yep, token female, that has 0 knowledge apart from swimming and olympics. She and Rebecca Wilson should apologise to women for representing them.

Grendel
2 Oct 2004, 08:20
Agree with most others re Morning Glory as the one out and out shocker. Only I'd keep Billy and Tim and flick Garry (my ego's as big as Dermie but nobody seems to notice) Lyon.

KB can grate at times but for the most part is easy enough to listen to. Francis is the stand-out and the only thing that annoys is his 'jjj' flash-backs with that 'rockband' sport-thoughts thing on Wed(?). So bad I switch that off.

Run home, again like others, dont find to bad. Hudson should be given great credit here for (mostly) keeping Dermie 'in check', Hardy is amiable enough and shrewd enough to shut up when he's meant to (wish Dermott would learn that lesson).

Doran has surprised, always found him smary on TV but comes over radio as an okay bloke and give plenty of opportunity to his guest hosts and studio guests for their say. Dont even mind the mid-night to dawn bloke Tony Schbechi (sp?). His main fault is he's just to agreeable though and a few of the late night callers.... really need to be given shorter time on-air than what he gives.

Cant stand the likes of Paradise, the bogan Footscray bloke on the weekends (my mind has obliterated his name from memory.. thank you my mind) and the cat, flash guys.

Mostly though have enjoyed it and it doesn't (even only a week out) seem to be missing footy over-much.

The summit holden add with the faux scotsman is the one I cant stand of the ad's though, love to do a Monty Python/Denver take on that bloke... tell em scoearrrrggghghghghghgggggggllllllbbbbllbbbbb as I slowly strangle the life out of him.

Bueller
2 Oct 2004, 11:08
Doran has surprised, always found him smary on TV but comes over radio as an okay bloke and give plenty of opportunity to his guest hosts and studio guests for their say. Dont even mind the mid-night to dawn bloke Tony Schbechi (sp?). His main fault is he's just to agreeable though and a few of the late night callers.... really need to be given shorter time on-air than what he gives.

Good bloke. I sent him an email a few months back, and he replied very quickly. Sent him another, and he replied quickly again. Other SEN presenters I sent emails too didn't respond.

Kitty
2 Oct 2004, 20:42
Yep, token female, that has 0 knowledge apart from swimming and olympics. She and Rebecca Wilson should apologise to women for representing them.

Thankfully there are not too many token chicks on SEN. Don't think Stevenson is that bad though, just a bit boring.

bucksisbest
3 Oct 2004, 03:03
Brownless' put on schoolgirl giggle at everything that could possibly be construed as lewd is even more annoying than his constant references to "Frothies".

lihei
3 Oct 2004, 12:44
Brownless' put on schoolgirl giggle at everything that could possibly be construed as lewd is even more annoying than his constant references to "Frothies".
Good Point - I am getting really sick of that "frothy" crap he goes on with!

Karbassiyoon
3 Oct 2004, 13:24
Good Point - I am getting really sick of that "frothy" crap he goes on with!
its annoying but g. lyon puts it in context.

Kitty
3 Oct 2004, 16:41
If they added someone to the breakfast show who wasn't a former footballer or sportsman it would work a lot better. Someone to add a bit of colour and humour and who knows what going on in the world.

wagstaff
3 Oct 2004, 18:35
Agree with most others re Morning Glory as the one out and out shocker. Only I'd keep Billy and Tim and flick Garry (my ego's as big as Dermie but nobody seems to notice) Lyon.

Run home, again like others, dont find to bad. Hudson should be given great credit here for (mostly) keeping Dermie 'in check', Hardy is amiable enough and shrewd enough to shut up when he's meant to (wish Dermott would learn that lesson).

Mostly though have enjoyed it and it doesn't (even only a week out) seem to be missing footy over-much.

The real test for the station of whether it can handle the non-footy season will be from November to late January, when there's very little footy news to discuss. October is one of the best months to discuss footy as you can talk about all the delistings and trades endlessly.

Agreed that Lyon is a self-serving twit but I don't think changing the personnel will solve the problems on that show, you need to change the perspective and attitude of it. It has no real purpose to it other then for the hosts to build up each other's own egoes, and will wither and disintegrate if that continues. The show was always on trouble from the time when they had John Elliott as a semi-regular

Doran does come across better on radio then he has on TV and that he encompasses a wide range of sports on his program is a definite plus. Still, it's not a show I'm bothered about if I don't listen to for a while.

The worst regular guest would have to be ex-umpire Derek Humphrey-Smith on 'The Run Home'. Can't stand him! His smug comments in his review of the 1967 Grand Final for the Herald Sun recently confirmed for me what an unlikable personality he is.

mulhollanddrive
3 Oct 2004, 21:42
SEN started during non football season and from what I remember it was pretty decent, but if they arent going to get their targeted 4.0 rating in football season they wont get near it during summer.

Daytripper
4 Oct 2004, 16:36
If they added someone to the breakfast show who wasn't a former footballer or sportsman it would work a lot better. Someone to add a bit of colour and humour and who knows what going on in the world.

They've had their chance to experiment the last 2 weeks with Watson being on holidays.

Liam Pickering was okay however being a player manager really means he can't be considered for a permanant gig. Too much conflict of interest.

They have David Schwartz this week who again might be okay but still falls into the category of being an ex-footballer. At least he has some horse racing knowledge.

Andrew Maher might have been worth a shot. I like the stuff he does on Sunday mornings.

It would have been interesting to see whether the show changed if they mixed up the hosts a bit.

They really need another Anthony Hudson there. I would be throwing a bit of cash at Clinton Grybas to see if he would come over.

He would also be useful when they eventually get live football in 2006.

Karbassiyoon
4 Oct 2004, 18:43
anybody hear culbert's major stuff up during the quiz today?

on question 20 as well.

'which australian fringe cricketer's first name is George'

he lets 'Brad Hodge' win the quiz, although the answer was 'Brad Hogg'. He then tries to claim the phone connection and earphones were dodgy.

puddingfactor
4 Oct 2004, 19:03
anybody hear culbert's major stuff up during the quiz today?

on question 20 as well.

'which australian fringe cricketer's first name is George'

he lets 'Brad Hodge' win the quiz, although the answer was 'Brad Hogg'. He then tries to claim the phone connection and earphones were dodgy.

Yeah heard that.
Not the first time he's stuffed up. Last time he was filling in for Francis he went through about half a dozen callers claiming it was Williamstown who won the VFL flag last year. Dave continually said no, and by the time he found out he was wrong it was too late.

lihei
4 Oct 2004, 21:34
Tony Jones?

mulhollanddrive
5 Oct 2004, 00:29
Run home will be interesting when Dermott leaves for Ireland next week, Schwarz is a great media personality because he is similar to Dermott with his knowledge, but he's able to say it in half the time and without the stupidity.

Karbassiyoon
5 Oct 2004, 09:06
we obviously know two different David Schwatzes. Dermie clearly took his 2 weeks worth of holiday during the season whenever hawthorn had a serious problem anyway.

Karbassiyoon
5 Oct 2004, 09:06
Tony Jones?
they've already got gary lyon why would they want another pretentious git.

Mog
5 Oct 2004, 17:03
they've already got gary lyon why would they want another pretentious git.

Another pretentious Channel 9 git.

Kitty
5 Oct 2004, 21:29
Tony Jones?

Could work well. Just about any change would be an improvement on the current set up.

Dingster
6 Oct 2004, 15:37
Could work well. Just about any change would be an improvement on the current set up.
Was he the git on last night? If so, he was embarrassing. Knows F all about football.

puddingfactor
8 Oct 2004, 22:20
I don't want to bag Dave Culbert again, but I think his lack of AFL knowledge, and maybe even general sports knowledge (besides athletics) has taken away what could have been a great, rather than fair afternoon of radio today.

With the trade week stuff going on, Dave seemed to have little knowledge of issues surrounding the trades. Earlier in the week when they have been giving report cards on each team he also seemed to be lacking.

They should have stayed with the trades from 1.30 onwards, rather than having their regular segments. Maybe have a couple of reporters there rather than just Huddo. Put someone who knows their footy in the host chair - someone like Mark Doran could have guest hosted for the day.

I know Dave's been away with the Olympics and Paralympics but it really isn't an excuse. He is good as part of the Insiders team on Sunday but I was a little disappointed.

On the other hand, I guess it shows what an outstanding broadcaster Francis Leach is - has a great knowledge of most sports.

Karbassiyoon
9 Oct 2004, 00:44
culbert is just a mediocre person altogther.

its replacement time at SEN

Mog
9 Oct 2004, 07:02
Generally I like Culbert's work on the Insiders, but I had a listen to him yesterday afternoon running solo and he's wasn't that crash hot. A lot of mistakes, not a jot of football knowledge and busy talking over people.

Daytripper
9 Oct 2004, 09:48
There should be a test for all prospective SEN hosts.

Name :
* an assistant coach from each AFL club
* 16 English Premier League teams and a player from each
* 10 NRL teams and 10 players from the NRL
* 10 Super 12 teams and 10 players from Super 12
* 10 NBA teams
* 10 NFL teams
* 10 major league baseball teams
* 5 NHL teams
* at least 5 players from each of NBA, NFL, MLB & NHL
* 5 of the current top 10 golfers
* 5 of the current top 10 mens & womens tennis
* 3 current world champs in athletics
* 3 non Australian world champ swimmers
* the last 3 melb cup, cox plate & caulfield cup winners
* 4 players from each test cricket nation

I think that covers it off - If you pass this test (and I don't think its that hard really) you should be able to handle a gig on SEN.

Please, no more ex footballers unless they show something.

Daytripper
14 Oct 2004, 23:50
Sorry SEN.

I can take the breakfast show no more.

I did the unthinkable this morning and switched to Sport927.

Billy's relentless references to frothies finally pushed me over the edge. I like a beer myself but enough is enough.

Either Billy goes or grows up or my listening goes elsewhere.

stmookeyj
15 Oct 2004, 10:53

Name :
* 10 NBA teams
* 10 NFL teams
* 5 NHL teams

I think that covers it off - If you pass this test (and I don't think its that hard really) you should be able to handle a gig on SEN.

I think I could pass that test.

marvin
15 Oct 2004, 11:37
Has anyone who was proposing Tony Jones as an option had a rethink after this week? My car radio has had a retune.

Homer
15 Oct 2004, 11:55

Name :
* 10 NBA teams
* 10 NFL teams
* 5 NHL teams

I could go close to that now, but with a couple of days prep, I would be all over it like a rash.

Karbassiyoon
15 Oct 2004, 12:45
Has anyone who was proposing Tony Jones as an option had a rethink after this week? My car radio has had a retune.
i hate the guy with a passion but he was amazingly not himself this morning.

maybe just an off day and i can get back to hating him on monday

Captain Sensible
15 Oct 2004, 12:50
Generally I like Culbert's work on the Insiders, but I had a listen to him yesterday afternoon running solo and he's wasn't that crash hot. A lot of mistakes, not a jot of football knowledge and busy talking over people.

Yesterdays show was really boring. Thank god the cricket was on as an alternative.

Joffaboy
15 Oct 2004, 13:35
Just listening to Andy Gaze ATM and he is pretty good.

Francis Leach is pretty good though.

I am sick of Bily Brownless and his froffy's as well.

Must admit Tim Watson is much better on radio than on tele, and have always enjoyed KB.

Karbassiyoon
15 Oct 2004, 13:40
Yesterdays show was really boring. Thank god the cricket was on as an alternative.talking about horses, racing, and all the parafanalia surrounding it is something i really can't get into - and can't stand listening to on the radio.

thankfully francis leach will be back on monday - his quality as a radio presenter has been amplified by both the ring ins to replace him, and "talent" on other shows

His dumb leering and stupid innuendo with every female guest and caller is tiresome also!
billy said frothy about 5 times in 10 seconds again this morning, in a discussion with a woman

Pessimistic
15 Oct 2004, 15:17
Run home will be interesting when Dermott leaves for Ireland next week, Schwarz is a great media personality because he is similar to Dermott with his knowledge, but he's able to say it in half the time and without the stupidity.

Thats the person I personally heard a melbourne board member describe as an "****************".

Daytripper
15 Oct 2004, 15:29
Thats the person I personally heard a melbourne board member describe as an "****************".

There's a few Melbourne bookmakers that would agree with that board members assessment as well !!!!!

Baby Blue
15 Oct 2004, 17:55
His dumb leering and stupid innuendo with every female guest and caller is tiresome also!

Yeah that gets on my nerves as well. Its just soooooooo sleazy and predictable.

Karbassiyoon
15 Oct 2004, 18:07
schwarz is an inferior radio personality to dermie. both know nothing about sports other than footy so why not go for the better football player.

Mog
15 Oct 2004, 18:11
Schwarz > Dermott.

Just about everyone other than Gary Lyon or Bill Brownless are > Dermott.

Karbassiyoon
15 Oct 2004, 19:05
Schwarz > Dermott.

Just about everyone other than Gary Lyon or Bill Brownless are > Dermott.
why? for 15 clubs in the league dermott is a good analyst.

if hawthorn were out of the news he wouldn't cop nearly as much flack, because he does have a clear conflict of interest, just like jason dunstall did all year on triple m.

Mog
15 Oct 2004, 19:35
why? for 15 clubs in the league dermott is a good analyst.

if hawthorn were out of the news he wouldn't cop nearly as much flack, because he does have a clear conflict of interest, just like jason dunstall did all year on triple m.

He could be the best football brain on the planet, it's his "I know everything" attitude and propensity to talk over people that annoys me. Especially fun is his habit of telling a guest all about the thing they are on there to talk about.

Karbassiyoon
15 Oct 2004, 19:39
it's his "I know everything" attitude and propensity to talk over people that annoys me. but hold on, that's the trademark characteristic of the most popular man on australian tv - rove mcmanus.

what could dermie possibly be doing wrong by taking such a proven popular approach?

Mog
15 Oct 2004, 19:46
but hold on, that's the trademark characteristic of the most popular man on australian tv - rove mcmanus.

what could dermie possibly be doing wrong by taking such a proven popular approach?

Whatever his other faults, Dermott is a very charismatic man. I don't think Rove matches him on that score.

scout
15 Oct 2004, 20:13
The best breakfast line-up was when Watson went on holidays and they brought in Liam Pickering. He added some substance.

The current one would have to be their weakest. Can't stand Tony Jones, spineless idiot. What a beauty this morning when a caller had a go at him for his racist comments.

Having lots of new stand-ins has been refreshing, and SEN still rates over other stations. Nothing beats talking sport all day.

Karbassiyoon
15 Oct 2004, 20:20
racist comments? confrontation with a listener?

fill me in please!

Catman
15 Oct 2004, 20:32
Move the Ring Of Fire trio to breakfast. Their knowledge on sport is vastly superior to the Morning Glory team. It is a shame they are hidden on the 12am-6am shift on Sunday and Monday mornings and with the EPL coverage starting this week we will be hearing less of them.

Karbassiyoon
15 Oct 2004, 20:33
Move the Ring Of Fire trio to breakfast. Their knowledge on sport is vastly superior to the Morning Glory team. It is a shame they are hidden on the 12am-6am shift on Sunday and Monday mornings and with the EPL coverage starting this week we will be hearing less of them.
but they're all no namers right?

SEN can't afford to take that sort of risk

Catman
15 Oct 2004, 20:39
but they're all no namers right?

SEN can't afford to take that sort of risk

True, but at least they know their sport. It's cringe material listening to 3 footy greats stumble their way through talking about sports they know nothing about.

Hawk_2004
16 Oct 2004, 02:01
Dermott must learn to keep his mouth shut

Matthew Hardy WTF are you? Very unfunny, can put up with him. Must admit I like his Diary segment.

Tim Watson the first person that should be sacked the most smug and very boring person on the station.

Garry Lyon I think is the best person in the AFL media.

But the highlight of the lot is Tim Lane, a gent and great knowledge or everything even if he does barrack for Carlton